New Foreign coach on the way-Reuters

Post by 27 »

Nigeria says Troussier unprofessional over job snub

LAGOS, July 27 (Reuters) - Nigeria accused Frenchman Philippe Troussier of being unprofessional and afraid of a challenge after he turned down the post of national team coach.

Ibrahim Galadima, chairman of Nigeria Football Association (NFA), was commenting after Troussier declined the job citing health reasons and gave Nigeria only a 10 percent chance of reaching the 2006 World Cup in Germany.

"By rejecting a job he had previously accepted is unprofessional and it only shows he is afraid of what is ahead," Galadima told Reuters.

"No one dragged him into it because he attended an interview with our panel in London and was given all assurances on his terms of working with us."

Troussier was fired by the Nigerians in 1997 despite guiding them to the 1998 World Cup. He said on Tuesday he wanted to have a knee operation in September which would rule him out of the job.

Galadima said the NFA had begun the search for another foreign coach.

"We have started making contacts with board members and relevant officials on meeting to explore who should now get the job," he said.

"Life has to continue and we'd like to hire another foreigner to coach our national team.

"We have World Cup qualifying matches against Algeria and Zimbabwe left and we need a coach to take charge of the situation."

Nigeria trail Angola in their qualifying Group Four from which only the top team will go through to Germany.

Troussier, 50, was sacked by Olympique Marseille at the end of last season. He has also coached Ivory Coast, South Africa, Burkina Faso and Japan at the 2002 World Cup.

In 1995, Brazil's 1970 World Cup captain Carlos Alberto signed a contract to coach Nigeria at a public ceremony in Lagos.

He then asked for a one-week holiday to travel to Brazil before taking up the job. He did not return to Nigeria.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/news?slug=r ... &type=lgns
Goalgetter

Post by Goalgetter »

Are they bringing a new foreign coach or are they gonna allow the trio of Eguavoen, Siasia and Amokachi to do the thing?
Are you saying that things you do not know, do not exist, just because you do not know that they exist?
tolahs

Post by tolahs »

Class means you don't have to insult Troussier regardless of what you think:but class isn't something we lack, our NFA forbids it.
If I give you a good wine, you will see how it tastes and after you ask where it comes from,'' ""To put players in my team who are not good enough will not strengthen the England team, and would weaken the Arsenal team.''The only thing I can say is that whenever England do not win it is always my fault,even when I am not at the game".Wenger said.
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

tolahs wrote:Class means you don't have to insult Troussier regardless of what you think:but class isn't something we lack, our NFA forbids it.
None of the cows in the NFA attended class...that's why they are dumb illiterates!
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942
Cyber Saint

Post by Cyber Saint »

LOL, these guys are pathetic. I thought they "interviewed" about 3-4 coaches? Why can't they call up whomever came second on the so called interview? Why do they need to start another "search"??
can04
Re: New Foreign coach on the way-Reuters

Post by can04 »

other sources quote these NFA officials blaming the troussier rejection on the media. the claim was that the emphasis by certain sections of the media on the up-coming WCQ games led WWD to believe he was taking on more than he could chew.

so why then do the same officials say this:
27 wrote:
"We have World Cup qualifying matches against Algeria and Zimbabwe left and we need a coach to take charge of the situation."[/b]
are they not the ones responsible for the obvious expectation that the foreign coach is being hired to perform miracles and qualify us for the WC?? we see where the problem truly lies.
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Cyber Saint wrote:LOL, these guys are pathetic. I thought they "interviewed" about 3-4 coaches? Why can't they call up whomever came second on the so called interview? Why do they need to start another "search"??
Because they were not seriously looking at any of the other candidates...the candidates unknown to them were there to give the interview charade legitimacy...
"Because of Jesus, it's a glorious life...."

Mister Dolly wrote:
Cyber Saint wrote:LOL, these guys are pathetic. I thought they "interviewed" about 3-4 coaches? Why can't they call up whomever came second on the so called interview? Why do they need to start another "search"??
Because they were not seriously looking at any of the other candidates...the candidates unknown to them were there to give the interview charade legitimacy...
MD my bro, this was the folly of the whole situation. Now they have been bitten, hopefully they will learn.

Galadima was the person responsible for the whole Troussier set up in the first place. He has to take the blame full on.

Mister Dolly wrote:
MD my bro, this was the folly of the whole situation. Now they have been bitten, hopefully they will learn.

Galadima was the person responsible for the whole Troussier set up in the first place. He has to take the blame full on.
Had they listened and conducted the interviews properly, there would not have been any problem here. The person whoc ame second would have been given the job by now and we would be celebrating.

All the other top candidates were not invited. It is these guys that the NFA is now going to have to go back to.
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

According to Amun, the FC issue will be revisited after the WCQ's. I told him that if ESA qualifies us for the WC, they must be left in charge to lead us there.

I will not support the hiring of a FC if Siasia and co does the hard job of getting us there. It is now or never.

Mister Dolly wrote:

Had they listened and conducted the interviews properly, there would not have been any problem here. The person whoc ame second would have been given the job by now and we would be celebrating.

All the other top candidates were not invited. It is these guys that the NFA is now going to have to go back to.

Azzhole,

Listened to whom? You? :D :D

Common dude, you are really full of yourself.

:D :D :D Cmoke

Mister Dolly wrote:
The weird thing remains that why did Globacom pay for the London charade?

You know, I blame the press here for not asking the hard questions like you just posed..Im telling you , we are not going to Germany, if for anything else, we dont deserve it
Bomaye

Post by Bomaye »

[quote="Mister Dolly"]According to Amun, the FC issue will be revisited after the WCQ's. I told him that if ESA qualifies us for the WC, they must be left in charge to lead us there.

I will not support the hiring of a FC if Siasia and co does the hard job of getting us there. It is now or never.[/quote]

MD:
Am 100% in agreement with what you told Amun.
Kenovski

Post by Kenovski »

Bushmen and their supporting cybereagle bushmaidens!!

Mschewwww!!
Everyday you can choose to the happy or sad, good or bad, full of joy or filled with anger. It takes the same amount of effort to acheive either.....

Anonymous
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Bomaye wrote:
Mister Dolly wrote:According to Amun, the FC issue will be revisited after the WCQ's. I told him that if ESA qualifies us for the WC, they must be left in charge to lead us there.

I will not support the hiring of a FC if Siasia and co does the hard job of getting us there. It is now or never.
MD:
Am 100% in agreement with what you told Amun.
Bomaye,

Na your face be this...I troway salute o...long time no see..how bodi and family..
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Mister Dolly wrote:According to Amun, the FC issue will be revisited after the WCQ's. I told him that if ESA qualifies us for the WC, they must be left in charge to lead us there.

My sentiments exactly. I will take it one step further and say that if Egu wins both remaining matches and we still don't qualify because Angola also won their two matches, I will still keep him as coach and see what he does at the ANC.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."