The making of the new Super Eagles - A 20 man List.
For me, this is a list of 20 players the new coach should make the core of the New Look Super Eagles:
Goalies - 2:
1. Vincent Enyeama
2. Ambrose Vanzekin - we really need someone who can push Enyeama to give his best. Ejide and co have failed severally in this regard. He will bring a new fresh of breath to the goal keeping task.
Defenders: 7
1. Joseph Yobo - designated as captain
2. Joseph Enarkhire
3. Seyi Olajengbesi - if fully recovered from his injury. Otherwise i will give this spot to Apam Onyekachi
4. Rabiu Afolabi - a good backup for the CD and RB position.
5. Chidi Odiah
6. Taye Taiwo
7. Ifeanyi Emeghara - time to bring a fresher option to this position.
Midfield: 6
1. Atanda Yusuf
2. Sani Kaita
3. John Mikel Obi
4. Xtian Obodo
5. Osazee Odemwegie
6. Aliyu Mohammed
Attack: 5
1. Obafemi Martins
2. Ayodele Makinwa
3. John Utaka
4. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
5. Julius Aghahowa - if fully recovered from his injury. And if not, i will chose Solomon Okoronkwo over Isaac Promise for the option he brings in a 4-4-2 formation.
With this squad the team can easily line up in the 3-5-2 formation as follows:
1. Enyeama.
2. Enarkhire - CD
3. Yobo - CD
4. Olajengbesi - CD
5. Odiah - RWB
6. Taye - LWB
7. Atanda - DM
8. Kaita - DM
9. Obi - AM/CM
10. Makinwa - Attack
11. Martins - attack
Or if the coach prefers in a 4-4-2 formation as follows: - for me here is innovation:
1. Enyeama
2. Odiah - RFB
3. Taye - LFB
4. Yobo - CD
5. Olajengbesi - CD
6. Atanda - DM
7. Obi - CM
8. Aghahowa - RW
9. Martins - LW
10. Utaka - support Striker
11. Makinwa - Main Striker
Waiting List:
This comprises of players i believe are currently knocking on the door for the SE. Some are bonafides member in the CCC era, but seriously some of these guys are lacking in their respective position. As such the need to bring in fresh breath to these positions.
Goalie:
1. Austin Ejide
2. Dele Aiyenugba
3. Chijoke Ejiogu - this is a goalie i believe deserves to be a member of the setup for the last 2 or 3 years. I guess our coaches lack of patience is responsible for this.
4. Segun Oluwaniyi of Rangers - who from reports seems to be very good and tops in the local league today.
Defenders:
1. Isaac Okoronkwo - at his peak was good. How is he doing today at his new club.
2. Apam Onyekachi
3. Ifeanyi Udeze - Despite all his years in the SE, he is yet to convince me that he deserves a place. He could be really good if he gets to bring some professionalism into his play. Most times he plays secondary school football. What exactly has he learnt in Greece?
4. Dele Adeleye - To me another revelation of the WYC.
Midfield:
1. Yinka Adedeji - hopefully will get a good club and develop as a DM. He does have the potential though.
2. Paul Obiefule - another prospect. But please not for the DM position.
3. Seyi Olofinjana - his problem in the SE is mostly the misconception of his position. Seyi is never and will never be a DM. At best he provides an option similar to what Thompson Oliha provides in the SE of old. He will flourish if used as the water carrier of the midfield. Remember the role Eguavoen played in Maroc 88?
4. Uche kalu
5. Ogechukwu Ileagu - this guys deserves another deep and closer look.
Attack:
1. Solomon Okoronkwo - this is a player should be promoted very often depending on what the to be opponents play. If the need to play a 4-4-2 formation arises, there is no better player to play the support role today than this guy. For all you who have doubts i say PATIENCE. That is the key word in this guys case. I ask you all to cast your mind back to Amokachie of 1989, 1990, 1991 and you will understand what i am saying.
2. Isaac Promise - i believe we saw just a little bit of what he can do at the WYC because of his injury.
3. Ogbuke - another revelation from that competition.
4. Manasseh - i think this guy deserves a look in
5. Dosumu - another player deserving another look.
Coach:
Honestly if you ask me, i will rather give the job TODAY to Samson Siasia than employ an FC. Look all Siasia needs right now is a 5 year contract leading up to the WC in 2010. For trainings he can be seconded to teams like Holland, Croatia, Yugoslavia during these teams preparation for the European Championships. And also Brazil, Argentina during the South American championships. These to me are teams with the same football philosophy, mentality if you will as the SE.
But if we must go for an FC for me the ideal choice remains Ivica Osim. However any of the following will do though:
1. Lue Guen
2. any of the two Ottos from Germany
3. PSV Coach - former South Korean coach
This is my contribution to the making of the New Super Eagles.
