I'm supporting Galadima's re-election

Mister Dolly
I'm supporting Galadima's re-election

Post by Mister Dolly »

.....in preference to the charade we have right now with Fanny Amun and the clueless bunch at the Paper House in Abuja..

Having had a chance to read the Alhaji's vision document and plans for Nigerian football, I have to admit that he seems to be in a better position to get us to where we need to be. My problem however still remains the manner in which the venue of his election was selected and the same old faces finding their way back into board positions.
"Because of Jesus, it's a glorious life...."
Re: I'm supporting Galadima's re-election

Mister Dolly wrote:.....in preference to the charade we have right now with Fanny Amun and the clueless bunch at the Paper House in Abuja..

Having had a chance to read the Alhaji's vision document and plans for Nigerian football, I have to admit that he seems to be in a better position to get us to where we need to be. My problem however still remains the manner in which the venue of his election was selected and the same old faces finding their way back into board positions.
Who are these old faces? What is new my fren? We just re-cycle crooks for positions in our country.

Welcome back to reality MD.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

It take more than vision to have the ability to manage an effective NFA.
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

realtrouble wrote:It take more than vision to have the ability to manage an effective NFA.
It's a start. and it's necessary...and the visioneer may not always be the same person implement the vision provided he has capable hands to help him actualize the goals..
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Mister Dolly wrote:.....in preference to the charade we have right now with Fanny Amun and the clueless bunch at the Paper House in Abuja..

have you shaken hands with the Alhaji? :wink:
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

toyin133 wrote:

More times than you care to know... :lol: ..how bodi.. :lol:
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Mister Dolly wrote:
toyin133 wrote:

I dey kampe.
Did the Alhaji drop?
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
doctoryinka

Post by doctoryinka »

Egbon,

How are you today? What happened now? I thought we had an our informal agreement to support SO for the top job? He is not giving up yet o? It all sounds distasteful but for Nigerian Football to progress we need capable and visionary leaders such as SO. I ll PM you to intimate you of SO's position on all this.
How is the family anyway? I should ring you soon!
Regards,
Doctoryinka
JESUS IS LORD
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

toyin133 wrote:
Mister Dolly wrote:
toyin133 wrote:

I dey kampe.
Did the Alhaji drop?
Yeah....he say make I drop you one hot cyber slap... :lol:

The only "vision" Galadima has is to keep himself in office...
The man was around for three years and his vision begins in year four?

<
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

doctoryinka wrote:

Egbon,

How are you today? What happened now? I thought we had an our informal agreement to support SO for the top job? He is not giving up yet o? It all sounds distasteful but for Nigerian Football to progress we need capable and visionary leaders such as SO. I ll PM you to intimate you of SO's position on all this.
Regards,
Doctoryinka
doctor, PM me...we've got to talk. I heard some stuff about why SO may not get there...he is still my main man but it may be a mountain to climb if FIFA backs Galadima..

Na wa o, :shock:

Is there any country in the world with a better waste recycling record. :?: :?: :!: :evil:

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Gotti wrote:The only "vision" Galadima has is to keep himself in office...
The man was around for three years and his vision begins in year four?

<
That was my feelings too....but recent info I gathered showed me that the man was never going to make any headway under decree 101..
I just want Fanny Amun out of that NFA secretariat asap before he destroys whatever is left of our football...
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Mr Shows wrote:Na wa o, :shock:

Is there any country in the world with a better waste recycling record. :?: :?: :!: :evil:

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Nope...
Fourteen

Post by Fourteen »

Mister Dolly wrote:
doctoryinka wrote:

Egbon,

Regards,
Doctoryinka
doctor, PM me...we've got to talk. I heard some stuff about why SO may not get there...he is still my main man but it may be a mountain to climb if FIFA backs Galadima..
so in reality you are jumping ship because it looks like your real man will not make it, not because you believe Galadima is the right person. Kerry like you :evil:

Vision on paper does not translate into real life mostly in Nigeria.

azuka

Post by azuka »

