Morocco vs Nigeria - U-20

Re: Morocco vs Nigeria - U-20

I watched the first game and decided not to comment hoping the football will get better…….. but this is non league level of play. Hoof the ball upfront and hope for the best.i have not seen anything to suggest coaching has taken place except in defending.

Would be really nice to see this team try and play some football at some point...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I want to believe this won't be team we will take to the world cup if we qualify? cause this was absolutely underwhelming...at least the defence and GK look solid. I really miss when our U20 teams played very entertaining football during the Siasia days.

We face Kenya next (Ogolo how body).
Last edited by Tobi17 on Sun May 04, 2025 8:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Full time 0-0 with Nigerian only having taken two shots on goal in the whole of the second half

0-0FT. Well done boys! They did ok and got a point, that’s 4pts so far with a useless Kenya team to play.
Last edited by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA on Sun May 04, 2025 8:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Flex Swift wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:29 pm Full time 0-0 with Nigerian only having taken two shots on goal in the whole of the second half
Did Morocco even have 2 shots? It was angering for real. With all the noise and $ Morocco is spending they sure don’t look the part.
davidbam14

Post by davidbam14 »

Lolly wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:27 pm
Flex Swift wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:07 pm I would not be disappointed if this team doesn’t qualify for the World Cup. This brand of football has not place at the world stage.
You can be sure that there would be plenty changes to the team if we qualify.
Hopefully because honestly it was poor

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:29 pm 1-1 FT. Well done boys! They did ok and got a point, that’s 4pts so far with a useless Kenya team to play.
Goal-less draw not 1-1...that hot amala you downloaded must be doing a number on you.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:23 pm
Sunset wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:11 pm Na wa Zubairu, the tactics he's using for this game is similar to how th average NPFL team in an away match smh
Our local coaches are really suffering from creativity.. it always seems that when the game gets to the latter stages and they have to do something different they run out of initiative. Zubairu is just Eguavoening and Finiding on the sidelines.
He obviously hasn’t got the right players. None of our wide midfielders has looked like they can take on the full backs. And our central midfielders with the exception of Ayuba look like destroyers with little or no creativity to their game. All I see is “power” and hustle.

Make we quality first and see what happens. A new set of players would emerge from the many agents knocking at the door.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Ever since Eguavoen took over as Technical Director, our football has been rubbish. Back then wehn the Super Eagles played bad we could turn to the U17s and U20s. Now everybody is playing like trash. So tired if this ish.

davidbam14 wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:31 pm
Flex Swift wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:07 pm I would not be disappointed if this team doesn’t qualify for the World Cup. This brand of football has not place at the world stage.

CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHATS WRONG WITH THIS THREAD BESIDES THAT IT WAS POSTED BY KONGI

Final U20 Afcon squad

Search this topic…
First unread post • 32 posts 1
Final U20 Afcon squad
Post by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA » Fri Apr 18, 2025 2:47 am

Congrats to Capt Bameyi!

Dem don drop the final list. Good list or mago mago list? Those that know better should pls enlighten us on the quality of these players. Looks like most of the foreign based invited made the list.

Goalkeepers: Ifeanyi Ebenezer Harcourt (Sporting Lagos); Rufai Abubakar (Mavlon FC); Soliu Ajia Yakub (FK Novi Pazar, Serbia)

Defenders: Adamu Maigari (El-Kanemi Warriors); Odinaka Okoro (Sporting Lagos); Daniel Bameyi (Bayelsa United); Emmanuel Chukwu (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany); Chigozie Michael Ihejiofor (Katsina United)

Midfielders: Caleb Ochedikwu (NK Uljanik Pula, Croatia); Israel Isaac Ayuma (NK Istra, Croatia); Simon Cletus (Mavlon FC); Sulaiman Alabi Jojo (El-Kanemi Warriors); Auwal Ibrahim (Akwa United); Shafiu Adamu Duguri (Wikki Tourists)

Forwards: Precious Benjamin (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany); Ezekiel Anthony Kpangu (Inspire FC); Divine Oliseh (Forster Academy); Clinton Jephta (Enyimba FC); Bidemi Amole (Real Sapphire FC); Tahir Maigana (Wireless FC); Theophilus Mendos Rickson (Niger Tornadoes); Kparobo Nathaniel Arierhi (Lillestrom SK, Norway); Matthew Kingsley (Kings FC); Yushau Armiyau (Katsina United)

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

It depends on the value of the Naira. A lot of FB and local hustlers have dropped to make this team. If the Naira crashes then Nff will look for reinforcements. :laugh:

Flex Swift wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:27 pm I watched the first game and decided not to comment hoping the football will get better…….. but this is non league level of play. Hoof the ball upfront and hope for the best.i have not seen anything to suggest coaching has taken place except in defending.
Not surprising when you have a few Academy players like Oliseh, Amole, Maigana and Kpangu that came on towards the end. That’s four attacking players with no football league experience. These are the guys we want to depend on. It is well.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:23 pm
Sunset wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:11 pm Na wa Zubairu, the tactics he's using for this game is similar to how th average NPFL team in an away match smh
Our local coaches are really suffering from creativity.. it always seems that when the game gets to the latter stages and they have to do something different they run out of initiative. Zubairu is just Eguavoening and Finiding on the sidelines.
Not really.The tactics are a result of his choices of players, where there isn't much quality in the final third, so all you can do is play a defensive game and hope for a counter.