Goalies - 2:
1. Vincent Enyeama
2. Ambrose Vanzekin - we really need someone who can push Enyeama to give his best. Ejide and co have failed severally in this regard. He will bring a new fresh of breath to the goal keeping task.
2. Joseph Enarkhire
3. Seyi Olajengbesi - if fully recovered from his injury. Otherwise i will give this spot to Apam Onyekachi
5. Chidi Odiah
6. Taye Taiwo
1. Atanda Yusuf
2. Sani Kaita
3. John Mikel Obi
4. Xtian Obodo
5. Osazee Odemwegie
6. Aliyu Mohammed
1. Obafemi Martins
2. Ayodele Makinwa
3. John Utaka
4. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
5. Julius Aghahowa - if fully recovered from his injury. And if not, i will chose Solomon Okoronkwo over Isaac Promise for the option he brings in a 4-4-2 formation.
1. Enyeama.
2. Enarkhire - CD
3. Yobo - CD
4. Olajengbesi - CD
5. Odiah - RWB
6. Taye - LWB
7. Atanda - DM
8. Kaita - DM
9. Obi - AM/CM
10. Makinwa - Attack
11. Martins - attack
Or if the coach prefers in a 4-4-2 formation as follows: - for me here is innovation:
1. Enyeama
2. Odiah - RFB
3. Taye - LFB
4. Yobo - CD
5. Olajengbesi - CD
6. Atanda - DM
7. Obi - CM
8. Aghahowa - RW
9. Martins - LW
Waiting List:
This comprises of players i believe are currently knocking on the door for the SE. Some are bonafides member in the CCC era, but seriously some of these guys are lacking in their respective position. As such the need to bring in fresh breath to these positions.
Goalie:
1. Austin Ejide
2. Dele Aiyenugba
3. Chijoke Ejiogu - this is a goalie i believe deserves to be a member of the setup for the last 2 or 3 years. I guess our coaches lack of patience is responsible for this.
4. Segun Oluwaniyi of Rangers - who from reports seems to be very good and tops in the local league today.
Defenders:
1. Isaac Okoronkwo - at his peak was good. How is he doing today at his new club.
2. Apam Onyekachi
3. Ifeanyi Udeze - Despite all his years in the SE, he is yet to convince me that he deserves a place. He could be really good if he gets to bring some professionalism into his play. Most times he plays secondary school football. What exactly has he learnt in Greece?
Midfield:
1. Yinka Adedeji - hopefully will get a good club and develop as a DM. He does have the potential though.
3. Seyi Olofinjana - his problem in the SE is mostly the misconception of his position. Seyi is never and will never be a DM. At best he provides an option similar to what Thompson Oliha provides in the SE of old. He will flourish if used as the water carrier of the midfield. Remember the role Eguavoen played in Maroc 88?
4. Uche kalu
Attack:
1. Solomon Okoronkwo - this is a player should be promoted very often depending on what the to be opponents play. If the need to play a 4-4-2 formation arises, there is no better player to play the support role today than this guy. For all you who have doubts i say PATIENCE. That is the key word in this guys case. I ask you all to cast your mind back to Amokachie of 1989, 1990, 1991 and you will understand what i am saying.
2. Isaac Promise - i believe we saw just a little bit of what he can do at the WYC because of his injury.
Coach:
Honestly if you ask me, i will rather give the job TODAY to Samson Siasia than employ an FC. Look all Siasia needs right now is a 5 year contract leading up to the WC in 2010. For trainings he can be seconded to teams like Holland, Croatia, Yugoslavia during these teams preparation for the European Championships. And also Brazil, Argentina during the South American championships. These to me are teams with the same football philosophy, mentality if you will as the SE.
But if we must go for an FC for me the ideal choice remains Ivica Osim. However any of the following will do though:
1. Lue Guen
- General Trousers
Re: The making of the new Super Eagles - A 20 man List.
Azuka, I feel good enough to rubberstamp this. Nonetheless I am cold on Okoronkwo and lukewarm on Obodo ... but this is good stuff.
