Chukwu: Nigeria can win the World Cup

okuns

Post by okuns »

Monday, February 9, 2004
Culled from www.soccernet.com
Mark Gleeson

MONASTIR, Tunisia, Feb 9 (Reuters) - Nigeria coach Christian Chukwu believes team could make a serious challenge for the World Cup in 2006.

African football singularly failed to deliver on predictions from the likes of Pele and Stanley Matthews that it would produce a world champion side by the end of last century.

Chukwu said on Monday that Nigeria, who booked their place in the African Nations Cup semi-finals with Sunday's 2-1 win over holders Cameroon, were turning themselves into contenders for Germany in 2006.

'Right now, we are not yet there but we are making progress towards the goal,' Chukwu said. 'Give us two more years and this is a team that can challenge for the World Cup title.'

Nigeria came from behind to win 2-1 in Monastir on Sunday, their first win over their southern neighbours since the third place play-off match at the 1992 Nations Cup finals in Senegal.

'Beating Cameroon means we have broken a jinx,' he said. 'They have never been a better team than us but we have always struggled against them in the past.

'They have always been beatable but somehow in the big matches they have always had the upper hand over Nigeria. Everyone is so happy with the win because we have trying to rebuild this team for some time now.

'Only Jay-Jay Okocha and Kanu are from the older generation and have been fantastic in helping mould this new group. We are building a team here that can make a name for Nigeria and achieve something on the world stage.'

Nigeria have been to the last three World Cup finals and have twice reached the second round but never the quarter-finals - a feat that only two African nations have ever achieved.

They face hosts Tunisia at Rades in their semi-final on Wednesday.
TD

Post by TD »

Will someone wake this joker up from his pipe-dream. If what he means by a "serious" challenge is what I think he should mean, then he SERIOUSLY is in line for a trip to the funny farm.

So we defeat Cameroon in a competetive game, and all of a sudden we are ready to "seriously challenge" for the WC? This from a coach who has admitted not scouting his opposition. Hellsfire!

What is it that is going to tip this team filled with above average players into the stratum of potential world champions in two years?
His coaching? Don't make me laugh.

P.S Lets put this Cameroonian "jinx" in perspective please. What Cameroon did was defeat Nigeria in 2 ANC finals in the 1980s, and again they "won" on a tie-breaker in 2000. On the other hand, Nigeria has now not lost in open play to Cameroon in four games stretching back to the Yaounde loss in 1989. So much for a "jinx".
"The youth of a nation must, out of relative obscurity, discover it's mission, fulfill it or betray it"... Frantz Fanon

Good job Chuks but let's keep it real!

Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

We need to qualify for the World Cup first. After that, we can start talking of challenging for the cup.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
Makanaky
Re: Chukwu: Nigeria can win the World Cup

Post by Makanaky »

okuns wrote:Monday, February 9, 2004
Culled from www.soccernet.com
Mark Gleeson

MONASTIR, Tunisia, Feb 9 (Reuters) - Nigeria coach Christian Chukwu believes team could make a serious challenge for the World Cup in 2006.

African football singularly failed to deliver on predictions from the likes of Pele and Stanley Matthews that it would produce a world champion side by the end of last century.

Chukwu said on Monday that Nigeria, who booked their place in the African Nations Cup semi-finals with Sunday's 2-1 win over holders Cameroon, were turning themselves into contenders for Germany in 2006.

'Right now, we are not yet there but we are making progress towards the goal,' Chukwu said. 'Give us two more years and this is a team that can challenge for the World Cup title.'

Nigeria came from behind to win 2-1 in Monastir on Sunday, their first win over their southern neighbours since the third place play-off match at the 1992 Nations Cup finals in Senegal.

'Beating Cameroon means we have broken a jinx,' he said. 'They have never been a better team than us but we have always struggled against them in the past.

'They have always been beatable but somehow in the big matches they have always had the upper hand over Nigeria. Everyone is so happy with the win because we have trying to rebuild this team for some time now.

'Only Jay-Jay Okocha and Kanu are from the older generation and have been fantastic in helping mould this new group. We are building a team here that can make a name for Nigeria and achieve something on the world stage.'

Nigeria have been to the last three World Cup finals and have twice reached the second round but never the quarter-finals - a feat that only two African nations have ever achieved.

They face hosts Tunisia at Rades in their semi-final on Wednesday.
I just love CCC. :lol:
Nkono, Kunde, Massing, Tataw, Ebwelle , Pagal,Mbida, Mfede, Mbouh,Makanaky,Kana-Biyik,Oman-Biyik, Ekeke, Milla,.....Too Strong to be Intimidated, Too Stong to be defeated! Indomitable!!!! Marc Viven-Foe R.I.P!!!
bigtruth

Post by bigtruth »

In two year time, we may not have Okocha and Kanu, we need to find a playmaker first, we need to find replacement for this two fast.
It Is Well.

Looks like CCC is sniffing something. The win over a mediocre Cameroonian side is going right in his brain.
mlkama

Post by mlkama »

Wow, guys relax. I think he drank a little too much after that victory yesterday.
Waffiman wrote: PS: Milla couldn't hold a candle to Manga Onguene or Theophile "Docteur" Abega .

