Craziest people in soccer !!
- kash n' karry
Craziest people in soccer !!
Sports; Soccer; Football's craziest people
This makes for an interesting article folks though, i don't know if it has already been posted. Enjoy!!
Posted by admin on 2006/2/21 11:27:16 (116 reads)
By Bamidele Johnson
Soccer is crawling with some of humanity’s wackiest people who have flirted with babes, booze, drugs and violence.
Edmundo
Every profession has its mavericks. Football is no exception. As a matter of fact, the game boasts some of the world’s crankiest people–both on and off the field. What will the game be without them? Poorer, of course. Here they are... Edmundo One of the biggest names in Brazilian football during the 90s. Edmundo, famously known as ‘The Animal,’ was a striker who excited as much as exasperated fans, teammates, opponents and the authorities.
He began by smashing a television camera after a game in Ecuador. And in a bid to avoid being jailed by the country’s police, he locked himself in a hotel room for three days! However, he could not escape sanctions when he earned a 120-day ban for slapping a referee. When he moved to Europe to play for Italy’s Fiorentina, Edmundo negotiated a clause in his contract that allowed him to visit nightclubs.
Not accustomed to keeping rules, he eventually exhausted his luck, disappearing to Brazil for the Rio Carnival. Fiorentina cut their losses by releasing him. He headed back to Brazil. Back home, he continued his madness, punching Juninho, his favourite teammate, for no apparent reason during a league match. Of the incident, he said hitting “half man Juninho was easy,” adding that next time “it would be fairer”, as he would call his little nephew to do the job.
Next to be upset were Brazilian animal rights campaigners when Edmundo borrowed a chimpanzee from the circus to liven up his son’s birthday. He gleefully posed with the primate when feeding it beer. His reckless behaviour climaxed with a fatal car crash in 1995. The crash resulted in manslaughter and earned Edmundo four years in prison. But he was released pending an appeal after spending just one night behind bars. When hired to coach a youth side, he said: “If they listen to what I say, the might become great players and noble men. If they do what I do, perhaps not.”
Diego Maradona
Nothing about Maradona is ordinary. On the field, he was sublime, almost divine. Off it, his thick body was home to a thousand demons. The aggregate is that the Argentine idol is one the game’s most colourful characters. Former national teammate, Jorge Valdano said: “Maradona turned his private life into a public spectacle.” He was right. Maradona was simply a disaster movie.
His resume includes shooting journalists with an air rifle, hiring a Boeing 747 for his wedding, sneering at the Pope, campaigning against drugs whereas he is an addict, escaping from hospitals when his life was at risk and sleeping naked with the air conditioning at full power when suffering from acute pneumonia!
But that’s not all. He retired from football on five occasions, drove to training grounds in a lorry, befriended and was photographed with drug baron, Diego Leon Montoya Sanchez, who jointly tops FBI’s most wanted list with Osama bin Laden. He famously counselled people not to consider him a role model. “Teach your child with your own examples,” he advised.
Romario
On the field, he was a perennial source of danger to goalkeepers. Off it, he was a nightmare to fans, coaches, teammates and his numerous wives. He is a national hero (World Cup winner and second only to Pele on the list of Brazil’s top scorers); fan beater and self-confessed womaniser. Romario’s career was as remarkable for his goalscoring as much as for scandals. Three years ago, while playing for Fluminense in Brazil, fans turned up at the club’s training ground to protest the team’s poor performances in the league. One of them decided to throw a chicken as a sign of protest. He had courted trouble.
Romario chased him to the stands and beat him to pulp. In 1985, he was kicked out of the Brazilian youth team when the coach caught him urinating on pedestrians from his hotel room window. In his last contract, he negotiated a clause which granted him freedom to train whenever he pleased. “I don’t need to go to practice. I already know what to do on the pitch,” he explained.
