Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

heavyd
Re: Basketball Team Update

Post by heavyd »

Player wrote:
Dodo wrote:Player, hook a brother up, if you know anyone with a D'Tigers ticket that they cant use, please please please
Ah....even me sef the hussle tickets o, if I hear anything, I will let you know, so far it looks like it will only be the Tunisia game I'll be able to watch live...
Didnt know you were going...?? I was there as well!

Where were you sitting?
YNWA
Player

Post by Player »

heavyd wrote:
Player wrote:
Dodo wrote:Player, hook a brother up, if you know anyone with a D'Tigers ticket that they cant use, please please please
Ah....even me sef the hussle tickets o, if I hear anything, I will let you know, so far it looks like it will only be the Tunisia game I'll be able to watch live...

Where were you sitting?
damn I must have missed you, we were behind the Naija bench, they were talking to us at half time about "lets Go igeria" nonense !!!!!!
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."
sabb

Post by sabb »

Player wrote:
heavyd wrote:
Player wrote:

Where were you sitting?
damn I must have missed you, we were behind the Naija bench, they were talking to us at half time about "lets Go igeria" nonense !!!!!!
:lol: wtf
any updates on D'Tigers
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
Player

Post by Player »

Only thing is that Ekene Ibekwe is down with the fever, no Idea when he might return, additionally, some of the players are getting upset that the media does not favour them to advance, they want to prove everyone wrong.
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."

Player wrote:
Player wrote:Got luck to Iggy at least the guy was honest....
So I can honestly say "4ork him" :lol:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: ...I cant blame the guy sha, I dont think his dad was a big part of his life...
Yup. Can't blame him for keeping it real. He's ever been home ever. Not his fault. I wish our boys the best of luck. They will need it & then some against team USA.
K

Post by K »

Player wrote:Only thing is that Ekene Ibekwe is down with the fever, no Idea when he might return, additionally, some of the players are getting upset that the media does not favour them to advance, they want to prove everyone wrong.
Speaking of which...
Pro Basketball Talk: US enters "easy week"
By: Kurt Helin, Pro Basketball TalkUPDATED: Jul 30, 8:36p ET

Related to this article

Related Video

Interviews: Kobe Bryant & Kevin Durant
Kobe Bryant and Kevin Durant talk about representing Team USA and winning their first game in the 2012 Olympics.
Highlights: U.S. Men Take Down France
Stories

Men's Schedule
Anthony Davis is Team USA's human victory cigar. When you see him getting serious minutes, the game is in hand.
Expect to see a whole lot of Davis this week.

After a nice win over France to open the Olympics, Team USA enters the softer part of their schedule this week, starting with Tunisia on Tuesday. That is followed by Nigeria on Thursday then a decent Lithuania team on Saturday. (Things get more serious next week when it is Argentina to close out group play, then the one-and-done medal tournament portion of the Games begins.)

Tunisia is the weakest team in the Olympic field. Give them some credit for making a push in the fourth quarter against Nigeria to make a game of their opener (they lost 60-56). Thing is, Nigeria is arguably the second worst team in the entire Olympics. If Nigeria had this full roster (with Ike Diagu and Al-Farouq Aminu) at the AfroBasket qualifying tournament last summer Tunisia might not be at the Olympics at all.

As for guys to watch, Tunisia has 7’1” center Salah Mejri, who played for Utah in the just completed Orlando Summer League. He is a defensive specialist. And that’s as close as anybody on this roster has gotten to the NBA.

For Team USA, Tuesday is a chance to work on any sets or schemes you think need some polish. Want to practice playing some zone defense? Do it here. Ever wonder what a Deron Williams/Carmelo Anthony pick-and-roll looks like? Try it out now. Work out the kinks. Because once Team USA cranks up the defensive pressure this one will get ugly fast.

Just stay focused on the big picture and have some fun.

And get Davis some real run.
Kurt Helin is the Blogger-in-chief of ProBasketballTalk at NBCSports.com. For more day-to-day NBA news and analysis, please visit probasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/.
visit the village square
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

K wrote:
Player wrote:Only thing is that Ekene Ibekwe is down with the fever, no Idea when he might return, additionally, some of the players are getting upset that the media does not favour them to advance, they want to prove everyone wrong.
Speaking of which...

Related to this article

Related Video

Kobe Bryant and Kevin Durant talk about representing Team USA and winning their first game in the 2012 Olympics.
Stories

Men's Schedule
Anthony Davis is Team USA's human victory cigar. When you see him getting serious minutes, the game is in hand.

After a nice win over France to open the Olympics, Team USA enters the softer part of their schedule this week, starting with Tunisia on Tuesday. That is followed by Nigeria on Thursday then a decent Lithuania team on Saturday. (Things get more serious next week when it is Argentina to close out group play, then the one-and-done medal tournament portion of the Games begins.)

Tunisia is the weakest team in the Olympic field. Give them some credit for making a push in the fourth quarter against Nigeria to make a game of their opener (they lost 60-56). Thing is, Nigeria is arguably the second worst team in the entire Olympics. If Nigeria had this full roster (with Ike Diagu and Al-Farouq Aminu) at the AfroBasket qualifying tournament last summer Tunisia might not be at the Olympics at all.