MD, welcome to last year. Look my point in supporting Galadima is that as long as the Sports Ministry people dictate who becomes what in the NFA, the more the NFA will remain what it is. One question that bothers me is why people like Galadima an acclaimed sports administrator could not perform in his first term. Or why Kojo was removed from the position? Look for all it is what, the minimal independence that Galadima got the NFA to me is more than 10 WC. Let him consolidate that independence in this term and hopefully before the end, we will achieve financial independence as well for the NFA.
Then and only then will credible people, and i mean credible people not the likes of Segun Odegbami, will come out to contest for this position. And please dont confuse the mathimatical Segun Odegbami with the Segun Odegbami of today. They are two different people all together.
Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Lefak wrote:
Mister Dolly wrote:
doctoryinka wrote:

Egbon,

Regards,
Doctoryinka
so in reality you are jumping ship because it looks like your real man will not make it, not because you believe Galadima is the right person. Kerry like you :evil:
No, because I believe Amun is the wrong person....

MD:

Let me also add my own WELCOME TO REALITY AND REASON.

IMO, Galadima's election offers Nigeria the best chance to ward off the continued lock against shedding the locks of governmental control. The control will not immediately cease but his election is the first challenge that the government has faced over this matter. Note that my focus is on the election and not the man. The process is INDEED that important.

It will now be up to Galadima to seek private help to ensure that the control of the government will be held in check for a long time. He already has the international backing. To have gone with the alternative would have meant wrapping Nigeria deeper into Decree 101 control.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

MD, I hope you know it is just not Amun that has to go. There are a whole layer of political appointees around the NFA like Osagie Sumonu-Bello that have to be weeded out too.

Let us get our independently elected chairman and FA board, appoint a commercially-oriented seceratry general and then the struggle only just begins. I am glad you finally realise that whoever the ministry appoints will be a PDP chieftain with no interest in the game.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

We know Mister Dolly has pocketed his bribe money. No surprise about the support for Galadima.
Toxicarrow

Post by Toxicarrow »

NFA STATUTES: DAWN OF DICTATORSHIP?

FOR SOME WEEKS NOW, I have been studying the emerging new statutes of the Nigeria Football Association and other documents and letters relating to it which are in my possession. There is a December 1994 letter from CAF (2 pages); a December 2004 letter from FIFA (2 pages); the Draft Nigeria Football Association Statutes (51 pages); the proposed amendment to the Nigeria Football Association (Decree) Act 101 of 1992 (5 pages); and the Report of the Senate Committee on Sports and Social Development on the Repeal of the Nigeria Football Association Act, Decree 101 (26 pages including cover notes).

Last weekend, I finally received the "mother" of them all; the Draft Nigeria Football Association Statutes of 2005 (as "Amended and Ratified by FIFA") (proposed) for the Ratification and Adoption of the NFA General Assembly 2005 (59 pages).

Welcome to the dawn of DICTATORSHIP in the management and administration of Nigerian football!

The first comment I will like to make after pouring through the tons of pages of documentation is that the FA board led by Alhaji Ibrahim Galadima has done a patient, painstaking, systematic and very meticulous job in arriving at the point they are today in the quest for autonomy from government interference in the management of Nigerian football. This has been the object of a sustained campaign by the media for more than a decade now and, ordinarily, Alhaji Galadima deserves a gold medal for taking the battle now to the brink of success, hopefully in a few weeks time.

I will also like to add that perhaps the media wasn’t wrong afterall about our rating of Galadima, prior to his appointment as FA chairman, as an experienced sports administrator and technocrat. The only problem, and I have said this before, is that he may have misplaced his priority in office.

Had Galadima devoted to the management of the national teams and the overall management of the game, even half of the attention, skill and tact which he spent on putting the NFA statutes together in the past one year, the Super Eagles would not only have qualified for the World Cup, we will be favourites to win it in Germany next year - permit my hyperbole! But Galadima was so engrossed with the "battle for autonomy" that he left the Eagles to wobble and fumble out of the race to Germany.

