Segun Toriola, Nigeria #1 is out of the Olympics

The Olympic Games Paris 2024 will take place in France from 26 July to 11 August.

Moderator: Moderator Team

lukemana
Segun Toriola, Nigeria #1 is out of the Olympics

Post by lukemana »

Segun Toriola, Nigeria and Africa #1 table tennis player has been knocked out by Persons of Sweeden about an hour ago. He was our only hope. We still have another player but I don't think he will go far!

Funke Oshenaike also lost to an Italian player in the 2nd round but she played very well. I was surprised to learn today that the current FEMALE african table tennis champion is from Cameroon! :blink:

I think this is the end of the Nigerian era in Table Tennis
Re: Segun Toriola, Nigeria #1 is out of the Olympics

lukemana wrote:Segun Toriola, Nigeria and Africa #1 table tennis player has been knocked out by Persons of Sweeden about an hour ago. He was our only hope. We still have another player but I don't think he will go far!Funke Oshenaike also lost to an Italian player in the 2nd round but she played very well. I was surprised to learn today that the current FEMALE african table tennis champion is from Cameroon! :blink:

but the other player gone further than segun , you never know... i also game live played well but luck not his side... did you hear as the manager or coach dey blow youruba grammer :thumbs:

...based on few t/tennis actions i saw today de thing tuff to win o, e no dey like 70s and 80s serving and returning anymore.
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

walesvilla wrote:
lukemana wrote:Segun Toriola, Nigeria and Africa #1 table tennis player has been knocked out by Persons of Sweeden about an hour ago. He was our only hope. We still have another player but I don't think he will go far!Funke Oshenaike also lost to an Italian player in the 2nd round but she played very well. I was surprised to learn today that the current FEMALE african table tennis champion is from Cameroon! :blink:

but the other player gone further than segun , you never know... i also game live played well but luck not his side... did you hear as the manager or coach dey blow youruba grammer :thumbs:
The other player is Quadri Haruna; honestly he is NOT that good. Even though I was not good enough to play in the Nigeria National Team in the 80s, but in my days, I would have whipped him 3-0 mercilessly. Toriola was just unfortunate to meet Jorgen Person (one of the best in the world) in the 2nd round.

Haruna plays Vang Bora of Turkey tomorrow at 11 am EST. That should be a walk in the park for him if he doesn't fumble!!!

By the way, did you see how beautiful and stunning Funke Oshinaike is? :shyluv: :shyluv: :shyluv: Naija Geisha where are u?

Cheers!!!

yepa... i have not seen funke yet , when does she play again?????
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

Go to her Facebook page (it is public) to view all her pictures. She is the most beautiful table tennis player Nigeria has ever produced!!!

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set= ... 803&type=3

She can play with my balls anyday.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

The Quadri game is on. U can follow it here.

http://www.nbcolympics.com/liveextra/vi ... table-3-am
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

Tbite wrote:She can play with my balls anyday.
She is married. Please respect that!!!

lukemana wrote:
Yes I knew that she was married. :roll: :roll: :roll:

And does my post imply anything? Don't table tennis players play with balls?
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
sabb

Post by sabb »

Tbite wrote:
lukemana wrote:

To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

Tbite wrote:
lukemana wrote:

Come on now... you and I knew U were NOT talking about table tennis balls!!! But the other "balls"!!!
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

Quadri Haruna just lost to the guy from Turkey. He had the game in hand. He was up 2 games to 0 and was even leading 10 - 7 in the third game when he lost total control of the game.

Segun Toriola would have destroyed the turkish guy in a nick of time. That is it for us. Both our players are out!

On a serious note, 20 years ago, players of the caliber of Aruna would have never made it to our national team...I mean no insult!!!

Cheers!!!

lukemana wrote:Quadri Haruna just lost to the guy from Turkey. He had the game in hand. He was up 2 games to 0 and was even leading 10 - 7 in the third game when he lost total control of the game.

Segun Toriola would have destroyed the turkish guy in a nick of time. That is it for us. Both our players are out!

On a serious note, 20 years ago, players of the caliber of Aruna would have never made it to our national team...I mean no insult!!!

Cheers!!!
He is the best out of the lot. Kudos to him for stepping up.
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

lukemana wrote:Quadri Haruna just lost to the guy from Turkey. He had the game in hand. He was up 2 games to 0 and was even leading 10 - 7 in the third game when he lost total control of the game.

Cheers!!!
Quadri is NOT as good as Toriola!
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

lukemana wrote:

Cheers!!!

so who knocked out Toriola... seems like both of them are no match against world competition outside of africa...
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

soothsayer wrote:
lukemana wrote:

Cheers!!!

so who knocked out Toriola... seems like both of them are no match against world competition outside of africa...
Toriola was knocked out by Jorgen Persson of Sweeden who is among the top ten in the wolrd. Toriola reached the round of 32 in the 2008 Olympic, something never accomplished by an African. He won the Commonwealth twice and many african championships. In 2008, he beat Jean Michel Saive who was once the world #1! The game was considered by many experts as the best of the 2008 Olympics! He is 37 now so I consider him to be past his prime.

Believe me, there is NO comparison whatsoever between Toriola and Quadri who is still in his prime and has a lot to learn. Quadri has no weapon and the the type of "finish" that Toriola has. He has a powerful forehand...it is more strength than spin. He also constantly looses balance during counter-loops!! Go back and watch the games. This is not good for an attacker. Go to Youtube and watch Toriola games and see the difference.

Just my 2 cents!!!

Cheers!!!