azuka wrote:For me, this is a list of 20 players the new coach should make the core of the New Look Super Eagles:
Goalies - 2:
1. Vincent Enyeama
2. Joseph Enarkhire
5. Chidi Odiah
6. Taye Taiwo
1. Atanda Yusuf
2. Sani Kaita
3. John Mikel Obi
4. Xtian Obodo
5. Osazee Odemwegie
6. Aliyu Mohammed
1. Obafemi Martins
2. Ayodele Makinwa
3. John Utaka
4. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
1. Enyeama.
2. Enarkhire - CD
3. Yobo - CD
4. Olajengbesi - CD
5. Odiah - RWB
6. Taye - LWB
7. Atanda - DM
8. Kaita - DM
9. Obi - AM/CM
10. Makinwa - Attack
11. Martins - attack
1. Enyeama
2. Odiah - RFB
3. Taye - LFB
4. Yobo - CD
5. Olajengbesi - CD
6. Atanda - DM
7. Obi - CM
8. Aghahowa - RW
9. Martins - LW
Waiting List:
Goalie:
1. Austin Ejide
2. Dele Aiyenugba
Defenders:
2. Apam Onyekachi
Midfield:
4. Uche kalu
Attack:
Coach:
1. Lue Guen
Re: The making of the new Super Eagles - A 20 man List.
There is nothing wrong with the Super Eagles that good coaching and good management can't solve. What we need is not a 'new Super Eagles' per se, but rather to get better production from the 'present Super Eagles' while continuing to introduce and inculcate worthy talents into the team.
Taking a closer look at your post:
On the back of his performance with the Flying Eagles, I understand your inclination to bring on Vanzekin, and he truly deserves to enter the mix, right now. However, promoting him to the number two guy as patently absurd. He is not ready for that responsibility and could be ruined in the process. We need to bring him along slowly with an eye towards 2010. We already have enough young goalkeepers in the fold.
Furthermore, I find it rather funny that you have dismissed Austin Ejide. Based on what? Is it based on the fact that an inept coaching staff failed to give him an opportunity? The top Nigerian goalkeepers right now are Vincent Enyeama, Murphy Akanji, Austin Ejide and Ndubuisi Egbo. Enough of this foolishness! Segun Oluwaniyi, Dele Aiyenugba and Ambrose Vanzekin are the brightest prospects that we have after that, but are all PROSPECTS, right now, rather than proven commodities, and as long as we remain in contention for Germany 2006, I will table bringing them along for later.
As for our outside back, Chidi Odiah and Taye Taiwo are our top guys. On the back of his performance at the WYC and with continued development on tap for him at Marseille, Taiwo is ready. Udeze has always been a solid player for us and should remain. I agree with you that on Emeghara. After an outstanding season with Partizan Belgrade, he should be immediately brought into the picture - which would allow us to forget about Celestine Babayaro. George Abbey is solid as our number 2 RB. Under a good coaching staff, all that police stuff that people complain about, will be limited - watch and see. Yusuf Mohammed should be overlooked no more and gives us depth behind Odiah and Abbey, while Olubayo Adefemi should immediately be brought into the picture. The aforementioned Ifeanyi Emeghara can also double as a RB, which is all the more reason why he needs to be brought into the national team.
Taking a closer look at your post:
.Goalies - 2:
1. Vincent Enyeama
2. Ambrose Vanzekin - we really need someone who can push Enyeama to give his best. Ejide and co have failed severally in this regard. He will bring a new fresh of breath to the goal keeping task
On the back of his performance with the Flying Eagles, I understand your inclination to bring on Vanzekin, and he truly deserves to enter the mix, right now. However, promoting him to the number two guy as patently absurd. He is not ready for that responsibility and could be ruined in the process. We need to bring him along slowly with an eye towards 2010. We already have enough young goalkeepers in the fold.
Furthermore, I find it rather funny that you have dismissed Austin Ejide. Based on what? Is it based on the fact that an inept coaching staff failed to give him an opportunity? The top Nigerian goalkeepers right now are Vincent Enyeama, Murphy Akanji, Austin Ejide and Ndubuisi Egbo. Enough of this foolishness! Segun Oluwaniyi, Dele Aiyenugba and Ambrose Vanzekin are the brightest prospects that we have after that, but are all PROSPECTS, right now, rather than proven commodities, and as long as we remain in contention for Germany 2006, I will table bringing them along for later.
Yobo and Enakarhire are our top central defenders. Olajengbesi is our best prospect if he gets healthy and Okoronkwo is top class if he can regain a lease on his career in Russia. Beyond that, we have questions. Rabiu Afolabi appears to be the most ready and polished, but needs to do it in a Super Eagles uniform, among our 'best of the rest'. Thus all things being equal (i.e - players being in form, being healthy and enjoying playing time in their clubs) our top guys should be Yobo, Enakarhire, Okoronkwo, Olajengbesi & Afolabi. We have capable reserves in Obinna Nwaneri, Danny Shittu and Eric Ejiofor (who had a brilliant season); while Harrison Omokoh and Bobsam Elejiko continue to bear watching. Onyekachi Apam and Dele Adeleye are great prospects that we need to groom towards 2010.Defenders: 7
2. Joseph Enarkhire
5. Chidi Odiah
6. Taye Taiwo
As for our outside back, Chidi Odiah and Taye Taiwo are our top guys. On the back of his performance at the WYC and with continued development on tap for him at Marseille, Taiwo is ready. Udeze has always been a solid player for us and should remain. I agree with you that on Emeghara. After an outstanding season with Partizan Belgrade, he should be immediately brought into the picture - which would allow us to forget about Celestine Babayaro. George Abbey is solid as our number 2 RB. Under a good coaching staff, all that police stuff that people complain about, will be limited - watch and see. Yusuf Mohammed should be overlooked no more and gives us depth behind Odiah and Abbey, while Olubayo Adefemi should immediately be brought into the picture. The aforementioned Ifeanyi Emeghara can also double as a RB, which is all the more reason why he needs to be brought into the national team.
