Hull City close in on Ajayi

Hull City want to sign ex-Sheffield United striker Oli McBurnie, 29, from Las Palmas after the Spanish side's relegation from La Liga but may face competition from his former club if Chris Wilder remains as Blades manager. (Hull Daily Mail), external
The Tigers are also set to sign former West Bromwich Albion centre-back Semi Ajayi, 31, after he was released by the Baggies this summer. (Hull Daily Mail)

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/arti ... 282pvw659o

Happy for the Lad.
Re: Hull City close in on Ajayi

Good news for him that a club wants to sign him!

Hopefully, he can concentrate on his club and not be invited to the national team. His former club, West Brom, that released him finished 9th in Div 2. Hull City finished 21st out of 24 spots in Div 2 (i.e, they finished the season in the last slot just before the 3 who were relegated to Div 3).

While most Nigerian fans will immediately feel a warm moist feeling in their heart at hearing "Div 2" and "almost relegated to Div 3," I plead with Chelle to PLEASE move on and move forward. Let Ajayi focus on his club career.
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 12:57 am Good news for him that a club wants to sign him!

Hopefully, he can concentrate on his club and not be invited to the national team. His former club, West Brom, that released him finished 9th in Div 2. Hull City finished 21st out of 24 spots in Div 2 (i.e, they finished the season in the last slot just before the 3 who were relegated to Div 3).

While most Nigerian fans will immediately feel a warm moist feeling in their heart at hearing "Div 2" and "almost relegated to Div 3," I plead with Chelle to PLEASE move on and move forward. Let Ajayi focus on his club career.
There isn't any evidence to justify the constant attack on Ajayi. Ajayi has done well for the Super Eagles and continues to do so. Until we find significantly better central defenders, he will continue to serve his fatherland faithfully as he has always done

ahidjo2 wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 4:58 am
danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 12:57 am Good news for him that a club wants to sign him!

There isn't any evidence to justify the constant attack on Ajayi. Ajayi has done well for the Super Eagles and continues to do so. Until we find significantly better central defenders, he will continue to serve his fatherland faithfully as he has always done

Why do you call it an ‘attack.’?
If we are talking about attacks on SE players (none of which I approve of) then he doesn’t come close.
Ajayi shouldn’t be free of criticism just because he has subjectively “done well”.
What does that even mean?

He is mostly anonymous in the SE defence in many people’s opinion, including mine. Not good enough for an ambitious side.
It should concern all of us that his club career is virtually over, yet we are still holding him up as if some untouchable defence icon.
Him and Ekong are bad news for our central defence against top opposition.
Let’s not FAFO when it’s too late. :idea:

We need to move on from Ajayi and Ekong but will Chelle take that bold move with crucial WCQs coming up in September.
I will place my trust on Bassey and Frederick( hopefully he would have played a few league matches before the encounter).
If Frederick is still not playing top level club football then I would start Gabe Osho

Damunk wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 5:32 am

If we are talking about attacks on SE players (none of which I approve of) then he doesn’t come close.
Ajayi shouldn’t be free of criticism just because he has subjectively “done well”.

He is mostly anonymous in the SE defence in many people’s opinion, including mine. Not good enough for an ambitious side.
It should concern all of us that his club career is virtually over, yet we are still holding him up as if some untouchable defence icon.
Exactly, football unfortunately isn't a charity career and none of these players are doing us a favor by accepting call-ups, Ajayi is a top lad who has done well for the NT, but from a football perspective he has absolutely no business getting a call-up at this point, along with Ekong.

Can we address what you mean by well? This current SE are the most trophyless set . They haven't won anything for Nigeria. They failed to qualify for the last worldcup, are like 4th in the current WCQs.. currently cannot win a football match at home. Depends on just one player in a game.

They've done nothing in green white green except Snapchat fc

LOOOOOL You dont know them. It doesnt concern them at all. These people dont care about us, our team or whether we make it to the World Cup or win titles. THEY DO NOT CARE! As far as they are concerned, seeing "their person" wear the national jersey is enough "win" for them.

They know what they are doing and what is benefiting them. Unfortunately, this is Nigeria, largely. Most Nigerians are not interested in the greater good of the country. So long as them or their person is benefiting, its really irrelevant to them how we do.

You have a player who is presently clubless. Who was kicked out by a 9th placed Div 2 team. Who is now wanted by a Div 2 team that almost got relegated and instead of this person to say "wait o! This is not good for our national team. A guy courted by an almost relegated Div 2 team will struggle against the top opposition we will meet like he did against Russia. Wait o! I love Nigeria so much, shouldnt we try to look for someone else?"

