Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Nigeria's Olympic Medals. Our Track Record

Kai see barreness!

Na only Kanu & Co + Chioma save us...Gold for Olympics no easy, no amount of talent can win over preparation !
Last edited by AreaDaddy on Wed Aug 08, 2012 7:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Nigeria's Olympic Track Record

It pretty much sums up Nigeria.
folem

Post by folem »

AreaDaddy wrote:Image

Kai see barreness!

Na only Kanu & Co + Chioma save us...Gold for Olympics no easy, no amount of talent can win over preparation !
At least we have more medals than Phelps. :lol: :lol: :lol: or India too. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Last edited by folem on Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:36 am, edited 3 times in total.

I think we would be happier with 2 less medals and more of the gold variety.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

When did we get silver in football?

Cmoke wrote:When did we get silver in football?

Last olympics?!

Molue Conductor wrote:

He has been living under a rock :D

ghana has 4 and they last won a medal 20 years ago and prior to that another 20 years
Medal Name Games Sport Event
Silver Clement Quartey 1960 Rome Boxing Men's light welterweight
Bronze Eddie Blay 1964 Tokyo Boxing Men's light welterweight
Bronze Prince Amartey 1972 Munich Boxing Men's middleweight Bronze Football team[show]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Joachin Yaw Acheampong
Shamo Quaye 1992 Barcelona Football Men's competition

[edit] Medals by sport

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

Meanwhile, Australia has won just 4 gold medals in this London Olympics and a national investigation has already began to look into such mediocrity by their standard and ways to improve in future competition....but Nigeria? Msheewwwwwwww!!!!
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Seems like the best period in Nigerian sports was from the early 90s to the early 00. We appear to be regressing since then.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

AreaDaddy wrote:Image

Kai see barreness!

...oga pls can we get to see our short neighbor's...?
Metho scorpion

Post by Metho scorpion »

Mudi E wrote:Meanwhile, Australia has won just 4 gold medals in this London Olympics and a national investigation has already began to look into such mediocrity by their standard and ways to improve in future competition....but Nigeria? Msheewwwwwwww!!!!
...I am seeing it more now that Nigeria is not a country...the earlier we...you all know what it is_ _ _ _the better is going to be...I gave up on the country Naija...
Re: Nigeria's Olympic Medals. Our Track Record

pretty sums it up, Nigeria is not interested in sports to be quite honest!!

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

a whole Egypt that just emerged from chaos has won 2 silvers .... na wah.
Guv007

Post by Guv007 »

Every 4 years we keep going without any improvement or assessing why.
Red Dwarf - Legion

Rimmer: Step up to Red Alert
Kryten: Sir, are you absolutely sure? It does mean changing the bulb.
Rimmer: There's always some excuse, isn't there?
lowzeewee

Post by lowzeewee »

maybe Nigeria should grab a bunch of Chinese second-grade athletes and dash them passports, to play table tennis and badminton.

who knows, a serious Nigerian badminton team might have gotten something at this year's women badminton tournament, considering Russia and Canada played off for the bronze after the rash of disqualifications - 3 white people playing off for a badminton medal, imagine that. oh, and the team with 2 white people won it :shock:
kalani

Post by kalani »

Disgusting.
megapro wrote:
Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.

Mr. Piffington wrote:It pretty much sums up Nigeria.
It seems our sports blossomed in the 90s

lowzeewee wrote:maybe Nigeria should grab a bunch of Chinese second-grade athletes and dash them passports, to play table tennis and badminton.

who knows, a serious Nigerian badminton team might have gotten something at this year's women badminton tournament, considering Russia and Canada played off for the bronze after the rash of disqualifications - 3 white people playing off for a badminton medal, imagine that. oh, and the team with 2 white people won it :shock:
I don’t know why all those Chinese/multinational businessmen kids born in Nigeria cannot be approached to rep Nigeria- Haba sebi their parents are making money in motherland.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:
folem

Post by folem »

Molue Conductor wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:It pretty much sums up Nigeria.
It seems our sports blossomed in the 90s
We have been on the average winning 4 medals since 1992. Pretty consistent in my book. If Chukwumerije fails to overcome his Cuban opponent in Taekwondo, all medal hopes will now turn to the two relays.