Aliyu Mohammed as one of our top midfielders? What a right joke! Sani Kaita belongs in the mix, but let us not get carried away. He still has a lot to prove. At any rate, he is a top shelf talent. Aside from Aliyu, this is more of a midfield for 2010.Midfield: 6
1. Atanda Yusuf
2. Sani Kaita
3. John Mikel Obi
4. Xtian Obodo
5. Osazee Odemwegie
6. Aliyu Mohammed
No qualms with your choice of strikers, but neither Solomon Okoronkwo or Isaac Promise are ready for the national team. And of the two, Promise is the one that I would be grooming for the future. Okoronkwo has bags of talent, but there is no end product to his game. He needs to be left alone to develop at Hertha Berlin, for now. He needs to be in the mix for the Olympic team, but any talk of him on the national team is premature, right now. After a full season at Hertha we can revisit the situation.Attack: 5
1. Obafemi Martins
2. Ayodele Makinwa
3. John Utaka
4. Yakubu Aiyegbeni
As I have said before, Samson Siasia would not be my choice to coach the national team. He deserves all the kudos right now, but let us not stunt his development as a coach by throwing him into a situation that he may not be ready for. My preference would be for him to take charge of the Olympic side, as I have mentioned time and again. And I like Ayo's suggestion that take up any opportunity that he has in Europe (Nantes and PSV were reportedly interested) as an alternative. However, I have no qualms with him being on the national team coaching staff, as is rumored to be the case. Whether he is the Olympic coach or an assistant with the Super Eagles, he has a lot to offer. However, I disagree with handing him the job as the Super Eagles head man. He still has a lot to prove, in my opinion.Coach:
By the way, this should be our current pool of players in my opinion (Note that our problems is not talent, but coaching, managing and motivating our talent in a way that gets the best out of them):
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama, Murphy Akanji, Austin Ejide, Ndubuisi Egbo
Right Backs: Chidi Odiah, George Abbey, Yusuf Mohammed, Olubayo Adefemi
Left Backs: Taye Taiwo, Ifeanyi Udeze, Ifeanyi Emeghara, Celestine Babayaro (if he is committed, otherwise one of the trio of Mutiu Adegoke, Ajibade Omolade & Gabriel Melkam - if healthy - gets the nod)
Centre Backs: Joseph Yobo, Joseph Enakarhire, Isaac Okoronkwo, Seyi Olajengbesi, Rabiu Afolabi, Eric Ejiofor, Obinna Nwaneri, Danny Shittu
Right Midifield: Pius Ikedia, Uche Kalu, James Obiora, Paul Obiefule, Rabiu Baita (health and club situation factored in)
Left Midfield: Bartholomew Ogbeche, Garba Lawal, Ifeanyi Ekwueme, Emmanuel Ebiede
Creative/Attacking Midfield: Austin Okocha, Wilson Oruma, John Mikel Obi, Osaze Odemwingie, Uche Ikechukwu
Defensive/Holding Midfield: Seyi Olofinjana, Chris Obodo, Yusuf Atanda, Justice Christopher, Sani Kaita, Onyekachi Okonkwo
Forwards: Obafemi Martins, Julius Aghahowa, John Utaka, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, Ayodele Makinwa, Nwankwo Kanu, Victor Agali, Manasseh Ishiaku, Aliyu Mohammed
Left Backs: Taye Taiwo, Ifeanyi Udeze, Ifeanyi Emeghara, Celestine Babayaro (if he is committed, otherwise one of the trio of Mutiu Adegoke, Ajibade Omolade & Gabriel Melkam - if healthy - gets the nod)
Centre Backs: Joseph Yobo, Joseph Enakarhire, Isaac Okoronkwo, Seyi Olajengbesi, Rabiu Afolabi, Eric Ejiofor, Obinna Nwaneri, Danny Shittu
Right Midifield: Pius Ikedia, Uche Kalu, James Obiora, Paul Obiefule, Rabiu Baita (health and club situation factored in)
Left Midfield: Bartholomew Ogbeche, Garba Lawal, Ifeanyi Ekwueme, Emmanuel Ebiede
Creative/Attacking Midfield: Austin Okocha, Wilson Oruma, John Mikel Obi, Osaze Odemwingie, Uche Ikechukwu
Defensive/Holding Midfield: Seyi Olofinjana, Chris Obodo, Yusuf Atanda, Justice Christopher, Sani Kaita, Onyekachi Okonkwo
Forwards: Obafemi Martins, Julius Aghahowa, John Utaka, Yakubu Aiyegbeni, Ayodele Makinwa, Nwankwo Kanu, Victor Agali, Manasseh Ishiaku, Aliyu Mohammed
Arrange the list well
Hi,
One important comment I have to make in that post is that you guys keep calling Utaka an attacker.Is it because of the way his name sounds?John is a mid fielder.