Obviously, Galadima would like his tenure to be remembered NOT as the one that failed to qualify for the World Cup but as the one who broke the jinx of Decree 101 and instituted the NFA Statutes, but most soccer fans really don’t care about the instrument of administration so long as their teams are doing well. Fans will tell you that even with Decree 101, Nigeria played in three straight World Cup finals and won the Olympic soccer gold. And I’m sure if they had to choose between Galadima’s new NFA Statutes and a fourth World Cup ticket to Germany 2006, they would have picked the World Cup by a mile because that is where they derive their joy. It is the FA board’s failure to deliver the World Cup ticket that has made them very unpopular with the fans who now want to see their backs. That is where Galadima got things wrong.

However, the FA chairman can argue that his battle for autonomy will yield greater benefits for the management of Nigerian football in future, never mind the immediate disappointment of our failure to qualify for Germany. Galadima can argue also that with the NFA Statutes in place, he would have the correct platform to build a solid structure for Nigerian football without the disruptive influences of a meddlesome ministry of sports and government in general.

Unfortunately, however, the major thing I can see right now from the statutes which Galadima has worked so hard on is a situation where we will be moving from the "interference" of government to the DICTATORSHIP OF ONE MAN - the chairman of the NFA! I doubt very much if that is the desire of the sporting media and other stakeholders who have been at the head of the campaign for the abrogation of Decree 101 for more than a decade now.

I have been asking one pertinent question since last May this year when I first noticed the direction the so-called NFA battle for autonomy was going. That question is: "How do we get people with genuine intentions to administer Nigerian football under the in-coming NFA statutes so that we don’t end up "simply transferring power from an interfering sports ministry to an incompetent, corrupt and self-serving NFA?" (SOCCERTALK, May, 2005).

Having carefully read the relevant portions of the final draft statutes awaiting adoption by delegates at the FA extra-ordinary general congress scheduled for the end of November, I wish to rephrase the latter part of the above quotation to read: "... an incompetent, corrupt, self-serving and autocratic NFA."

My position on Alhaji Galadima’s continued stay as NFA chairman is well documented but my observation on the statutes has nothing to do with his candidacy as he may or may not win the next elections. My observation here is about the sweeping powers which will reside in the FA chairman - whoever wins - under the in-coming statutes if it is ratified and adopted by the NFA congress in its present form.

The statutes give so much power and influence to the office of the chairman, via the executive committee, that he can rule Nigerian football forever, practically! Not even the president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria is as powerful over the country as the NFA chairman will be over Nigerian football and that is no exaggeration. Repeat, no exaggeration.

While the Nigerian president must go through a general election and can be removed by the legislative arm and his excesses curtailed by the judicial arm under a checks and balances system, the executive chairman of the FA is answerable only to the FA general assembly (the legislative arm) which he is well positioned to manipulate, while the "judicial bodies" are actually appointed by and are subordinate to his executive committee (Article 47).

And whereas president Obasanjo can only have two terms in office and he will encounter problems convincing the legislators to amend the constitution to give him a rumoured third term in office, the FA chairman is already empowered by the statutes to stay forever! There is no limit to the number of times he can re-contest (Article 44). And if the totalitarian manner the "power of incumbency" is used in Nigerian politics is anything to go by, we can be certain that the next FA chairman will become Mr. Immovable!

In my opinion, no single Nigerian should be allowed to have such absolute powers over Nigerian football. Not Galadima, and not any of the would-be contestants for the chairmanship of the NFA. Absolute power corrupts absolutely.

Next to the presidency of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, probably the most sensitive national position in the country today is the FA chairmanship because football is a game that touches the lives of the general populace in different ways. It would be irresponsible to give such sweeping powers to just one man over such a huge national resource and past time.

The new FA statutes has obviously been tailored along the lines of the CAF and FIFA statutes but it is such absolute powers and influence which reside in the leadership of those bodies that have turned the two organizations virtually into continental and global "cults." I offer my apologies to all the respectable Nigerian members of CAF and FIFA but it is an open secret which they all know that no one can get into the kitchen cabinets in Cairo and Zurich without the approval of Issa Hayatou and Sepp Blatter.

