THE LONDON OLYMPICS 2012 --> OFFICIAL THREAD !!!
Moderator: Moderator Team
Re: THE LONDON OLYMPICS 2012 --> OFFICIAL THREAD !!!
The South Africa swimmers also have funding problems.tfco wrote:everyone and dia problems osoothsayer wrote:if Trinidad can afford to field a cyclist.....tfco wrote:Trini guy just beat a German in the quarter-finals of mens sprint (indoor cycling me i dey call am)
I tire for Nigeria shah
Former Trinidad and Tobago cyclist Michael Phillips wants Njisane Phillip to continue representing this country.
On Thursday, Phillip revealed that he is considering riding for the United States after becoming disenchanted with the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation (TTCF) and the continued hassle to get funding to represent this country at foreign tournaments.
T&T star cyclist left stranded at aiport en route to Olympic Qualifier.
The cycling ace revealed that United States coach Jimmy Staff has already set the wheels in motion to have him compete for them at the Olympic Games in 2016 to be held in Brazil.
However, Phillip urged the young cyclist to continue riding for Trinidad and Tobago and agreed with TTCF president, Rowena Williams that it will be a huge loss if he decides to switch allegiance.
“What I do know is that Njisane does not want to ride for the United States. He said so because of the fact that he spent a lot of time racing here as a young cyclist,” said Phillip.
However, he understands the problems facing the young cyclist and urged the TTCF and Ministry of Sport to solve the issue quickly before they lose one of the country’s greatest cycling talents.
“Whether these problems stem from the Cycling Federation or the government, the cyclist just wants to be taken care of so he can ride comfortably and represent our country to the best of his ability,” said the former national cyclist.
Phillips’ step-father Phillip Whiteman alleges that he is continually forced to foot the bill for the qualifying campaign for the London Olympics.
Phillips also called on the Ministry of Sport to account for the problems concerning the release of funds.
“It is confusing that Njisane has met all the criteria to be on the Elite Athletes Funding but still receives problems to get it,” he noted. The Beacon cyclist is on the verge of sealing qualification for the London Games and is one of the country’s best chances of a medal.
Phillip relations with the TTCF has steadily deteriorated and reached an all time low after being forced to sleep in freezing cold conditions in an airport in Vienna en route for a World Cup tournament after his step-father was once again forced to purchase plane tickets, following visa problems.
The former national cyclist is confident that if the problems can be sorted out quickly Phillip will continue to ride for Trinidad and Tobago and win medals at various international tournaments. – Newsday
Why should this young man have to dip into his OWN pockets to pay his OWN way to represent a country at an Olympic qualifier?
C’mon T&T, rally behind your ambassadors, artistes and athletes and treat them with respect!
Schoeman slams gov, Sascoc
London - Four-time Olympian Roland Schoeman celebrated a personal victory after he finished sixth in the final of the men's 50m freestyle at the London Olympics, despite having no financial support from South Africa, he said.
Schoeman, one of South Africa's most decorated swimmers, launched an attack against the government and the SA Olympic body for their lack of support.
"I would have loved to have been faster," Schoeman said.
"But not to have been funded at all for the last year-and-a-half by the South African government, not by Sascoc (SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee), not by anybody.
"To come and be placed sixth in the world after everybody had written me off. I'll take that."
As one of the country's most successful Olympians, he won the bronze medal in the 50m freestyle, a silver in the 100m freestyle, and the gold medal with the 4x100m freestyle relay team at the Athens Games in 2004. However, he said his result could have been more favourable had he received the same amount of support as London Olympic medallists, Chad le Clos and Cameron van der Burgh.
The 20-year-old Le Clos won a gold medal in the 200m butterfly and a silver in the 100m butterfly, while Van der Burgh clinched gold in the 100m breaststroke.
"A medal would have been tip-top if I had received the R50 000 odd Cameron has been receiving a month, same as Chad, where could I have been?" he said.