Another one is this:If we have to play 3-5-2,then Yobo will be a desaster.
I say this because a new coach is coming and by the time these events begin to unfold in the SE many people will not understand what happened.
Are those your numbers postions or just serial listing?
One important comment I have to make in that post is that you guys keep calling Utaka an attacker.Is it because of the way his name sounds?John is a mid fielder.
Another one is this:If we have to play 3-5-2,then Yobo will be a desaster.
I say this because a new coach is coming and by the time these events begin to unfold in the SE many people will not understand what happened.
Are those your numbers postions or just serial listing?
mystic wrote:By the way, this should be our current pool of players in my opinion (Note that our problems is not talent, but coaching, managing and motivating our talent in a way that gets the best out of them):
why is your squad for now so different from your squad 2010.
If you want the coach to work till 2010 or further I don´t think he wants to make a such extreme player change,the guys you named for now are all young enough to be experienced,but not too old players for 2010,why such a player change?
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
Mystic,
Let me repeat once that my choice of the word "New" rather than "Present" as you indicated is in consonance to my overall perspective of the SE today. My target is towards 2010 rather than 2006. As far as i am concerned, 2006 is a lost cause no thanks to CCC himself. If the unexpected happens, which i doubt very much or do you see a situation where Angola will not get the maximum 6 points from the 2 remaining matches given that we have to play before them, and we qualify then i will revisit my list and address the issues of Okocha, Kanu and Celestine Babayaro as we all know there is really no substute for experience. Untill then my target once again is 2010.
Having said that let me go ahead to the points you raised.
Goalies:
Ambrose Vanzekin. In two areas this guy stand heads and shoulder above all our current goal keepers today. Yes Enyeama inclusive. One is crossing which you will agree with me is the weak side to all our goalkeepers since the retirements of Ogedegbe and Okala. During the WYC, i was highly impressed with his handling of crosses. He showed he was a master of it and can only improve with time. Then there is the way he handles one-to-one situations. I am particularly impressed by this. There were many times when he was in situations where i have seen great goal keepers and yes i mean it concede penalties with red cards or yellow cards as added bonus, yet he narrowed the angles very well with good time divings forcing the opposing player wide. Go back and look carefully at the match against Brazil and Argentina and see what i am talking about.
Austin Ejide dont get me wrong is a good goal keeper but very weak in crossing and on one-to-one situations. In the last six months alone i have watched him severally play for his clubside in Tunisia. That apart he is not giving Enyeama the expected competition required to bring out the best in Enyeama. Enyeama still remains our best goal keeper no doubt but he needs serious competition in the national team to develop. If we qualify for 2006 WC against all hopes, then Ejide will surely make my squad as the 3rd goalie.
I have not seen Akanji and Egbo in recent times to make good judgement. But given that goalies improve with age and yet they play in the lowly leagues of Europe say a lot about both. I would rather give Segun Oluwaniyi and Dele Aiyenugba shirts rather than the 2 above.
Defenders:
Take a closer look at my choice of players and you will see the versatility in them. And i believe we are virtually in agreement on my choice except for Okonkwo. Okonkwo that we used to know will make my list of 20 SE players. That was the Okonkwo before Tunisia 2004. Today i dont know his form and will rather include him in the waiting list. Unless you are talking about a different Obinna but the one i have seen severally and last saw on Sunday against ASEC is not an SE material. Before you make any further comment please go and see Sunday's match and tell me what you think. Note my judgement of him was not based on that match alone. I am yet to see Danny SHittu, Elejiko, Harrison play recently as per say in the last 12 months and can not say much about them. In such situation i would rather include them in my Waiting List.