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,” and Zico, “a loser.” Of his foul mouth, he said: “I never bite my tongue. I just can’t shut my mouth when I see something wrong.” In 1994, he threatened to quit the Brazilian World Cup squad if he was not given a window seat on the team’s flight to the US. He also loved women and nightclubbing. “I don’t smoke, I don’t drink, I don’t use drugs but women... I don’t believe in marriage as an institution. It can’t last forever.’’ On nightclubbing, he said: “I was born at night. That is why I like the nighttime. Night is my best friend.”
Jesus Gil
The late Spaniard was the man for whom the word ‘Maverick’ was invented. As president of Spain’s Athletico Madrid for 17 years, Gil was the ultimate axe-wielding maniac. He bought 141 players, went through 39 coaches and abolished the club’s youth system which included a certain Raul. He famously said: “Appointing a coach means no more to me than ordering a glass of sherry.
I don’t care if I have to buy 100 glasses a year to find the right one.” One coach was sacked before the season began. Reason? Gil did not like the way he looked in the team photo.
In 1996, he celebrated Athletico’s league and cup double by riding around Madrid on an elephant and said: “You don’t get orgasms like this every night!” When his team lost a match in the Canary Island, Gil told reporters that he wished the plane would crash and “kill the bloody lot of them.”
When his team was relegated in 2000, he promised to become a priest, dress up as a nun or take holy vows everyday to get them promoted. “My name is Jesus Gil, not Jesus Christ, but I will perform a miracle.” Gil’s life was the stuff of legends. At 17, he lived in a brothel and kept girls’ accounts in lieu of rent.
He later went into buying and selling of cars. From there, he graduated to property. His first project was an apartment block constructed without permission, plan, architect and surveyor. The result? It collapsed, killing 58. Yet he escaped punishment, as he was pardoned by Spain’s then military leader, General Franco. Gil died in 2004.
Hristo Stoitchkov
As a player, the Bulgarian striker had an explosive shot and temper. He also had a foul mouth; something like the soccer equivalent of John McEnroe. On his last match in Bulgaria before leaving for Barcelona in Spain, Stoitchkov marched into the opposition dressing room and smashed up the trophy they had just won. He then hopped on a plane to Spain. But the demons were in hot pursuit, ready to end his Barcelona career before it started. In his first match – a Super Cup match – he was sent off for stamping the referee. He insisted–tearfully–to his teammates that he had not done it. They stood by him until television footage proved otherwise.
He apologised, but clearly was not sorry, as he regularly fell out with Coach Johann Cruyff. Yet the fans loved him because he scored goals, hated Real Madrid and swore in Catalan (Barcelona’s native language). “Just hearing the name Real Madrid makes me want to vomit,” he said. And to prove he was serious, he once refused to let a supporter watch Barcelona’s pre-season training because he was wearing a Madrid shirt. The fan was a seven-year- old. Before quitting Barcelona, he fought Coach Louis Van Gaal, saying: “I wouldn’t sack Louis Van Gaal. Why should he get off that easily? I’d make him sweep the stands, work turnstiles and sell chocolate.”
Luis Aragones
Former coach of Spain and one of the worst mouths in football. Famous for attacking television wires with pliers because he thought they were “too close” to where he sat during a match. He makes his way to the dugout via a secret passage – a trapdoor and an underground tunnel. To avoid the press and the opponent’s coach. He lost his false teeth while shouting orders and once manhandled a player being treated back onto the pitch because “there was nothing wrong with him.” The player suffered a broken jaw!
Aragones also attacked Samuel Eto’o on the bench because he thought he was not trying hard enough, but got angry with a fan who suggested same. He called Eto’o and Thierry Henry “black $#%” and described a fan as “uglier than two horses.” Opponents are not safe either, describing Real Madrid’s Fernando Hierro as “old, old, more than old.” Yet, Hierro is 30 years younger than Aragones. He once described a player as having an “angel*’s face.”
Maria Teresa Rivero
Spain’s only female football president. She has 13 children and 36 grandchildren. As president of Rayo Vallecano (Wilfred Agbonavbare’s former club), Rivero drifts between madness and sleep in the directors box to which she arrives late. Volatile and vociferous, Rivero once went through four managers in one season, including an attempt to re-sign the first one. Once after a game, she stayed back to hit the referee.
