BEST MALE R&B CROONERS OF ALL TIME:LIST

original skeepolah
BEST MALE R&B CROONERS OF ALL TIME:LIST

Post by original skeepolah »

This is my list of top R&B singers i have been listening too...Whetehr they have faded out or not, they are the time....add una own, no matter the era.....

1. Howard Hewitt
2. James Ingraham
3. Kashif
4. Donny Hathaway
5. Marvin Gaye
6. Alexander O'Neal
7. Freddie Jackson
8. Eugene Wilde
9. Micheal McDonald
10. Stevie Wonder
11. Jeffrey Osborne
12. Luther Vandross
13. James "JT" Taylor

Oya, submit una list...i wan see wetin una sabe wen it comes to the croonerzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!!!!!These guys had the real vocals man...It was soul 101.....later peeps :D

[
b][/b]

My greatest ever has to be Teddy Pendergrass. Johnny Gill will also be in my top 10. Other notables would be Christopher Williams, and these other guys from your list - Howard Hewitt, James Ingram, Jeffrey Osbourne and Freddie Jackson.
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Hello,
Where is Smokey Robinson? puhleeze dat na yeye list
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
Akure4Life
Re: BEST MALE R&B CROONERS OF ALL TIME:LIST

Post by Akure4Life »

original skeepolah wrote:This is my list of top R&B singers i have been listening too...Whetehr they have faded out or not, they are the time....add una own, no matter the era.....

1. Howard Hewitt
2. James Ingraham
3. Kashif
4. Donny Hathaway
5. Marvin Gaye
6. Alexander O'Neal
7. Freddie Jackson
8. Eugene Wilde
9. Micheal McDonald
10. Stevie Wonder
11. Jeffrey Osborne
12. Luther Vandross
13. James "JT" Taylor

Oya, submit una list...i wan see wetin una sabe wen it comes to the croonerzzzzzzzzzzzz!!!!!!!!!!These guys had the real vocals man...It was soul 101.....later peeps :D

He had a song that goes like the

i want you always
cant remember loving
anyone like this
baby your the best x2

The title of the track was ALWAYS. This song use to kill me back in the days.
Akure4Life

Ojota is my hood.

1.James Ingram
2. Teddy Pendergrass
3. Johnny Gill
4. Marvin Gaye
5. Luther Vandross
6. Stevie Wonder
7. Freddie Jackson
8. Donny Hathaway
9. Bobby Womack
10. K-Ci Hailey (of Jodeci)

omotori

Post by omotori »

original skeepolah, never hard of Teddy Pendergrass. check out his concert video & see women throwing bra & pant at him. he was the Muhammed Ali of crooners. I wonder if he is still alive

Akure: "Always" was toooo much!

cic old boy wrote:Akure: "Always" was toooo much!
CIC:

did u ever find that Sanchez+Beres mix?

Chief O: I never get time look for de ting.

Teddy P, Believe in Love waht a song
Ofoje2

Post by Ofoje2 »

There is one Teddy P's song i don't get to hear more often, (Could We Be lovers) not sure, but i think it was off the Joy album 88/89.

I know some of our older forumers will not agree with me, but for me ...this is one the best song TP ever recorded.
Enugu Rangers Supporters Club
dapo lawal

Post by dapo lawal »

What about

Sam Cooke (the guy sings with ease)
Otis Reading
Al Juarue (not sure I spelt it right)
Michael Jackson (yeah, his mad, but a great artist)

Top guys, these guy.
Ofoje2

Post by Ofoje2 »

I will add these cats as well......

R kelly
Major Harris (try and listen to "Love Won't Let Me Wait", then u see where am comin from)
Otis reading
David Ruffin
Jaheim
Anthony Hamilton
Alex O' Neal
Enugu Rangers Supporters Club

Ofoje2 wrote:There is one Teddy P's song i don't get to hear more often, (Could We Be lovers) not sure, but i think it was off the Joy album 88/89.

I know some of our older forumers will not agree with me, but for me ...this is one the best song TP ever recorded.
Ofoje2, my bro you're damn right we wouldn't agree with you. By the time of the Joy album, TP was already crippled by that accident. This affected his vocal range and power. Joy was OK, but no match to his earlier albums that included classics such as Turn off the lights, Close the door, Love TKO, Somebody loves you back, etc.

The man was just too much back then, even going back to when he first blew up as lead singer of Harold Melvin and the Bluenotes with classics like, If you don't know me by now.
original skeepolah

toyin133 wrote:Hello,
Where is Smokey Robinson? puhleeze dat na yeye list

Please!!!!!Lets see yours!!!!!!!!!!!! :roll:
original skeepolah

I also forgot to put Teddy Pendergrass, Miles Jay,Jonathan Butler, Bill Withers and Curtis Mayfield........ :mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:
original skeepolah

omotori wrote:original skeepolah, never hard of Teddy Pendergrass. check out his concert video & see women throwing bra & pant at him. he was the Muhammed Ali of crooners. I wonder if he is still alive
Ye s he is!!!!!!!!!! :wink:
original skeepolah

Yeah TP had it coming with all those classics...I still love hearing Love TKO...he had it with that deep baritone voice..........Man, he had gems flying at you..What of the late, great Barry White???????He was good to...... :mrgreen:
TD

Post by TD »

AL GREEN. "Let's Stay Together" is such a great song.

P.S All the T.P shriners probably never heard a lot of Marvin Gaye. I don't think you can put Gaye and T.P in the same galaxy.
"The youth of a nation must, out of relative obscurity, discover it's mission, fulfill it or betray it"... Frantz Fanon
original skeepolah

TD wrote:AL GREEN. "Let's Stay Together" is such a great song.

P.S All the T.P shriners probably never heard a lot of Marvin Gaye. I don't think you can put Gaye and T.P in the same galaxy.
tRUE!!!!!!Gaye is in the same galaxy as Mayfield, Hathaway,etc,.........But Pendergrass is the 2nd coming of crooners!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :P
original skeepolah

I remember Hewitt spewing soulful notes over Shalamar classics like "Over & Over", Closer" and This is For The Lover In You".......Man, his voice had some substance to it...Brings back some great memories..Even his solo albums were worth getting.......Shalamar died when he hit the road..... :|

TD wrote:AL GREEN. "Let's Stay Together" is such a great song.

I'm chairman of the TP Shriners Association and can state categorically that my guy could sing better than Marvin. I concede that Marvin's "Let's get it on" may be the best ballad ever made, but no one could belt out a note like TP. The guy's voice was awesome. It was pure ear-gasm for the ladies too :P .

Marvin may have been more popular, more commercially successful and some of his tunes may have had a stronger social commentary. But Teddy was Da Original Man. Pure raw soul straight from the groin, through the heart and out of his vocal chords.

Ilsley Brothers
Freddie Jackson
Luther Vandross
James Ingram
Alex O
Amas Grill(Gbugbemi Amas)
Kenny Rogers
Kenny Burke