SEN 2 MEX 4 AET

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

seyiblack
Re: SEN 2 MEX 2. Y'all are missing a great game!

Post by seyiblack »

for those in the U.S, the game is MSNBC
Support our boys regardless of coach, ethnicity of players and pure jealousy.
toyin133
Re: Sen 2 Mex 2 Extra Time

Post by toyin133 »

GK saves Senegal again and again
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
about going out to beat the other lot, not waiting for them to die of boredom."
Danny Blanchflower
okjazz

Post by okjazz »

Senegal living on borrowed time

If Mexico can be disciplined enough to slow the pace of the game down and keep possession, they will win

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
okjazz

Post by okjazz »

Senegal's defence has been very charitable, gifting Mexico all 3 goals

naive

Mex (3-2) Sen

Mister Dolly

Post by Mister Dolly »

Senegal will look back on this match and rue their woeful defending....simply atrocious!!
"Because of Jesus, it's a glorious life...."
toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Senegal's luck runs out after brain fart by No5
"I hear Glenn Hoddle has found God. That must have been one hell of a pass." Jasper Carrott
"Mind you, football is not really about winning, or goals, or saves or supporters. It's about glory. It's about doing things in style, doing them with a flourish. It's
Danny Blanchflower

Rubbish.. what a foolish error
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

TERRIBLE defending by the senegaese #5

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
femmyphoto
Re: Sen 2 Mex 3 Extra Time

Post by femmyphoto »

game is over. The Senegalese are tired
The dead cannot cry out for justice; it is a duty of the living to do so for them.... Lois McMaster Bujold, Diplomatic Immunity, 2002

txj wrote:TERRIBLE defending by the senegaese #5
txj,

The biggest error is the left back who chose to pass to the #5 when the better choice should have been to give up a throw-in instead of forcing the retention of possession under severe pressure. This is so untypical of how the defense had played not just in this game but in others.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

CONCACAF vs. CAF and somebody for CAF dey hia wien?

toyin133

Post by toyin133 »

Senegal fighting back, great save by Mexican GK
Danny Blanchflower

Mexican GK Corona is the reason they are in this game...

Indeed.. But the no 5 also hesitated when faced with two Mexican players. I guess it is the type of error fatigue causes. They still have a chance to pull one back tho. They just have to watch out for the counter and keep on attacking
txj,

The biggest error is the left back who chose to pass to the #5 when the better choice should have been to give up a throw-in instead of forcing the retention of possession under severe pressure. This is so untypical of how the defense had played not just in this game but in others.

Sad mistake by Senegalese defending to concede possession in such a dangerous area and resulting goal :(

txj,

Maybe, but the pass having been made, if he had 1st secured the ball rather than take his eyes off i by glancing back at the GK, this might not have happened...

Re: Sen 2 Mex 2

Scipio Africanus wrote:Mek una move dis to Eagles Nest naw until afuta di game! This thread is buried hia!

we are discussing the game in the egypt thread

Please update the score. On that third goal only Africans make such mistakes. Senegal was getting the best of Mexico until the defense thought oh well we can just take it easy.

Freekick. Senegal just thump it true and proper and hope for the best :thumbs: :thumbs:

Mods merge this with the Egypt thread or vice versa

Naijakid

Post by Naijakid »

Mexico is just that good!