My thinking is Okocha and Kanu will be around for the next and without doubt thier next world cup.

Pemba

Post by Pemba »

The headline is misleading.

Chukwu said:

Now tell me if Chukwu is wrong and that our goal is to just show up at the World Cup and reach the second round. No! The goal of every team is to win the World Cup. So I think Chukwu is realistic when he says the team is not there yet but that they can challenge for the title in 2 years. Nigeria can do it if the NFA do not destroy things as usual.

Lets not forget that at the World Cup in USA, Nigeria had what it took to win that tournament. Bulgaria who they beat 3-1 made it to the semi-finals. Italy who they almost beat in regulation time, made it to the finals. Nigeria was not #5 in the world that year for nothing. And don't forget that sitting alongside Westerhoff in the coaching staff, was Christian Chukwu.

What Chukwu is saying should not surprise anyone. With the amount of talent at our disposal, Nigeria can be a serious challenger for the WC. It has been said by many, including Pele, Beckenbauer and a host of others.

Nigeria has the talent already, the more difficult part (but not impossible) is to instill the willpower and team cohesion needed to prevail over 7 games played in the space of a month.

TD

Post by TD »

Lets not forget that at the World Cup in USA, Nigeria had what it took to win that tournament. Bulgaria who they beat 3-1 made it to the semi-finals. Italy who they almost beat in regulation time, made it to the finals. Nigeria was not #5 in the world that year for nothing. And don't forget that sitting alongside Westerhoff in the coaching staff, was Christian Chukwu.
Nigeria did not have what it took to win anything. They played ONE great game, against Bulgaria, and that was it. The same thing with Bulgaria. Definitely, with luck and with one great game throw in there,like Bulgaria against Germany in1994, however NO ONE seriously expected Bulgaria to CHALLENGE for the WC. In order to do that, you need the talent, structure, organization, preparation, coaching. Just having one in superabundance is not going to cut it.[/quote]
"The youth of a nation must, out of relative obscurity, discover it's mission, fulfill it or betray it"... Frantz Fanon
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

If CCC thinks like u guys, he will not beat cameroon because on paper, cameroon looks like they can beat us, but we beat them on the green grass. CCC's goal is to win ANC. If a coach cannot think big, they will not achieve anything. With inclusion of taribo, martins and babayaro, we can be a contender for real.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.

Restablishing ourselves as a force to be reckoned with on the grand stage has more to do with getting our acts together off field than on it.

Poor organisation continues to be the bane of our entire soccer setup. That hasn't and will not change overnight.

Cheers
Pemba

Post by Pemba »

I don't know which World Cup you watched but Nigeria looked the far more dangerous team in every single game it played in WC 1994. Nigeria should have beaten Italy had it not been for a late defensive error that gave Roberto Baggio a stage to showcase his brilliance.
fishward1

Post by fishward1 »

There is my man we have already won this cup the true goal is the world cup and if he remains coach we can achieve that with ease. We have the players and all we need is the support discipline and organization and even Brazil will fear to play Nigeria.
Blakes

Post by Blakes »

Mr C3 ..one thing at a time please...
Climb the ladder to succes, escalator style
-Biggie
quickie

Post by quickie »

here we go again...being distracted from the job at hand, which is TUNISIA. Forget World FFS, we haven't even qualified for it, there's another ANC before the WC even.

I hope we're not just gonna think we need to turn up to beat Tunisia, coz we'll be so surprised.

Q

We beat Cameroun suddenly we don become world champions... Okocha score one freekick (albeit world class) he is now better dan Figo+Rivaldo+Raul+Zidane combined...

Naija sef... who said we are humble?

Up Naija!!!

Kelechi

Post by Kelechi »

Cellular you dey blame anyone for this?----maybe CCC needs to smell coffee and be awake----World Cup easily win with mouth-------heheheheheeeeeee that is the effect of CCC's mind on forumites.

Pls. Eze tell CCC to finish the good job wey Onigbinde started.
For a child of God, silence in the face of problem is an act of ignorance

STOP NAGGING

That is the vision of a real manager. Why would anybody go to the WC, especially successively as Nigeria has, without planning to win it? And how do you win it if you don't envision it? Do you feel good going there just to make the numbers? C3 may just be proving that he has a greater vision than you critics. I bet if this had been put forward by an FC it would have received greater support.

He's adopting the can-do attitude which many of you are afraid to embrace. As others have alluded to here, the problem is primarily of the field and C3 may be sending a message to the powers-that-be to help overcome them. He's putting the ball in the court of the Glass House occupants.

Given its status Nigeria should not just settle for being King of Africa. It should aim at being a major player at the world level.

Even yours truly, not too long ago, suggested that Nigerian football management should establish goals and then put in place the resources needed to achieve them. If they do this, they have my support even if they fall short.

Do you all know that the US itself has established a goal of winning it all in the next few years?
geminikoat

Post by geminikoat »

What's he smoking? He's done well but he ought to get off whatever he's smoking. He can't take us near 2006 talkless of winning it for us. He should concentrate on beating the host on Wednesday first.
...but with God all things are possible...
dapo lawal

Post by dapo lawal »

Yeah, but not with CCC though