That is why Hayatou has been CAF president for 17 years and still counting while Blatter has become another name for FIFA! And that is why veteran English soccer writer Brian Glanville of World Soccer has remained a staunch critic of FIFA’s autocracy whereas some journalists in these shores think the men in Zurich can do no wrong and all their "IMF Conditionalities" about football administration must be adopted without consideration for the reality on the ground. The reality in Nigeria and in most developing countries is that governments are deeply involved in funding football and they will continue to have a say in how it is administered until there is a "power-shift" in funding. Statutes or no statutes, it is the duty of the football administrators in each country to co-exist peacefully and productively with their government rather than repeatedly crying to Zurich and using FIFA as a weapon of blackmail!

While CAF and FIFA may be able to rationalise their autocratic set-up with their financial might and independence, I doubt if the NFA can make such claims. CAF and FIFA do not receive any grants from any government, so they can truly justify their independence from governments worldwide. CAF and FIFA also do not have any national football teams, so they are not directly accountable to any "people" for poor results or failure to qualify for the World Cup.

By contrast, the NFA must be made accountable to the people of Nigeria and that is why they must not be allowed such absolute powers possessed by their CAF and FIFA cousins. The NFA must also be accountable to the government of Nigeria because, not only does government represent the people, it is also the major financier of the NFA on behalf of the Nigerian people. Even while on a definite 3-year tenure and without the power of the statutes, the present FA chairman told disappointed Nigerians that he didn’t promise anybody a World Cup ticket and we’ve not been able to compel him to resign honourably despite our collective anger. You can imagine what the situation will be like when we have a new executive chairman with autocratic powers to perpetuate himself in office. He might simply tell us to go jump in a lake next time we complain about the FA’s ineptitude.

The new NFA statutes as "amended and ratified by FIFA" assumedly cuts the NFA loose from government in any form, yet when it comes to the issue of revenue (article 82), the first to be listed as sources of the FA’s revenue is the "Federal Republic of Nigeria!" How then do we reconcile such a blatant contradiction?

I have said it before and I will like to repeat it: "For as long as the FA go cap in hand to government to beg for money to run their programmes, they will continue to be interfered with, statutes or no statutes. Political autonomy and financial autonomy must be pursued hand-in-hand. Anything less is asking for anarchy because government just won’t let go no matter the blackmail.

I will like to round up this article for now with an appeal to my colleagues in the media to also go and study the new FA Statutes thoroughly and interpret it for the Nigerian football public ahead of the FA general assembly. Delegates to the FA congress also have moral and professional obligations as representatives of their constituencies to study the statutes and understand its provisions properly before adopting it hook, line and sinker. They should realize that whatever decisions they take at the general assembly will have long-term implications on the management of Nigerian football. I hope the likes of Davidson Owumi are reading this. Let’s say yes to the statutes but amend it adequately to avoid enthroning autocracy.

What I have written here is my own interpretation of the statutes and my gut feeling about the real intentions of its drafters. But then I could be wrong.

As for Alhaji Galadima, my last word would be that we probably now understand fully why he is not in a hurry to leave office. Having worked so hard for over a year on the statutes which can give him a perpetual stay in office with so much power and influence, it would be hard for him to resign simply because some naughty footballers failed to qualify for the World Cup finals. Indeed, it would have been a classic case of cooking a nutritious edikang ikong soup with assorted meat complete with pounded yam, then leaving the kitchen for one stupid rat to come and feast on the meal. Who will allow that?
The Bashing In Bucharest

WE have been asked to stop blaming every international embarrassment suffered by Nigerian football on the Nigeria Football Association. I will therefore like to salute the FA for the "perfect organization" that preceded last week’s 3-0 thrashing of the "Super Eagles" by Romania in Bucharest.

Reports had it that "12 footballers from Africa" arrived Bucharest in bits and pieces and very hungry just hours to the kick-off of an international friendly. The hosts initially thought the agreed kick-off time was cast in stone, but the leader of the Nigerian delegation, FA board member David Suleiman reportedly told the Romanians that they (Romania) would play the match alone if they didn’t agree to a switch! Haven’t they heard of "African time" before? Of course, they granted his wish.

