Who's in the Race for APOY 2025?
I believe Osimhen should be in it but will have to help Naija qualify for WC to be a decisive winner ahead of the likes of Mo Salah, Bryan Mbeumo, Yohan Wissa, Omar Marmoush etc
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Who's in the Race for APOY 2025?
With no sentiment, it's between Mo Salah and Hakimi.
Last edited by iworo on Thu May 08, 2025 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- bret- hart
Mo Salah vs Hakimi, 3rd maybe Gurasy.
- danfo driver
List is strong this year.
Osimhen
Salah
Mbemuo
Guirassy
Marmoush
Wissa
Lookman
Just to name a few.
Once Osimhen secures a mov to a top team - hopefully before the Club World Cup and if he can destroy that tournament and start next season with venom, he could be in for another one. But we dont care about AFOY anymore. Our goal is the Balon D'or.
- danfo driver
Lets have this conversation. (pardon me about speculation because Turkey season is not over)
Mo Salah -
- league title
- 33 goals
Vic Osimhen
- League title (*8 points lead)
- Cup (*in the cup final).
- 33 goals
Would you say Salah has had a better season?
I love Osimhen, but best believe he won't be in contention. He'll probably just make the top 5.
The reason is not far fetched; Hakimi will win the french league with PSG and will play in the champions league final. Mohamed Salah won the English premier league and he's the top scorer.
Osimhen on the other hand will win the Turkish league, which of course will be rated below the English and French leagues.
I'd say Hakimi is most likely to clinch it if PSG wins the champions league.
The reason is not far fetched; Hakimi will win the french league with PSG and will play in the champions league final. Mohamed Salah won the English premier league and he's the top scorer.
Osimhen on the other hand will win the Turkish league, which of course will be rated below the English and French leagues.
- danfo driver
Osimhen has won the AFY, so thats not his priority. If you speak to people close to him, his priority is to win the CL and the Balon D'or.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:34 pm I love Osimhen, but best believe he won't be in contention. He'll probably just make the top 5.
But for conversation sake, aside from the "media hype" and the cries of Liverpool fans who want Salah to be in conversation for the Balon D'or, what record does Salah have this year that puts him above Victor. Here are their records (Again, forgive me for speculation, since Osimhen could still win ZERO). But lets assume Osimhen wins it all. Would you say Salah had a better season?
Mo Salah -
- league title
- 33 goals
Vic Osimhen
- 33 goals
Please lets discuss this above and lets focus on facts. I am not interested in which league is harder, which one has more tangerines in the stands or who serves more orange juice. Lets focus on the above.
- danfo driver
I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias. 
The facts are the facts. As you can see, I didn't quarrel with Hakimi. And frankly, I may not even quarrel with Salah - but how can anyone with fairness, looking at what both have achieved this season think Salah has performed better? Thats just factually untrue.
Like I said, AFOY is for others. We have past that stage. Our focus now is CL and Balon D'or. But just interesting to understand the reason behind "Salah," aside from the fact that he plays in England - the Mecca of Nigerians.

The facts are the facts. As you can see, I didn't quarrel with Hakimi. And frankly, I may not even quarrel with Salah - but how can anyone with fairness, looking at what both have achieved this season think Salah has performed better? Thats just factually untrue.
Like I said, AFOY is for others. We have past that stage. Our focus now is CL and Balon D'or. But just interesting to understand the reason behind "Salah," aside from the fact that he plays in England - the Mecca of Nigerians.

