150 MIL PEOPLE 0 MEDALS?
Moderator: Moderator Team
Re: 150 MIL PEOPLE 0 MEDALS?
Medal?Babafad wrote:Boxing - Naija, wins!
Red Dwarf - Legion
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
no.. but she caused an upset...beating the silver medalist in world boxingGuv007 wrote:Medal?Babafad wrote:Boxing - Naija, wins!
this was preliminaries...but I think she is into quarters now.
Wahala......Maryam don injure!

Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.
The saga continues.....no medal for Nigeria.
Why the hell did they start off at 160kg??? Na the coach cause this failure.......talk about snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

After all that hard work......Maryam finishes LAST, and it wasn't even her fault! 

failure and Naija at this Olympics is like "failure" is the magnet and "Naija" is the iron
Can't we go to Ethiopia and Kenya and start adopting some raw marathon talents.
well knowing us...we will probably F^^ up their training.
Unless we start bribing top athletes with money to switch allegiances.
We should have given Phelps $40 Million to become a Nigerian citizen.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
- Chingo Bling
But considering what we have just seen from other lifters, even if she had lifted 160, she wouldnt have won.Babafad wrote:The saga continues.....no medal for Nigeria.
Why the hell did they start off at 160kg??? Na the coach cause this failure.......talk about snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.![]()
I can see it now, "come and compete for Nigeria and get frisked at the airport more times than you've ever endured and we'll also give you our passport that is cherished by customs and Immigration officers world wide". Yep that should workTbite wrote:Can't we go to Ethiopia and Kenya and start adopting some raw marathon talents.

e
christine will win us our first medal tonight
156 kg will not win her a medal. She lifted 156 kg at last year's World Champs but got bronze when the Armenian failed at heavier weights. This time around she also had the former Olympic and World record holder who can lift 187 kg to contend with for the Bronze. Some competitors had already lifted 158 kg so she can't even go lower.Babafad wrote:The saga continues.....no medal for Nigeria.
Why the hell did they start off at 160kg??? Na the coach cause this failure.......talk about snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.![]()
Last edited by folem on Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight
- AreaDaddy
He is referring to Ohurogu....Roman Obamovitch wrote:We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight
- tfco
- Eagle
i don't understand.folem wrote:156 kg will not win her a medal. She lifted 156 kg at last year's World Champs but got bronze when the Armenian failed at heavier weights. This time around she also had the former Olympic and World record holder who can lift 187 kg to contend with for the Bronze. Some competitors had already lifted 158 kg so she can't even go lower.Babafad wrote:The saga continues.....no medal for Nigeria.
can't she start at, say 155 and continue lifting saa until she reaches breaking point (say 160)
Naira Did We

- tfco
- Eagle
...whose medal (if any) would add to GBR's tally, noAreaDaddy wrote:He is referring to Ohurogu....Roman Obamovitch wrote:We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight

Naira Did We

- AreaDaddy
It was tongue in cheek....We are hoping to return with a "clean sheet"tfco wrote:...whose medal (if any) would add to GBR's tally, noAreaDaddy wrote:He is referring to Ohurogu....Roman Obamovitch wrote:We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight
we have Uche and his mate in taekwondo... who won bronze in the last olympics ... uche fights on the 11th I think. We also have Wrestling and relay team. Uche seems to be very good and rated but did not go for very many competition which was why he has low world rating overall. We also have female boxing. Hope Uche gets a good draw so he stands a chance for a medal..
She may have started 158 because the Korean had lifted that, but then fail again at 158 and still go for broke @ 160 for her last attempt. No guarantee of Medal anyway unless the Top 2 bomb out, which was unlikely.tfco wrote:i don't understand.folem wrote:156 kg will not win her a medal. She lifted 156 kg at last year's World Champs but got bronze when the Armenian failed at heavier weights. This time around she also had the former Olympic and World record holder who can lift 187 kg to contend with for the Bronze. Some competitors had already lifted 158 kg so she can't even go lower.Babafad wrote:The saga continues.....no medal for Nigeria.
can't she start at, say 155 and continue lifting saa until she reaches breaking point (say 160)
Usman gamble fails to yield medal
China’s Zhou Lulu won the women’s Olympic over-75kg weightlifting gold with a new world record on Sunday, but insisted the Games had not been a success for Chinese lifters as Maryam Usman, who was third after the snatch, failed to register any lift in the clean and jerk.
World champion Zhou set a new record of 333kg, breaking her old mark from last year’s world championships of 328kg.
She also matched South Korean Jang Mi-Ran’s world marker of 187kg in the clean and jerk.
In a stunning competition, European champion Tatiana Kashirina of Russia set a new snatch world record of 151kg as she missed out on gold by just one kilo.
Hripsime Khurshudyan of Armenia claimed bronze with a total lift of 294kg.
The pictures below tell the unfolding story of Maryam's Olympics.
Behind the top two, Beijing champion Jang found herself in a battle for bronze with Khurshudyan, in no small part due to Maryam Usman of Nigeria, who was third after the snatch, failing to register any lift in the clean and jerk, three times finding 160kg beyond her means.
Usman had lifted a personal best 129kg in the snatch and the attempted 160kg in the clean and jerk would have been another personal best.
Khurshudyan had lifted 3kg more than Jang in the snatch and after lifting 166kg in the clean and jerk, the Korean would have needed to hoist 170kg to take bronze.
The four-time world champion could not manage it and Armenia had their first medal of the competition.
Last edited by folem on Wed Aug 08, 2012 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
you have already jinxed her!!!!Roman Obamovitch wrote:We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight

It's strange, how can you claim someone that doesn't want to claim you?AreaDaddy wrote:He is referring to Ohurogu....Roman Obamovitch wrote:We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight
its called desperation.....Mr. Piffington wrote:It's strange, how can you claim someone that doesn't want to claim you?AreaDaddy wrote:He is referring to Ohurogu....Roman Obamovitch wrote:We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight
Emm, smartbrother, in other words, you mean 'we' the British. 'We' haven't struggled winning medals. Safe to say 'we' will win more gold medals than at any time since the 1908 games.
...and madness.soothsayer wrote:its called desperation.....Mr. Piffington wrote:It's strange, how can you claim someone that doesn't want to claim you?AreaDaddy wrote:He is referring to Ohurogu....Roman Obamovitch wrote:We have no athlete called christine, that is competing for us tonight.smartbrother wrote:christine will win us our first medal tonight