Naija suppose get cycling and boating teams

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Naija suppose get cycling and boating teams

We are powerfully built and could dominate in those sporting events.

Na money? - We get am.
Na physique? - We get am.
Na water? - We get am.

Even Wiggo was saying that not much is needed to train cyclists. I know the bikes and training can cost a lot. But is Nigeria really that broke?

We have the potential. Why are we limiting ourselves to just athletics and ball sports?

Even in swimming, we can get our Ijaw bredren like Talk IT to rep us. They take to water like ducks. What is our problem?

clocky
Re: Naija suppose get cycling and boating teams

Post by clocky »

lol
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Britain set new world record .. in velodrome.
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

soothsayer wrote:Britain set new world record .. in velodrome.
Broken by the Chinese.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?

Why are there no national sports schools/colleges/universities in Nigeria?
Maybe one in each region?
Its pathetic that we are not representing in more sports categories.
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

soothsayer wrote:Britain set new world record .. in velodrome.
and then disqualified
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
folem

Post by folem »

cchinukw wrote:We are powerfully built and could dominate in those sporting events.

Na money? - We get am.
Na water? - We get am.

Even Wiggo was saying that not much is needed to train cyclists. I know the bikes and training can cost a lot. But is Nigeria really that broke?

We have the potential. Why are we limiting ourselves to just athletics and ball sports?

Even in swimming, we can get our Ijaw bredren like Talk IT to rep us. They take to water like ducks. What is our problem?
We no get money.

Ijaw .. you think sai na yam. No be just swim na race swim dem de do.

Even Paralympic swimmers will beat Naija's best.

Cchinukw,

The problem is money meant to develop and put things in place in terms of infrastructure and all go directly into the pockets of these officials... They talk about trying to compete but in reality, they could care less... I watch the Olympics every four years and see events our people are capable of competing and even doing well in. Remember in Seoul'88 where we had more officials than Athletes, that sums it all up...

cchinukw wrote:We are powerfully built and could dominate in those sporting events.

Na money? - We get am.
Na water? - We get am.

folem wrote:

Na money? - We get am.
Na water? - We get am.

We no get money.

M15 I hear you bro.

Folem, we don't have any competitors at the moment. However , the raw materials are there. Ijaws are acquainted with water from birth. So there. You have a natural pool to select from.

All that's needed are facilities and a vision for the next 8-12 years. It's not exactly rocket scienc.

We have canoes in Nigeria. Any of those villagers are potential Olympic rowers.

okjazz

Post by okjazz »

Many Kenyans wonder why kenya cant win archery with all this talent that is being misused :laugh:

folem

Post by folem »

folem wrote:

Na money? - We get am.
Na water? - We get am.

We no get money.

M15 I hear you bro.

Folem, we don't have any competitors at the moment. However , the raw materials are there. Ijaws are acquainted with water from birth. So there. You have a natural pool to select from.

All that's needed are facilities and a vision for the next 8-12 years. It's not exactly rocket scienc.

Not true.

We have been competing in swimming for long including the 1973 All Africa games hosted in Lagos.

We are just not good enough, at least not yet.

Swimming is contested at National Sports Festival and we have many athletes but apart from the occasional Africa Games or Championship medal, we don't usually win much.

Racing inside water is far different from what you think.
kalamashaka

Post by kalamashaka »

folem wrote:Even Paralympic swimmers will beat Naija's best.
That's a bit unfair, no?
"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"

folem wrote:

Na money? - We get am.
Na water? - We get am.

We no get money.

M15 I hear you bro.

Not true.

We have been competing in swimming for long including the 1973 All Africa games hosted in Lagos.

We are just not good enough, at least not yet.

Swimming is contested at National Sports Festival and we have many athletes but apart from the occasional Africa Games or Championship medal, we don't usually win much.

Racing inside water is far different from what you think.
I am aware of the gaps that exist. My argument is Nigeria has no excuse not to field a world class team given the potential at our disposal. It is not beyond the means of Nigerian sports authorities to set up a training programme or in a worse case scenario, sponsor potential athletes to major specialist academies around the world.