Her most famous quote? “Things like that (having a homosexual child) happen. I have taught my kids so it won’t, but you never know. It would be a huge tragedy, but I wouldn’t kick my son out of the house. One thing is for sure, though, I wouldn’t let his partner in.”
Eric Cantona
“I have a lot of good memories, but the one I prefer is when I kicked the hooligan,” said Cantona of his world famous Bruce Lee impersonation on a fan in 1995. The kick provoked outrage and a ban, but those familiar with the French genius were not surprised. Afterall, he left France for England, having retired from football aged just 24. By then, he had been banned from the national team for branding Coach Henri Michel “a mad man.” He had also been sacked by Olympique Marseille for throwing away his shirt in protest against being substituted in a friendly. At Montpellier, he was suspended for fighting a teammate, and as skipper of Nimes, his ban for hurling the ball at the referee was doubled after he described members of the disciplinary committee as idiots. At Manchester United, he was not any better, attempting to take on the entire team of Turkish riot police after a match in Istanbul. He was arrested in the US during the 1994 World Cup after a brawl with a security guard and then his piece de resistance in 1995.
Paul Gascoigne
Lavishly gifted and incredibly obnoxious. The former golden boy of English football oozed dementia. His reputation for practical jokes was as big as his playing talents. Once, while eating in a posh hotel, he placed his erect manhood on the shoulder of a diner on the next table. Thinking he had been tapped on the shoulder, the man turned around and was stabbed in the cheek by Gazza’s erection!
He once urinated over a sleeping teammate and was a notorious wife beater with enormous beer-guzzling capability. Asked a question at a press conference, Gazza responded by burping straight into the microphone. He was simply the kind of boy his mum must have told him to avoid.
Luciano Gaucci
A bus driver turned millionaire. He is Italy’s equivalent of Jesus Gil. In 13 years as president of Peruggia, he sacked 13 coaches, including one for bringing his dog to a press conference. In 1991, his club was stripped of promotion after a referee was accused of ‘adjusting’ the result of a match on receiving a race horse from Gaucci. He achieved global fame for ‘sacking’ South Korean forward, Ahn Jung-Hwan, for knocking Italy out of the World Cup in 2002. After that he signed Al-Saadi Gadaffi, son of Libyan president, Muamar Gadaffi. He also tried to sign a female player despite the fact that Italian Federation’s rules are opposed to such. He succeeded in signing Ben Johnson, the tainted Canadian sprinter, as fitness trainer. “I love a team made up of only horses,” he said on recruiting Johnson.
Others worth mentioning;
1. George Best
2. Michel Platini
3. Chilavert
4. Ian Wright
5. Taribo West
6. Clemence Westeroff
7. John Mikel Obi
8. Garrincha
9. Nick Anelka
10. Roger Milla
11. Sir Alex Ferguson
12. Charles "Dummy" Dempsey
This makes for an interesting article folks though, i don't know if it has already been posted. Enjoy!!
By Bamidele Johnson
Soccer is crawling with some of humanity’s wackiest people who have flirted with babes, booze, drugs and violence.
Edmundo
Every profession has its mavericks. Football is no exception. As a matter of fact, the game boasts some of the world’s crankiest people–both on and off the field. What will the game be without them? Poorer, of course. Here they are... Edmundo One of the biggest names in Brazilian football during the 90s. Edmundo, famously known as ‘The Animal,’ was a striker who excited as much as exasperated fans, teammates, opponents and the authorities.
He began by smashing a television camera after a game in Ecuador. And in a bid to avoid being jailed by the country’s police, he locked himself in a hotel room for three days! However, he could not escape sanctions when he earned a 120-day ban for slapping a referee. When he moved to Europe to play for Italy’s Fiorentina, Edmundo negotiated a clause in his contract that allowed him to visit nightclubs.
Not accustomed to keeping rules, he eventually exhausted his luck, disappearing to Brazil for the Rio Carnival. Fiorentina cut their losses by releasing him. He headed back to Brazil. Back home, he continued his madness, punching Juninho, his favourite teammate, for no apparent reason during a league match. Of the incident, he said hitting “half man Juninho was easy,” adding that next time “it would be fairer”, as he would call his little nephew to do the job.
