Moderator: Moderator Team

Team Nigeria For London Olympics 2012. Full List-Updates

http://www.nigeriaolympiccommittee.org/

http://ireporterstv.com/team-nigeria-fo ... full-list/

As Nigeria participates in the 2012 Olympic Games, which started on Saturday, July 27, 2012, with elaborate pomp and pageantry, we bring to you the full list of Team Nigeria.

The Team, with a total of 116 members, comprises 55 athletes, 12 coaches, 29 administrators officers, 9 medical officials, 5 contingent officials and 6 secretariat officials.

Nigeria will be featuring in 8 games, namely basketball, table tennis, athletics, weightlifting, canoe slalom, boxing, wrestling and taekwondo.

Below is a list of all the members of Team Nigeria.

ATHLETICS

100m Women
1. Blessing Okagbare
2. Gloria Asumnu
3. Lawretta Ozoh

200m Women
1. Gloria Asumnu
2. Lawretta Ozoh
3. Christy Udoh

400m – Women
1. Regina George
2. Omolara Omotosho

400m Hurdles Women
1. Ajoke Odumosu

High Jump- Women
1. Doreen Amata

Long Jump
1. Blessing Okagbare

Shot Put
1. Vivian Chukwuemeka

Hepthatlon
1. Uhunoma Naomi Osazuwa

Marathon
1. Esther Obiekwe

100m Hurdles Women
1. Seun Adigun

4 x 100 m Women
1. Blessing Okagbare
2. Gloria Sunmu
3. Lawretta Ozoh
4. Oluwadamola Osayomi
5. Wisdom Isoken
6. Christy Udoh

4 x 400 m Women
1. Regina George
2. Omolara Omotosho
3. Bukola Abogunloko
4. Endurance Abinuwa
5. Idara #$%
6. Margaret Etim

ATHLETICS – Men

100m Men
1. Obinna Joseph Metu
2. Ogho Oghene Egwero
3. Peter Emelieze

100 Hurdles Men
1. Selim Nurudeen
400 m Hurdles Men
1. Ameadi Morton

Triple Jump
1. Oluwatosin Oke

Probation – 200m Men
1. Noah Akwu
2. Stanley Azie

100m Hurdles Women
1. Jessica Ohanaja
2. Stanley Gbageke

Officials
1. Yusuf Alli
2. Innocent Egbunike (Head Coach)
3. Nat Page
4. Gabriel Okon
5. Christopher Doomes
6. Garfield Ellenwood (Personal)
7. Ken Onuaguluchi (Persoanl)
8. Paul Obodochima (Personal)
9. Daniel Etsebimor (Personal)
10. Oluyomi Sule (Personal)
11. Gabriel Opuana (Personal)
12. Solomon Aliu (Personal)
13. Sunday Uti (Personal)
14. Falilat Ogunkoya (Personal)
15. Maria Wophill – Admin. Personnel
16. Chief Solomon Ogba -Team Leader- Estacode Specialist

BASKETBALL
1. Oyedeji Olumide
2. Diogu Ikechukwu Somto
3. Oruche Richard Dean Chukwuma
4. Ugboaja Ejike
5. Dagunduro Adeola Adedokun
6. Oguchi Chamberlain Nnaemeka
7. Aminu Abdul Alade
8. Ibekwe Ekenechukwu
9. Archibong Aniekan Okon
10. Aminu al Farouk
11. Obasohan Derrick Osamuuyi
12. Skinn Anthony Oludewa
13. Ayodele Bakare – Head Coach
14. Sani Ahmed – Coach
15. Francis Gbiri – Admin. Personnel
16. Tijjani Umar – Team Leader

BOXING

1. Akanji Muideen Olalekan – 75kg
2. Lawal Lukmon Olaiwola – 81kg
3. Ogoke Edith Agu (Female) – 75kg
4. Idika Nsofor – Coach
5. Anthony Konyegwachie – Coach
6. Patrick Uwagbale – Admin. Personnel
7. Major-Gen. Tobiah Minimah – Team Leader

