Like Eric Chelle, Like Hansi Flick
Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.
I know some WOWO worshippers won't think it's a goof because oyinbos couldn't do wrong tactically. Samson Siasia did likewise in 2012 and drew vs Guinea and was sacked for it, though his decision making then may have been based on wrongful permutations.
The only thing that's going for SE now is the expected 3 points that will be deducted from South Africa' haul, which means that either a win or draw vs Zimbabwe in Uyo still sentences us to a win in South Africa.
I know some WOWO worshippers won't think it's a goof because oyinbos couldn't do wrong tactically. Samson Siasia did likewise in 2012 and drew vs Guinea and was sacked for it, though his decision making then may have been based on wrongful permutations.
The only thing that's going for SE now is the expected 3 points that will be deducted from South Africa' haul, which means that either a win or draw vs Zimbabwe in Uyo still sentences us to a win in South Africa.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
- danfo driver
Re: Like Eric Chelle, Like Hansi Flick
Tactically, many of you here are very very poor and read games in a box. Its also very shallow tactically analysis to assume that the only way to defend is to substitute in a defender/defenders.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.

You should go back and watch the last 15 minutes to understand why Flick brought in Lewandowski.
Blah, blah, blah... predictably and strait-jacketedly true to oyinbo coach worship.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:49 pmTactically, many of you here are very very poor and read games in a box. Its also very shallow tactically analysis to assume that the only way to defend is to substitute in a defender/defenders.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.
The only thing that's going for SE now is the expected 3 points that will be deducted from South Africa' haul, which means that either a win or draw vs Zimbabwe in Uyo still sentences us to a win in South Africa.![]()
You should go back and watch the last 15 minutes to understand why Flick brought in Lewandowski.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Barca goofed big time.
to be set up like this defensively and be all over the place in the 93rd when you are going through to a Champions League final is borderline scandalous!
danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:49 pmTactically, many of you here are very very poor and read games in a box. Its also very shallow tactically analysis to assume that the only way to defend is to substitute in a defender/defenders.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.
The only thing that's going for SE now is the expected 3 points that will be deducted from South Africa' haul, which means that either a win or draw vs Zimbabwe in Uyo still sentences us to a win in South Africa.![]()
Very ignorant
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Amazing how ITKs talk about football as if it is an 'exact' endeavor.
People need to understand that if things are so predictable, there will be no need
watching the matchups as the results will have been concluded.
People need to understand that if things are so predictable, there will be no need
watching the matchups as the results will have been concluded.
He reminds me of Wenger. They don’t know what is defensive football.
As in if you know your salary at the end of week/month, you don't go to work, just expect your account to be credited as and when due.
Last edited by anointed on Wed May 07, 2025 5:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The thing about Internet football gurus is that they have all these theories about football but they cannot explain it. They try esoteric nuances mumbo jumbos as if we are in we are cramming Polish names.
They tell us it's not so straight forward. Fine but explain this detour why you didn't bring on Lewandowski at 2-0 down but at 3-2 up with a couple of minutes to go. If you could come from 2-0 down to lead 3-2 with Lewandowski, why would you need him in a winning 3-2 position with few minutes. Okay, Lewandowski then had 30 minutes to make the difference and I guess they are still calculating that difference in Catalan as we speak.
Even Eric Chelle couldn't explain why he had to throw on striker when he needed to defend a lead in the dying embers of a must-win game other than say that if it had worked, no one would complain. That's like the coach of our national pools betting team talking.
They tell us it's not so straight forward. Fine but explain this detour why you didn't bring on Lewandowski at 2-0 down but at 3-2 up with a couple of minutes to go. If you could come from 2-0 down to lead 3-2 with Lewandowski, why would you need him in a winning 3-2 position with few minutes. Okay, Lewandowski then had 30 minutes to make the difference and I guess they are still calculating that difference in Catalan as we speak.
Even Eric Chelle couldn't explain why he had to throw on striker when he needed to defend a lead in the dying embers of a must-win game other than say that if it had worked, no one would complain. That's like the coach of our national pools betting team talking.
- danfo driver
You seem devastated.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 2:01 pmBlah, blah, blah... predictably and strait-jacketedly true to oyinbo coach worship.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:49 pmTactically, many of you here are very very poor and read games in a box. Its also very shallow tactically analysis to assume that the only way to defend is to substitute in a defender/defenders.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.

- danfo driver
If this is true, then its a sackable offense, because a coach should know the reasons behind his decisions.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 5:44 pm The thing about Internet football gurus is that they have all these theories about football but they cannot explain it. They try esoteric nuances mumbo jumbos as if we are in we are cramming Polish names.
if its a lie, then TxJ is right about you above.

The two of you are the same sides of a coin. You claim to know yet you can't find words to explain what you know except UFO-like diction that gives you mastubatory orgasms or make your heads swell like soaked Ijebu garri.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 6:04 pmIf this is true, then its a sackable offense, because a coach should know the reasons behind his decisions.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 5:44 pm The thing about Internet football gurus is that they have all these theories about football but they cannot explain it. They try esoteric nuances mumbo jumbos as if we are in we are cramming Polish names.
if its a lie, then TxJ is right about you above.![]()
Isn't it better to be ignorant than to be liars who claim to know but don't actually know jack?
Another way to look at it, If they could come from 2-0 down to lead 3-2 without the current laliga top scorer, Lewandowski, what would then happen if he comes in fit and fresh against a tiring inter defence?
Now, this is word.
I also thought about but I also considered that they still scored in the 87th minute, so why would they need Lewa in the 90th minute or why would they need more goals to start with?
- danfo driver
Inter was without one of their best defenders, who would have easily handled those back-post crosses (Benjamin Pavard). What would then hapen if he was fit and fresh against a tiring Barca attack?
Inter took out their captain and best striker (apparently he was hurt after the tackle). If they could come from 2-3 to lead 4-3 without the current best striker and captain, what would then happen if he was in fit and fresh against a tiring Barca defense?
Should I continue?

