Page 1 of 2
Siasia Returns To US Without Pay
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:05 pm
by naija4ever
Super Eagles assistant coach to the 2006 Africa Cup of Nations, Samson Siasia, has told NIGERIANSPORTSONLINE.COM that he will be going back to his United States of America base on Wednesday.
Siasia led the Flying Eagles to a silver medal finish at the World Youth Championship in the Netherlands in 2005 before he was drafted to assist Augustine Eguavoen for the Super Eagles Nations Cup campaign.
But Siasia was a sad man on Tuesday as he left the NFA secretariat in Abuja without his three months salary arrears.
“I was invited by Fanny Amun for the purpose of collecting the arrears of my salary for three months.
“But I am disappointed that on getting to this place (NFA office) he (Fanny Amun) told me they were still awaiting the Sports Ministry’s response as regards release of money for our salaries”, a visibly disappointed Siasia said.
“Amun said the NFA have written to the Ministry over the salary debts owed the Eagles coaches and that they are still awaiting their response”, Siasia added.
A frustrated coach Siasia however opted to return to his base in the United States to stay with his family.
“I will have to return to America, at least to stay with my family.
“I don’t know when this NFA/Sports Ministry problem will be over. So I cannot keep waiting, hanging around.
“By tomorrow (Wednesday), I will be going back to the United States”, he said.
http://www.nigeriansportsonline.com/hom ... archives=1#
Re: Siasia Returns To US Without Pay
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:10 pm
by YUJAM
And Ayo still idly fantasizes about world class coaches!
naija4ever wrote:Super Eagles assistant coach to the 2006 Africa Cup of Nations, Samson Siasia, has told NIGERIANSPORTSONLINE.COM that he will be going back to his United States of America base on Wednesday.
Siasia led the Flying Eagles to a silver medal finish at the World Youth Championship in the Netherlands in 2005 before he was drafted to assist Augustine Eguavoen for the Super Eagles Nations Cup campaign.
But Siasia was a sad man on Tuesday as he left the NFA secretariat in Abuja without his three months salary arrears.
“I was invited by Fanny Amun for the purpose of collecting the arrears of my salary for three months.
“But I am disappointed that on getting to this place (NFA office) he (Fanny Amun) told me they were still awaiting the Sports Ministry’s response as regards release of money for our salaries”, a visibly disappointed Siasia said.
“Amun said the NFA have written to the Ministry over the salary debts owed the Eagles coaches and that they are still awaiting their response”, Siasia added.
A frustrated coach Siasia however opted to return to his base in the United States to stay with his family.
“I will have to return to America, at least to stay with my family.
“I don’t know when this NFA/Sports Ministry problem will be over. So I cannot keep waiting, hanging around.
“By tomorrow (Wednesday), I will be going back to the United States”, he said.
http://www.nigeriansportsonline.com/hom ... archives=1#
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:17 pm
by charlie
Why do we treat our coaches so badly? Why cant they just pay him his due? Or are we so ungrateful as a country to treat our own people so shabily?
And we then expect the coaches to be motivated and bend over backwards to deliver Gold!
We need to do some serious soul searching as a people. SSS, Amo, Cerezo, thank you again for your efforts. It hasnt gone unnoticed.
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:01 pm
by Bell
WHAT DOES SIASIA EXPECT?
To be treated like an FC?
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:13 pm
by naija4ever
Posted: Wed Mar 01, 2006 11:17 pm
by mke1010
Watch pro FCs advocates such as Ayo avoid this thread. A man is yet to be paid his salary in 3 months yet he is expected to peform diligently and attain the highest of standards.
Should they have the gaul to facilitate any transfer of players abroad (mind you FCs are more gulity of this) they are branded dishonest. I guess they should leave their families to starve.
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:20 am
by Mudi E
This is normal with the NFA. Someone should tell Sia Sia that somebody don chop im moni.
3 freaking months without pay? Are you kidding me?

