GUYS GREATEST NEWS EVER FOR NAIJA FOOTBALL
- naija4ever
- Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
GUYS GREATEST NEWS EVER FOR NAIJA FOOTBALL
'I'm Ready to Die Playing for Nigeria'
Nwankwo Kanu is undoubtedly one of the foremost footballers to ever come out of Nigeria, and indeed Africa. The only Nigerian to be crowned the continent's best footballer twice, the former junior international made history in 1996 when he captained the 'Dream Team' to glory in the soccer event of the Atlanta Olympic Games. A European Champions Cup winner with Dutch side Ajax in 1995, Kanu is now in his fifth season with London giants Arsenal. two weeks ago, at his posh home in high brow area of north London, the Japan '93 winner spoke exclusively to Tunde Sulaiman, in which he bared his mind on a wide range of things. Here are excepts from the hour-long chat.
What's the idea behind Heart Foundation? It is my way of giving back to the society. When I was going through my own (refering to his own heart operation after the Atlanta '96 soccer triumph), I was watching a television programme, I saw where people were being operated, people in pains and I saw tears. Then I thought, yes, this is where I can use my name and use whatever I have to give back to people. To tell them that I know what they are going through because I've already been down the same path before.
Do you ever get to meet the kids chosen by your Heart Foundation?
Yes, I do. I was with them back in June to carry out some operations. Whenever I'm around I'm with them. I try to make them feel at home. I crack jokes with them just to make them more confident to face their operations. You are like a star and they look forward to you, they believe in you and they see you around, cracking jokes with them, it give more confidence on what they are going through.
How was growing up like?
It was a little difficult because we grew up in the streets and then you thought that you had everything you wanted. At first, my father used to buy me footballs and give me gifts. But later I had to start playing football on the streets in order to make extra money. It was really tough because by then you also have to assist yourself, trying to get money here and there - at times I even played some local matches, like a mercenary, just to make money. Everything was like coming to me very very fast and when I started from the streets, from I joined a club and when I was in school, I started playing for the school team. Things kept on happening very fast, suddenly, the big clubs noticed me.
But during childhood, it wasn't easy. It was through the grace of God because you had to find what to eat, how to cope with life and everything. But it's not like it has been smooth since my move to Europe, but we thank God for everything.
So after all your early childhood suffering can we say you are now enjoying?
Yeah, it appears like we are enjoying the fruit of our labour because people see us and think everything, just lauded on our laps and everything is smooth. But that's where they are wrong because they need to know how it happened. We always try to point this out to all the kids and the youths out there because whatever you do you should reflect.
If you are positive and hardworking, effective and always respect people, in the end it will always come back to you. So for me I always advise people that if you believe that you want to become successful in life, you really have to work hard for it, when you work hard and pray, it will work out for you in the end. On the whole, you have to be disciplined, dedicated, focused, be positive. When we were starting, it was tough, but right now, people are hearing our names they think we have money. But for us, its not like that, you check most of us out. This is not the way we used to live and eat, it has been very tough. Whatever you sow now, is what you reap.
For me, back have in Nigeria, we are not amongst the richest people. We douit even have one third of what we know the wealthiest people have. But because of about what we do, we are like stars people don't even know we pay a lot of bills. They just hear about the transfer money and salavies. But I know that whatever we are today, we must thank God because it did not come easy.
So how has it been like playing in Europe?
Well, I'll say its been a nice ride because I've been in a lot of places and I know you have to first master the language, culture, regulatory test.
At first, it was difficult because you don't know what to expect but after one year, I settled in. Made friends, knew where to go. I will say its been easier to settle down here compared to Inter and Ajax because here (England) they speak the same language as we do and you can get Nigerian foodstuffs, like okro and garri to buy, which is not the same as Italy and Holland. I've been here almost five years and I've enjoyed my stay.
Let's talk about your contract. It ends this season what's the situation with Arsenal?
(Laughs): Everything is okay. It has been in the news recently. But its not as bad as the press as far as I know. Right now, I have clubs who are knocking on my door but I'm in no rush. In life, whatever you are doing you have to sit down, weigh your options and see if its the right thing you are going to do. You don't have to be in a hurry, you may end up where you will regret in the end.
Me, I'm always like that. When I left Inter Milan, or even when I left Ajax, I sat down, discussed with my family, thought over the situation and weighed my decision to if its good for me or not. Because, all said and done, you are the one who is going to have to face the consequences of your decision.