Next to be upset were Brazilian animal rights campaigners when Edmundo borrowed a chimpanzee from the circus to liven up his son’s birthday. He gleefully posed with the primate when feeding it beer. His reckless behaviour climaxed with a fatal car crash in 1995. The crash resulted in manslaughter and earned Edmundo four years in prison. But he was released pending an appeal after spending just one night behind bars. When hired to coach a youth side, he said: “If they listen to what I say, the might become great players and noble men. If they do what I do, perhaps not.”
Diego Maradona
Nothing about Maradona is ordinary. On the field, he was sublime, almost divine. Off it, his thick body was home to a thousand demons. The aggregate is that the Argentine idol is one the game’s most colourful characters. Former national teammate, Jorge Valdano said: “Maradona turned his private life into a public spectacle.” He was right. Maradona was simply a disaster movie.
His resume includes shooting journalists with an air rifle, hiring a Boeing 747 for his wedding, sneering at the Pope, campaigning against drugs whereas he is an addict, escaping from hospitals when his life was at risk and sleeping naked with the air conditioning at full power when suffering from acute pneumonia!
But that’s not all. He retired from football on five occasions, drove to training grounds in a lorry, befriended and was photographed with drug baron, Diego Leon Montoya Sanchez, who jointly tops FBI’s most wanted list with Osama bin Laden. He famously counselled people not to consider him a role model. “Teach your child with your own examples,” he advised.
Romario
On the field, he was a perennial source of danger to goalkeepers. Off it, he was a nightmare to fans, coaches, teammates and his numerous wives. He is a national hero (World Cup winner and second only to Pele on the list of Brazil’s top scorers); fan beater and self-confessed womaniser. Romario’s career was as remarkable for his goalscoring as much as for scandals. Three years ago, while playing for Fluminense in Brazil, fans turned up at the club’s training ground to protest the team’s poor performances in the league. One of them decided to throw a chicken as a sign of protest. He had courted trouble.
Romario chased him to the stands and beat him to pulp. In 1985, he was kicked out of the Brazilian youth team when the coach caught him urinating on pedestrians from his hotel room window. In his last contract, he negotiated a clause which granted him freedom to train whenever he pleased. “I don’t need to go to practice. I already know what to do on the pitch,” he explained.
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,” and Zico, “a loser.” Of his foul mouth, he said: “I never bite my tongue. I just can’t shut my mouth when I see something wrong.” In 1994, he threatened to quit the Brazilian World Cup squad if he was not given a window seat on the team’s flight to the US. He also loved women and nightclubbing. “I don’t smoke, I don’t drink, I don’t use drugs but women... I don’t believe in marriage as an institution. It can’t last forever.’’ On nightclubbing, he said: “I was born at night. That is why I like the nighttime. Night is my best friend.”
Jesus Gil
The late Spaniard was the man for whom the word ‘Maverick’ was invented. As president of Spain’s Athletico Madrid for 17 years, Gil was the ultimate axe-wielding maniac. He bought 141 players, went through 39 coaches and abolished the club’s youth system which included a certain Raul. He famously said: “Appointing a coach means no more to me than ordering a glass of sherry.
I don’t care if I have to buy 100 glasses a year to find the right one.” One coach was sacked before the season began. Reason? Gil did not like the way he looked in the team photo.
In 1996, he celebrated Athletico’s league and cup double by riding around Madrid on an elephant and said: “You don’t get orgasms like this every night!” When his team lost a match in the Canary Island, Gil told reporters that he wished the plane would crash and “kill the bloody lot of them.”
When his team was relegated in 2000, he promised to become a priest, dress up as a nun or take holy vows everyday to get them promoted. “My name is Jesus Gil, not Jesus Christ, but I will perform a miracle.” Gil’s life was the stuff of legends. At 17, he lived in a brothel and kept girls’ accounts in lieu of rent.