On the full backs we agree. If i may ask you so, Abbey Geroge is also not receiving good coaching in his English club too. My point is no amount of coaching can polish Abbey from what he is. There is no doubting his patriotism but that's all there is to it. I would rather select that Enyimba's right full back ahead of Abbey any day. That guy is good from matches of him i have seen in the last six months but then he is not good enough to make my waiting list.
Midfield:
I guess you only raised issues with Aliyu Mohammed. Well for clarification sake i am talking about Aliyu Mohammed Datti. That this guy today is not part of the SE mix is the greatest injustice you can think about. This is a guy that comes with a good use of both feets a luxury not common with our current SE players yet he is being overlooked. Everyone alludes to his performance in Angola. I ask can everyone be like Finidi George in their debut? Or if CW had closed the door on Amokachie on his debut would anyone have remembered him. Cast you mind back and tell me if Aliyu's debut is any worse than Amokachie's. Yet today we are lacking in the left side of the midfield and yet we dont want to give me a chance to see if he can fit into that position. He is included in my core 20 players for this position.
Attack:
A point of disagreement is Solomon Okoronkwo who is on my waiting list alongside Isaac Promise. Look from what i have seen of both players in the WYC, i will choose Okoronkwo ahead of Promise today. You see in what Promise can provide we have Utaka, Martins, Makinwa, Aghahowa. But for the aggression that Okoronkwo brings we have no body not even Martins. Dont get me wrong, Solomon is and should never be played as a top Striker. Rather play him as a support striker like Amokachie or as the midfielder cum striker as we saw Siasia play after losing the support striker position to Amokachie and you will get the best out of him. Dont worry with time, good coaching and hopefully patience which i hope he will receive in Hertha Berlin you will come to see my point.
On Siasia, it is the greatest misconception to allude inexperience as to why Siasia is not fit to coach the SE today. I say it with the greatest conviction and believe in me, he is more than ready to face the world as the SE coach. The coaches of Holland and Germany do not have his experience. And please dont sell me that story of his experience being at the U-20 level. Among some players at the U-20 which he faced are the following: Sonderoes and Owusu of Arsenal, Messi of Barcelona alongside several of his players from Boca Juniors and other top clubs in Argentina. In the Brazilian team are players from top Brazilian clubsides as well as Ajax among many others. So tell me again that this is U-20 players. My point is from the U-20 category there is not really much difference. Its all about tactics. And Siasia has shown he has it. He can only improve with it as he manages the SE. Above all he has shown he can learn from mistakes and not afraid of innovating. What else can you ask for.
Look with all these talk about him not being ready, we will soon be saddled with another Christian Chukwu in the guise of being an FC. Tell me can we get a Jose Marinho or a Rafael Benitez. Or is it a Guss d#$%(sp) of PSV or Rafgael of Greece that we can get. Or is it Ivica Osim with Jeff United in Japan my ideal coach for the SE that we can get. Of course you know we can not. Even Bruno Metsu who told me he will be willing to coach the SE if contacted we can not afford. Yes we can not afford him. So you see we will be only left with the likes of Troussier. And between Troussier and Siasia i will chose Siasia over Troussier today for the SE.
Let me repeat once that my choice of the word "New" rather than "Present" as you indicated is in consonance to my overall perspective of the SE today. My target is towards 2010 rather than 2006. As far as i am concerned, 2006 is a lost cause no thanks to CCC himself. If the unexpected happens, which i doubt very much or do you see a situation where Angola will not get the maximum 6 points from the 2 remaining matches given that we have to play before them, and we qualify then i will revisit my list and address the issues of Okocha, Kanu and Celestine Babayaro as we all know there is really no substute for experience. Untill then my target once again is 2010.
Having said that let me go ahead to the points you raised.
Goalies:
Ambrose Vanzekin. In two areas this guy stand heads and shoulder above all our current goal keepers today. Yes Enyeama inclusive. One is crossing which you will agree with me is the weak side to all our goalkeepers since the retirements of Ogedegbe and Okala. During the WYC, i was highly impressed with his handling of crosses. He showed he was a master of it and can only improve with time. Then there is the way he handles one-to-one situations. I am particularly impressed by this. There were many times when he was in situations where i have seen great goal keepers and yes i mean it concede penalties with red cards or yellow cards as added bonus, yet he narrowed the angles very well with good time divings forcing the opposing player wide. Go back and look carefully at the match against Brazil and Argentina and see what i am talking about.
Austin Ejide dont get me wrong is a good goal keeper but very weak in crossing and on one-to-one situations. In the last six months alone i have watched him severally play for his clubside in Tunisia. That apart he is not giving Enyeama the expected competition required to bring out the best in Enyeama. Enyeama still remains our best goal keeper no doubt but he needs serious competition in the national team to develop. If we qualify for 2006 WC against all hopes, then Ejide will surely make my squad as the 3rd goalie.
