Who's in the Race for APOY 2025?

Re: Who's in the Race for APOY 2025?

Enugu II wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 3:34 am For me, it is not a done deal TET. Only five months of the year passed and there are several African NT games to still play. Those will be important when votes are cast. It is not all about European club football. After all this is called African Footballer of the year for a reason.

Not this again man. You no dey taya???? SMH!!!

viewtopic.php?p=6020156#p6020156

theDunamis wrote: Sun Oct 27, 2024 11:17 pmI believe the South Americans got it right by delineating the award. Mixing and matching both means you shortchange the exceptional African player whose country may not blessed with a lot of talent and will not qualify for any international tournament.

An award called the African Player of the Year Award is and should be about the African player (that is, a citizen of an African country who also does NOT represent a non-African country at senior international level) that has excelled within each award year on football fields anywhere in the world.

A new award that can be aptly named African-based Player of the Year Award can be dedicated to recognizing African players that have excelled on football fields within each award year but strictly while wearing the jerseys of African clubs and/or African countries.

theDunamis wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 3:51 pm
Enugu II wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 3:34 am For me, it is not a done deal TET. Only five months of the year passed and there are several African NT games to still play. Those will be important when votes are cast. It is not all about European club football. After all this is called African Footballer of the year for a reason.

Not this again man. You no dey taya???? SMH!!!

viewtopic.php?p=6020156#p6020156

theDunamis wrote: Sun Oct 27, 2024 11:17 pmI believe the South Americans got it right by delineating the award. Mixing and matching both means you shortchange the exceptional African player whose country may not blessed with a lot of talent and will not qualify for any international tournament.

An award called the African Player of the Year Award is and should be about the African player (that is, a citizen of an African country who also does NOT represent a non-African country at senior international level) that has excelled within each award year on football fields anywhere in the world.

A new award that can be aptly named African-based Player of the Year Award can be dedicated to recognizing African players that have excelled on football fields within each award year but strictly while wearing the jerseys of African clubs and/or African countries.
Thedunamis,

I no go tire until the voters begin to respect what players do when wearing an African shirt. Afterall this is AFOY and not European Footballer of the Year. Me, I cannot and will not tire until the voting mirrors what its target is about.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 7:42 pmThedunamis,

I no go tire until the voters begin to respect what players do when wearing an African shirt. Afterall this is AFOY and not European Footballer of the Year. Me, I cannot and will not tire until the voting mirrors what its target is about.

Enugu II, the problem is that your position is not logical and I have already explained why to you. But I will spell it out again here:

1) The creators of the award make it clear what the criteria for the award are.

2) You, Enugu II, have no authority to change the criteria.

3) You, Enugu II, make an illogical argument when you say the award should be based on a criterion found nowhere in the criteria set by the creators of the award.

theDunamis wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 10:47 pm

Enugu II, the problem is that your position is not logical and I have already explained why to you. But I will spell it out again here:

3) You, Enugu II, make an illogical argument when you say the award should be based on a criterion found nowhere in the criteria set by the creators of the award.
theDunamis,

My position is not based on criteria used today which is very loose and leads to anomalies. Instead, my position is based on seeking a change that makes sense. For instance why would someone be named African Footballer of the Year when they may not have played a single game for an African club or an African National Team? So what sense does it make? If you argue that the award is based on a player's necessity, then I ask -- If Lionel Messi decides to play for Al Ahly Nationale of Cairo tomorrow and dominates African competition, will you state that he does not qualify because her is Argentine?

In a sense is this award designed to promote and advertise European competition or African competitions? Is it sponsored by UEFA or by CAF? :???: :???:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 11:23 pmtheDunamis,

My position is not based on criteria used today which is very loose and leads to anomalies. Instead, my position is based on seeking a change that makes sense. For instance why would someone be named African Footballer of the Year when they may not have played a single game for an African club or an African National Team? So what sense does it make? If you argue that the award is based on a player's necessity, then I ask -- If Lionel Messi decides to play for Al Ahly Nationale of Cairo tomorrow and dominates African competition, will you state that he does not qualify because her is Argentine?

In a sense is this award designed to promote and advertise European competition or African competitions? Is it sponsored by UEFA or by CAF? :???: :???:

The award is designed to celebrate individual footballing excellence of African heritage. You are the only one trying to twist the award into what it is not designed for. And not only is that ill-advised and foolhardy, it is a waste of time each and every time you engage in it.

Start your own award. Call it what you want. Define the criteria you want for it. Design it to promote and advertise what you want. And use it however you want. But this attempt to take what someone else started and twist it into what it was not created for is quite frankly just you pissing in the wind.

danfo driver wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 1:56 pm
gochino wrote: Fri May 09, 2025 12:48 pm
anointed wrote: Thu May 08, 2025 5:55 pm
bret- hart wrote: Thu May 08, 2025 2:44 pm Mo Salah vs Hakimi, 3rd maybe Gurasy.
Even forgot the Guirassy guy.
That guy scored 13 goals in the Champions league including a Hatrick against barca.
Hmm.. That seems like a huge trophy! When are they awarding it? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Same Barca that Inter scored 7 goals against their 17 year old and 34 year old pair. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Like I said, scoring hattrick against a 17 year old and a 34 year old isnt hard. These 4 have done it this year

Enugu II wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 11:23 pm
theDunamis wrote: Sat May 10, 2025 10:47 pm

theDunamis,

How should we then award the WPOY, given that the contenders would not have played the world over?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Babadee

Post by Babadee »

No one other than Mo salah it’s not even close

Or Hackimi if PSG win UCL