NOOOOOO!! Thats not how these people think. Not the slgihtest. Look at him, bursting out, with his chest puffed out, talking about "Ajayi will continue to serve his fatherland" :lol: :lol: As if that is supposed to be something that will pain me? My brother, we are all going to be watching the World Cup from our TVs! :lol: This is the punishment we will all go through together. Some of us did nothing to deserve this, but it is fine. Unfortunately, thats life. When a few people ion a group commit an offense, the whole group suffers and we accept our cross.

Your pleading is not going to move anyone. Chelle and his team will make an informed decision, not a sentimental one.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Like Russia?

Meanwhile, the young pretenders lining up to take over let in cheap goals against low opposition. Make Una kontinue.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 3:51 pm

Like Russia?

Meanwhile, the young pretenders lining up to take over let in cheap goals against low opposition. Make Una kontinue.
Are you by any chance calling Russia ‘top opposition”? :blink:
Do you know their FIFA ranking?

Lolly wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 3:49 pm

Your pleading is not going to move anyone. Chelle and his team will make an informed decision, not a sentimental one.
Was inviting a clubless player an "informed decision?" Yes or no, please. Thanks!
kendo

Post by kendo »

Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.

Damunk wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 5:08 pm

Like Russia?

Russia is ranked 35, higher than us. The same Russia beat Serbia that is ranked higher than them.

Meanwhile, Senegal (19) beat England (4). So who is the top team?

Even if we play Ogbu, Frederick, Bassey, Osho and whoever else is knocking on the door, we would still lose to a top 30 team in a competitive game. Bros, we are not at that level. We need to stop blaming Ekong and Ajayi for our failure.
Last edited by Lolly on Thu Jun 19, 2025 6:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 5:51 pm

Was inviting a clubless player an "informed decision?" Yes or no, please. Thanks!
Ajayi played his club’s last game of the season, so he wasn’t clubless when he was invited. And he has since got a new club before the new season starts. That is not the description of a clubless player.

Congratulations to Ajayi.

Lolly wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 6:51 pm
danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 5:51 pm

Ajayi played his club’s last game of the season, so he wasn’t clubless when he was invited. And he has since got a new club before the new season starts. That is not the description of a clubless player.
Okay. Thanks.

I think we have two different definitions of a clubless player. For me, a clubless player is one who does not have a club. When Ajayi was at the Unity Cup and Russia, he was released from Hull City and had no club - that is a clubless player.

Lolly wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 6:48 pm

Like Russia?

Russia is ranked 35, higher than us. The same Russia beat Serbia that is ranked higher than them.

Even if we play Ogbu, Frederick, Bassey, Osho and whoever else is knocking on the door, we would still lose to a top 30 team in a competitive game. Bros, we are not at that level. We need to stop blaming Ekong and Ajayi for our failure.
You’re constructing a strawman.
“Blaming” is your own construct. I am talking of the future and you are talking of the past.

If you are insisting that Ekong and Ajayi should remain, make it clear.
I am saying they are no longer good enough.

You need to simply say “they are good enough” so we know exactly what your position is.
It’s simple.

And you still haven’t said whether you consider Russia ‘top opposition’ or not.
That they are rated higher than us means jack.
And it still doesn’t make them “top opposition”.

Damunk wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 8:12 pm
Lolly wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 6:48 pm

Like Russia?

You’re constructing a strawman.
“Blaming” is your own construct. I am talking of the future and you are talking of the past.

You need to simply say “they are good enough” so we know exactly what your position is.
It’s simple.

I guess you have conveniently forgotten how Ekong is being blamed for us “missing” out of the World Cup.

As of today, Ekong and Ajayi will be in my team to play our next set of World Cup qualifiers. That makes them good enough for us.

And yes, I will classify Russia as top opposition. They lost on penalties in the quarterfinals of the 2018 World Cup to the eventual finalist. They missed 2022 due to sanctions.

Lolly wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 9:05 pm
Damunk wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 8:12 pm You’re constructing a strawman.

It’s simple.