CANOEING
1. Jonathan Peter Akinyemi – K1 Slalom
2. Ebenezer Ukwunna – Coach
3. Olubunmi Oluode – Admin. Personnel
4. Rear Adm. Festus Porbeni – Team Leader

TABLE TENNIS

Male
1. Aruna Quadri
2. Segun Toriola

Female
1. Edem Offiong
2. Olufunke Oshonaike

Officials
1. Nosiru Bello – Coach
2. Richard Edem – Coach
3. Segun Oguntade – Admin. Personnel
4. Alhaji Kayode Omotose Team Leader

TAEKWONDO
1. Chika Chukwumerije – +80 kg
2. Isa Mohammed – -68 kg
3. Keum Silwan – Coach
4. Carl Lewis Langan – Coach
5. Chinedu Ezealah – Admin. Personnel
6. Chief Jonathan Nnaji – Team Leader

WEIGHTLIFTING
1. Ekpo Felix Cobham – 77kg
2. Usman Maryam (Female) – +75kg
3. Patrick Bassey – Coach
4. Uche Onwumeh – Admin. Personnel
5. Mr. Chimdi Ejiogu – Team Leader

WRESTLING

Male
1. Boltic Sinivie – 96kg Freestyle
2. d#$% Adibo – 84kg Freestyle

Female
1. Obiajunwa Amarachi – 72kg Freestyle
2. Oborodudu Blessing – 63kg Freestylea

Officials
1. Daniel Igali – Coach
2. Olumide Bamiduro – Admin. Personnel
3. Chief Austin Edeze – Team Leader

CONTINGENT OFFICIALS
1. Malam Bolaji Abdullahi – Hon. Minister of Sports & Leader of Delegation
2. Mr Sani Ndanusa – President Nigeria Olympic Committee
3. Chief Patrick Ekeji – Chef de Mission- Always in the right place at the right time.
4. Hon. Babatunde Popoola – Secretary General, NOC
5. Mr Alhassan Yakmut – Deputy Chef de Mission

MEDICAL TEAM
1. Dr Abdulkadir Mu’azu – Team Doctor & Head Medical Hmm SE Team Doctor?
2. Dr Hirekaan Lazarus -Team Doctor
3. Dr. Ibrahim Gyaran – Team Doctor
4. Dr Ken Anugweje – Team Doctor
5. Mr Oladipo Odunuga – Physiotherapist
6. Mr Ekundayo Ogunkule – Physiotherapist
7. Mr Kayode Abdulsalam – Physiotherapist
8. Miss Judith Enebe – Physiotherapist
9. Mrs Nneka Eze – Nurse

SECRETARIAT
1. Manufor Hellen – Administrative Personnel
2. Emmanuel Nweri – Administrative Personnel
3. Augustine Odijie – Administrative Personnel
4. Tony Ubani – Press Attache Is Tony now on the payroll in the Sports Ministry? Hmm..
5. Emmanuel Igbinosa – Administrative Personnel
6. Olalekan Alabi – Administrative Personnel
Last edited by MI5 on Mon Aug 06, 2012 4:04 am, edited 4 times in total.
achuzia-the-air-raid
Re: Team Nigeria For London Olympics 2012. Full List

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

CANOEING
Is he commandeering a war ship or canoe? Why is his inclusion necessary?
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:
CANOEING
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

CANOEING
...because him be navy now, knows about water, that's naija style :laugh:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Guv007 wrote:
CANOEING
CMS

Post by CMS »

MI5 wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Guv007 wrote:
CANOEING
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
http://nigeriamasterweb.com/paperfrmes.html

Keshi said that before the team arrived South Africa that he told skipper Joseph Yobo that the Eagles were going to win the Cup but the former Everton defender did not believe.

CANOEING
...because him be navy now, knows about water, that's naija style :laugh:

Showboy

Post by Showboy »

CMS wrote:
MI5 wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Guv007 wrote:
CANOEING
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

:laugh: :rotf: :lol: my people knw how to make capital out of a hopeless situation :rotf: :rotf:

Guv007 wrote:
CANOEING

Post by Mudi E »

So hopeless...you can't beat Nigerians.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

we need a list of casualties so far...