I have not seen Akanji and Egbo in recent times to make good judgement. But given that goalies improve with age and yet they play in the lowly leagues of Europe say a lot about both. I would rather give Segun Oluwaniyi and Dele Aiyenugba shirts rather than the 2 above.
Defenders:
Take a closer look at my choice of players and you will see the versatility in them. And i believe we are virtually in agreement on my choice except for Okonkwo. Okonkwo that we used to know will make my list of 20 SE players. That was the Okonkwo before Tunisia 2004. Today i dont know his form and will rather include him in the waiting list. Unless you are talking about a different Obinna but the one i have seen severally and last saw on Sunday against ASEC is not an SE material. Before you make any further comment please go and see Sunday's match and tell me what you think. Note my judgement of him was not based on that match alone. I am yet to see Danny SHittu, Elejiko, Harrison play recently as per say in the last 12 months and can not say much about them. In such situation i would rather include them in my Waiting List.
On the full backs we agree. If i may ask you so, Abbey Geroge is also not receiving good coaching in his English club too. My point is no amount of coaching can polish Abbey from what he is. There is no doubting his patriotism but that's all there is to it. I would rather select that Enyimba's right full back ahead of Abbey any day. That guy is good from matches of him i have seen in the last six months but then he is not good enough to make my waiting list.
Midfield:
I guess you only raised issues with Aliyu Mohammed. Well for clarification sake i am talking about Aliyu Mohammed Datti. That this guy today is not part of the SE mix is the greatest injustice you can think about. This is a guy that comes with a good use of both feets a luxury not common with our current SE players yet he is being overlooked. Everyone alludes to his performance in Angola. I ask can everyone be like Finidi George in their debut? Or if CW had closed the door on Amokachie on his debut would anyone have remembered him. Cast you mind back and tell me if Aliyu's debut is any worse than Amokachie's. Yet today we are lacking in the left side of the midfield and yet we dont want to give me a chance to see if he can fit into that position. He is included in my core 20 players for this position.
Attack:
A point of disagreement is Solomon Okoronkwo who is on my waiting list alongside Isaac Promise. Look from what i have seen of both players in the WYC, i will choose Okoronkwo ahead of Promise today. You see in what Promise can provide we have Utaka, Martins, Makinwa, Aghahowa. But for the aggression that Okoronkwo brings we have no body not even Martins. Dont get me wrong, Solomon is and should never be played as a top Striker. Rather play him as a support striker like Amokachie or as the midfielder cum striker as we saw Siasia play after losing the support striker position to Amokachie and you will get the best out of him. Dont worry with time, good coaching and hopefully patience which i hope he will receive in Hertha Berlin you will come to see my point.
On Siasia, it is the greatest misconception to allude inexperience as to why Siasia is not fit to coach the SE today. I say it with the greatest conviction and believe in me, he is more than ready to face the world as the SE coach. The coaches of Holland and Germany do not have his experience. And please dont sell me that story of his experience being at the U-20 level. Among some players at the U-20 which he faced are the following: Sonderoes and Owusu of Arsenal, Messi of Barcelona alongside several of his players from Boca Juniors and other top clubs in Argentina. In the Brazilian team are players from top Brazilian clubsides as well as Ajax among many others. So tell me again that this is U-20 players. My point is from the U-20 category there is not really much difference. Its all about tactics. And Siasia has shown he has it. He can only improve with it as he manages the SE. Above all he has shown he can learn from mistakes and not afraid of innovating. What else can you ask for.
Look with all these talk about him not being ready, we will soon be saddled with another Christian Chukwu in the guise of being an FC. Tell me can we get a Jose Marinho or a Rafael Benitez. Or is it a Guss d#$%(sp) of PSV or Rafgael of Greece that we can get. Or is it Ivica Osim with Jeff United in Japan my ideal coach for the SE that we can get. Of course you know we can not. Even Bruno Metsu who told me he will be willing to coach the SE if contacted we can not afford. Yes we can not afford him. So you see we will be only left with the likes of Troussier. And between Troussier and Siasia i will chose Siasia over Troussier today for the SE.
Last edited by azuka on Tue Jul 12, 2005 11:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Frenchie you see Utaka and Martins are two similar in their way of play that i think playing both together as partners, NOTE PARTNERS in the attack is tantamount to wasting both. Both are not the direct sort of attackers if you get my drift. At best they are both support strikers and such need a more direct partner as a striker. That's why i would rather go for Makinwa/Martins combo or Makinwa/Utaka combo or Aiyegbeni/Utaka or Aiyegbeni/Martins combo than a Martins/Utaka combo.Skylolo wrote:
You talk sense Azuka, I would choose SSS over many FC's myself.