My challenge to Sports Admins in Nigeria is to get off their over fed arses and invest some bloody effort and money to make us proud at these events.

folem

Post by folem »

kalamashaka wrote:
folem wrote:Even Paralympic swimmers will beat Naija's best.
That's a bit unfair, no?
Unfortunately true for S10 category.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

I was just watching the track cycling event, I'm not sure Nigeria will be able to compete in that event.
The bikes and equipment the brits use cost close to 20thousand pounds.... I'm not sure Nigeria be willing
to put down that kind of money for even.....
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Sometimes I fear that athletes are left to their own devices and because they also have to fend for themselves financially it makes it twice as difficult for them to be fully prepared.

Soothsayer,

The Brits and other serious countries are willing to invest and spend whatever it takes to do well in the Olympics even if they have to borrow the money or get it from somewhere to make sure their athletes do very well. In Nigeria and other African countries, it's the opposite.. A money like that would rather go missing or end up in the pockets of these crooked officials...

soothsayer wrote:I was just watching the track cycling event, I'm not sure Nigeria will be able to compete in that event.
The bikes and equipment the brits use cost close to 20thousand pounds.... I'm not sure Nigeria be willing
Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

soothsayer wrote:I was just watching the track cycling event, I'm not sure Nigeria will be able to compete in that event.
But that kind of money can easily disappear into someone's private bank account in Dubai, Switzerland, London and New York.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Remember the story of Francis Obikwelu, the former Nigerian runner who ran for us at the Olympics Games in Sydney 2000 and how he was neglected by Nigerian officials after he got injured and decided to switch nationalities because of it and ran for Portugal at the Olympics games in Athens 2004. He won a silver for them in the 100m. He had an impressive medals record count till he retired... Stars like Francis should be leading the newer generation coming up if the officials were serious about doing well in future Olympics... Utter disgrace...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Francis_Obikwelu

He then made a decision to run for Portugal. The news was broken in July 2000 by Nigerian sprinter Mercy Nku, who like Obikwelu is based in Lisbon. She said Obikwelu took the decision because of neglect by Nigerian sports officials when he was injured while representing Nigeria in Sydney, Australia. "He had to go to Canada to undergo an operation on his knee spending his own money." He became a Portuguese citizen in October 2001.
soothsayer wrote:Sometimes I fear that athletes are left to their own devices and because they also have to fend for themselves financially it makes it twice as difficult for them to be fully prepared.
Last edited by MI5 on Fri Aug 03, 2012 4:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mudi,

Na true you talk o and its still happening till today... There is simply no excuse for why we can't compete in a lot of events I am watching on TV everyday...

Mudi E wrote:
But that kind of money can easily disappear into someone's private bank account in Dubai, Switzerland, London and New York.
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

cchinukw wrote: I am aware of the gaps that exist. My argument is Nigeria has no excuse not to field a world class team given the potential at our disposal. It is not beyond the means of Nigerian sports authorities to set up a training programme or in a worse case scenario, sponsor potential athletes to major specialist academies around the world.

My challenge to Sports Admins in Nigeria is to get off their over fed arses and invest some bloody effort and money to make us proud at these events.
The Nigerian Sports authorities are embezzling the funds without anyone scrutinizing them. They have no personal incentive to stop embezzling, and instead use those funds to develop sport talent. They are not interested in whether naija wins medals or not. Once we really really really understand these facts, the game theory is simple, and shows there cannot be progress, until either the mindset of those who rule the country changes, or we develop strong anti-corruption measures. Neither seems very likely.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

I would like to know how funding works proper... is athletics federation considered as a group. Is the funds then supposed to be distributed to individual events. Is funds allocated generally or according to the registered professorial athletes. I know that even Britain has problems with how funding is distributed , there was a guy who won gold in double trap shooting , the guys funding was cut and he had to work in pub, he got support and coaching from Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum , royal from Dubai and former Olympic winner . I guess the bobo was willing to go out of his way.