"I've gone like I said unfunded, I've had no massages, I've been living off my savings and I'll take it at this point."
The 32-year-old Schoeman said he did not know what his long term plans were and he would focus on the upcoming SA short course championships.
"We have SA short course championships in a couple of weeks so I am excited for that," he said.
"I'll go do a bit of racing there and hopefully get some funding heading into the world cups and do some world cups and hopefully get some money."
He said he was satisfied with his progress over the last year and would continue his training in the United States.
"I was 22.40 at the world champs last year and I am 21.8 here," Schoeman said.
"The States just works for me, South Africa has worked well for Cameron and Chad."
Schoeman said he had tried to base his training in South Africa with little progress and he was happy with his program in Arizona.
"I tried to come back to South Africa in 2008 and it was just a huge steady decline from there," he said.
"I love the mentality there (United States), I love the way my training is catered for.
"That's what works and I have to stick with it."
Last edited by folem on Sat Aug 04, 2012 4:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
damn, oh well....tfco wrote:everyone and dia problems osoothsayer wrote:if Trinidad can afford to field a cyclist.....tfco wrote:Trini guy just beat a German in the quarter-finals of mens sprint (indoor cycling me i dey call am)
I tire for Nigeria shah
Former Trinidad and Tobago cyclist Michael Phillips wants Njisane Phillip to continue representing this country.
On Thursday, Phillip revealed that he is considering riding for the United States after becoming disenchanted with the Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation (TTCF) and the continued hassle to get funding to represent this country at foreign tournaments.
T&T star cyclist left stranded at aiport en route to Olympic Qualifier.
The cycling ace revealed that United States coach Jimmy Staff has already set the wheels in motion to have him compete for them at the Olympic Games in 2016 to be held in Brazil.
However, Phillip urged the young cyclist to continue riding for Trinidad and Tobago and agreed with TTCF president, Rowena Williams that it will be a huge loss if he decides to switch allegiance.
“What I do know is that Njisane does not want to ride for the United States. He said so because of the fact that he spent a lot of time racing here as a young cyclist,” said Phillip.
However, he understands the problems facing the young cyclist and urged the TTCF and Ministry of Sport to solve the issue quickly before they lose one of the country’s greatest cycling talents.
“Whether these problems stem from the Cycling Federation or the government, the cyclist just wants to be taken care of so he can ride comfortably and represent our country to the best of his ability,” said the former national cyclist.
Phillips’ step-father Phillip Whiteman alleges that he is continually forced to foot the bill for the qualifying campaign for the London Olympics.
Phillips also called on the Ministry of Sport to account for the problems concerning the release of funds.
“It is confusing that Njisane has met all the criteria to be on the Elite Athletes Funding but still receives problems to get it,” he noted. The Beacon cyclist is on the verge of sealing qualification for the London Games and is one of the country’s best chances of a medal.
Phillip relations with the TTCF has steadily deteriorated and reached an all time low after being forced to sleep in freezing cold conditions in an airport in Vienna en route for a World Cup tournament after his step-father was once again forced to purchase plane tickets, following visa problems.
The former national cyclist is confident that if the problems can be sorted out quickly Phillip will continue to ride for Trinidad and Tobago and win medals at various international tournaments. – Newsday
Why should this young man have to dip into his OWN pockets to pay his OWN way to represent a country at an Olympic qualifier?
C’mon T&T, rally behind your ambassadors, artistes and athletes and treat them with respect!
lets hope its not to late for Trinidad, now that U.S.A agents have seen this on papers
- tfco
- Eagle
the sprint cycling event
120 laps...damn
felarey and oda CE cyclists, you dey watch?
120 laps...damn
felarey and oda CE cyclists, you dey watch?

