Moderator: Moderator Team

Chierika Ukogu in to SF in Rowing

Congrats to her. Hope she can get a medal
http://punchng.com/trending-nigerians-p ... c-heroics/

Nigerians have hailed and expressed support for the country’s first ever rower at the Olympics Games, Chierika Ukogu.

The 23-year-old became Nigeria’s first ever representative in rowing at the Rio Games and has continued to make history.

On Tuesday, a day after she made it through to the quarter-finals of the women single sculls event, Ukogu, made it to the semi-finals.

Nigerians, who have lamented the shoddy preparations ahead of the games, took to the social media to celebrate her victory, wishing her more success at the Games.
Re: Chierika Ukogu in to SF in Rowing

good luck to her, I hope she makes the final
lukemana

Post by lukemana »

Waoh! Respect, nothing but respect!!!

Please any update?
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Lets know how she did. Bless her.
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

Man Ataye wrote:Lets know how she did. Bless her.
Y
Made it to the finals coming up tomorrow
https://twitter.com/cukogu

Way to go girl :thumbs:

Congrats girl

pajimoh wrote:Please any update?
She tried but she is has long been out of of medal contention. The D-final she is in is just for ranking purpose
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

AreaDaddy wrote:
pajimoh wrote:Please any update?
She tried but she is has long been out of of medal contention. The D-final she is in is just for ranking purpose
Are u sure? Cos I just heard that she won naija her first medal, a silver

Her Event was Women's Single Scull

Gold went to Australia, Silver to the USA and Bronze to China

The winners came from the A-Final...She was in the D Final. It is the way rowing works at the Olympics.

Check the Event details here.

I admire the girl's grit but you know the saying it takes a village to raise a child...well it takes a fully equipped training village to raise an olympic winner (most of the time). Miracle medals coming from nowhere are becoming increasingly rare.

Congrats and all the best in the future

I love seeing Africans in the non-traditional events.

Once we get serious about events like cycling, swimming, fencing, archery, the RoW go truly hia wen

tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap:

Once we get serious about events like cycling, swimming, fencing, archery, the RoW go truly hia wen
Rugby 7 as well, boxing wrestling
Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

tfco wrote::clap: :clap: :clap:

Swimming????? Swimming??? Swimming???? That shouldn't b a fight.