The Romanian local media later described the game as probably the most farcical game they had ever seen. Thanks to the "perfect organization" of the Nigeria Football Association. Carry go!

Three Tororo La Fun Won...
"Three tororo la fun won" is a Yoruba song we used to sing as kids each time we won a game by 3-0. It means "we spanked them three times without reply."

After the Eagles collected three tororo from Romania last week, Dolphins were unfortunate to collect another three tororo from RAF of Morocco in the Confederations Cup final second leg in Rabat last Saturday, thus conceding the trophy 3-1 on aggregate. Sorry Dolphins, better luck next-time. But clearly the most outstanding three tororo of the weekend was Barcelona’s comprehensive spanking of Real Madrid at the Bernabeu in the Spanish Liga.

Barca was so dominant they could have scored three tororo twice in the game. The Brazilian magician Ronaldinho was such a joy to watch, taking two classic goals after the opener by Samuel Eto’O. Completing the irresistible Barca attack and marching towards certain super-stardom was the Argentine prodigy Lionel Messi while our own Mikel Obi is still doing guy-guy around in Jos and Oslo.

If you think no African team can beat Nigeria three tororo at the Nations Cup in Egypt next year "because of our super stars," just go and see how the Super Galacticos of Real Madrid were thoroughly humiliated by an equally talented but more coherent and efficient Barcelona.

Austin Eguavoen - I wonder what he was doing with Dolphins in Morocco - take note!
NEXT: The NFA Election Guidelines...

NFA ELECTION GUIDELINES

Based On The Nigeria Football Association Statutes
ARTICLE 43: Executive Committee Composition
The Executive Committee shall be composed of eighteen (18) persons, the Chairman, two (2) from each of the six (6) geopolitical zones in the territory of Nigeria, three (3) from the Professional League, one (1) from the States FA and the Secretary-General/CEO: The distribution is as follows:

A Chairman
Chairman of the League who shall also serve as one of the Deputy Chairman of the NFA
One (1) member representing the Premier League Clubs.
One (1) member representing the professional Clubs.
Twelve (12) National Members; two (2) each from the six (6) geopolitical zones of the country one of which will be elected a Deputy Vice Chairman of the NFA.
One (1) member representing Chairman of the States FA.

The Secretary General/CEO.
Every National candidate for the Executive Committee must be proposed (nominated and seconded) by at least two (2) members of NFA, not later than 20 days before the General Assembly at which the election to the Executive Committee is on the agenda, he must have already been active in football and must not have been previously found guilty of a criminal offence. The members proposing him must not previously have been suspended.

Only recognized States FA within each geopolitical zones of Nigeria, shall, if in good standing, be entitled to submit nominations from their geopolitical zone to the list of National candidates for election. A member may only propose one candidate but can second multiple candidates.

A member shall be deemed to be in good standing if he has a status which provides for: Open elections to be held at intervals of not more than four (4) years; regular audited financial statement to be presented to the membership; and the member has complied fully with such provisions of its statutes and has provided proof of such compliance to the NFA.

Sixty (60) days prior to the date of the Annual General Assembly the Chief Executive Officer shall distribute nomination forms to members per registered post.

Members shall submit the original nomination forms to the Association’s Secretary such that they are received at least twenty (20) days prior to the date of the Annual General Assembly. The closing date and time shall be specified in a circular distributed by the Chief Executive Officer with the nomination forms.

The nomination forms must be signed by the President/Chairman and the Secretary of the Member submitting the nominations.

Nominees shall signify their willingness to accept nomination in writing. This shall be submitted to the Secretary on the form to be provided for this purpose, or on a copy of facsimile thereof, to be received, at least twenty (20) days prior to the date of the Annual General Assembly.

The onus shall be on the Member concerned to ensure that nominations and acceptances are received by the Secretariat on or before the closing date.

Within seven (7) days after the closing date of nominations, the Secretary shall cause the Association Auditor to verify and certify and prepare and submit a list of those persons properly nominated to the Chief Executive Officer of the NFA. The original nomination shall be retained by the Auditor.