Ekpo loses out in weightlifting

http://www.nigeriaolympiccommittee.org/ ... 9437fba473

Felix Ekpo came second to Mate Perez of Spain in his 77kg Group B pool with a total lift of 331kg.

Ekpo had narrowly topped the standings after the snatch with 151kg. The 19 year-old Perez lifted 150kg and Pavlov of Kazakstan lifted 147kg.
Felix

In the clean and jerk Ekpo came in at 180kg with his first attempt. Perez upped the ante with a lift of 183kg.

Ekpo needed to now lift more than he ever had before and elected to lift 188kg, a personal best 7kg more than he had ever achieved.

The gamble failed with both lifts and Perez rubbed salt into the wound as he confirmed his Group B win by lifting 188kg for a total of 338kg.

It means Ekpo is unlikely to emulate his eighth place from Beijing with eight lifters still to come in Broup A who lift in the evening. However, he can't finish worse than 10th.

Akinyemi bows out of K1 canoe slalom

http://www.nigeriaolympiccommittee.org/ ... em=Art1621
Team Nigeria's Johnathan Akinyemi crashed out of the K1 canoe slalom heats on Sunday at Lee Valley White Water Centre in Broxbourne.

With only the top 15 qualifying for the semi-finals, the African champion was left with a lot to do after his first run, but by no means out of the running.

In the heats the order for both runs was determined by world ranking which meant Johnathan went first as the lowest ranked competitor. This does give an advantage to the later competitors as the early runners 'show' the way.

Johnathan made a speedy start to his second run although he picked up two penalty points. The dream of a semi-final place evaporated when he then missed a gate and picked up a 50 point penalty that ended his semi-final hopes.

The men's K-1 is canoe slalom's equivalent of formula one and it was a huge disappointment for the 23-year-old.

Speaking afterwards, he said that he was really sorry that he could not have done better and that he felt really good at the start.

"I felt strong and powerful. After getting the 50 second penalty you have that moment when you think "can I get it back?""

The heats were won by Germany's Hannes Aigner. From the semi-finals only the top 10 qualify for the final.

Experiencing the Olympics has left Johnathan wanting more. "It gives me a hunger to want to do more."

Nigerian Athletics head coach Innocent Egbunike is one of Nigeria's all time great athletes. He anchored the men's 4 x 400 relay team to a bronze medal at the Olympics in 1984 in Los Angeles and won a silver medal at the 1987 World Championships in Rome. He spoke to Ayo Odumade about the past, present and future of Nigerian athletics.

http://www.nigeriaolympiccommittee.org/ ... em=Art1632

NOC: What are your realistic hopes for these games?

Innocent Egbunike: Our first hope is to get the athletes to their fitness level. In most areas we have done that. This gives them a chance for them to advance in the rounds. As they advance into the rounds hopefully make finals, which is our gain at a point.

NOC: What do needs to done about the dearth of Nigerian male sprinters?

IE: We have got to first and foremost have an understanding of the sport. Track and field is such a sport that if you don't go to the grassroots and work with them they do not get to where you want them to be. We need to go back to what made the Chidi Imos, the Sunday Utis, the Adenikens, the Falilat Ogunkoyas. Knowledge is power. We need to make sure we get our athletes to go to school and not through school. That is very critical.

Innocent

NOC: Of this current crop who is our brightest chances of getting a medal?

IE: I am not going to pinpoint individuals because it puts more pressure on them. We have at least two to three of them who are going to do well God willing. We also have a chance to do well in the relays as well.

NOC: Take us down memory Lane and LA '84 and the relay bronze medal

IE: I remember vividly how we all came together. We were not even picked to win a medal. We had two people in the individual final and Australia had one. What made that team special was that we knew of our challenges.

We came together as one. We practiced together, we stuck together we prayed together. When I saw Sunday Uti take off, I do not know how to describe it. He ran a heck of a first leg and coming in to pass the baton on, which was great. He did not spare any moment and gave the baton to Rotimi Peters who also did well and passed it on to Moses Ugbisien.

I was glad that when the baton got to me I was able to sustain it. I got passed by the Briton Kriss Akabusi at the end but I was able to get a medal. When I look back it still stands as one of the greatest 4x400 metres teams we ever assembled. I know the guys from 2000 would dispute that because I was their coach. I say that from a perspective of how we stuck together with the handicap the rest of the world thought we had and that's what makes champions.

