It's Full Time for Peter Rufai as He Dies at 61

News is that he's passed o. Jesus!

Can this link be trusted?

https://radionigerialagos.gov.ng/ex-sup ... i-is-dead/
Last edited by anointed on Thu Jul 03, 2025 6:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Peter Rufai

Still the non-mainstream outlet breaking the news sha

Was said to have been ill for some time.

Just 61 years. Was he like 18,19 playing for Stores in Chellenge Cup & African Cup Winners Cup in 81/82?

This death na wa o.

https://www.legit.ng/sports/football/16 ... ufai-dead/

https://bsnsports.com.ng/post/Super-Eag ... Dies-At-61

https://caretakernewsnow.com/super-eagl ... -61/?amp=1
Last edited by anointed on Thu Jul 03, 2025 6:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Peter Rufai Dead?

Wow, terrible news, may his soul Rest In Peace, legend, a Super Eagle.

Re: Peter Rufai Dead?

anointed wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 6:32 pm News is that he's passed o. Jesus!

Can this link be trusted?

https://radionigerialagos.gov.ng/ex-sup ... i-is-dead/
Chei!
Thank you for the memories and the sacrifices, Peter (Dodomayana) Rufai, MON.
May the Creator comfort your family.
Rest in Peace!

Re: Peter Rufai

anointed wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 6:37 pm Still the non-mainstream outlet breaking the news sha

Was said to have been ill for some time.

Just 61 years. Was he like 18,19 playing for Stores in Chellenge Cup & African Cup Winners Cup in 81/82?

This death na wa o.

https://www.legit.ng/sports/football/16 ... ufai-dead/

https://bsnsports.com.ng/post/Super-Eag ... Dies-At-61

https://caretakernewsnow.com/super-eagl ... -61/?amp=1
He had just finished secondary school then. May his soul Rest in Peace
Re: It's Full Time for Peter Rufai as He Dies at 61

Wow. And he has been looking really fit and well in recent years compared to his peers.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Sad day for Nigeria football. One of our legends has finished his race. May the Lord comfort his family.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

I just might need a break from social media today and just unwind at the gym, not just a good day.

RIP legend

My fav eagles goalie. Cant forget that diving penalty catch at Maroc 88. Man of the match. RIP!!!

Tobi17 wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 7:10 pm I just might need a break from social media today and just unwind at the gym, not just a good day.

RIP legend

For real. RIP Peter Rufai.

Rest in peace Dodomayana.
What a sad day for football. Diogo Jota earlier and now this.

RIP DODO MAYANA!!

bunda

Post by bunda »

Kai!
Terrible news

R.I.P Dodo Mayana, I started following the SE in 1993. The memories of watching you between the goal post would forever be a blessing.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Whaoo... terrible news. Rufai gone?!
Very sad sad for football all over the world today. RIP. Thanks the memories. :atc:

Mods should make it this thread a sticky until he's buried.

trae_z

Post by trae_z »

Rest in peace Boss🙏🏾

fabio wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 7:26 pm
He had lost a lot of weight in this video. He must have been ill. This news is terrible. He was such a nice person.

Wow! What a day...

Rest in peace Peter...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Top level goalie has, indeed, returned to his maker. May his soul rest in peace.

When I think of Rufai, two things come to mind. His break through at Stationery Stores FC in Lagos at a very young age. He seemed to defy gravity. At the time it was clear that he was headed to the national team.

These conditions thing was his controversial battles with managers which impacted his overall NT appearances. Each time, it looked that he would lose the battle but his skill level always assured a return to the very top.

The faith in his is talent eventually metered out when he returned at the 1998 World Cup.

That Rufai has said good bye after such a remarkable journey highlights grit, perseverance, and fate. The last one being special.

Good bye, great one.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Lolly wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 7:35 pm
fabio wrote: Thu Jul 03, 2025 7:26 pm
He had lost a lot of weight in this video. He must have been ill. This news is terrible. He was such a nice person.
Plenty sef.
It was barely a few years ago that we were marveling at how he was still looking so fit and kept goal for Okocha dem in a 5-a-side game Int’l tournament.
Dodomayana rest in peace.
2think

Post by 2think »

What a day!

Thanks for your service to Nigeria and for the fond memories.

Rest in joy
May the Lord God Bless U real Good

R.I.P Peter Rufai.
What a day in the football world.