The Chief Executive Officer shall send the official list of nominations/candidates as verified by the Auditor to all categories of members of NFA along with the agenda for the General Assembly at which the election is due to take place.

Should there be fewer nominations for a post than there are vacancies to be filled, nominations may be made from the floor. In such events the nominee must be present at the Annual General Assembly and must indicate willingness to accept nomination.

The first person to be elected shall be the President/Chairman. Should only one (1) nomination be received the candidate shall be declared dully elected unless a minimum of Fifteen (15) members request for a ballot. In such event, Members shall vote either "for" or "against" the candidate. Should the candidate not poll a majority of the votes, fresh nominations is received; the election shall take place by simple majority.

The next to be elected are twelve (12) executive members from the National List two (2) from each geopolitical zone of the country, using a single round of voting with the two (2) candidates polling the highest number of votes in each zone being elected. Where only two nominations are received from a particular zone, members shall vote either "for" or "against" the candidates. Should the candidates not poll a majority vote, fresh nominations shall be taken from the floor and election shall take place by simple majority. Members may vote for a maximum of one (1) candidate, but may vote fewer than two (2) in each of the six (6) geopolitical zones.

The Candidates with the aggregate highest number of votes shall also be declared as one (1) of the two Deputy Vice Chairmen. In case of a tie elections shall take place by simple majority to determine the deputy vice chairman.

Nominations for the representative of the States FA, Premier League, Professional Division can only be done by the members comprising the group. A candidate shall be nominated by two (2) members he seeks to represent.

If more than one (1) nomination is received for the representative of the Premier Clubs, Professional Division Clubs and the State FA election shall take place by simple majority. Where only one nomination is received for particular representative, members shall vote either "for" or "against" the candidates. Should the candidates not poll a majority vote fresh nominations shall be taken from the floor and election shall take place by simple majority.

The elected Chairman of the League is automatically a member of the Executive Committee and one of the two (2) NFA Deputy Vice Chairmen.

Prior to the commencement of elections, the Assembly shall elect an electoral officer and such other persons, being not less than two (2), who are not candidates for any office to conduct the elections.

Should any dispute arise during or related to the election the electoral officer shall rule thereon, which ruling shall not be challenged by any member or as otherwise decided upon by the Assembly.

The Executive and other elected members shall be elected as aforesaid at the Quadrennial General Assembly and shall retain office until their successors have been elected.
The President/Chairman and the Secretary General/CEO shall not serve on the Executive body of a State FA or the League.

When a member of NFA loses his member status, the mandate of the person elected to the Executive Committee on its proposal is terminated at the next Ordinary General Assembly, unless this meeting decides to retain him in his functions until the end of his mandate.
A member of the Executive Committee may not at the same time be a member of a judicial organ of NFA.

A member of the NFA may not have more than one representative on the Executive Committee.

Should the office of any member of Executive Committee become vacant, the remaining members of Executive Committee shall have the power to co-opt a member in his place and stead. In the event of the office of an officer become vacant the Executive Committee shall appoint a person to act on his stead until election is held at the next General Assembly.

A vacancy in any office of Executive Committee shall occur:
Upon death of a member
If a member is absent from (3) consecutive meetings of the Executive Committee without prior permission unless the Executive Committee upon good cause being shown otherwise decides.

If a member is found guilty of having conducted himself in any manner likely to prejudice the objects or activities of the NFA and/or whose conduct has the effect of bringing the NFA into disrepute.
Upon the resignation of a member.

ARTICLE 44: Length of Mandates
The length of the mandate of the Chairman and the other members of the Executive Committee is four years.

The mandates of the Chairman and the other members of the Executive Committee may be renewed for a further period of four (4) years.

There is no limit to the number of time members can be elected
If a position should become vacant, the Executive Committee must fill the vacant position until the next Ordinary General Assembly, when replacement will be elected for the remaining terms of mandate.

