If Eguavoen qualifies Nigeria for the WC, should...

..... a "foreign coach" appointed to take us to the World Cup finals in Germany? Please state your reasons.

E2,

We are not going anywhere. We don't deserve to be there. Whether it's an issue with FC or IC. We just don't deserve to be there....

Enugu II, your questions is a red herring. Whether you realise it or not the damage is already done. How on earth can we expect to reap a harvest when we have sown jack?? The WC is in 10 months time and all serious contenders have been preparing for the last 3 years. It doesn't matter if Micky mouse or Jose Mourinho took us to the WC 'IF' we qualify, the outcome will not change.

Nigeria ended the last WC in chaos and is still wallowing in the same chaotic quagmire at the dawn of the next WC. The FC Q is, and continues to be a distraction.

Let the NFA get Siasia to draw up a 5 year plan and build a team for the next WC. This is ample time for Siasia to enhance his knowldege of the beautiful game and the NFA to build a development plan for local coaches.

The sooner you wake up and smell the coffee the better. Even if Angola slip up, the inept, directionless, visionless, disorganised state of affairs in the Glasshouse will ensure that any hope left goes up in smoke.

Man I don tire! :(
Skylolo
Re: If Eguavoen qualifies Nigeria for the WC, should...

Post by Skylolo »

Enugu II wrote:..... a "foreign coach" appointed to take us to the World Cup finals in Germany? Please state your reasons.
Yes a Competent FC should still be appointed simply because 6 points from 2 matches will not convince me that Cerezo is good enough.....

But let him win those 2 matches and then we can have this debate
To God be the glory

IMHO No! Why?
Among his generation of retired euro-pros, Stephen Keshi is the furthest in the transition to a coaching and managerial career. I would consider Siasia next, but I maintain that we are better off leaving SS with the U-20s, a very important level and assignment, if we are to continue bringing young players thru.
I rate Eguavoen next, and in his last interview on NTA, he did state clearly that he expected to be fully experienced enough to assume the position by the 2010 WC in RSA.
What we need is to appoint an experienced professional coach, but with an arrangement that sees Eguavoen or Keshi take over, midway to the 2010 WC.

Enugu II wrote:..... a "foreign coach" appointed to take us to the World Cup finals in Germany? Please state your reasons.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Bomaye

Post by Bomaye »

Enugu II:

The answer is emphatically NO!

Why must we repeat the mistake of 2002?
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Who is qualifying us?

Eguavoen or Angola?!!
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Since our fate for qualification is no longer in our hands, the relevant question is what happens IF we win the next two games with Egu and Siasia. My take is if we win both games with those two in charge, they should be left alone to take the SE to the ANC if we don't qualify. If Angola slips and we qualify, then they should be allowed to take the team to the ANC and Germany. I am sick and tired of these oyinbo men who are only interested in glory of taking a team to the World Cup when they had nothing to do with qualifying the team.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Jiggerman21 wrote:Who is qualifying us?

Eguavoen or Angola?!!

To answer E2's question, my view is quite similar to M15..and we havent spoken for ages!!!...

The point is , we don't deserve to be there because it is not fair to others who have put in the required effort..

Having said that if Eguavoen qualifes us, its logical to let him finish the job in the WC..we dont need a FC who only jumps in when the going is good
Dog Bruno

Post by Dog Bruno »

akamoke wrote:
The point is , we don't deserve to be there because it is not fair to others who have put in the required effort..

Any team that qualifies from the group deserves to be at the WC..race never finish until fatty sings. If Angola slips with two games, then they are no better than us.

Goes without saying, let those coaches that qualified for the race, get the chance to do the honors at the big stage- enough of the Highway robbery.
You are Your Own Dog