Page 1 of 2
JO BONFRERE: USE ANC TO DETERMINE WHO REPRESENT AFRICA.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:01 pm
by GUEST
SOURCE;VANGUARD
Bonfrere sees NO way for Africa in Germany 2006
Posted to the Web: Wednesday, February 01, 2006
Former Dutch handler of the Super Eagles, Bonfrere Jo has written off Africa’s four representatives at the World Cup calling them paperweights.
“I feel bad and sorry that those paperweights are the ones going to represent Africa at the World Cup”, Bonfrere told me at the Port Said stadium where he usually sit with me to watch and analyse matches.
Tunisia, Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Angola and Togo would be flying Africa’s banners at the World Cup in Germany. “Except for Tunisia, those other four are not supposed to be in Germany”, he said bluntly insisting that Africa was going to ridicule itself with those countries as their cross bearers. “African footbal has risen to the point that many reckon with it. But going to Germany with those countries with the exception of Tunisia will see Africa falling from that height”.
Bonfrere maintained that the Nations Cup has exposed CAF from its rrangement of playing qualifers to determine who goes to the World cup. “The best thing would have been to use the Nations Cup to select the best five Nations. It will also add more colour to the Nations Cup and make African players playing in big clubs to answer the call to play for their Nation.
That way, you will achieve more and get a better representation in the World Cup”. He maintained that none of those African countries going to the World Cup would cross the first hurdle in the preliminaries. “If these African countries cannot make an impact in the Nations Cup, is it the World Cup that they will make the impact”, he asked. He said that the performance of African countries in the World Cup might trigger off a call to reduce the number of teams allocated to Africa for the World Cup.
“People will be justified to ask for a reduction of teams by Africa for the World Cup if they easily fall by the way side. But, when you do well, you will be justified by asking for more slots for Africa in the World Cup”, Jo who remembers fondly his experience in Nigeria said. Though he said that he loves Nigeria, he was quick to add that he made little friends as “many that call you their friends are your enemies. I have very few friends in Nigeria. But, many of them call me their friend but I am afraid of them”, he said laughing.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:06 pm
by cchinukw
The man would have been a relative unknown if not for Nigeria. Bonfere Who?

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:06 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
I must say that I think I agree with him. We all know Africa's five best teams and the Nations Cup will always prove who they are. Togo, Ghana and Angola are right jokes.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:10 pm
by GUEST
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I must say that I think I agree with him. We all know Africa's five best teams and the Nations Cup will always prove who they are. Togo, Ghana and Angola are right jokes.
Me Too.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:18 pm
by airwolex
This is where I disagree with you all.....Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. It is not their fault if Naija and Cameroon are stupid enough not to be able to manage their considerable talents. Bonfere Jo should STFU his comments are not needed, Africa will handle her own affairs!
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:22 pm
by elerineye
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I must say that I think I agree with him. We all know Africa's five best teams and the Nations Cup will always prove who they are. Togo, Ghana and Angola are right jokes.
Ayo, he added CIV.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:26 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
airwolex wrote:This is where I disagree with you all.....Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. It is not their fault if Naija and Cameroon are stupid enough not to be able to manage their considerable talents. Bonfere Jo should STFU his comments are not needed, Africa will handle her own affairs!
Ivory Coast, Egypt and Cameroon should not be fighting for one spot. They are among the five best teams in Africa.
For instance, they are all better than everyone in Togo and Senegal's group and everyone in Ghana and South Africa's group.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:29 pm
by realtrouble
airwolex wrote:This is where I disagree with you all.....Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. It is not their fault if Naija and Cameroon are stupid enough not to be able to manage their considerable talents. Bonfere Jo should STFU his comments are not needed, Africa will handle her own affairs!
Airwolex, youre wrong the WCQ are extremely difficult to organised, considering Africa's logistic, financial and infrastructure problems. The ANC as a competitions always selects the best 4 teams for the quarter-finals and finals. Countries like Rwanda , Kenya, Togo and Angola never make it beyond the group stages.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:32 pm
by airwolex
realtrouble wrote:airwolex wrote:This is where I disagree with you all.....Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. It is not their fault if Naija and Cameroon are stupid enough not to be able to manage their considerable talents. Bonfere Jo should STFU his comments are not needed, Africa will handle her own affairs!
Airwolex, youre wrong the WCQ are extremely difficult to organised, considering Africa's logistic, financial and infrastructure problems. The ANC as a competitions always selects the best 4 teams for the quarter-finals and finals. Countries like Rwanda , Kenya, Togo and Angola never make it beyond the group stages.
But it has worked just fine in the past hasn't it? Let them go to the WC in peace....at the very least let them mess up there before we start burying them!
IMHO, Tunisia, Ghana and CIV will do well. Add Essien and Muntari to that Ghana squad and they are more than a match for anybody.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:40 pm
by Dodo
no i disagree, imagine playing a pre qualifier 2 games, then a group of 6 home and away another 10 games, an ANC group of 4 another 3 games and then a quarterfinal just to qualify for the World Cup. some other federations are having two or three bites to qualify. All these games for just one bite. no, i disagree
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:47 pm
by Enugu II
AYO:
Do you agree with the thinking that the European Nations Cup be used for selecting Europe's reps to the World Cup?
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:47 pm
by goldfeet2
jo is right. ANC shud also be expanded to 24 teams grouped into 6. The last six teams shud go for WC.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 1:49 pm
by rust09
Ayo Akinfe wrote:airwolex wrote:This is where I disagree with you all.....Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. It is not their fault if Naija and Cameroon are stupid enough not to be able to manage their considerable talents. Bonfere Jo should STFU his comments are not needed, Africa will handle her own affairs!
Ivory Coast, Egypt and Cameroon should not be fighting for one spot. They are among the five best teams in Africa.
For instance, they are all better than everyone in Togo and Senegal's group and everyone in Ghana and South Africa's group.
You make a great point. How come they were all bundled together in the same group. Africa will be the poorer for it at the WC.
Nigeria, on the other hand, have no excuse!
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:48 pm
by ikwerreman
realtrouble wrote:airwolex wrote:This is where I disagree with you all.....Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. It is not their fault if Naija and Cameroon are stupid enough not to be able to manage their considerable talents. Bonfere Jo should STFU his comments are not needed, Africa will handle her own affairs!
So how did cameroon qualify iin 1990 when they got to the Semis? through the ACN? what about other years africa has excelled, how did the countries qualify?
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 5:53 pm
by Tacci
airwolex wrote:realtrouble wrote:airwolex wrote:This is where I disagree with you all.....Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. It is not their fault if Naija and Cameroon are stupid enough not to be able to manage their considerable talents. Bonfere Jo should STFU his comments are not needed, Africa will handle her own affairs!
But it has worked just fine in the past hasn't it? Let them go to the WC in peace....at the very least let them mess up there before we start burying them!
IMHO, Tunisia, Ghana and CIV will do well. Add Essien and Muntari to that Ghana squad and they are more than a match for anybody.
asswolex so your objective, after all

Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:12 pm
by green4life
Bonfrere is talking rubish. The current WCQ system is the best for us. We screwed up our chance to go to germany by failing to beat Angola. Cameroon couldn't convert a PK at home with zero secs left on the clock. Senegal could not overcome Togo in 2 tries. The countries going to Germany deserve to be there regardless of how folks feel. I just hope the likes of Ghana, Togo, & Angola can rebound from this poor ANC outing and perform well in Germany.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:14 pm
by vancity eagle
while change needs to happen I do not believe in 1 tournament to decide who qualifies for these reasons.
1. The host nation (Egypt) is almost guaranteed qualification, this gives them an unfair boost to qualify.
2. Teams suffering lots of injuries ( Ghana ) will have it really hard, whereas qualification over a long period of time, players can recover and be back for later games.
3. Teams sometimes go through slumps, if they are having an off period of time during the nations cup, it would be bad luck for them. Over a period of time is better to judge finalists, and not in 2 weeks.
4. Freak results are more likely to happen this way, small mistakes, bad refereeing calls are way too costly if only 3 games are played.
This is not the answer, however we need to change the way the qualifiers take place, and more importantly GET THE SEEDING OF NATIONS FOR DRAWS CORRECT.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:47 pm
by Cyber Saint
Bia, what gives this BonJo somebody the right to think he's an authority on African football? Wetin he sabi?? How could you use a CAF tournament to decide a FIFA Competition???
And by the way, how many times has he suggested that they use the EURO tournament to decide on the European representative???
BS upon BS
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:48 pm
by tfco
vancity eagle wrote:while change needs to happen I do not believe in 1 tournament to decide who qualifies for these reasons.
1. The host nation (Egypt) is almost guaranteed qualification, this gives them an unfair boost to qualify.
2. Teams suffering lots of injuries ( Ghana ) will have it really hard, whereas qualification over a long period of time, players can recover and be back for later games.
3. Teams sometimes go through slumps, if they are having an off period of time during the nations cup, it would be bad luck for them. Over a period of time is better to judge finalists, and not in 2 weeks.
4. Freak results are more likely to happen this way, small mistakes, bad refereeing calls are way too costly if only 3 games are played.
This is not the answer, however we need to change the way the qualifiers take place, and more importantly GET THE SEEDING OF NATIONS FOR DRAWS CORRECT.
OK then Einstein.
Rewind back to 2003 December - how would you have seeded Africa's top 5?
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:48 pm
by General Trousers
The Kano game was a disaster as were the some of the games before it. With people like Ekwueme, Akwuegbu and other questionable selections - Nigeria would certainly be outplayed.
The lack of commitment from our starters did not help. A good reserve squad and a camping arrangement (with a European club) would have helped prevent our non-appearance at the WC. Nonetheless Ghana, CIV, Togo, Angola and Tunisia 100% deserve to go to the WC. They earned it ...
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 6:59 pm
by mouko
Airwolex,
youre wrong the WCQ are extremely difficult to organised, considering Africa's logistic, financial and infrastructure problems. The ANC as a competitions always selects the best 4 teams for the quarter-finals and finals. Countries like Rwanda , Kenya, Togo and Angola never make it beyond the group stages.
This is the best argument for using the ANC. very good point...Imagine the nightmare of going from SA to cape verde or from Gambia to Angola....all these wreck havoc on teams.....
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:24 pm
by Odas
cchinukw wrote:The man would have been a relative unknown if not for Nigeria. Bonfere Who?

Yeah, the man may be "Bonfere Who?", but I think I agree with him.
Posted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 7:34 pm
by Molue Conductor
elerineye wrote:Ayo Akinfe wrote:I must say that I think I agree with him. We all know Africa's five best teams and the Nations Cup will always prove who they are. Togo, Ghana and Angola are right jokes.
Ayo, he added CIV.
but then the hosts get free passage...bokina made the semi's when they hosted