Likely Squad

Can someone give us a list of 22 players that will be invited to play against Gabon.
Last edited by Sir V on Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mind you, this is how I see it playing out and not necessarily my personal preference.

1. Vincent Enyeama
2. Austin Ejide
3. Greg Etafia

4. Joseph Yobo
5. Taribo West
6. Isaac Okoronkwo
7. Celestine Babayaro
8. Ifeanyi Udeze
9. Romanus Orjinta/ Joseph Enakarhire
10. George Abbey/Bob Usim

11. Uche Kalu
12. Austin Okocha
13. Seyi Olofinjana
14. Chris Obodo
15. Ifeanyi Ekwueme
16. Garba Lawal/Gabriel Melkam
17. Tijjani Babangida/Pius Ikedia/Muyiwa Lawal

18. Victor Agali
19. Julius Aghahowa
20. Nwankwo Kanu
21. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
22. John Utaka

*Obafemi Martins?

Mystic, I can see you know your football. To me this is a solid squad, Chukwu cannot go wrong with this.
If Obafemi decides to play, who would you edge out in the striking position?

Ayo, where you dey?
ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

Garba Lawal and Benedict Akwuegbu have guaranteed shirts....there shirts are as guaranteed as Okocha, Kanu, Yobo and Olofijana's

Whgy do we need camps if we can name players without seeing the players?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

If Obafemi is available, I suspect Chukwu will go with 6 strikers and either one less midfielder or defender. Perhaps Chukwu might again opt for John Utaka in right midfield which would put those that I currently have competing for that right midfield role (Babangida, Ikedia, Muyiwa) in trouble.

well great squad the least they can finish is 2nd

Post by GUEST »

Mystic, Not Bad! As much as I will like to see Uche Kalu and Ifeanyi Ekwueme made the Final 22--I doubt these 2 will make the Final 22.
GARBAL LAWAL will definetely take one of this guy SPOT.

GUEST wrote:Mystic, Not Bad! As much as I will like to see Uche Kalu and Ifeanyi Ekwueme made the Final 22--I doubt these 2 will make the Final 22.
Garba Lawal will definately be there.
Last edited by Sir V on Sat Feb 26, 2005 9:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Web Ohene

Post by Web Ohene »

Dont forget Pius Ikedia :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
ayohoff

Post by ayohoff »

any gagte crashers yet
great goal!
mister dolly

Post by mister dolly »

mystic, I couldn't fault your list..I have a feeling Osaze and Ikedia might have a shot at making the squad though..
Martin

Post by Martin »

mystic wrote:Mind you, this is how I see it playing out and not necessarily my personal preference.

1. Vincent Enyeama
2. Austin Ejide
3. Greg Etafia

4. Joseph Yobo
5. Taribo West
6. Isaac Okoronkwo
7. Celestine Babayaro
8. Ifeanyi Udeze
9. Romanus Orjinta/ Joseph Enakarhire
10. George Abbey/Bob Usim

11. Uche Kalu
12. Austin Okocha
13. Seyi Olofinjana
14. Chris Obodo
15. Ifeanyi Ekwueme
16. Garba Lawal/Gabriel Melkam
17. Tijjani Babangida/Pius Ikedia/Muyiwa Lawal

18. Victor Agali
19. Julius Aghahowa
20. Nwankwo Kanu
21. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
22. John Utaka

*Obafemi Martins?
Mystic that is pretty close to the team I think Chukwu will select. My only differences with the team you named above are:

1. I believe he will choose Martins, if available and that Utaka will be a right sided midfielder eliminating the possible trio you named of Babangida/Ikedia/Muyiwa Lawal. If Martins doesn't decide to attend ANC then either Osaze Odemwingie or Babangida will go as a right sided midfielder or (sadly) Akwuegbu will go as an additional striker.

2. I believe these good reviews Garba Lawal is receiving is an indication that he'll make the team instead of Melkam.

3. I don't think Ejide will make the squad as a goalkeeper and one of Okoye or Sunday Rotimi (likely Rotimi) will make it instead.

4. In defense I think Enakarhire will make the team in place of Orjinta and George Abbey will instead of Usim.

It's not exactly the team I'd choose but it is what I think Chukwu will select.
Aniefiok Abrakpan

Post by Aniefiok Abrakpan »

JAG, Kanu, Utaks up front. Martins Schillacci supersub.

Aliu Mohammed can now be included, he has been invited may be to replace Martins.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Osaze Odemwingie is not ready yet. Let him learn from being in the U-23 camp.
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

we all know that CCC will take Akwuegbu
The Observer

Post by The Observer »

GUEST wrote:Mystic, Not Bad! As much as I will like to see Uche Kalu and Ifeanyi Ekwueme made the Final 22--I doubt these 2 will make the Final 22.
Ekwueme will make the final 22.
okuns

Post by okuns »

I don't understand Cybereagles sometimes... Benedict Akwuegbu has been in the Eagles' equation regardless of the handler. He was in Bonfrere's squad for ANC2000, Amodu shunned him at the last moment, and he was in Onigbinde's WC2002 squad. Now, he is also in CCC's list.

Akwuegbu has ALWAYS been there... There has to be a reason for this. So, people shouldn't be inferring that this is something new.
Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

ugly boy wrote:Garba Lawal and Benedict Akwuegbu have guaranteed shirts....there shirts are as guaranteed as Okocha, Kanu, Yobo and Olofijana's
say what?
sunshinestar

Post by sunshinestar »

I wish Ayo could say something here.
ugly boy

Post by ugly boy »

Okochadman2Nas wrote:
ugly boy wrote:Garba Lawal and Benedict Akwuegbu have guaranteed shirts....there shirts are as guaranteed as Okocha, Kanu, Yobo and Olofijana's
say what?
ol boy I no like am but I'm saying the truth...these guys are always the usual suspect wastepipes and hey yous....