So, right now, I've returned from Nations Cup and have been putting two or three things together. I'm sure think before the end of this season, people will know where I am going to.
But, if I am staying, for me, Arsenal is a great team which is a universal name and I have to still thank God for being a part of a team that is doing a great job now. But the fact that I other clubs that are knocking on my door shows I'm still in dewand. I'm a healthy player not lacking anything but all the same. However, like I said you have to calculate very well and make the choice.
[The club versus country row is still raging. Which would you chose first, Arsenal or Eagles?
Eagles of course! I am a Nigerian.My services are always there till I'm too old. . But until this, Kanu Nwankwo is always ready to play for the Eagles. I want to see that we keep on growing in football to try qualify for the World Cup and every competition we enter into. So, for me, its my country and I'll do all my best to make sure that we keep on growing.
To be in the national team is always a great opportunity for me and I always know I have pressure on me but its my country and I will never be afraid and can never be afraid because the experience in life you go through and then you know that life is not only about football. I know I have the talent, I have the quality, I just need to work hard and that is what I am doing everyday. I am always relaxed. One thing you have to know is that if you know what you are doing, you know you can do it.
Let's go back to the national team.
The National team is very okay. But because of our profile and calibre of players people expect us to win everytime. This we understand. A great country like ours, we have all the players in the whole world. We need to maintain this and continue winning. But football is something, you can't really predict. You just have to do your best and the outcome leave the rest with God.
I know that we have the players to dominate the African scene for a long time but it won't be an easy job. We have to come together -- players, administrators, even fans, to make sure that we do our best because now both the Nations Cup and World Cup is one campaign. So we can't afford to toy with our preparations. Fans expect us to win and we must do everything possible to satisfy them.
Let's talk about the Nations Cup. You are yet to score after three outings. Doesn't it bother you?
Of course, I know that I haven't scored but I know my contributions to the overall success of the team. In Tunisia, I contributed directly or indirectly to most of the goals the Eagles scored. I might not have scored but I helped others scored and don't forget football is a team and not an individual sport. One single player can't take on a whole team and expect to score. He must be assisted by his team mates. So long as my contribution to the team is positive and helps them win there I'm satisfied. What happens if I score and we still end up losing? I'm sure, everyone (including you) would be more happier for me not to score but set up the goals that win us the match. Won't you? I'm not worried because I know the goals will eventually come one day.
What has been your most memorable experience?
I will say there are lots of them. But there is one I really remember, it was at the Olympics. When we won,, beating teams like Brazil on the way. It was very unique because it was the first time we would beat them. And then we went on to win the Olympic gold medal the first by any African nation. It was great feeling. And I will say what happened that day was a miracle. It was very difficult to achieve but I thank God for marching it possible. And for me, I that I will say this is my most memorable experience. But I also have others like winning the European Cup with Ajax. But the Olympics is the most memorable.
One of the soft sell magazines recently mentioned you as one of the most eligible bachelors in Nigeria. Kanu, let me ask you point blank, when are you getting married?
Yeah, I know people have been asking me this question for a long time. They want you to do this and that. But I say, even if I don't marry now, one or two years from now, I don't think it's too late but I think it all depends on when you think you are ready.
I know that he look at my achievements and believe I'm okay. I don't believe people have to push you to do what I don't want to do, the right time is always the best time to do things. For me, like I'm waiting for that time and then, you say its time and you've got the money.
But seriously I can say something is coming up very soon. By the grace of God, something is coming up very very soon. I believe everybody will be to be there witness it.
Thank you for speaking to us.
It's been a pleasure. I'm always happy to speak with THISDAY, because its one of my best newspapers. Thank you.
http://odili.net/news/source/2004/apr/10/218.html
Nwankwo Kanu is undoubtedly one of the foremost footballers to ever come out of Nigeria, and indeed Africa.
Any objections ?
Eagles of course! I am a Nigerian.My services are always there till I'm too old. . But until this, Kanu Nwankwo is always ready to play for the Eagles. I want to see that we keep on growing in football to try qualify for the World Cup and every competition we enter into. So, for me, its my country and I'll do all my best to make sure that we keep on growing
A true patriot IMHO
For me, back have in Nigeria, we are not amongst the richest people. We douit even have one third of what we know the wealthiest people have. But because of about what we do, we are like stars people don't even know we pay a lot of bills. They just hear about the transfer money and salavies. But I know that whatever we are today, we must thank God because it did not come easy.
Very very correct
Let's talk about your contract. It ends this season what's the situation with Arsenal?
(Laughs): Everything is okay. It has been in the news recently. But its not as bad as the press as far as I know.
Right now, I have clubs who are knocking on my door but I'm in no rush. In life, whatever you are doing you have to sit down, weigh your options and see if its the right thing you are going to do. You don't have to be in a hurry, you may end up where you will regret in the end.
Please open the door and let them in for ur careers, and also remember naija fans may not as patient as Arsenal's sake

Nwankwo Kanu is undoubtedly one of the foremost footballers to ever come out of Nigeria, and indeed Africa. The only Nigerian to be crowned the continent's best footballer twice, the former junior international made history in 1996 when he captained the 'Dream Team' to glory in the soccer event of the Atlanta Olympic Games. A European Champions Cup winner with Dutch side Ajax in 1995, Kanu is now in his fifth season with London giants Arsenal. two weeks ago, at his posh home in high brow area of north London, the Japan '93 winner spoke exclusively to Tunde Sulaiman, in which he bared his mind on a wide range of things. Here are excepts from the hour-long chat.
What's the idea behind Heart Foundation? It is my way of giving back to the society. When I was going through my own (refering to his own heart operation after the Atlanta '96 soccer triumph), I was watching a television programme, I saw where people were being operated, people in pains and I saw tears. Then I thought, yes, this is where I can use my name and use whatever I have to give back to people. To tell them that I know what they are going through because I've already been down the same path before.
Do you ever get to meet the kids chosen by your Heart Foundation?
Yes, I do. I was with them back in June to carry out some operations. Whenever I'm around I'm with them. I try to make them feel at home. I crack jokes with them just to make them more confident to face their operations. You are like a star and they look forward to you, they believe in you and they see you around, cracking jokes with them, it give more confidence on what they are going through.
How was growing up like?
It was a little difficult because we grew up in the streets and then you thought that you had everything you wanted. At first, my father used to buy me footballs and give me gifts. But later I had to start playing football on the streets in order to make extra money. It was really tough because by then you also have to assist yourself, trying to get money here and there - at times I even played some local matches, like a mercenary, just to make money. Everything was like coming to me very very fast and when I started from the streets, from I joined a club and when I was in school, I started playing for the school team. Things kept on happening very fast, suddenly, the big clubs noticed me.
But during childhood, it wasn't easy. It was through the grace of God because you had to find what to eat, how to cope with life and everything. But it's not like it has been smooth since my move to Europe, but we thank God for everything.
So after all your early childhood suffering can we say you are now enjoying?
Yeah, it appears like we are enjoying the fruit of our labour because people see us and think everything, just lauded on our laps and everything is smooth. But that's where they are wrong because they need to know how it happened. We always try to point this out to all the kids and the youths out there because whatever you do you should reflect.
If you are positive and hardworking, effective and always respect people, in the end it will always come back to you. So for me I always advise people that if you believe that you want to become successful in life, you really have to work hard for it, when you work hard and pray, it will work out for you in the end. On the whole, you have to be disciplined, dedicated, focused, be positive. When we were starting, it was tough, but right now, people are hearing our names they think we have money. But for us, its not like that, you check most of us out. This is not the way we used to live and eat, it has been very tough. Whatever you sow now, is what you reap.
So how has it been like playing in Europe?
Well, I'll say its been a nice ride because I've been in a lot of places and I know you have to first master the language, culture, regulatory test.
At first, it was difficult because you don't know what to expect but after one year, I settled in. Made friends, knew where to go. I will say its been easier to settle down here compared to Inter and Ajax because here (England) they speak the same language as we do and you can get Nigerian foodstuffs, like okro and garri to buy, which is not the same as Italy and Holland. I've been here almost five years and I've enjoyed my stay.
(Laughs): Everything is okay. It has been in the news recently. But its not as bad as the press as far as I know. Right now, I have clubs who are knocking on my door but I'm in no rush. In life, whatever you are doing you have to sit down, weigh your options and see if its the right thing you are going to do. You don't have to be in a hurry, you may end up where you will regret in the end.
Me, I'm always like that. When I left Inter Milan, or even when I left Ajax, I sat down, discussed with my family, thought over the situation and weighed my decision to if its good for me or not. Because, all said and done, you are the one who is going to have to face the consequences of your decision.
So, right now, I've returned from Nations Cup and have been putting two or three things together. I'm sure think before the end of this season, people will know where I am going to.
But, if I am staying, for me, Arsenal is a great team which is a universal name and I have to still thank God for being a part of a team that is doing a great job now. But the fact that I other clubs that are knocking on my door shows I'm still in dewand. I'm a healthy player not lacking anything but all the same. However, like I said you have to calculate very well and make the choice.
[The club versus country row is still raging. Which would you chose first, Arsenal or Eagles?
Eagles of course! I am a Nigerian.My services are always there till I'm too old. . But until this, Kanu Nwankwo is always ready to play for the Eagles. I want to see that we keep on growing in football to try qualify for the World Cup and every competition we enter into. So, for me, its my country and I'll do all my best to make sure that we keep on growing.
To be in the national team is always a great opportunity for me and I always know I have pressure on me but its my country and I will never be afraid and can never be afraid because the experience in life you go through and then you know that life is not only about football. I know I have the talent, I have the quality, I just need to work hard and that is what I am doing everyday. I am always relaxed. One thing you have to know is that if you know what you are doing, you know you can do it.
Let's go back to the national team.
The National team is very okay. But because of our profile and calibre of players people expect us to win everytime. This we understand. A great country like ours, we have all the players in the whole world. We need to maintain this and continue winning. But football is something, you can't really predict. You just have to do your best and the outcome leave the rest with God.
I know that we have the players to dominate the African scene for a long time but it won't be an easy job. We have to come together -- players, administrators, even fans, to make sure that we do our best because now both the Nations Cup and World Cup is one campaign. So we can't afford to toy with our preparations. Fans expect us to win and we must do everything possible to satisfy them.
Let's talk about the Nations Cup. You are yet to score after three outings. Doesn't it bother you?
Of course, I know that I haven't scored but I know my contributions to the overall success of the team. In Tunisia, I contributed directly or indirectly to most of the goals the Eagles scored. I might not have scored but I helped others scored and don't forget football is a team and not an individual sport. One single player can't take on a whole team and expect to score. He must be assisted by his team mates. So long as my contribution to the team is positive and helps them win there I'm satisfied. What happens if I score and we still end up losing? I'm sure, everyone (including you) would be more happier for me not to score but set up the goals that win us the match. Won't you? I'm not worried because I know the goals will eventually come one day.
What has been your most memorable experience?
I will say there are lots of them. But there is one I really remember, it was at the Olympics. When we won,, beating teams like Brazil on the way. It was very unique because it was the first time we would beat them. And then we went on to win the Olympic gold medal the first by any African nation. It was great feeling. And I will say what happened that day was a miracle. It was very difficult to achieve but I thank God for marching it possible. And for me, I that I will say this is my most memorable experience. But I also have others like winning the European Cup with Ajax. But the Olympics is the most memorable.
One of the soft sell magazines recently mentioned you as one of the most eligible bachelors in Nigeria. Kanu, let me ask you point blank, when are you getting married?
Yeah, I know people have been asking me this question for a long time. They want you to do this and that. But I say, even if I don't marry now, one or two years from now, I don't think it's too late but I think it all depends on when you think you are ready.
I know that he look at my achievements and believe I'm okay. I don't believe people have to push you to do what I don't want to do, the right time is always the best time to do things. For me, like I'm waiting for that time and then, you say its time and you've got the money.
But seriously I can say something is coming up very soon. By the grace of God, something is coming up very very soon. I believe everybody will be to be there witness it.
Thank you for speaking to us.
It's been a pleasure. I'm always happy to speak with THISDAY, because its one of my best newspapers. Thank you.
http://odili.net/news/source/2004/apr/10/218.html
Nwankwo Kanu is undoubtedly one of the foremost footballers to ever come out of Nigeria, and indeed Africa.
Any objections ?

Eagles of course! I am a Nigerian.My services are always there till I'm too old. . But until this, Kanu Nwankwo is always ready to play for the Eagles. I want to see that we keep on growing in football to try qualify for the World Cup and every competition we enter into. So, for me, its my country and I'll do all my best to make sure that we keep on growing
A true patriot IMHO

Very very correct

(Laughs): Everything is okay. It has been in the news recently. But its not as bad as the press as far as I know.
Right now, I have clubs who are knocking on my door but I'm in no rush. In life, whatever you are doing you have to sit down, weigh your options and see if its the right thing you are going to do. You don't have to be in a hurry, you may end up where you will regret in the end.
Please open the door and let them in for ur careers, and also remember naija fans may not as patient as Arsenal's sake

Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...
mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind..
The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606