NOC: On 2000 and Sunday Bada's death and award of gold medals. What took them so long and was America favoured?

IE: It is unfortunate to me that we lost one of our great warriors. I wish he was here to receive his medal. They rightfully deserve to have that medal. Only God knows. I pray for him and his family. I hope when they are handed the medal they will know that he was one of the greatest quarter milers in Africa.

I do not want to get into the political side of things with America. At the end of the day thank God the medal was given to the people who deserved it because their athletes did not cheat.

NOC: Should politics and Sports be mixed? In 1976 our athletes were denied of going to the Olympics when they were at the peak of their game. Should they have been denied the chance to compete due to politics?

IE: I pray that the world of today would understand that sports and politics do not mix. Sport is what brings nations together. Sport gives nations the opportunity to celebrate their best athletes. To celebrate their countries and it is a platform that helps to turn the world around.

I pray to the almighty that we will all understand. I have seen the way Nigerians celebrate the accomplishments of the likes of Falilat and Sunday Uti and this blesses me. It does not have to do with the school they went to or tribe they come from. It is all about the nation and that is how it should be. It is the celebration of mankind with regards to talent. If we as a people understand that it is entertainment and separate it from politics, it would make a difference. I asked some of my American colleagues who were denied the chance to go to Moscow in 1980 and it is unfair.

In 1986 as the Commonwealth record holder I never went to the Commonwealth games and that is because Nigeria did not go. I have experienced the politics in sports and I pray that we understand that sports is what it is and politics on the other side is what it is.

Innocent

NOC: 44.17 is still the Commonwealth record. Do you ever think that record will be broken?

IE: Yes records are there to be broken. People have been teasing me that when Usain Bolt comes to the 400 metres he is going to break it. I hope God gives me the opportunity to coach an athlete who is going to break it. I have coached some athletes who have come close to my record and there is one I am coaching now and I pray he will do it.

For me I look back on my career and thank God. He created a path for others to follow and that is what champions are made of. What makes you a great athlete is discipline and understanding it is not only a God given talent. You give the best of what you have got. If you do not respect your elders or people before you and after you then it is meaningless. It is not just about sport. One day you will answer to somebody. The curtains will close and you are going to walk into the sunset. There will be another career supervised by somebody else and if you do not learn respect as an athlete you will never go anywhere in life.

NOC: How important is it for the athletes to have people like you and Sunday Uti around?

IE: It is very important. That is why Jamaica is where it is at today. Their former athletes - the Bert Camerons, the Don Quarries, just to mention a few to be a part of their modern day athletes. When they see them and they talk about their accomplishments it gives them something to look forward to. It inspires athletes. The only thing about athletes today is that they do not know their history.

They have the Internet, they have access to YouTube but during my time I knew who the likes Don Quarrie and Alberto Juantorena were. The importance of the likes of Yusuf Ali cannot be overlooked. I remember at the World Student games in 1983 Nigeria produced some of the best. We dominated the whole competition. We won five gold medals in events that the USA and Canada usually dominate. That is what carried us over to '85, '86 and '87. If you know your history there is a good chance it would have been itself. A nation without a vision shall perish. We should try to put the vision together and chase after that with regards to the athletes.

NOC: Would you agree that Nigeria has the talent but fall short due to the lack of organization on the administrative side?

IE: I am on the outside. I do not want to point fingers and do not know what their circumstances are. One thing I will like to say is that we need to come together and gather the storm and start looking ahead. We cannot allow a great nation with so much resource such as 160million to waste. If we go to the trenches we could find athletes better than the likes of Onyali and Falilat. In order to find them we need to go back to the roots. That is why it is important to bring people to work with us to make that happen. We could dig back down and make history by making this country great again. We have the talent. We just have to find them.

NOC: On Doping and second chances

IE: God is a God of second chances. But that being said if an athletes goes out there to be the best when he knows the rules they should pay a big price. But for that to be for the rest of their lives in wrong. If it is a recurring thing then that individual does not belong in the sport. God gives us an opportunity to make mistakes and bounce back. If they give back and preach against drugs in sports and educate the young ones that this is not correct. That is how you give back. You are moving forward teaching kids the right way.