ARTICLE 45: Eligibility for Membership of the Executive Committee
A person shall be qualified for election or membership of the Executive Committee of the NFA if:
(a) He is a Citizen of Nigeria in accordance with the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.
(b) He has attained the age of thirty-five (35) years.
(c) He has been educated up to at least school certificate level or its equivalent.
(d) He is not adjudged to be a lunatic or otherwise declared of unsafe mind.
(e) He is not an Ex-Convict.
(f) He is not a member of a secret society or cult or an unlawful organisation.
(g) He is adjudged not to be bankrupt.
(h) He is a proven and accredited Executive Member of a football club or association affiliated to the NFA or such other recognized football bodies including NGO’s, Football Academy who are members of the NFA or has contributed or been involved in the administration of football for a minimum period of 3 years.
(i) He has a proven and veritable means of livelihood.
(j) He has provided a Bank Bond/Guaranty (from a reputable bank) in favour of the NFA as an indemnity to cover the period of his mandate, for an amount to be determined by the General Assembly upon the proposal of the Executive Committee. The amount of the Bank Bond shall not be less than Three Million Naira (N3m) in the case of Chairman and 2 Million Naira (N2m) for Deputy Chairman and One Million (N1m) in the case of an ordinary member.

ARTICLE 50: The Chairman
1. The Chairman represents NFA legally.
2. He is primarily responsible for:
(a) implementing the decisions passed by the General Assembly and the Executive Committee through the general secretariat;
(b) ensuring the effective functioning of the bodies of NFA in order that they achieve the objective described in these Statutes;
(c) supervising the work of the general secretariat;
(d) relations between NFA and its Members, FIFA, CAF, WAFU, political bodies and other organisations.
3. Only the Chairman may propose the appointment or dismissal of the General Secretary.
4. The Chairman shall preside over the General Assembly, the Executive Committee and Emergency Committee meetings and those committees of which he has been appointed chairman.
5. The Chairman shall have an ordinary vote on the Executive Committee and whenever votes are equal, shall have a casting vote.
6. If the Chairman is absent or unavailable, the longest serving vice-chairman available shall deputise.
7. Any additional powers of the Chairman shall be contained in the internal organisation regulations of NFA.

ARTICLE 51: Candidates for the office of the Chairman
1. The Chairman shall be elected by the General Assembly for a period of four years. His mandate shall begin after the end of the General Assembly which has elected him. A Chairman may be re-elected.
2. For the election of the Chairman, a simple majority of the valid votes is sufficient. If there are more than two candidates, the candidate that obtains the lowest number of votes is eliminated as from the second ballot until only two candidates are left.
3. Only Members of NFA may propose candidates for the office of NFA. Members shall notify the general secretariat in writing of the name of a candidate for the chairman of NFA at least 20 days before the date of the General Assembly.
4. The general secretariat shall notify the Members of the names of the proposed candidates at least 15 days before the date of the General Assembly.
5. If the Chairman is permanently or temporarily prevented from performing his official function, the longest serving Deputy Chairman shall represent him until the next General Assembly. This General Assembly shall elect a new President, if necessary.

ARTICLE 52: Representation and Signature
The Chairman represents NFA legally and is entitled to sign for the NFA. The Executive Committee may set up internal organisation regulations regarding joint signature of officers, in particular, in case of the Chairman’s absence and concerning all important business of NFA.

EDITOR’S NOTE:

TWO (2) versions of the Draft NFA Statutes from where these elections guidelines have been extracted were distributed to members expected to attend the extra-ordinary congress of the NFA. Titled "Exhibit A" and "Exhibit B" respectively, one version came from the NFA board while the other came from the Ministry of Sports with some "modifications."

The major modification made by the ministry is the addition of the title "CEO" (Chief Executive Officer) to the position of the Secretary General and his inclusion in the Executive Committee as a full member, thereby expanding the number to 18 (eighteen) as against the 17 (seventeen) in the NFA board’s original draft (Article 43).

This particular modification has been the major bone of contention between the NFA board and the sports ministry. Meanwhile, Article 50 (3) states that ONLY the chairman may propose the appointment or dismissal of the General Secretary.

It remains to be seen how the tussle between the "Executive Chairman" and "Secretary General/CEO" will be resolved.

@cMumuni Alao
Check out Sooting's website:
https://shootingstarssc.com/