He later went into buying and selling of cars. From there, he graduated to property. His first project was an apartment block constructed without permission, plan, architect and surveyor. The result? It collapsed, killing 58. Yet he escaped punishment, as he was pardoned by Spain’s then military leader, General Franco. Gil died in 2004.
Hristo Stoitchkov
As a player, the Bulgarian striker had an explosive shot and temper. He also had a foul mouth; something like the soccer equivalent of John McEnroe. On his last match in Bulgaria before leaving for Barcelona in Spain, Stoitchkov marched into the opposition dressing room and smashed up the trophy they had just won. He then hopped on a plane to Spain. But the demons were in hot pursuit, ready to end his Barcelona career before it started. In his first match – a Super Cup match – he was sent off for stamping the referee. He insisted–tearfully–to his teammates that he had not done it. They stood by him until television footage proved otherwise.
He apologised, but clearly was not sorry, as he regularly fell out with Coach Johann Cruyff. Yet the fans loved him because he scored goals, hated Real Madrid and swore in Catalan (Barcelona’s native language). “Just hearing the name Real Madrid makes me want to vomit,” he said. And to prove he was serious, he once refused to let a supporter watch Barcelona’s pre-season training because he was wearing a Madrid shirt. The fan was a seven-year- old. Before quitting Barcelona, he fought Coach Louis Van Gaal, saying: “I wouldn’t sack Louis Van Gaal. Why should he get off that easily? I’d make him sweep the stands, work turnstiles and sell chocolate.”
Luis Aragones
Former coach of Spain and one of the worst mouths in football. Famous for attacking television wires with pliers because he thought they were “too close” to where he sat during a match. He makes his way to the dugout via a secret passage – a trapdoor and an underground tunnel. To avoid the press and the opponent’s coach. He lost his false teeth while shouting orders and once manhandled a player being treated back onto the pitch because “there was nothing wrong with him.” The player suffered a broken jaw!
Aragones also attacked Samuel Eto’o on the bench because he thought he was not trying hard enough, but got angry with a fan who suggested same. He called Eto’o and Thierry Henry “black $#%” and described a fan as “uglier than two horses.” Opponents are not safe either, describing Real Madrid’s Fernando Hierro as “old, old, more than old.” Yet, Hierro is 30 years younger than Aragones. He once described a player as having an “angel*’s face.”
Maria Teresa Rivero
Spain’s only female football president. She has 13 children and 36 grandchildren. As president of Rayo Vallecano (Wilfred Agbonavbare’s former club), Rivero drifts between madness and sleep in the directors box to which she arrives late. Volatile and vociferous, Rivero once went through four managers in one season, including an attempt to re-sign the first one. Once after a game, she stayed back to hit the referee.
Her most famous quote? “Things like that (having a homosexual child) happen. I have taught my kids so it won’t, but you never know. It would be a huge tragedy, but I wouldn’t kick my son out of the house. One thing is for sure, though, I wouldn’t let his partner in.”
Eric Cantona
“I have a lot of good memories, but the one I prefer is when I kicked the hooligan,” said Cantona of his world famous Bruce Lee impersonation on a fan in 1995. The kick provoked outrage and a ban, but those familiar with the French genius were not surprised. Afterall, he left France for England, having retired from football aged just 24. By then, he had been banned from the national team for branding Coach Henri Michel “a mad man.” He had also been sacked by Olympique Marseille for throwing away his shirt in protest against being substituted in a friendly. At Montpellier, he was suspended for fighting a teammate, and as skipper of Nimes, his ban for hurling the ball at the referee was doubled after he described members of the disciplinary committee as idiots. At Manchester United, he was not any better, attempting to take on the entire team of Turkish riot police after a match in Istanbul. He was arrested in the US during the 1994 World Cup after a brawl with a security guard and then his piece de resistance in 1995.
Paul Gascoigne
Lavishly gifted and incredibly obnoxious. The former golden boy of English football oozed dementia. His reputation for practical jokes was as big as his playing talents. Once, while eating in a posh hotel, he placed his erect manhood on the shoulder of a diner on the next table. Thinking he had been tapped on the shoulder, the man turned around and was stabbed in the cheek by Gazza’s erection!
