I want to Coach Nigeria- J.Fashanu
I Want To Be Head Coach Of Super Eagles – Fashanu
May 3, 2025 Updated: May 3, 2025
John-Fashanu
Former England and Wimbledon striker John Fashanu has expressed his interest in the Super Eagles coaching job.
Speaking to journalists in Ogun State, in a video posted on X, the 1988 FA Cup winner with Wimbledon, stated that he has what it takes to lead the Super Eagles provided he has the right people to work with.
“I want to be the manager of the Eagles, that’s one of the hardest job in this country. But I’m saying I can do it and I can do it with the right people, the people who understand the game of football.
“It’s not about how much can you give us Fash, how much you’ve got for us, how many millions can we make out of you. It’s not about that. It’s about getting players who can play in different countries because it’s all about different countries and it’s very important to get players with the right mentality, the right character, players who want to play for the country.
“I wanted to play for my country but in the end I was chosen to play for England and I played for England three times a d I came back to the motherland.”
The 62-year-old, who also featured for clubs like Aston Villa, Norwich and Millwall, retired from professional football in 1995 and never had any coaching experience.
Fashanu was born in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, the son of Pearl Gopal, a nurse from British Guiana and Patrick Fashanu, a Nigerian barrister living in the UK.
His footballing career began at Norwich City in 1979, and he turned professional two years later – just as his late brother Justin was transferred to Nottingham Forest from the relegated Carrow Road club.
Fashanu represented England at full International level and made his debut in 1989 in a friendly game against Chile.
He was also eligible to play for Nigeria and since retiring he has expressed regret in not being able to do so.
https://www.completesports.com/i-want-t ... s-fashanu/
John-Fashanu
Former England and Wimbledon striker John Fashanu has expressed his interest in the Super Eagles coaching job.
Speaking to journalists in Ogun State, in a video posted on X, the 1988 FA Cup winner with Wimbledon, stated that he has what it takes to lead the Super Eagles provided he has the right people to work with.
“I want to be the manager of the Eagles, that’s one of the hardest job in this country. But I’m saying I can do it and I can do it with the right people, the people who understand the game of football.
“It’s not about how much can you give us Fash, how much you’ve got for us, how many millions can we make out of you. It’s not about that. It’s about getting players who can play in different countries because it’s all about different countries and it’s very important to get players with the right mentality, the right character, players who want to play for the country.
“I wanted to play for my country but in the end I was chosen to play for England and I played for England three times a d I came back to the motherland.”
The 62-year-old, who also featured for clubs like Aston Villa, Norwich and Millwall, retired from professional football in 1995 and never had any coaching experience.
Fashanu was born in Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, the son of Pearl Gopal, a nurse from British Guiana and Patrick Fashanu, a Nigerian barrister living in the UK.
His footballing career began at Norwich City in 1979, and he turned professional two years later – just as his late brother Justin was transferred to Nottingham Forest from the relegated Carrow Road club.
Fashanu represented England at full International level and made his debut in 1989 in a friendly game against Chile.
He was also eligible to play for Nigeria and since retiring he has expressed regret in not being able to do so.
Re: I want to Coach Nigeria- J.Fashanu
This must be a joke
Na real wa sef! Dis guy, who has he managed successfully? Then think of his list of baggage. Bros, for me na real joke.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
Hmm.. thought you said it doesnt matter what someone has done or where they played, it only mattered what they can do in an SE shirt. Shouldnt that also applies here? Shouldnt we wait to see what Fashanu can do on our bench, as well? It doesnt matter what he has done or where he is presently coaching? Abi?

Ditto

Danfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 2:29 pmHmm.. thought you said it doesnt matter what someone has done or where they played, it only mattered what they can do in an SE shirt. Shouldnt that also applies here? Shouldnt we wait to see what Fashanu can do on our bench, as well? It doesnt matter what he has done or where he is presently coaching? Abi?![]()
Is your conclusion not quite a stretch? Apples are not oranges, as you well know. In my discourses, that you cite, you neglected to note that that the point was specifically about player invitation. As far as I know, John Fashanu long retired as a player....But let us assume, for a moment, that John Fashanu is still a player, does he not have to prove himself at X League or Y League before his invitation? Or did I claim that anyone would be invited, proven or not?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
- danfo driver
This is quite a change for you, isnt it? All of a sudden, you seem to want people to "prove themselves at X League or Y league?" This is remarkable change for you! You clearly stated that you didnt care much about that at all? According to you, the league the player plays does not matter and what the player does outside the SE does not matter. Why the different standard for Fashanu?Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 4:36 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 2:29 pmHmm.. thought you said it doesnt matter what someone has done or where they played, it only mattered what they can do in an SE shirt. Shouldnt that also applies here? Shouldnt we wait to see what Fashanu can do on our bench, as well? It doesnt matter what he has done or where he is presently coaching? Abi?![]()
Is your conclusion not quite a stretch? Apples are not oranges, as you well know. In my discourses, that you cite, you neglected to note that that the point was specifically about player invitation. As far as I know, John Fashanu long retired as a player....But let us assume, for a moment, that John Fashanu is still a player, does he not have to prove himself at X League or Y League before his invitation? Or did I claim that anyone would be invited, proven or not?
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Nna, this ya logic na helele...danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 4:56 pmThis is quite a change for you, isnt it? All of a sudden, you seem to want people to "prove themselves at X League or Y league?" This is remarkable change for you! You clearly stated that you didnt care much about that at all? According to you, the league the player plays does not matter and what the player does outside the SE does not matter. Why the different standard for Fashanu?Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 4:36 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 2:29 pmHmm.. thought you said it doesnt matter what someone has done or where they played, it only mattered what they can do in an SE shirt. Shouldnt that also applies here? Shouldnt we wait to see what Fashanu can do on our bench, as well? It doesnt matter what he has done or where he is presently coaching? Abi?![]()
What team has he coached?
Danfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 4:56 pmThis is quite a change for you, isnt it? All of a sudden, you seem to want people to "prove themselves at X League or Y league?" This is remarkable change for you! You clearly stated that you didnt care much about that at all? According to you, the league the player plays does not matter and what the player does outside the SE does not matter. Why the different standard for Fashanu?Enugu II wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 4:36 pmDanfo,danfo driver wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 2:29 pmHmm.. thought you said it doesnt matter what someone has done or where they played, it only mattered what they can do in an SE shirt. Shouldnt that also applies here? Shouldnt we wait to see what Fashanu can do on our bench, as well? It doesnt matter what he has done or where he is presently coaching? Abi?![]()
You are seriously misquoting. Well, let me re-state my position yet again....
I do not care, one pence, whether the player is playing in dis league or dat (e.g. NPFL or Serie A), if the player plays well in that league simply invite him to the SE and let him prove himself.
TO further clarify .... I do not support limiting invitation to only players who play in Top 5 or Top DIS and DAT.
Hopefully, this should be clear.
I no blame, I blame Tinubu for this
"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Emi lo kan… why notBabalawo wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 10:53 am I Want To Be Head Coach Of Super Eagles – Fashanu
John-Fashanu
The man is broke.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 9:01 amEmi lo kan… why notBabalawo wrote: ↑Mon May 05, 2025 10:53 am I Want To Be Head Coach Of Super Eagles – Fashanu
John-Fashanu
He is nothing more than a British-born Nigerian scam artist.