THE LONDON OLYMPICS 2012 --> OFFICIAL THREAD !!!

The Olympic Games Paris 2024 will take place in France from 26 July to 11 August.

Moderator: Moderator Team

soothsayer
Re: THE LONDON OLYMPICS 2012 --> OFFICIAL THREAD !!!

Post by soothsayer »

Come on Africa!!!! about time we get on the medal table sheeshh!

allez les bleus!!!
kdk4christ

Post by kdk4christ »

soothsayer wrote:So which african country be first to win an olympic medal?????
I think I choose Zimbabwe...
That was Reggie Walker of South Africa who won the 100 meter dash at the 1908 Olympics in London.
*JESUS LOVES YOU* More Than You Know

"When we die we leave behind us all that we have, and take with us all that we are."
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

soothsayer wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:GREEN WHITE GREEN :thumbs:
apparently someone was wearing sunglasses......
Nice outfits...particularly the womens'. I hope they go win their various events as they looked in the opening parade.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

the olympic coverage in the US has been pathetic sha, same as the last olympics, you would think technology or commonsense would have caught up, i am sure they will timedelay the 100m final and expect people to pretend it hasnt happened
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
phantomjournalist

Post by phantomjournalist »

The fact that they air all the swimming finals during primetime with so many channels on their network is disgraceful. It's all about advertising $$$$$$$$ to these people.
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

Canadian tourist, 38, spends two nights in cells after arrest for 'touting' after selling two spare £50 Olympic tennis tix at face value

JuJuMan wrote:the olympic coverage in the US has been pathetic sha, same as the last olympics, you would think technology or commonsense would have caught up, i am sure they will timedelay the 100m final and expect people to pretend it hasnt happened
They better not play with that one. They need to show that live and direct.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

So we no get a couple of people out of 150 million Nigerians that can dive from a platform into the water?
What are you Nigerians good at sef? :oops: :(
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

Whats going on here? Beach volleyball with long spandex on. :evil:
Abeg London weather need to improve. Who wants to watch beach volley ball without the usual attire. Ratings will go down one time.
To conquer one's self is the most noble victory; to be vanquished by one's own nature is the worst and most ignoble defeat. (Plato)
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Mudi E wrote:So we no get a couple of people out of 150 million Nigerians that can dive from a platform into the water?

oh boy there is talent, I think we should not always rely on government, what there should be are working mens sports clubs and companies willing to set up weekend sports teams and hire facilities for swimming, fencing, shooting, archery... its a shame really that economic conditions have made it harder for support but those in position to contribute should make some effort.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

mke1010 wrote:Whats going on here? Beach volleyball with long spandex on. :evil:
Abeg London weather need to improve. Who wants to watch beach volley ball without the usual attire. Ratings will go down one time.
mke1010 you need to start a female beach volley ball club back in Nigeria to "search for talent", i'm sure you will be highly motivated. :taunt:
folem

Post by folem »

Mudi E wrote:So we no get a couple of people out of 150 million Nigerians that can dive from a platform into the water?
Track & Field, Taekwondo, Weightlifting, Boxing & Football.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Lithuanian fans makes "NAZI" salutes at black Games stewards!!!!!!

source- telegraph newspaper

soothsayer wrote:
mke1010 wrote:Whats going on here? Beach volleyball with long spandex on. :evil:
mke1010 you need to start a female beach volley ball club back in Nigeria to "search for talent", i'm sure you will be highly motivated. :taunt:
You know what? That's a good idea.
mke1010

Post by mke1010 »

soothsayer wrote:Lithuanian fans makes "NAZI" salutes at black Games stewards!!!!!!

source- telegraph newspaper
Dem tink sey na Lithuania dem dey? Dudes should just wait for these fools and land dem a few proper slaps. :evil:
To conquer one's self is the most noble victory; to be vanquished by one's own nature is the worst and most ignoble defeat. (Plato)

Too bad, our girl couldnt make it. Well tried anyway

Age don catch up with her :cry: :cry: :cry:

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

this olympics get as e be... all the so called guarantees are being upset by strangers.

soothsayer wrote:this olympics get as e be... all the so called guarantees are being upset by strangers.
I am loving it.
That is what the Olympics is about.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

The coverage by NBC in the United States is very poor sha...they prefer to show water polo, diving, white water rafting and kayak than to show men and women basketball?
Swimming has dominated their TV coverage. I don tire sef.

...anything they are sure of winning/medaling in, they will show from beginning to end. Americans love winning, winning is everything.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

:evil: :twisted:
OLYMPIC GAMES NAIJA SHOULD BE PARTICIPATING IN !!
There's dire need in change of psychology and outlook of our sports administrators n' promoters in Nigeria.
Olympic yr in and yr out, Nigeria has participated in lesser and lesser games each time. This is particularly sad knowing that their are so many Naija athletes around the world that should be woed in participating in more games for us.

So listed below are a number of individual events Naija should look towards participating to give them a chance of winning home more medals

1. Badmington
2. Boxing
3. Judo
4. Taekwondo
5. Table Tennis
6. Weightlifting
7. Wrestling
8. Athletics

Below are listed events of team sports that the country should hardly be missing out of in any Olympics

1. Football
2. Handball
3. Volleyball

.. . if Nigeria wants to be even more ambitious listed events below can embarked upon
1. Swimming
2. Beach Volleyball

NB: Finally these events are all for men and women. The country should enlist in both men and women events to have a more fulfilled participation and a better odds at striking more medals at the Olympic games.