Naira Did We

Nigeria can't organize it's way out of a paper bag. How can you have that many people and be that worthless? Instead we'll be begging foreigners to play for us.soothsayer wrote:Trinidad just beat the german..... in mens sprint cycling.
nah black man dey beat german in cycling.... so why can't Nigeria produce cyclists.
apparently Olympics cutting it back in cycling events. Britain dey complain, go figure....
I like to see it done in swimming too....
sprint, team sprint, keirin, team pursuit , omnium , not to talk of the out door races, what the heck....
- tfco
- Eagle
i enjoy the cycling, but those 2 i never hear of dem before this weeksoothsayer wrote:apparently Olympics cutting it back in cycling events. Britain dey complain, go figure....
i just watched the omnium and i enjoyed it, confusing though
Naira Did We

what speeds do they travel at...? the sport is almost close to Formula 1 in the engineering and research involved in improving speed and advantage.
Team gb vs team USA in the cycling females pursuit final
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
Team GB win by nearly a lap and break the World Record for the 6th consecutive time
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
useless americans.... I wish i could mock them the way they mocked Nigeria.JuJuMan wrote:Team GB win by nearly a lap and break the World Record for the 6th consecutive time

- GREENWHITEGREEN
Shame catch me small. My 85-year old neighbour caught me as I was attempting to sneak back into the house after checking the mail under the cover of darkness.
He wanted to know If I saw " the basket ball" game at the Olympics. His facial expression was a mixture of "WTF" and polite embarrasement for me. He was looking to makes sense, a sort of rational explanation for what he saw in the game between his country and mine. I wanted to swear to God Almighty and Hakeem Olajuwon that we really do know how to play basketball, but quickly realized that I would be clutching at straws.
I replied that I was aware of the final score, making sure that I maintained eye contact while trying to conceal my shame. I then quickly changed the subject by asking him about the results of his recent diagnostic exams and his 52-year old son. He paused, thought for a couple of seconds and decided against kicking a man who was already down. "The second kidney is working fine...," he replied.
He wanted to know If I saw " the basket ball" game at the Olympics. His facial expression was a mixture of "WTF" and polite embarrasement for me. He was looking to makes sense, a sort of rational explanation for what he saw in the game between his country and mine. I wanted to swear to God Almighty and Hakeem Olajuwon that we really do know how to play basketball, but quickly realized that I would be clutching at straws.
I replied that I was aware of the final score, making sure that I maintained eye contact while trying to conceal my shame. I then quickly changed the subject by asking him about the results of his recent diagnostic exams and his 52-year old son. He paused, thought for a couple of seconds and decided against kicking a man who was already down. "The second kidney is working fine...," he replied.
-Simpli fy -
What happened to Australia? They used to be in the top 10 but they just keep piling up Silver this time, 1 Gold and 12 Silver so far. 

Red Dwarf - Legion
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
BLACK ENGLISH MEN SHOULD BE BARRED FROM PENALTY KICKS
First it was the two Coles and now sturidge
"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
- kalamashaka
GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:Shame catch me small. My 85-year old neighbour caught me as I was attempting to sneak back into the house after checking the mail under the cover of darkness.

"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"
Re: BLACK ENGLISH MEN SHOULD BE BARRED FROM PENALTY KICKS
We will Sangalo this one somewhere
Re: BLACK ENGLISH MEN SHOULD BE BARRED FROM PENALTY KICKS
sturridge was a dumb choice to take the 5th penalty he never had the temperament to handle such responsibilityjette1 wrote:First it was the two Coles and now sturidge
- Heliopolis
At least you are honest about your experience after Thursday's tragedy.GREENWHITEGREEN wrote:Shame catch me small. My 85-year old neighbour caught me as I was attempting to sneak back into the house after checking the mail under the cover of darkness.
Now imagine how 1 billion other Africans felt

Misty May got some junk.
To conquer one's self is the most noble victory; to be vanquished by one's own nature is the worst and most ignoble defeat. (Plato)
- Site Admin
President Bush agreesmke1010 wrote:Misty May got some junk.

Has any Nigerian completed a track race? We seem to have a penchant for pulling up at the half mark with phantom injuries, whilst languishing behind the rest of the field.
- kalamashaka
Blessing did yesterday. Unfortunately, she completed it after everyone else had completed theirs.Coach wrote:Has any Nigerian completed a track race? We seem to have a penchant for pulling up at the half mark with phantom injuries, whilst languishing behind the rest of the field.
"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"
- Molue Conductor
West Africa has 0 medals
interesting development... I wonder outside Nigeria howMolue Conductor wrote:West Africa has 0 medals
many medals been won by other west Africans. And what sports
in the olympics?