NOC: What made you come home to coach Nigeria?

IE: Dr Pat Ekeji had been communicating with me and he had spoken to me many times to work with Nigeria. As time went on a few other people including the minister had got involved. Each time I worked with other countries they pointed me back to Nigeria. They were like Nigeria needs you and at times it become redundant working with other countries. They ask you why are you here and I jumped in it because I believe I have what it takes to work with them having coached at the highest level, working with the best athletes in the world. Through God's grace it will be a good opportunity to give back to our nation.

NOC: How many medals will Nigeria win on the Track?

IE: I am not a miracle worker but God is. We will do very well. The athletes will do better than people are predicting. I pray and believe by the grace of God that we will do well. Some of the athletes did not come to camp to train with me until March. We are training in March keeping in mind most countries that are here started training for this Olympics the day after the last one finished! I pray that we will start our preparation the day after these games for the 2016 games in Brazil. We would not only be targeting medals but going out there to do better.

Lukmon Lawal bows out of London 2012

http://www.nigeriaolympiccommittee.org/ ... em=Art1623

In the light heavyweight category Lukmon Lawal was comprehensively outclassed by Jordan's sole boxer Almatbouli to continue a miserable boxing Olympics for Nigeria.

It was a fairly cagey opening round that Almatbouli took 5-3, but already there were ominous signs for the Nigerian pugilist.

Lawal has put on weight since the 2010 Commonwealth Games but he failed to put his impressive physique to his advantage. Too often he appeared slow and stiff walking onto punches.

He lost the second round by the decisive margin of four points and trailing 11-5 needed a stoppage against a now strong and confident Jordainian.

Instead things got worse for Lawal. A now rampant Almatbouli caught him with a left hook after two minutes of round three that led to a standing count. Going in for the kill, he through a couple of big right crosses that shook Lawal further and the round ended with Lawal on the back foot.

The 8-2 margin meant he lost the fight 19-7 and both Nigerian male boxers had exited disappointingly after one fight.

Akanji outclassed by O'Neill in middleweight clash

http://www.nigeriaolympiccommittee.org/ ... em=Art1616

In the men's middleweight division Muideen Akanji was outclassed 15-6 by Darren O'Neill of Ireland.
The judges scored the first round surprisingly close in favour of O'Neill by four points to three when it looked like he should have scored more as he repeatedly got through Akanji's guard in the first 30 seconds.

Both men were southpaws, with Akanji looking rather leaden footed against the older and more experienced Irishman. Akanji's best hope was to use his obvious reach advantage to jab and hold O'Neill at bay but the Irishman was constantly able to find his way inside Akanji's long arms to score almost at will.

Well done to all the Athletes who have competed so far... Such a shame they are under an association that is inept and useless... No vision or ways to move our sports forward... All the best to the remaining Athletes in the Olympics...
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

na wa oh, countries are rushing away with medals (even South Africa) and all we are doing is bowing out of events

jungle-jawara wrote:na wa oh, countries are rushing away with medals (even South Africa) and all we are doing is bowing out of events
Such is life, if you fail to prepare, prepare to fail

This is definitely not a slant at the Athletes who (as MI5 rightly pointed out) are working within an adverse environment

I mean, when you have a rear admiral posing as an official, you have to wonder how serious we are, and whether these guys have a conscience at all

BTW Innocent Egbunike - A class act..

The only thing I like so far in this arrangement is that there are quite a few former athletes in the coaching
Football Manager

Post by Football Manager »

M15,

Esther Obiekwe is not qualified to represent Nigeria in the Marathon. She was never registered and will NEVER be registered now.

FM,

Wow interesting didn't know that. I was hearing her name a couple of months ago and thought she was a bright prospect. What happened? Did something go wrong somewhere?

Football Manager wrote:M15,

Esther Obiekwe is not qualified to represent Nigeria in the Marathon. She was never registered and will NEVER be registered now.
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

So no medals for the great Nigeria? MI5?