You are just spoiling for a fight.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:15 pmLets have this conversation. (pardon me about speculation because Turkey season is not over)
Mo Salah -
- league title
- 33 goals
Vic Osimhen
- 33 goals
Turkey vs EPL?
He still doesn't get it.ANC wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:47 pmYou are just spoiling for a fight.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:15 pmLets have this conversation. (pardon me about speculation because Turkey season is not over)
Mo Salah -
- league title
- 33 goals
Vic Osimhen
- 33 goals
Turkey vs EPL?
Hakimi: best player in the best African team of last three years, win French league, final Champions league. If they win it not even a context. Salah had a good year but fortunes dimmed. Vic O amazing year but Türkiye league and not progressing more in Europe.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:46 pm I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias.
Like I said, AFOY is for others. We have past that stage. Our focus now is CL and Balon D'or. But just interesting to understand the reason behind "Salah," aside from the fact that he plays in England - the Mecca of Nigerians.![]()
He gets it, believe you me. He is not slow.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:49 pmHe still doesn't get it.ANC wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:47 pmYou are just spoiling for a fight.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:15 pmLets have this conversation. (pardon me about speculation because Turkey season is not over)
Mo Salah -
- league title
- 33 goals
Vic Osimhen
- 33 goals
Turkey vs EPL?
He can't even bring himself to watch VO9 games, this season.
Ask him why?
You still don't get it. I will even rate Osimhen above most strikers in the world today, but the truth is he can't win the award playing in Turkey, when there are other players in better leagues doing almost same thing he does.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:46 pm I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias.
Like I said, AFOY is for others. We have past that stage. Our focus now is CL and Balon D'or. But just interesting to understand the reason behind "Salah," aside from the fact that he plays in England - the Mecca of Nigerians.![]()
You and I are not the ones voting, hence, sentiments won't play a role.
You can't compare winning the Turkish league with the EPL or French league. Not to mention the champions league.
Even if he scores 100 goals in Turkey, it might not count in the grand scheme of things.
I’m proud to say I’ve watched 98% of Osimhen matches this season live on HD TVANC wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:51 pmHe gets it, believe you me. He is not slow.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:49 pmHe still doesn't get it.ANC wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:47 pmYou are just spoiling for a fight.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:15 pmLets have this conversation. (pardon me about speculation because Turkey season is not over)
Mo Salah -
- league title
- 33 goals
Vic Osimhen
- 33 goals
Turkey vs EPL?
Ask him why?

can you watch a paint dry? (to get a baseline about you).Synopsis wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:59 pmI’m proud to say I’ve watched 98% of Osimhen matches this season live on HD TVANC wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:51 pmHe gets it, believe you me. He is not slow.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:49 pmHe still doesn't get it.ANC wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:47 pmYou are just spoiling for a fight.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:15 pmLets have this conversation. (pardon me about speculation because Turkey season is not over)
Mo Salah -
- league title
- 33 goals
Vic Osimhen
- 33 goals
Turkey vs EPL?
Ask him why?![]()
DD said the games are unwatchable.
- danfo driver
With Hakimi, I have no complaints, If he wins the CL.kawawa wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:49 pmHakimi: best player in the best African team of last three years, win French league, final Champions league. If they win it not even a context. Salah had a good year but fortunes dimmed. Vic O amazing year but Türkiye league and not progressing more in Europe.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:46 pm I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias.
My reservation is about Salah. What did he do that is "amazing?" He won a league title. Thats it??? Salah did not progress in Europe as well.
The facts are simple and clear. If Victor wins the double, he has had a better season than Salah. Thats a fact that is indisputable.
- danfo driver
I think you arent getting it. I dont care whether Victor wins the AFOY. In fact, people close to Victor will tell you that he has passed that stage. His focus is CL and Balon D'or. He will leave AFOY to the likes of Hakimi and Salah to be fighting for.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:54 pmYou still don't get it. I will even rate Osimhen above most strikers in the world today, but the truth is he can't win the award playing in Turkey, when there are other players in better leagues doing almost same thing he does.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:46 pm I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias.
You can't compare winning the Turkish league with the EPL or French league. Not to mention the champions league.
Even if he scores 100 goals in Turkey, it might not count in the grand scheme of things.
My focus and interest is to have a conversation on why you think Salah has had a better season than Victor, when the facts says that is NOT true.
So are you going to give Salah, Wissa and Mbemuo more points for playing in the EPL than the points you award to Hakimi, Guirassy and Lookman? Afterall, the first three play in the Golden Mecca.

