Moderator: Moderator Team

Re: Medal Count (updated)

tfco wrote:every time I turn on TV, I see USA winning medals left and right

how tf is China keeping up?
With all the little stuff, bronze here and there.
phantomjournalist

Post by phantomjournalist »

Mr. Piffington wrote:

wekight
No. China actually has one more gold medal than the US right now.

TFCO, to answer your question, China's medals are coming from a variety of sports from shooting to weightlifting to diving to badminton etc. They have a very well-rounded team. The US has 16 gold medals from swimming alone. They dominated the swim meet. So it's actually the US keeping up right now. If the US can have a good athletics meet they will likely win the gold medal race.
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.

phantomjournalist wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:

wekight
No. China actually has one more gold medal than the US right now.

TFCO, to answer your question, China's medals are coming from a variety of sports from shooting to weightlifting to diving to badminton etc. They have a very well-rounded team. The US has 16 gold medals from swimming alone. They dominated the swim meet. So it's actually the US keeping up right now. If the US can have a good athletics meet they will likely win the gold medal race.
true o

china woman just won the WL. US still has the b'ball golds + a couple of golds in T&F.
Not sure where the next china golds will come from after today/tomorrow.

lol i don't think the chinese wanna hear about badminton right now :D

phantomjournalist

Gold medals

China - 32
USA - 29
Great Britain - 19
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.
Re: Medal Count (1. China, 2. USA, 3. GB ) - updated

Chei e go sweet if GB fit reach USA :-)
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

AreaDaddy wrote:Chei e go sweet if GB fit reach USA :-)

The US says its overall medal totals that determines your position on the table not Gold medals only. :lol: :lol:
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

yah know that ain't eveerr gonna happen !!!
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

soothsayer wrote:
I know it is very unlikely as GB must be close t0 exhausting their potential gold medals now rowing and cycling are over but if it happen it would be sweet...
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

AreaDaddy wrote:
soothsayer wrote:
I know it is very unlikely as GB must be close t0 exhausting their potential gold medals now rowing and cycling are over but if it happen it would be sweet...
:lol: it's never going to happen, apart from Mo in the 5k I don't seen anymore gold for GB
But gold per capita population that little island is kicking serious #$% and beating them all
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."

You have to give China credit. I find it remarkable how far they have come in competing across various disciplines. I agree with the comments about them being very well rounded.

Pride. Determination. Discipline. Comprehensive support. What can you do but applaud?

:clap:

Cheers, Mate

Russia might pip Great Britain for 3rd place.

Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

JuJuMan wrote:
AreaDaddy wrote:
soothsayer wrote:
:lol: it's never going to happen, apart from Mo in the 5k I don't seen anymore gold for GB
But gold per capita population that little island is kicking serious #$% and beating them all
They can still pick up 2 in boxing.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Go China Go China Go

Hahahaha

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

mate wrote:You have to give China credit. I find it remarkable how far they have come in competing across various disciplines. I agree with the comments about them being very well rounded.

Pride. Determination. Discipline. Comprehensive support. What can you do but applaud?
they have athletes in every.damn.discipline. There are few that I have not seen a Chinese athlete

(boxing, water polo, Athletics (field)...)

Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Scipio Africanus wrote:Russia might pip Great Britain for 3rd place.

Maybe in total medals count but not total of Gold medals.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

mate wrote:You have to give China credit. I find it remarkable how far they have come in competing across various disciplines. I agree with the comments about them being very well rounded.

they have athletes in every.damn.discipline. There are few that I have not seen a Chinese athlete

(boxing, water polo, Athletics (field)...)
They are in boxing and have a woman in the final, their 110m mens hurdler who is quite good got injured.
Red Dwarf - Legion

The US men have downright stunk in these Olympics. Aside from an obvious few bright spots, our men have not performed to expectations. I just saw Croatia crush the US in water polo 8 - 2. I root for both teams, but I didn't expect the US men to be so lethargic and even intimidated.

I guess the couch culture is coming home to roost. The Croatian water polo team basically gets together all year, even when competing in European water polo leagues. I don't think this is the case with the US.

Plus...I bet Croatia gets just as good juice as the US.

:mrgreen:

Cheers, Mate
phantomjournalist

US will likely overtake China anytime soon. US still has women's volleyball, men and women's basketball, 4x400m men and women, possibly even 4x100 men and women if things go their way, women's soccer, women's long jump etc....China is running out of events to get gold medals in.
Blue is the color.
%$#@^& moron.
phantomjournalist

Btw, the likes of Tajikstan and Mongolia have medalled at these games. Nigeria can't say the same unfortunately.
Blue is the color.
%$#@^& moron.
folem

Post by folem »

phantomjournalist wrote:US will likely overtake China anytime soon. US still has women's volleyball, men and women's basketball, 4x400m men and women, possibly even 4x100 men and women if things go their way, women's soccer, women's long jump etc....China is running out of events to get gold medals in.
Not so fast.

China has lots of Gold medals yet to win in Diving, Taekwondo, Weightlifting, Gymnastics, Table Tennis e.t.c.

It will be close, but U.S may pip China at the end.
phantomjournalist

folem wrote:
phantomjournalist wrote:US will likely overtake China anytime soon. US still has women's volleyball, men and women's basketball, 4x400m men and women, possibly even 4x100 men and women if things go their way, women's soccer, women's long jump etc....China is running out of events to get gold medals in.
Not so fast.

China has lots of Gold medals yet to win in Diving, Taekwondo, Weightlifting, Gymnastics, Table Tennis e.t.c.

Weighlifting - over

Gymnastics - over

Table tennis - over

Taekwondo - competition is too deep

Diving - only one more medal to be won

Like I said.
Blue is the color.
%$#@^& moron.
folem

Post by folem »

phantomjournalist wrote:
folem wrote:
Not so fast.

Weighlifting - over

Gymnastics - over

Table tennis - over

Taekwondo - competition is too deep
Diving - only one more medal to be won.

Like I said.
2 more Diving Gold medals yet to be won.

2 more Gymnastics Gold medals yet to be won.

China should win 1 from 4 remaining Taekwondo Gold medals.

China won last Table Tennis Gold today. Wrestling, Boxing could provide one or two.