I am always impressed by the work you put into your write up's, which tend to be very comprehensive.
BUT
Where is JJ
So benching Utaka for Makinwa makes sense to you??
Yep I feel u.azuka wrote:Frenchie you see Utaka and Martins are two similar in their way of play that i think playing both together as partners, NOTE PARTNERS in the attack is tantamount to wasting both. Both are not the direct sort of attackers if you get my drift. At best they are both support strikers and such need a more direct partner as a striker. That's why i would rather go for Makinwa/Martins combo or Makinwa/Utaka combo or Aiyegbeni/Utaka or Aiyegbeni/Martins combo than a Martins/Utaka combo.Skylolo wrote:
I am always impressed by the work you put into your write up's, which tend to be very comprehensive.
BUT
Where is JJ
But since we don't have a Vieri or Trezeguet kind of player u have to mek do with what u have. I believe benching Utaka is more of a waste than playing him along with Martins.
Mind u that fielding 2 forward with the same style can actually wreck havoc in opposite defenses. Remember the Yorke/Cole combo.

FRENCHIE FOR PRESIDEnT IN 2007
It does because you need a all out goalscorer in any team, skillful forwards are a delight to watch but goals win football matches.Frenchie wrote:So benching Utaka for Makinwa makes sense to you??Skylolo wrote:You talk sense Azuka, I would choose SSS over many FC's myself.
BUT
Where is JJ

To God be the glory
Cole and Yawke the same styleFrenchie wrote:Yep I feel u.azuka wrote:Frenchie you see Utaka and Martins are two similar in their way of play that i think playing both together as partners, NOTE PARTNERS in the attack is tantamount to wasting both. Both are not the direct sort of attackers if you get my drift. At best they are both support strikers and such need a more direct partner as a striker. That's why i would rather go for Makinwa/Martins combo or Makinwa/Utaka combo or Aiyegbeni/Utaka or Aiyegbeni/Martins combo than a Martins/Utaka combo.Skylolo wrote:
BUT
Where is JJ
But since we don't have a Vieri or Trezeguet kind of player u have to mek do with what u have. I believe benching Utaka is more of a waste than playing him along with Martins.
Mind u that fielding 2 forward with the same style can actually wreck havoc in opposite defenses. Remember the Yorke/Cole combo.

Please go back and watch Yorke at Villa and Manure, while you are at it check out Cole at Newcastle and Manure they are very different players......
One is Creative, Skillful and had excellent technique while the other was a typical English all out Center Forward.
To God be the glory
Who is the creative and skillful 1?Skylolo wrote:Cole and Yawke the same styleFrenchie wrote:Yep I feel u.azuka wrote:Frenchie you see Utaka and Martins are two similar in their way of play that i think playing both together as partners, NOTE PARTNERS in the attack is tantamount to wasting both. Both are not the direct sort of attackers if you get my drift. At best they are both support strikers and such need a more direct partner as a striker. That's why i would rather go for Makinwa/Martins combo or Makinwa/Utaka combo or Aiyegbeni/Utaka or Aiyegbeni/Martins combo than a Martins/Utaka combo.Skylolo wrote:
BUT
Where is JJ
Mind u that fielding 2 forward with the same style can actually wreck havoc in opposite defenses. Remember the Yorke/Cole combo.![]()
Please go back and watch Yorke at Villa and Manure, while you are at it check out Cole at Newcastle and Manure they are very different players......
One is Creative, Skillful and had excellent technique while the other was a typical English all out Center Forward.
who is the typical english center foward?
Abeg the two are the same, quite good skills, pace, good headers...
FRENCHIE FOR PRESIDEnT IN 2007
There is no point carrrying this on with you, you dont know what you are talking about! Manyoo changed Yawke's game a little bit, but he is a very different player when compared to Andy Cole.Frenchie wrote:Who is the creative and skillful 1?Skylolo wrote:Cole and Yawke the same styleFrenchie wrote:Yep I feel u.azuka wrote:Frenchie you see Utaka and Martins are two similar in their way of play that i think playing both together as partners, NOTE PARTNERS in the attack is tantamount to wasting both. Both are not the direct sort of attackers if you get my drift. At best they are both support strikers and such need a more direct partner as a striker. That's why i would rather go for Makinwa/Martins combo or Makinwa/Utaka combo or Aiyegbeni/Utaka or Aiyegbeni/Martins combo than a Martins/Utaka combo.Skylolo wrote:
BUT
Where is JJ
Mind u that fielding 2 forward with the same style can actually wreck havoc in opposite defenses. Remember the Yorke/Cole combo.![]()
who is the typical english center foward?
Abeg the two are the same, quite good skills, pace, good headers...
To God be the glory
- kash n' karry