- danfo driver
So you are ignorant and also a pathological liar. Instead of you to sit down and ask to be taught like a good child, you are flapping your beak, making up lies about Chelle while sounding like donkey.anointed wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 7:49 amThe two of you are the same sides of a coin. You claim to know yet you can't find words to explain what you know except UFO-like diction that gives you mastubatory orgasms or make your heads swell like soaked Ijebu garri.danfo driver wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 6:04 pmIf this is true, then its a sackable offense, because a coach should know the reasons behind his decisions.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 5:44 pm The thing about Internet football gurus is that they have all these theories about football but they cannot explain it. They try esoteric nuances mumbo jumbos as if we are in we are cramming Polish names.
if its a lie, then TxJ is right about you above.![]()
Isn't it better to be ignorant than to be liars who claim to know but don't actually know jack?
It's one thing not to know how to play football, it's another thing not to know how to watch football.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.
How can you be blaming Flick for losing a champions league semi final 7-6 on aggregate with the youngest Barcelona team ever to play in the champions league.
You are equally indirectly dismissing Inter Milan's quality and Inzaghi's coaching acumen.
- danfo driver
naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:43 pmIt's one thing not to know how to play football, it's another thing not to know how to watch football.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.
How can you be blaming Flick for losing a champions league semi final 7-6 on aggregate with the youngest Barcelona team ever to play in the champions league.
You are equally indirectly dismissing Inter Milan's quality and Inzaghi's coaching acumen.
Bro, its remarkable! And I mentioned this to them on the match day thread. Last season, most of these Barca guys were playing in Div 3!!!!

I'm shocked the way people are heaping blames on these kids.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:51 pmnaijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:43 pmIt's one thing not to know how to play football, it's another thing not to know how to watch football.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.
Bro, its remarkable! And I mentioned this to them on the match day thread. Last season, most of these Barca guys were playing in Div 3!!!!![]()
Div 3!!! These are children who have never seen this type of pressure before, while Inter has been here multiple times and dance in this pressure.
I actually don't think many of these people who blame them actually did watch the game.
- danfo driver
I don't think it's that difficult to focus on the post rather than the post. There's no opinion that supersedes another.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:43 pmIt's one thing not to know how to play football, it's another thing not to know how to watch football.anointed wrote: ↑Wed May 07, 2025 1:12 pm Can we take solace in the fact that Hansi goofed by bringing on Lewandowski in the 90th minute when he was 3-2 ahead and just needed to run down the clock, similar to what Chelle did vs Zimbabwe? So, it's not just journey men coaches of African national teams that commit such errors.
On Barcelona's youngsters, I don't think we can use their young age as an excuse NOW. Those same youngsters also got them to the semis, dismissing teams like they weren't there but we didn't remember then that they were young. In the same vein that they are young, Acerbi, a centre back, who scored his first goal of this season in that match, ironically, after Lewa had been introduced, is also old at 37 years. So, if he gets turned inside out in the final, his old age hasn't mattered till now.
Acerbi didn't give a rat's behind about a newly introduced striker with fresh lungs, ventured forward and scored the equalizer. By the way, a player like Yamal is no longer young; Bobo has 100 Barca games at 17 years, not to talk of winning Euro with Spain. Let's pause and remember that the Ajax team that won in 1995 was a very young team.
In any case, it's not about dismissing Inter's quality. It's about coaches not protecting important leads for just a few minutes. Some coaches tend to make defensive football look like dirt. I'm a regular guest on a Sunday sports programme and I actually predicted correctly that Inter will win from the get go. Despite Inter losing 3 games losing on the trot before Barcelona, when asked again, I said Inter's chances of winning were 51-49, adding that defence will win the game.
As it's often said, goals win games, defence win tournaments. Speaking with Dammy today, I said it goes way back to 1982, in my own memory, when Brazil, who had the advantage at 2-2 vs Italy in the World Cup, sheepishly concerned another goal to lose the semi final spot. Jose Mourinho defeated Barca with defence 15 years ago. A couple of years later, Roberto di Matteo did the same thing though all in different circumstances. I also recall one UCL game where Man Utd were dominating and leading Real Madrid, then Nani got a red card. Mourinho's action was swift. He subbed on a striker but Ferguson didn't respond and Real went on to win the match at Old Trafford and the tie.
If Eric Chelle does that thing again, he should be sacked at the stadium. It happened to him vs CIV in AFCON, when he failed to react to the introduction of Adingra in the closing minutes, he conceded a goal in the last minute scored by Adingra and lost the match in extra time. It happened to him again vs Zimbabwe. Maybe, we'd have lost if there was extra time.
Football is both common and uncommon sense.
You are mischievously trying to change the discourse since you cannot articulate that your celestial understanding of football in simple terms.
While at it, how many of PSG''s players from two years ago are still making first team now? And how many new players have Flick brought to Barca.
Oniyeye.
Oniyeye
- danfo driver
coolanointed wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 5:52 pmYou are mischievously trying to change the discourse since you cannot articulate that your celestial understanding of football in simple terms.
While at it, how many of PSG''s players from two years ago are still making first team now? And how many new players have Flick brought to Barca.
Oniyeye.
Oniyeye