Page 2 of 6

Re: Day 1 Action

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:15 pm
by Tbite
Nigeria has one competitor knocked out of the Womens Singles Table Tennis

And one still with a chance. Egypt Similarly has one competitor knocked out and one still with a chance.

The Nigerian Olufunke goes up against an Italian (Medling) in less than 3 hours time.

In the Male Singles competition (Table Tennis) event Nigeria still has 2 competitors in the running (1st Round). 6 Time Olympian Segun Toriola goes up against Jorgen of Sweden and Quadri Aruna goes up against Carlos Machado.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:27 pm
by oluphemmie007
oluphemmie007 wrote:fortune reverses easily o... china roasting serbia like say na BBQ party
china totally dominating now. 2 - 1 and leading in the third.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:43 pm
by Dodo
First gold

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:11 pm
by soothsayer
Tbite wrote:Nigeria has one competitor knocked out of the Womens Singles Table Tennis

And one still with a chance. Egypt Similarly has one competitor knocked out and one still with a chance.

The Nigerian Olufunke goes up against an Italian (Medling) in less than 3 hours time.

In the Male Singles competition (Table Tennis) event Nigeria still has 2 competitors in the running (1st Round). 6 Time Olympian Segun Toriola goes up against Jorgen of Sweden and Quadri Aruna goes up against Carlos Machado.
we are always sending people into that competition...
have we ever got anywhere close to the finals, we are not even the best in Africa if i'm correct.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:55 pm
by tfco
Anybody got TT stream online?

I always wanna watch TT but it gets no TV coverage

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:13 pm
by Tbite
soothsayer wrote:
Tbite wrote:Nigeria has one competitor knocked out of the Womens Singles Table Tennis

have we ever got anywhere close to the finals, we are not even the best in Africa if i'm correct.
Nigeria is out of the Womens Singles Competition.

Egypt's last athlete in this event is currently playing.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:25 pm
by Tbite
AKANJI Muideen of Nigeria has been defeated by O'NEILL Darren of Ireland in the 75Kg Boxing

:boo: :boo:

Nigeria has had 3 Athletes knocked out of competition.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:31 pm
by wanaj0

6 time Olympian? How old is he? Na wa o o

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 3:33 pm
by wanaj0
soothsayer wrote:

In the Male Singles competition (Table Tennis) event Nigeria still has 2 competitors in
the running (1st Round). 6 Time Olympian Segun Toriola goes up against Jorgen of Sweden and Quadri Aruna goes up against Carlos Machado.
We use to be the best in Africa but nope Egypt had caught up with us.

That said, how much investment has gone into Table Tennis in Nigeria. We want to reap where we did not sow.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:02 pm
by Tbite
Quadri Aruna is currently tied in Mens Table Tennis Singles

2-2

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:05 pm
by soothsayer
thanks for the tip.... just tuned in.. leading 3 / 2

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:07 pm
by Tbite
Quadri Aruna of Nigeria is winning in the Table Tennis 3-2....He needs to win 1 more game to progress to Round 2 :thumb: :thumb:

He started off losing the match actually...and the Spaniard was stubborn. Aruna couldn't break through several Game points.

But he is now ahead.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:08 pm
by tfco
Tbite wrote:Quadri Aruna is currently tied in Mens Table Tennis Singles

2-2
you got online links for this?

thanks

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:10 pm
by soothsayer
not a bad jersey..... nice one Aruna, he got crowd support ...

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:12 pm
by Tbite
I am not watching the game live.......ask Soothsayer.

I am just keeping up with the scores.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:14 pm
by soothsayer
tcfo i'm watching it on cable (sky) . Game is over already. Aruna got the crowd excited and support.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:16 pm
by Tbite

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:20 pm
by bret- hart
Who is the genius that thought women could play basketball??? These girls are terrible(USA vs Croatia)

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:21 pm
by soothsayer
Q Aruna through to the next round, dominated the Spanish guy... lets see how he does against those Asian guys..

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:24 pm
by tfco
soothsayer wrote:tcfo i'm watching it on cable (sky) . Game is over already. Aruna got the crowd excited and support.
thanks guys.

the game summary and stats are here

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:26 pm
by tfco
Tbite wrote:tfco try this for other matches

http://www.lshunter.tv/other-live-streaming-video.html
you.are.the.man

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:32 pm
by soothsayer
hmmm, table tennis facilities shouldn't have to cost much , in think that there is money to be made through private enterprise, setting up clubs and aiming it at middle class. But provide unique sports like shooting, archery, tennis.

Posted: Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:37 pm
by soothsayer
bret- hart wrote:Who is the genius that thought women could play basketball??? These girls are terrible(USA vs Croatia)
i just seen what you are talking about Bret, I though WNBA was better than this.. where did the united states get these chicks from...