Anyway, like I said, we are not concerned about AFOY. They can give it to Salah or Hakimi or Mbemuo or Wissa.
What I want to talk to you about is how you can say a league title + 33 goals is better than a double + 33 goals. Lets discuss that please.
- bret- hart
Best Osimhen can get is in the 10 man shortlist. I dont think CAF will overlook Gurassy and Salah for him. Salah plays in the EPL and won the EPL and even though he is a system merchant and fades away as usual when Liverpool needs him the most, He will be in the top 3. If PSG wins the UCL CAF might as well just mail the award to Hakimi's mom and save us the pomp and pagentry.
Last edited by bret- hart on Thu May 08, 2025 8:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Even forgot the Guirassy guy.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
The point is that if they are at paar on performance, the person playing in the most competitive league has the upper hand. That's how football is.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 5:11 pmI think you arent getting it. I dont care whether Victor wins the AFOY. In fact, people close to Victor will tell you that he has passed that stage. His focus is CL and Balon D'or. He will leave AFOY to the likes of Hakimi and Salah to be fighting for.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:54 pmYou still don't get it. I will even rate Osimhen above most strikers in the world today, but the truth is he can't win the award playing in Turkey, when there are other players in better leagues doing almost same thing he does.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:46 pm I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias.
My focus and interest is to have a conversation on why you think Salah has had a better season than Victor, when the facts says that is NOT true.
So are you going to give Salah, Wissa and Mbemuo more points for playing in the EPL than the points you award to Hakimi, Guirassy and Lookman? Afterall, the first three play in the Golden Mecca.![]()
Anyway, like I said, we are not concerned about AFOY. They can give it to Salah or Hakimi or Mbemuo or Wissa.
What I want to talk to you about is how you can say a league title + 33 goals is better than a double + 33 goals. Lets discuss that please.
Scoring 50 goals in an African league for instance won't win you the African best player. It is what it is.
- danfo driver
Okay. Lets go with your reasoning - "If 2 are at par, the person playing in the most competitive league has the upper hand."naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 7:33 pmThe point is that if they are at paar on performance, the person playing in the most competitive league has the upper hand. That's how football is.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 5:11 pmI think you arent getting it. I dont care whether Victor wins the AFOY. In fact, people close to Victor will tell you that he has passed that stage. His focus is CL and Balon D'or. He will leave AFOY to the likes of Hakimi and Salah to be fighting for.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:54 pmYou still don't get it. I will even rate Osimhen above most strikers in the world today, but the truth is he can't win the award playing in Turkey, when there are other players in better leagues doing almost same thing he does.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:46 pm I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias.
So are you going to give Salah, Wissa and Mbemuo more points for playing in the EPL than the points you award to Hakimi, Guirassy and Lookman? Afterall, the first three play in the Golden Mecca.![]()
Scoring 50 goals in an African league for instance won't win you the African best player. It is what it is.
Is this "at par?"
Person A:
- league title
- 33 goals
Person B
- League title
- Cup
- 33 goals
NOTE: definition of "At par" is "at face value."
I assume you meant "on par," and my response to you is related to "on par." Defintion of "on par" is "at the same level or standard as something else, or equal to it."
Please use that definition, as you respond. Thanks.
danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 7:53 pmOkay. Lets go with your reasoning - "If 2 are at par, the person playing in the most competitive league has the upper hand."naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 7:33 pmThe point is that if they are at paar on performance, the person playing in the most competitive league has the upper hand. That's how football is.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 5:11 pmI think you arent getting it. I dont care whether Victor wins the AFOY. In fact, people close to Victor will tell you that he has passed that stage. His focus is CL and Balon D'or. He will leave AFOY to the likes of Hakimi and Salah to be fighting for.naijaguy wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 4:54 pmYou still don't get it. I will even rate Osimhen above most strikers in the world today, but the truth is he can't win the award playing in Turkey, when there are other players in better leagues doing almost same thing he does.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 08, 2025 3:46 pm I think some of you are doing "the boy whose father is the coach." Because the boy is your son, you dont want to seem biased, so you try your best to create an idea for another player to make it seem like that player has achieved more than your son, and then you wont come off as bias.
Is this "at par?"
Person A:
- league title
- 33 goals
Person B
- League title
- Cup
- 33 goals
NOTE: definition of "At par" is "at face value."
I assume you meant "on par," and my response to you is related to "on par." Defintion of "on par" is "at the same level or standard as something else, or equal to it."
Please use that definition, as you respond. Thanks.
Not all leagues are equal.
Where would you rank Person A, and B leagues?
Just for reference

https://www.uefa.com/nationalassociatio ... ?year=2025
- danfo driver
Feel free to refer to my question. Is one league title higher than a double?