The only real goal threats they have are Arierhi and Jephta (when he's on form). Amole is decent but the next edition would've make a lot more sense looking at his current development. But the rest of the attackers? They were of so little quality

jette1 wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 8:34 pm

CAN ANYONE TELL ME WHATS WRONG WITH THIS THREAD BESIDES THAT IT WAS POSTED BY KONGI

Final U20 Afcon squad

Search this topic…
First unread post • 32 posts 1
Final U20 Afcon squad
Post by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA » Fri Apr 18, 2025 2:47 am

Congrats to Capt Bameyi!

Dem don drop the final list. Good list or mago mago list? Those that know better should pls enlighten us on the quality of these players. Looks like most of the foreign based invited made the list.

Goalkeepers: Ifeanyi Ebenezer Harcourt (Sporting Lagos); Rufai Abubakar (Mavlon FC); Soliu Ajia Yakub (FK Novi Pazar, Serbia)

Defenders: Adamu Maigari (El-Kanemi Warriors); Odinaka Okoro (Sporting Lagos); Daniel Bameyi (Bayelsa United); Emmanuel Chukwu (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany); Chigozie Michael Ihejiofor (Katsina United)

Midfielders: Caleb Ochedikwu (NK Uljanik Pula, Croatia); Israel Isaac Ayuma (NK Istra, Croatia); Simon Cletus (Mavlon FC); Sulaiman Alabi Jojo (El-Kanemi Warriors); Auwal Ibrahim (Akwa United); Shafiu Adamu Duguri (Wikki Tourists)

Forwards: Precious Benjamin (TSG 1899 Hoffenheim, Germany); Ezekiel Anthony Kpangu (Inspire FC); Divine Oliseh (Forster Academy); Clinton Jephta (Enyimba FC); Bidemi Amole (Real Sapphire FC); Tahir Maigana (Wireless FC); Theophilus Mendos Rickson (Niger Tornadoes); Kparobo Nathaniel Arierhi (Lillestrom SK, Norway); Matthew Kingsley (Kings FC); Yushau Armiyau (Katsina United)
Leave me alone. I’ve told you I’m not joining Ipob no matter what you do. :laugh:

I actually like the idea of using only academy players. We have had a lot of problems with age cheating in the past. Hopefully as record keeping gets better in Nigeria . The problem will be eradicated. Youth competition is about development. Why have a bunch of 30 year olds from the league play against 18 year olds?

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 9:11 pm I actually like the idea of using only academy players. We have had a lot of problems with age cheating in the past. Hopefully as record keeping gets better in Nigeria . The problem will be eradicated. Youth competition is about development. Why have a bunch of 30 year olds from the league play against 18 year olds?
You do realize there's also age cheating by academy players? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: That's the level where it's the easiest to conceal it even, at least from the trends i've witnessed.

Sunset wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 9:29 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 9:11 pm I actually like the idea of using only academy players. We have had a lot of problems with age cheating in the past. Hopefully as record keeping gets better in Nigeria . The problem will be eradicated. Youth competition is about development. Why have a bunch of 30 year olds from the league play against 18 year olds?
You do realize there's also age cheating by academy players? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: That's the level where it's the easiest to conceal it even, at least from the trends i've witnessed.
Correct. The players are not daft. They realize that Euro clubs prefer getting players from academies for continued development. The result is that Nigerian players will rather be part of an academy if possible rather than be with an NPFL team.

Nevertheless, there have been improvements in tracking the age of players. It is simply now dependent on the NFF to do the work of using available systems to check.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 10:50 pm
Correct. The players are not daft. They realize that Euro clubs prefer getting players from academies for continued development. The result is that Nigerian players will rather be part of an academy if possible rather than be with an NPFL team.

Nevertheless, there have been improvements in tracking the age of players. It is simply now dependent on the NFF to do the work of using available systems to check.
The NFF are complicit in this age cheating. They know most of the players in these academies are not using their real ages and are simply parked there for export to foreign clubs. So they can easily put a stop to it by not releasing the player’s transfer documents until his age is verified. Very easy task to do.

And they can also stop U20, U23, CHAN and SE coaches from selecting academy players. That would compel youth players to join proper clubs if they are good enough. It’s scandalous that players like Bameyi was called up for a World Cup qualifier while playing for Yum Yum FC.

Finally, the NFF needs to take a closer look at supposedly 17 years olds who somehow miss being noticed for our U17 teams but are suddenly star players for the U20s. We know why they would not be marketed to the U17s. They won’t pass MRI.

Lolly wrote: Mon May 05, 2025 8:13 am
Enugu II wrote: Sun May 04, 2025 10:50 pm

The NFF are complicit in this age cheating. They know most of the players in these academies are not using their real ages and are simply parked there for export to foreign clubs. So they can easily put a stop to it by not releasing the player’s transfer documents until his age is verified. Very easy task to do.

And they can also stop U20, U23, CHAN and SE coaches from selecting academy players. That would compel youth players to join proper clubs if they are good enough. It’s scandalous that players like Bameyi was called up for a World Cup qualifier while playing for Yum Yum FC.

Finally, the NFF needs to take a closer look at supposedly 17 years olds who somehow miss being noticed for our U17 teams but are suddenly star players for the U20s. We know why they would not be marketed to the U17s. They won’t pass MRI.
Agreed. The NFF is simply not doing its work even with improved data system in the country particularly in the urban and semi-urban locations. While I do not claim to know the truth about Bameyi's situation, it surely looks suspicious especially given the stated age and the fact that he was not in the U17 setup. That definitely sets off the alarm bell.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics