Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Oba
Re: 150 MIL PEOPLE 0 MEDALS?

Post by Oba »

folem wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:How many countries fit this category? Indonesia n India havent won nattin yet but i think there might others? pls, can u help me with this dilemma.I just cant seem to remember if any other countries that fit this description?
Indonesia have 2 medals, India have won 3 medals.

Naija may win 1 today.
In what?
folem

Post by folem »

Roman Obamovitch wrote:
folem wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:How many countries fit this category? Indonesia n India havent won nattin yet but i think there might others? pls, can u help me with this dilemma.I just cant seem to remember if any other countries that fit this description?

Naija may win 1 today.
In what?
Women's +75kg Weightlifting. It's possible.
Oba

Post by Oba »

folem wrote:
Roman Obamovitch wrote:
folem wrote:

Naija may win 1 today.
In what?
Women's +75kg Weightlifting. It's possible.
Thanks! I'm watching it now.

AreaDaddy wrote:Luck and talent as a factor is sports success is dying. It is all about preparation, technical, psychological and financial. Serious nations are already executing plans for 2016 and in some sports for 2020. Nigeria can't compete with that. We may have the odd individual who's passions drives him to succeed in his or her own right but mega success is not happening anytime in the next 10 years.

In 1996 the UK won 1 gold medal in the Olympics since them they have pumped serious money into various sports particularly rowing, cycling and athletics. The cycling center in Manchester is world class and is like a cycling university. They have technical specialist, nutrionist, psychologist and are exposed to high level competition to the extent that when they turn up at the Olympics they are a finely drilled gold medal winning unit.

China, USA, and others will all have variants of this.

Success now comes at a high price, individual commitment is simply not enough. Individual is simply all that Nigeria can offer.
:agree: :agree: :clap: :clap:

Area Daddy you are very smart :glare: :thumbs:
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

folem wrote:Women's +75kg Weightlifting. It's possible.
That girl (Maryam) is some serious $@#%........damn she's built like a tank! :shock: :thumbs:
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.
phantomjournalist

Post by phantomjournalist »

We don't have the superior training, methodology and infrastructure of a lot of these countries. It's not like we don't have the potential.
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

It looks like Maryam might just get onto that bloody medal table.........she jus dey lift anyting wey dem put in front of am! :lol:
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

Kai.....1st fail for Maryam. :(
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

China & Russia no easy at all O! :o
Oba

Post by Oba »

Maryam did 129. The next person after her came and started at 142kg to set the Olympic record. The Russian then came and broke the Olympic record at 144. Now the Chinese is going for 146 to break the record again... she fails... One more attempt.
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

Nigeria is currently in the Bronze position.
Oba

Post by Oba »

The Chinese does it again... breaks the Olympic record again. Now the Russian goes for a world record at 149kg.
Oba

Post by Oba »

World Record 149kg!
Oba

Post by Oba »

The Russian to go again to break her world record.... goes for 151kg!
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

they still have clean and jerk..... so she Usman still has a bit to do..
Oba

Post by Oba »

She does it!!!!
Oba

Post by Oba »

Damn... did y'all see the way the bar seemed to buckle and arch outwards?
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

soothsayer wrote:they still have clean and jerk..... so she Usman still has a bit to do..
Fingers crossed......I hope she does come through and deliver our first medal.

The Ghanaian lifter is in last position. :lol:
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Agoke is doing well against the world champion boxing... please oh please... do it for Nigeria...
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

which one I go watch ohhh... boxing or weightlifting ...?????
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

soothsayer wrote:which one I go watch ohhh... boxing or weightlifting ...?????
Final round in the boxing........weightlifting on a mini break.
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

Boxing - Naija, wins!
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

WOW... that was close. Hope she can snatch a medal... weightlifting resumes