He once urinated over a sleeping teammate and was a notorious wife beater with enormous beer-guzzling capability. Asked a question at a press conference, Gazza responded by burping straight into the microphone. He was simply the kind of boy his mum must have told him to avoid.
Luciano Gaucci
A bus driver turned millionaire. He is Italy’s equivalent of Jesus Gil. In 13 years as president of Peruggia, he sacked 13 coaches, including one for bringing his dog to a press conference. In 1991, his club was stripped of promotion after a referee was accused of ‘adjusting’ the result of a match on receiving a race horse from Gaucci. He achieved global fame for ‘sacking’ South Korean forward, Ahn Jung-Hwan, for knocking Italy out of the World Cup in 2002. After that he signed Al-Saadi Gadaffi, son of Libyan president, Muamar Gadaffi. He also tried to sign a female player despite the fact that Italian Federation’s rules are opposed to such. He succeeded in signing Ben Johnson, the tainted Canadian sprinter, as fitness trainer. “I love a team made up of only horses,” he said on recruiting Johnson.

Others worth mentioning;
1. George Best
2. Michel Platini
3. Chilavert
4. Ian Wright
5. Taribo West
6. Clemence Westeroff
7. John Mikel Obi
8. Garrincha
9. Nick Anelka
10. Roger Milla
11. Sir Alex Ferguson
12. Charles "Dummy" Dempsey

When design impacts performance,
Performance returns the favor
Last edited by kash n' karry on Fri May 05, 2006 2:07 am, edited 5 times in total.
NAIJA LIST.
1. Kashimawo LALOKO:
'How I determine if my players are U17? I neither use height nor looks, but just ask them to strip and show thier manhood.'
2. BRIGHT OMOKARO: 1988
'I saw that we were 10 playing against 11 so I decided to remove one of them to make it 10-10'
3. FANNY AMUN: 2006
'Refs should take bribes but they should not let it affect thier officiating'
4. Governor POPOOLA of Oyo state on disbanding 11CC 1984:
'For bringing disgrace upon the nation'
5. Coach Amodu Shuaibu's wife 1997
'We dont only need a foreign coach. we also need a foreign minister of sports and NFA chairman'
1. Kashimawo LALOKO:
'How I determine if my players are U17? I neither use height nor looks, but just ask them to strip and show thier manhood.'
'I saw that we were 10 playing against 11 so I decided to remove one of them to make it 10-10'
'Refs should take bribes but they should not let it affect thier officiating'
'We dont only need a foreign coach. we also need a foreign minister of sports and NFA chairman'
Last edited by megapro on Thu May 04, 2006 12:06 pm, edited 3 times in total.
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
Re: Craziest people in soccer !!
kash n' karry wrote:Sports; Soccer; Football's craziest people
By Bamidele Johnson
Diego Maradona
Romario
Jesus Gil
In 1996, he celebrated Athletico’s league and cup double by riding around Madrid on an elephant and said: “You don’t get orgasms like this every night!” When his team lost a match in the Canary Island, Gil told reporters that he wished the plane would crash and “kill the bloody lot of them.”When his team was relegated in 2000, he promised to become a priest, dress up as a nun or take holy vows everyday to get them promoted. “My name is Jesus Gil, not Jesus Christ, but I will perform a miracle.” Gil’s life was the stuff of legends. At 17, he lived in a brothel and kept girls’ accounts in lieu of rent.
Hristo Stoitchkov
He apologised, but clearly was not sorry, as he regularly fell out with Coach Johann Cruyff. Yet the fans loved him because he scored goals, hated Real Madrid and swore in Catalan (Barcelona’s native language). “Just hearing the name Real Madrid makes me want to vomit,” he said. And to prove he was serious, he once refused to let a supporter watch Barcelona’s pre-season training because he was wearing a Madrid shirt. The fan was a seven-year- old. Before quitting Barcelona, he fought Coach Louis Van Gaal, saying: “I wouldn’t sack Louis Van Gaal. Why should he get off that easily? I’d make him sweep the stands, work turnstiles and sell chocolate.”Luis Aragones
Aragones also attacked Samuel Eto’o on the bench because he thought he was not trying hard enough, but got angry with a fan who suggested same. He called Eto’o and Thierry Henry “black sugar” and described a fan as “uglier than two horses.” Opponents are not safe either, describing Real Madrid’s Fernando Hierro as “old, old, more than old.” Yet, Hierro is 30 years younger than Aragones. He once described a player as having an “angel*’s face.”
