why no love for Linford Christie

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

why no love for Linford Christie

The guy is not getting any airtime this Olympics despite being the only Brit to win Olympic Gold in 100m and the fact that he has trained UK atletes to win olympic medals.

The guy has not even been called to BBC and also please forget the drugs issue because I saw Carl Lewis also being celebrated on BBC.
Re: why no love for Linford Christie

We love linford!foik bbc....

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:We love linford!foik bbc....
It is sad the way Linford has been treated, no love for the boy at all, even the likes of audley harrison no recognition.

You might see more of him once the athletics start.

The YeyeMan wrote:You might see more of him once the athletics start.
Maybe, but I gotta confess, Linford is a borefest. No personality whatsoever. If they don't like him in the UK, then there are hundreds of other TV networks around the world that could pick him up. But if he's still not seen, then its probably cos he's got a problem.
No-one need even try bringing in any racist $@#%, cos loads of black British athletes are covering their sports, but they all have personality.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

strangely I saw carl lewis last night, perhaps linford has already been taken.

He fell out with seb coe big time...add the drug issue to that...and he is pretty much a no-go zone as far as the Olympics go.

Seb Coe made some remark about linford speaking in street slang or some crappy like.that.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

AreaDaddy wrote:He fell out with seb coe big time...add the drug issue to that...and he is pretty much a no-go zone as far as the Olympics go.

Seb Coe made some remark about linford speaking in street slang or some crappy like.that.
Seb Coe is a scum bucket.........an oily rat who only cares about himself and no one else..
Not surprising really, coming from a family who were slave owners in Jamaica
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

The YeyeMan wrote:You might see more of him once the athletics start.
Maybe, but I gotta confess, Linford is a borefest. No personality whatsoever. If they don't like him in the UK, then there are hundreds of other TV networks around the world that could pick him up. But if he's still not seen, then its probably cos he's got a problem.
No-one need even try bringing in any racist $@#%, cos loads of black British athletes are covering their sports, but they all have personality.
Totally agree. he doesn't make for good viewing. But the absolute worst was Cathy Freeman of Australia. A total vacuum. I cringed when watching her "analysis" at Sydney 2000.

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

I guess the drug issue does mess things up. You won't want to have someone
with a drugs band commenting and being broadcast to millions,
it sends kind of the wrong message, some athletes won't like it either.
LEFTIE

Post by LEFTIE »

It used to be said that Linford was a very balanced athlete.....in that he had a chip on both shoulders!!!

When he was winning he's British. As soon as he got tainted with drug allegations - He's Jamaican
Igbanibo

Post by Igbanibo »

pajimoh wrote:When he was winning he's British. As soon as he got tainted with drug allegations - He's Jamaican
Just like Ben Johnson!!!

Linford Christie has an attitude problem, well thats what they want us to believe

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Sorry... but he had a ban by drugs, no broadcaster wants to be tainted by that if they can help it.....
If there was no blacks in the commentary I would reason with you guys but evidence is to the contrary.. its not as if
he hasn't been a commentator in the past for the BBC. Anyway he is a coach now....
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

It could only be CE's who won't see an issue of having someone with a drug ban commentate in the Olympic games when there are other clean ex- athletes who could take his place. Also as mentioned the Oga of the organising committee has beef with Linford and you think he won't have an influence on who and who will be allowed to commentate on t.v , please.

soothsayer wrote:It could only be CE's who won't see an issue of having someone with a drug ban commentate in the Olympic games when there are other clean ex- athletes who could take his place. Also as mentioned the Oga of the organising committee has beef with Linford and you think he won't have an influence on who and who will be allowed to commentate on t.v , please.
Carl Lewis was also tainted and I saw him on BBC.

The man actually also trained UK athletes that won olympics medals for the UK. and please most of those other athletes were boring as hell as well.

Prince be fair 'jare!
You want to compare the bubbly Denice Williams or Colin Jackson with Linford who has the charm of a lizard? Oh please!
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Prince wrote:
soothsayer wrote:It could only be CE's who won't see an issue of having someone with a drug ban commentate in the Olympic games when there are other clean ex- athletes who could take his place. Also as mentioned the Oga of the organising committee has beef with Linford and you think he won't have an influence on who and who will be allowed to commentate on t.v , please.
Carl Lewis was also tainted and I saw him on BBC.

The man actually also trained UK athletes that won olympics medals for the UK. and please most of those other athletes were boring as hell as well.

Carl Lewis was not banned! It is the fault of the Americans for not banning him. I dey surprised self that they invited Lewis. Seen a Lot less of Micheal Johnson.

Damunk wrote:Prince be fair 'jare!
You want to compare the bubbly Denice Williams or Colin Jackson with Linford who has the charm of a lizard? Oh please!
Denise Lewis