POPULAR PEOPLE WHO ARE OF NAIJAN DESCENT ABROAD

original skeepolah
POPULAR PEOPLE WHO ARE OF NAIJAN DESCENT ABROAD

Post by original skeepolah »

Some people have been making a name for themselves abroad and many of us do not know (or know small sha) that they are of naijan descent. here is a list of people i have heard of and i thought i would inform people.Add to the list as you see fit:

1. Grace Jones (actress/musician)

2. John Leeway(musician) {keyboardist for the Thompson twins}

3. Shirley Bassey (musician)

4. kayode Adeyemo (musician, member of the R&B group:Starpoint)

5. Sade Adu (musician)

6. Don Amechi (NBA) ????

7. Hakeem Olajuwon (former NBA)
Akure4Life

Post by Akure4Life »

Myself. (IT Consultant) :mrgreen:
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.

Grace jones?? She's Jamaican...unless of course you're going back to the slave trade.
Mudi E
Popular Nigerians

Post by Mudi E »

How about Kayode Adeyemo?

The guy that found the cure for Sickle Cell Anemia, can't remember his name.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Seal

Christian Okoye (the Nigerian Nightmare) played in the NFL for many years for the Kansa city Chiefs. NFL conosseuirs(sp) and people from Kansas still tell stories about this guy. How he used to drag opposing defensive linemen, one on each leg, with him to score touchdowns.

Chidi Ahanotu and at least a score of other Nigerians currently playing in the NFL. See www.nfl.com for a complete list.

Also some Naija guy who is (or was) head of Credit Suisse First Boston Investment Banking division. His name starts with Ade, sorry I forgot his name.

Adewale Agbaje (played Adebisi on Oz, has been in a few other movies)

Dr. Alban, reggae master in europe

Ben Okri

Chinua Achebe

Wole Soyinka

and the list goes on and on ...feel free to add more.

original skeepolah

deanotito wrote:Grace jones?? She's Jamaican...unless of course you're going back to the slave trade.

No she is not...her great grand father was a nigerian sailor...he married a black american and the rest is history!!!!!!!!!! :lol:
original skeepolah

Orlando Martins(was popular in movies in the 30s,40s,50s, and 60s)..Passed away in '87 or '88....One of his last movies was Things Fall Apart(the 80's version)........... :mrgreen:
original skeepolah
Re: Popular Nigerians

Mudi E wrote:How about Kayode Adeyemo?

What about him??????????? :?
original skeepolah

Dele Thompson(sprint star, 84 olympics)
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

There's a cure for Sickle Cell Anemia?

Chitwel Ejiofor

Sandra Okonodo

Gina Iyasere

Lord Victor Adebowale

Jay Jay Okocha

Pastor Matthew Ashimolowo

These guys just want to make you stand up and be counted.

Akure4Life

Post by Akure4Life »

Guv007 wrote:

Yes. I know the profesor was from OAU. He then went to America. His cure was made out of stewing stick.
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.
sufferhead

Post by sufferhead »

Philip Emeagwali -
However, no one will fight for us, that is, for the overwhelming majority, only we will do it. Only we can save humanity ourselves with the support of millions of manual and intellectual workers from the developed nations who are conscious of the catastrophes befalling their peoples. Only we can do it by sowing ideas, building awareness and mobilising global and North American public opinion. No one needs to be told this. You know it very well. Our most sacred duty is to fight, and fight we will.

© Fidel Castro Ruiz 2003
sufferhead

Post by sufferhead »

FLORA NWAPA
However, no one will fight for us, that is, for the overwhelming majority, only we will do it. Only we can save humanity ourselves with the support of millions of manual and intellectual workers from the developed nations who are conscious of the catastrophes befalling their peoples. Only we can do it by sowing ideas, building awareness and mobilising global and North American public opinion. No one needs to be told this. You know it very well. Our most sacred duty is to fight, and fight we will.

© Fidel Castro Ruiz 2003

Too far and few between admittedly. No astronauts, respected business men or politicians of note. This is bad.

MI5.... Secret Service...

Akure4Life wrote:
Guv007 wrote:

Yes. I know the profesor was from OAU. He then went to America. His cure was made out of stewing stick.
you guys are talking about me :lol: :lol: :lol: . well, I am not YET a professor, and there is NO cure yet for sickle cell disease. That is my field. We are making progress tho. For those who might be interested or cybers in the LA area, the Annual Sickle Cell Disease meeting will be in LA from Apr 17 to 21. Here's the link, and my humble self, as well as some other Naija bros and sisters in the field will be among those presenting our work.

http://www.rhofed.com/sickle/

original skeepolah wrote:
deanotito wrote:Grace jones?? She's Jamaican...unless of course you're going back to the slave trade.

No she is not...her great grand father was a nigerian sailor...he married a black american and the rest is history!!!!!!!!!! :lol:
Original, concerning this issue, water don pass Garri. She can't identify Naija on the map if her life depended on it.

Ziontrain

Post by Ziontrain »

- 'Adebisi' from OZ on HBO aka Adewale Akinnouye-Agbaje
http://www.hbo.com/oz/cast/actor_adebisi.shtml
http://www.hbo.com/oz/cast/character_adebisi.shtml

BTW, wasn't Kayode Adeyemo one of the real writers/singers of what we thought was Milli Vanilli? Serious....
"Jose Mourinho favoured directness and used to throw Robert Huth or John Terry up front when Chelsea were chasing the game, a ploy associated with the industrial era of English football management."
- The Guardian UK, November 26, 2007

Post by 27 »

Isn't there some guy singing in America called Akinyele?

Post by 27 »

cchinukw wrote:Too far and few between admittedly. No astronauts, respected business men or politicians of note. This is bad.
Are there any African astronauts? Abiola was quite big wasn't he?

Post by 27 »

Fela's quite popular.
Jimi

Post by Jimi »

Myself..economist about to get MBA..just kidding..but at least that ain't too bad..But naijas over here in the states are representing. Emeka Okafor..look at a bunch of NFL rosters and you'll see what I mean..