Men's 100m who do y'all have finishing top 3?

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Heliopolis
Men's 100m who do y'all have finishing top 3?

Post by Heliopolis »

1. Yohan Blake...dude is in great form and is confident after defeating Bolt twice in the Jamaican trials. He also might have an added edge knowing he's out-worked Bolt the past 4 years (his work ethic is so great that Bolt nicknamed him "The Beast").

2. Bolt...he's still the best on the planet IMO but his reportedly poor work ethic and recent spell of injuries raises serious doubts about his conditioning coming into today. I dont buy the argument that he's easing into the Olympics and will just 'turn it on' as if his body is a light switch. He'll still run a 9.80ish time easily but I dont think he's in top form (while Blake is).

3. Justin Gaitlin...he is back and apparently dope free. Dude has been killing it this year and ran a 9.80 in the U.S. trials and cruised to a sub 10 second time yesterday in the first round. If he runs a 9.80 again he'll finish on the podium.

Tyson Gay is ofcourse a medal favorite but that guy is always injured and hasnt posted numbers anywhere close to the numbers posted by the guys above this year.

Asafa Powell is such a likeable guy but will unfortunately go down as one of the biggest chokers the 100m has ever seen. He's had injury problems this year. I dont think he'll be battling much pre-race jitters today like he has in the past because there wont be much spotlight on him but he's clearly not as good as he was pre-2008.
Re: Men's 100m who do y'all have finishing top 3?

This race is far more unpredictable than the women's 100m. It'd be silly to make any predictions before seeing what happens in the semies. 100m dash is essentially about psychological warfare. The guy that wins isn't necessarily the fastest but the one doesnt get psyched out and executes his own race the best. This is why Asafa Powell has never won a world title. For the first time in a long time you have four mentally impregnable guys in there all of whom are in form and all of whom already have world or olympic titles under their belts. Of the four guys in contention, Blake right now looks the most likely to win. Gay and Gatlin are genuine contenders simply because both are such fierce competitors. Gay has not run that fast in terms of times but he has beaten Gatlin this year coming from behind to win. The guy's top end speed is unrivaled in T&F history. Ive even seen him run Usain Bolt down when on form. Gatlin is determined and crazy enough to do it again Ryan Bailey has all the hallmarks of a Jon Smith athlete - self belief and superior technique. Bolt is Bolt.The Greatest of all time. Should be intriguing and fast
kalamashaka

Post by kalamashaka »

1. Bolt...no rationale, he's just the one I want to win it :thumb: Watched the documentary about him recently and dude works as hard as anyone else.

2. Blake...he'll either win it or come 2nd...only way he doesn't is if he get's DQ'd

3. Gay...
"How many white men went in the party that destroyed Abame?"
oluphemmie007

Post by oluphemmie007 »

i don't know who will win this but i know who will win the 100*4 relays.
Manchester United: Trophies Yesterday, Today and Forever

This is Cybereagles...expect anything.
sabb

Post by sabb »

dunno mehn, yohan, bolt, bailey
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

I want Bolt to win and Asafa Powell to come second. Don't know why i have liked Asafa Powell as a person for some time. Incidentally he is also most liked of the sprinters in their native Jamaica.

I hope this Yohan Blake doesnt spoil Usain's day

Samora Moises Machel wrote:I want Bolt to win and Asafa Powell to come second. Don't know why i have liked Asafa Powell as a person for some time. Incidentally he is also most liked of the sprinters in their native Jamaica.

May the best man win, if it's Yohan Blake then so be it.

If Gaitlin traveled with his Chemist, then the doper has a shot but I'll say BOLT, BLAKE and GAY
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Ekorian wrote:If Gaitlin traveled with his Chemist, then the doper has a shot but I'll say BOLT, BLAKE and GAY
Agreed :thumb: :thumbs: .

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

Gay
Blake
Bolt
phantomjournalist

Post by phantomjournalist »

1. Blake
2. Bolt
3. Gay
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.

What time is the race?

Ebyboy wrote:
Ekorian wrote:If Gaitlin traveled with his Chemist, then the doper has a shot but I'll say BOLT, BLAKE and GAY
are you aware blake has been suspended for drug offences as well
Lager-back

Post by Lager-back »

Samora Moises Machel wrote:What time is the race?
When's the race sef?

Samora Moises Machel wrote:I want Bolt to win and Asafa Powell to come second. Don't know why i have liked Asafa Powell as a person for some time. Incidentally he is also most liked of the sprinters in their native Jamaica.

powell has no pressure on him tonight so no excuse for underperforming

1) Bolt
2) Blake
3) Gay
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

smartbrother wrote:
Ebyboy wrote:
are you aware blake has been suspended for drug offences as well
8 years suspension for Gatlin that was later reduced to 4 because he snitched is different from a 3 months ban for methylxanthine that Blake was suspended for. And Gatlin was a repeat offender and got off a life ban via politics and technicality.
Last edited by Ekorian on Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BoBlGay
Last edited by niyi on Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Godfather

Post by Godfather »

about to start in 2mins
“Achebe was a writer in whose company the Prison walls fell down.” – Dr. Nelson Mandela.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

be interesting if front runners trip over them selves and some unknown guy at the back wins... (just joking)

Gary Lineker just said its at 9.50 GMT

Way he was talking it sounded like it will be semis? When is the bloody final

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

around 9pm

martina now races for the netherlands.? when did that happen