I guess you have conveniently forgotten how Ekong is being blamed for us “missing” out of the World Cup.
That’s why you are constructing a strawman.
You haven’t seen and won’t see me playing that blame game.
So you can’t rope me into other people’s argument to enable your debate with me.
As of today, Ekong and Ajayi will be in my team to play our next set of World Cup qualifiers. That makes them good enough for us.
That’s your prerogative to think so but my belief is that they are a disaster waiting to happen. It’s why I said they’d be found out against ‘top opposition’. Only a very brave Chelle would drop Ekong right now but I believe he’ll be dropping Ajayi almost immediately. But we’ll see. :thumb:

And yes, I will classify Russia as top opposition. They lost on penalties in the quarterfinals of the 2018 World Cup to the eventual finalist. They missed 2022 due to sanctions.
You’re probably the only man in the world outside Russia that believes so.
2018 was seven years ago. I don’t see how you can possibly use that as a yardstick.
But let’s have some fun and ask ChatGPT… :idea:

ChatGPT,
Strictly in terms of quality, would the Russian national football team be considered as a ‘top’ national team in 2025?
Dear Damunk
As of 2025, strictly in terms of footballing quality, the Russian national team would not be considered a ‘top’ national team.

Here’s why:

1. Competitive Absence
Russia has been largely excluded from international competitions (e.g., UEFA and FIFA events) since early 2022 due to geopolitical sanctions related to the war in Ukraine. This lack of regular high-level competition has significantly hindered squad development, match sharpness, and global benchmarking.

2. FIFA Rankings
While current rankings can fluctuate, Russia has dropped in FIFA rankings due to inactivity or lower-tier fixtures (friendlies and regional tournaments outside UEFA). Top-tier teams—like Argentina, France, Brazil, Germany, England—maintain high rankings through sustained performance against strong opposition.

3. Player Pool and Club Competitiveness
The Russian Premier League is now relatively isolated, and Russian players rarely feature in top European leagues.
This isolation affects player development, tactical exposure, and international scouting.

4. Tactical Evolution
Top national teams evolve tactically through exposure to varied footballing styles and high-stakes competition.
Russia’s current situation has limited their tactical progression and experience against elite teams.

5. Recent Form and Talent
Even before the suspension, Russia was a solid mid-tier team, capable of good results (e.g., 2018 World Cup quarter-finalists), but not at the elite level.
As of 2025, there’s no evidence of a generational talent surge that would vault them into top-tier status.

Summary:
Russia may still have a competitive core, but in current global football terms, they are not among the top national teams. Their absence from elite tournaments, decline in opposition quality, and limited player export have significantly eroded their standing.
And there you have it.
Nor be only me talk am.
But you are obviously free to stick with your opinion.
Nobody will fight you. :taunt:

Damunk wrote: Thu Jun 19, 2025 10:06 pm
ChatGPT,
Strictly in terms of quality, would the Russian national football team be considered as a ‘top’ national team in 2025?
Dear Damunk
As of 2025, strictly in terms of footballing quality, the Russian national team would not be considered a ‘top’ national team.

Here’s why:

1. Competitive Absence
Russia has been largely excluded from international competitions (e.g., UEFA and FIFA events) since early 2022 due to geopolitical sanctions related to the war in Ukraine. This lack of regular high-level competition has significantly hindered squad development, match sharpness, and global benchmarking.

2. FIFA Rankings
While current rankings can fluctuate, Russia has dropped in FIFA rankings due to inactivity or lower-tier fixtures (friendlies and regional tournaments outside UEFA). Top-tier teams—like Argentina, France, Brazil, Germany, England—maintain high rankings through sustained performance against strong opposition.

3. Player Pool and Club Competitiveness
The Russian Premier League is now relatively isolated, and Russian players rarely feature in top European leagues.
This isolation affects player development, tactical exposure, and international scouting.

4. Tactical Evolution
Top national teams evolve tactically through exposure to varied footballing styles and high-stakes competition.
Russia’s current situation has limited their tactical progression and experience against elite teams.

5. Recent Form and Talent
Even before the suspension, Russia was a solid mid-tier team, capable of good results (e.g., 2018 World Cup quarter-finalists), but not at the elite level.
As of 2025, there’s no evidence of a generational talent surge that would vault them into top-tier status.

Summary:
Russia may still have a competitive core, but in current global football terms, they are not among the top national teams. Their absence from elite tournaments, decline in opposition quality, and limited player export have significantly eroded their standing.
And there you have it.
Nor be only me talk am.
But you are obviously free to stick with your opinion.
Nobody will fight you. :taunt:
So even after the above ChatGPT report, they are still ranked above us in 2025. What does that tell you?

Ajayi Signs for Hull City AFC