Maria Teresa Rivero
Eric Cantona
Paul Gascoigne
He once urinated over a sleeping teammate and was a notorious wife beater with enormous beer-guzzling capability. Asked a question at a press conference, Gazza responded by burping straight into the microphone. He was simply the kind of boy his mum must have told him to avoid.Luciano Gaucci
Others worth mentioning;
1. George Best
2. Michel Platini
3. Chilavert
4. Ian Wright
5. Taribo West
6. Clemence Westeroff
7. John Mikel Obi
8. Roger Milla
9. Sir Alex Ferguson
10. Charles "Dummy" Dempsey
When design impacts performance,
Performance returns the favor

Some mother do have 'em.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
megapro wrote:NAIJA LIST.
1. Kashimawo LALOKO:
'How I determine if my players are U17? I neither use height or looks, but just ask them to strip and show thier manhood.'
'Refs should take bribes but it should not affect thier refreeing'

For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
In his last contract, he negotiated a clause which granted him freedom to train whenever he pleased. “I don’t need to go to practice. I already know what to do on the pitch,” he explained.
On nightclubbing, he said: “I was born at night. That is why I like the nighttime. Night is my best friend.”
One coach was sacked before the season began. Reason? Gil did not like the way he looked in the team photo.

"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."
megapro,megapro wrote:NAIJA LIST.
The thread is for "crazy" people .... Madam Shuaibu's defence of her husband belongs on a list of "classics".
PS: Sack Sambawa and Galadima, and hire Mrs Shuaibu!

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
dis thread is reeeeaaaaaaaaaalllllly funny..... i was laughing all d way thru it. nice one!!
There is no fear in Love and those who Love do not fear to show their heart. If you fear, then you do not truly Love.
overcoming homosexuality
Wait Oh. Where is Animal? No list can ever be complete without Animal aka Edmundo.
I always remember Edmundo walking out on Forentina when they were battling it out for the Scudetto under Trappatoni. Bastituta was injured and could not play, the only other striker Edmundo was in the form of his life and scoring goals, surely they will win the Scudetto.
Edmundo had other ideas, he said he has to go to Brazil for Carnival. Edmundo argued that he had this inserted in his contract and he was going to excercise this option. Surely, no player was crazy enough to walk out of his team mates for Carnival when they are about to win the Scudetto. Italy waited, Europe waited, cometh the day, Edmundo calmly left his house and headed straight for the airport for his flight to Brazil in full of the media. The guy did not even flinch.
Fiorentina never won the Scudetto that season and Edmundo returned from Carnival and left for Brazil for good.
I always remember Edmundo walking out on Forentina when they were battling it out for the Scudetto under Trappatoni. Bastituta was injured and could not play, the only other striker Edmundo was in the form of his life and scoring goals, surely they will win the Scudetto.
Edmundo had other ideas, he said he has to go to Brazil for Carnival. Edmundo argued that he had this inserted in his contract and he was going to excercise this option. Surely, no player was crazy enough to walk out of his team mates for Carnival when they are about to win the Scudetto. Italy waited, Europe waited, cometh the day, Edmundo calmly left his house and headed straight for the airport for his flight to Brazil in full of the media. The guy did not even flinch.

Fiorentina never won the Scudetto that season and Edmundo returned from Carnival and left for Brazil for good.
Last edited by Waffiman on Thu May 04, 2006 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Talk about being single minded and not giving a f*ckWaffiman wrote:Wait Oh. Where is Animal? No list can ever be complete without Animal aka Edmundo.