As for guys to watch, Tunisia has 7’1” center Salah Mejri, who played for Utah in the just completed Orlando Summer League. He is a defensive specialist. And that’s as close as anybody on this roster has gotten to the NBA.

For Team USA, Tuesday is a chance to work on any sets or schemes you think need some polish. Want to practice playing some zone defense? Do it here. Ever wonder what a Deron Williams/Carmelo Anthony pick-and-roll looks like? Try it out now. Work out the kinks. Because once Team USA cranks up the defensive pressure this one will get ugly fast.

Kurt Helin is the Blogger-in-chief of ProBasketballTalk at NBCSports.com. For more day-to-day NBA news and analysis, please visit probasketballtalk.nbcsports.com/.

We don suffer kai :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

K wrote:
Speaking of which...

Related to this article

Related Video

Stories

Men's Schedule

For Team USA, Tuesday is a chance to work on any sets or sc
hemes you think need some polish. Want to practice plnnaying some zone defense? Do it here. Ever wonder what a Deron Williams/Carmelo Anthony pick-and-roll looks like? Try it out now. Work out the kinks. Because once Team USA cranks up the defensive pressure this one will get ugly fast.

Thats why americans have big mouth, see how much disrespect they have for opponets
i hope D tigers give them agame of their lives, we beat grecce and GB and they are calling us the second worst team :???:
F360

Post by F360 »

osita wrote:
K wrote:
Speaking of which...

Related to this article

Related Video

Stories

Men's Schedule

For Team USA, Tuesday is a chance to work on any sets or sc
hemes you think need some polish. Want to practice plnnaying some zone defense? Do it here. Ever wonder what a Deron Williams/Carmelo Anthony pick-and-roll looks like? Try it out now. Work out the kinks. Because once Team USA cranks up the defensive pressure this one will get ugly fast.

Thats why americans have big mouth, see how much disrespect they have for opponets
i hope D tigers give them agame of their lives, we beat grecce and GB and they are calling us the second worst team :???:
The writer didn't tell a lie. The only team that could take that 2nd worst team tag from us might be China but I think really it's us. That's how good the field of teams in the mens tourney is.

Also, the writer did say if we had this team representing us now in the Olympics, at the African championships, Tunisia wouldn't even be in the Olympics because we would have beaten them and won the African Championships. I totally agree with the writer. And this is still not even our best or most talented team that we could put together. The only way is up for us and I hope that happens.

--------------------------------------------
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

Considering that this team beat Greece and Lithuania in competitive matches, and they are the numbers four and five rated teams in the world, i feel we deserve a little more respect.....
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon
sabb

Post by sabb »

COOKING SPOON wrote:Considering that this team beat Greece and Lithuania in competitive matches, and they are the numbers four and five rated teams in the world, i feel we deserve a little more respect.....
he prolly didn't follow the olympic qualifiers, neway lets show lithuania the whooping the took wasn't a fluke, go D'Tigers
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
Player

Post by Player »

@ F360, so you dont think we are better than GB ?

Americans are cold, they are even calling us their "C" team behind their College team.
COOKING SPOON

Post by COOKING SPOON »

What time is the match?
They seek him here.
They seek him there.
Moderators seek him everywhere.
They seek him at night
And even at noon
That damn elusive cooking spoon
sabb

Post by sabb »

COOKING SPOON wrote:What time is the match?
2:30pm naija/uk time

i'm going to need a link, my cable refuses to show every single basketball game.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

9:30am for USA(Eastern time)
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).
sabb

Post by sabb »

Tbite wrote:i'm going to need a link, my cable refuses to show every single basketball game.
link below has it on the schedule, lets hope they dont disappoint

http://www.lshunter.tv/basketball-live- ... video.html

It's not just that we beat Lithuania or Greece....it is that no team apart from Brazil has defeated us with a wide margin of late.

Even Russia just barely defeated us.....Venezuela was another slim defeat.

So even if we are the 2nd worst team....none of those 3rd worst teams or 4th worst teams are going to have an easy time with us.

So the way I see it...we have everything to play for.

Lithuania can say...that maybe they didn't need to win their match in the qualifiers. But Greece had to win their match, Russia had to win that match to qualify automatically.

The same China that is light years ahead of us...is being trashed by the same Russia that just barely defeated us. The same Great Britain that is so good...we defeated...once or was it twice.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

COOKING SPOON wrote:Considering that this team beat Greece and Lithuania in competitive matches, and they are the numbers four and five rated teams in the world, i feel we deserve a little more respect.....
You don't demand respect. You earn it. Gradually, they will give us our dues. Let them run their mouth anyhow.

Wishing the guys all the best of luck. For as long as they give their best, whatever the outcome, I am satisfied.

For those saying this is not our bedtime team, I disagree. Your best team is made up of players willing to represent you. Those who are not committed to the cause can't be part of your team talkless of your best team.Talkless

Instead of focusing on those who did not made it, attention should be on those that made it! Those that decided to suffer with the team.
Player

Post by Player »

Dagunduro is injured, not sure if it's serious though...

Player wrote:Dagunduro is injured, not sure if it's serious though...
Makes sense. There was too much Skinn yesterday and we paid for it.