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:30 am
by solo
Mudi E wrote:This is normal with the NFA. Someone should tell Sia Sia that somebody don chop im moni.

wonders will never end :x :x :x
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 12:57 am
by GIN
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:29 am
by Bell
WHERE'S GLOBACOM WHEN WE NEED THEM?
Weren't they willing to lay out $1 M (or more) for Troussier to work from Marseilles? And they can't find peanuts in their coffers for Siasia?
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:46 am
by kulu
Hmmm, if Siasia has not been paid, what about his boss Augustine Eguavoen, the manager? And the other assistant managers?
Monkey dey work, baboon dey chop!

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 5:20 am
by yaya
2 things
1.) Yujam, only reason siasia is not paid is because he is an IC. if Nigeria had an FC, he will be paid promptly
2.) Siasia should stop acting like a bush man. He has lived in the U.S for a while. Why must he travel to Nigeria to pick up his salary. Ask them to send you a check. God forbid the check bounce sha!

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 6:03 am
by kolinzo
This is why I can never work in Naija as a civil servant, they hold your pay. It's high time something has gotta be done about this! There should be an organization above NFA that investigate matters like this one. This is ridiculous!!
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:13 am
by Rogermilla
Mudi E wrote:This is normal with the NFA. Someone should tell Sia Sia that somebody don chop im moni.

This is really sad. On another note you guys are not alone. Our dear Cameroon has kept coaches (both FCs and ICs ) for more than six mths without pay. Sometime I just feel like we should stop playing soccer if we cannot mainain our teams well.
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 7:18 am
by Shownoja
When KoC carries the story of coaches collecting bribes from players agents, maybe he should pu in a paragraph or two about their non payment...for balance if you know what I mean.
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 8:01 am
by wanaj0
So much about NFA independence. I feel for Siasia. However, the ministry should not release a single kobo. Siasia should report them to FIFA and between FIFA and NFA they should look for money to pay the coaches.
Since NFA is now independent and autonomous, no more free money from the FG.
Ayo and co, you are needed here. Contribute and sponsor the SE!!!!
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 10:18 am
by cchinukw
Bell wrote:WHAT DOES SIASIA EXPECT?
To be treated like an FC?
So what if he is treated as such? No be human being?

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:00 am
by oloye
wanaj0 wrote:So much about NFA independence. I feel for Siasia. However, the ministry should not release a single kobo. Siasia should report them to FIFA and between FIFA and NFA they should look for money to pay the coaches.
Wanaj0
Mmmmm small time someone will raise some 10 pointers on how to make NFA autonomous, what a joke. TO even pay their coach off they run to the sports ministry, and that yeye FIFA is telling us that goverment should not interfere, when it is the goverment employing those sad arses, what a joke.
Siasia should not be suprised, neither should he be sad, the bottomline is that he is a Nigerian, even globacom will release 1 million dollars to pay a foreign journey man, but wont shed anything to develop those who abound back home. What a sad life.
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:34 am
by Prince
My take on this is simple. Why work for free? If you know your worth you will not work for free..unless you chose to.
They need to start speaking up and refuse to do the job if they are not being paid.
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:39 am
by Ipe Grams
Prince wrote:My take on this is simple. Why work for free? If you know your worth you will not work for free..unless you chose to.
They need to start speaking up and refuse to do the job if they are not being paid.
…………..and get being labelled unpatriotic?
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 11:47 am
by Prince
Ipe Grams wrote:Prince wrote:My take on this is simple. Why work for free? If you know your worth you will not work for free..unless you chose to.
…………..and get being labelled unpatriotic?
My guy we know the taking the jo of coaching the SE has problems. You need to be able able to stand up to the NFA and if you can't means you are not the right person for the job.
Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 1:44 pm
by mcal
Why is everybody suddenly sad

about Siasia not getting paid? CCC was not paid 6 months plus during his time. We have misplaced priority for that country

Posted: Thu Mar 02, 2006 2:30 pm
by akamoke
wanaj0 wrote:So much about NFA independence. I feel for Siasia. However, the ministry should not release a single kobo. Siasia should report them to FIFA and between FIFA and NFA they should look for money to pay the coaches.
you raise a very valid point..If NFA wants independece from the sports Ministry, they should show initiatives by finding good sponsors that can pay their coaches.good point
People complain that the SM is stiffling the NFA, but the NFA cannot take initiatives, now what?