Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Re: Day 1 Action

Nigeria has one competitor knocked out of the Womens Singles Table Tennis

And one still with a chance. Egypt Similarly has one competitor knocked out and one still with a chance.

The Nigerian Olufunke goes up against an Italian (Medling) in less than 3 hours time.

In the Male Singles competition (Table Tennis) event Nigeria still has 2 competitors in the running (1st Round). 6 Time Olympian Segun Toriola goes up against Jorgen of Sweden and Quadri Aruna goes up against Carlos Machado.
Last edited by Tbite on Sat Jul 28, 2012 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
oluphemmie007

Post by oluphemmie007 »

oluphemmie007 wrote:fortune reverses easily o... china roasting serbia like say na BBQ party
china totally dominating now. 2 - 1 and leading in the third.
Manchester United: Trophies Yesterday, Today and Forever

This is Cybereagles...expect anything.

First gold
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Tbite wrote:Nigeria has one competitor knocked out of the Womens Singles Table Tennis

And one still with a chance. Egypt Similarly has one competitor knocked out and one still with a chance.

The Nigerian Olufunke goes up against an Italian (Medling) in less than 3 hours time.

In the Male Singles competition (Table Tennis) event Nigeria still has 2 competitors in the running (1st Round). 6 Time Olympian Segun Toriola goes up against Jorgen of Sweden and Quadri Aruna goes up against Carlos Machado.
we are always sending people into that competition...
have we ever got anywhere close to the finals, we are not even the best in Africa if i'm correct.

Anybody got TT stream online?

I always wanna watch TT but it gets no TV coverage

soothsayer wrote:
Tbite wrote:Nigeria has one competitor knocked out of the Womens Singles Table Tennis

have we ever got anywhere close to the finals, we are not even the best in Africa if i'm correct.
Nigeria is out of the Womens Singles Competition.

Egypt's last athlete in this event is currently playing.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

AKANJI Muideen of Nigeria has been defeated by O'NEILL Darren of Ireland in the 75Kg Boxing

:boo: :boo:

Nigeria has had 3 Athletes knocked out of competition.

6 time Olympian? How old is he? Na wa o o

soothsayer wrote:

In the Male Singles competition (Table Tennis) event Nigeria still has 2 competitors in
the running (1st Round). 6 Time Olympian Segun Toriola goes up against Jorgen of Sweden and Quadri Aruna goes up against Carlos Machado.
We use to be the best in Africa but nope Egypt had caught up with us.

That said, how much investment has gone into Table Tennis in Nigeria. We want to reap where we did not sow.

Quadri Aruna is currently tied in Mens Table Tennis Singles

2-2
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

thanks for the tip.... just tuned in.. leading 3 / 2

Quadri Aruna of Nigeria is winning in the Table Tennis 3-2....He needs to win 1 more game to progress to Round 2 :thumb: :thumb:

He started off losing the match actually...and the Spaniard was stubborn. Aruna couldn't break through several Game points.

But he is now ahead.
Last edited by Tbite on Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Tbite wrote:Quadri Aruna is currently tied in Mens Table Tennis Singles

2-2
you got online links for this?

thanks

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

not a bad jersey..... nice one Aruna, he got crowd support ...
Last edited by soothsayer on Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I am not watching the game live.......ask Soothsayer.

I am just keeping up with the scores.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

tcfo i'm watching it on cable (sky) . Game is over already. Aruna got the crowd excited and support.

Who is the genius that thought women could play basketball??? These girls are terrible(USA vs Croatia)

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Q Aruna through to the next round, dominated the Spanish guy... lets see how he does against those Asian guys..

soothsayer wrote:tcfo i'm watching it on cable (sky) . Game is over already. Aruna got the crowd excited and support.
thanks guys.

the game summary and stats are here

Tbite wrote:tfco try this for other matches

http://www.lshunter.tv/other-live-streaming-video.html
you.are.the.man

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

hmmm, table tennis facilities shouldn't have to cost much , in think that there is money to be made through private enterprise, setting up clubs and aiming it at middle class. But provide unique sports like shooting, archery, tennis.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

bret- hart wrote:Who is the genius that thought women could play basketball??? These girls are terrible(USA vs Croatia)
i just seen what you are talking about Bret, I though WNBA was better than this.. where did the united states get these chicks from...