I always remember Edmundo walking out on Fiorentina in the 1998/99 season. Fiorentina were battling it out for the Scudetto under Trappatoni and were close to winning it. Bastituta was injured and could not play, the only other striker Edmundo was in the form of his life and scoring goals, surely they will win the Scudetto.
Edmundo had other ideas, he said he has to go to Brazil for Carnival. Edmundo argued that he had this inserted in his contract and he was going to excercise this option. Surely, no player was crazy enough to walk out of his team mates for Carnival when they are about to win the Scudetto. Italy waited, Europe waited, cometh the day, Edmundo calmly left his house and headed straight for the airport for his flight to Brazil in full of the media. The guy did not even flinch.![]()
Forentina never won the Scudetto that season and Edmundo returned from Carnival and left for Brazil for good.

The wise speak when they have something to say,
fools speak when they have to say something.
The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
Its our business to stir it up
fools speak when they have to say something.
The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
Its our business to stir it up
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
- kash n' karry
tendai101 wrote:Talk about being single minded and not giving a f*ckWaffiman wrote:Wait Oh. Where is Animal? No list can ever be complete without Animal aka Edmundo.
I always remember Edmundo walking out on Fiorentina in the 1998/99 season. Fiorentina were battling it out for the Scudetto under Trappatoni and were close to winning it. Bastituta was injured and could not play, the only other striker Edmundo was in the form of his life and scoring goals, surely they will win the Scudetto.
Edmundo had other ideas, he said he has to go to Brazil for Carnival. Edmundo argued that he had this inserted in his contract and he was going to excercise this option. Surely, no player was crazy enough to walk out of his team mates for Carnival when they are about to win the Scudetto. Italy waited, Europe waited, cometh the day, Edmundo calmly left his house and headed straight for the airport for his flight to Brazil in full of the media. The guy did not even flinch.![]()
Forentina never won the Scudetto that season and Edmundo returned from Carnival and left for Brazil for good.![]()

Yeah Edmundo is rank up there and he must be the first on the list. Nice quote tendai.
Luck is not always random
Luck sometimes is an element of design.
Garrincha
One of his legs was two inches shorter than the other. He lost his virginity to a goat, slept with hundreds of women and sired at least 14 children. When he played for the Brazilian national team in the 1950s and early 60s, he scored 34 goals and won the World Cup twice. He killed his mother-in-law in a car crash, then died of drink. His name was Garrincha, and his exploits make Paul Gascoigne look like an amateur.
http://books.guardian.co.uk/reviews/spo ... 97,00.html
One of his legs was two inches shorter than the other. He lost his virginity to a goat, slept with hundreds of women and sired at least 14 children. When he played for the Brazilian national team in the 1950s and early 60s, he scored 34 goals and won the World Cup twice. He killed his mother-in-law in a car crash, then died of drink. His name was Garrincha, and his exploits make Paul Gascoigne look like an amateur.
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
- kash n' karry
THE FAN wrote:megapro,megapro wrote:NAIJA LIST.
The thread is for "crazy" people .... Madam Shuaibu's defence of her husband belongs on a list of "classics".
PS: Sack Sambawa and Galadima, and hire Mrs Shuaibu!

How can I forget Garricha. The original bad boy.toyin133 wrote:Garrincha

flashback 1994.Romario
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,”
Romario demanded his homey edmundo 'el animal' be added by carlos alberto peirera in the World cup squad for the 'useless' Muller just like leandro did for renato in 86.
Pele scoffed at him to leave team selection to the coaches thus his reply with the remark that pele being an antique museum piece, deserved to be seen and not to be heared.

megapro 2012:
- kash n' karry
Yes indeed Romario is nuts, as a boy he will stand on top building and urinate on pedestrians walking down the streets on the side walk. Till he was caught and spanked.megapro wrote:flashback 1994.Romario
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,”
Romario demanded his homey edmundo 'el animal' be added by carlos alberto peirera in the World cup squad for the 'useless' Muller just like leandro did for renato in 86.
Pele scoffed at him to leave team selection to the coaches thus his reply with the remark that pele being an antique museum piece, deserved to be seen and not to be heared.