Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Re: LONDON 2012 TRACK & FIELD THREAD

soothsayer wrote:choi Canada disqualified!! Nigeria representative kepele..... :cry:
Weytin happen?
Jared Connaughton (3rd guy) stepped ON THE LINE

The Naija guy (Seyi Smith) was in tears, having celebrated 5 mins earlier

:(

smartbrother wrote:Gay was wasted on the third leg
Gatlin run a phenomenal back straight

When Blake got the baton, I knew he would catch up to Gay.

Canada should appeal the DQ

let him keep the damn baton, mofos, effing jobsworth

nice he got the baton in the end
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

Dodo wrote:let him keep the damn baton, mofos, effing jobsworth
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

Dodo wrote:nice he got the baton in the end
I guess they finally told him... :lol:
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.

Brits have discovered that Bolt has British cousin, Maureen Davis...would this transalte to a medal?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Who? Bolt?
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

So dem take style style make the last medal award the Farrah 5000m win.

anointed wrote:
Who? Bolt?
yep

Does Farrah know the anthem/

I wont blame him. The Brits'national anthem must be the most parochial ever.

Dodo wrote:
anointed wrote:
Who? Bolt?
yep
Was he supposed to be given the baton? I saw how he playfully withdrew his hands from the woman who was waiting with outstretched hand at the end of the race, leaving her in a lurch. I pitied the woman; theatrical Bolt played a fast one on her but I later the officials were kinds remonstrating with him. What happened?
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

anointed wrote:Does Farrah know the anthem/

yep.... any time it I hear , it sounds so wrong particularly in this modern age...
they should just have music without verse.
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

soothsayer wrote:

yep.... any time it I hear , it sounds so wrong particularly in this modern age...
Better a parochial anthem and progressive society than the inverse.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?

Riversboy wrote:
soothsayer wrote:

Better a parochial anthem and progressive society than the inverse.

RB.
The idea of a "progressive society" is highly subjective and relative.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

A childhood friend is on the Canadian relay team and it was tough seeing them get DQed after they had finished the race 3rd. The white guy that ran the 3rd leg for Canada was a bum...not only did he step on the line like 8 times but he ran his leg so slow and forced our anchor to take us from 5th to 3rd. Anyways, it was the right call unfortunately...
baby_girl

Post by baby_girl »

If Jamaica ran the 4X100m in 36.84 seconds, then each man ran an average of 9.21s. Apparently Asafa Powell's anchor leg in 2008 was 8.7 seconds. And yes, Blake did very well...
achuzia-the-air-raid

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

Jamaica's Usain Bolt (R) celebrates with Britain's Mo Farah on the podium after each receiving gold medals
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

baby_girl wrote:If Jamaica ran the 4X100m in 36.84 seconds, then each man ran an average of 9.21s. Apparently Asafa Powell's anchor leg in 2008 was 8.7 seconds. And yes, Blake did very well...
U don dey watch Rio 2016 Olympics? :shock:
folem

Post by folem »

I'm suspicious of Mo's win in 5,000m. The time is so slow, even slower than the heats that conspiracy theorists are going to have a field day. Dejen Gebremeskel has a WL time of 12:46.81 and he ran the leading time of 13:15.15 in the heats compared to Mo's 13:26.00.

In the final Mo won with 13:41.66 beating Dejen with 13:41.98. :biggrin:

folem wrote:I'm suspicious of Mo's win in 5,000m. The time is so slow, even slower than the heats that conspiracy theorists are going to have a field day. Dejen Gebremeskel has a WL time of 12:46.81 and he ran the leading time of 13:15.15 in the heats compared to Mo's 13:26.00.

So what is the conspiracy ?

The Ethiopians and Kenyans were bribed ?
Mo did not win the race but the film footage was doctored ?
The British spiked other athletes with Performance-Unenhancing drugs?

Abeg share the jist, so we can spread the rumour...
folem

Post by folem »

AreaDaddy wrote:
folem wrote:I'm suspicious of Mo's win in 5,000m. The time is so slow, even slower than the heats that conspiracy theorists are going to have a field day. Dejen Gebremeskel has a WL time of 12:46.81 and he ran the leading time of 13:15.15 in the heats compared to Mo's 13:26.00.

So what is the conspiracy ?

The Ethiopians and Kenyans were bribed ?
Mo did not win the race but the film footage was doctored ?
The British spiked other athletes with Performance-Unenhancing drugs?

Abeg share the jist, so we can spread the rumour...
Something fishy looks to be going on. I think the Africans may have been bribed.

The 1972 Olympics winning time was 13:26.4 and Mo's time of 2012 would have been good enough for only 10th position. :scared: