Zhou lulu lifts 181
Re: Day 9 Action

folem wrote:
Babafad wrote:After all that hard work......Maryam finishes LAST, and it wasn't even her fault! :mad:

The coaches have got to answer for this failure......haba!!
No.

She went for broke.

It was Bronze or Nothing.

You have 3 lifts though so why go all out on the first? Especially if C&J is not your strong point. Are the rest of us missing somethings

tfco wrote:small small i dey understand dis one.

i think Maryam should have started at a SAFE weight, then move up

UNLESS the weight she started at was the mandatory starting weight
Exactly, the coaches were doing kidology with armenians, a safe start like the armeninan did, that's what they should have done

Zhou trying trying jer best 187

Omg she does it

Kashirina over to you

wow

Post by folem »

Molue Conductor wrote:
folem wrote:
Babafad wrote:After all that hard work......Maryam finishes LAST, and it wasn't even her fault! :mad:

No.

She went for broke.

You have 3 lifts though so why go all out on the first? Especially if C&J is not your strong point. Are the rest of us missing somethings
Yes. What they do is add up Snatch + Clear & Jerk for the TOTAL which is the Olympic Medal. The other competitors were stronger so she had to go for it. 156 may have been safe but will not win a medal which is what Naija wants. She gave it her all but got beaten.

Kashirina is going to have to gamble...she already has 4 points on Lulu but can lulu lift 191?

Zhou wins gold, Kashirina couldn't lift 187
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

The thing about lifting is that you not only have to lift it, you have to lift it without locking out. Sometimes judges give dodgy decisions, she could have lifted it and got a dodgy decision anyway. You can see that the Russians and Chinese started off with comfortable lifts. Then they upped their game..

Lulu gets Gold...Kashirina fails at 187

Zhou says let's finish it going for 190
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

Dodo wrote:

Exactly, the coaches were doing kidology with armenians, a safe start like the armeninan did, that's what they should have done
I just can't get over this one. It's a massive massive loss. Maryam was well positioned, a little bit of common sense and she would have delivered at least a Bronze medal.

Why, O why???
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.

in hind sight Kashirina should have attempted 184

Babafad wrote:
Dodo wrote:

I just can't get over this one. It's a massive massive loss. Maryam was well positioned, a little bit of common sense and she would have delivered at least a Bronze medal.

Why, O why???
at most

Babafad wrote:
Dodo wrote:

Why, O why???
i think she should have entered at 155 or maybe 150 mpo

but..that's why she has coaches and we be ICC

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

folem wrote:
Molue Conductor wrote:
folem wrote:

No.

She went for broke.

Yes. What they do is add up Snatch + Clear & Jerk for the TOTAL which is the Olympic Medal. The other competitors were stronger so she had to go for it. 156 may have been safe but will not win a medal which is what Naija wants. She gave it her all but got beaten.
Nigeria dropped out totally.. okay what happens if one of the athletes is found to have used druggs?????? where will Nigeria be with no lifts????

folem wrote:
Molue Conductor wrote:
folem wrote:

No.

She went for broke.

But she was 3rd in the Snatch with one point above the Armenian. The Armenian lifted 158 in her first lit so that is all Miriam had to lift to get back to bronze position. And since she lifts after the Armenian all she has to do is match the Armenian's lift, not so?

Okay back to vball italy v Russia 1set all
Italy leading 19-14 in third set
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

soothsayer wrote:
folem wrote:
Molue Conductor wrote:
folem wrote:

No.

She went for broke.

Nigeria dropped out totally.. okay what happens if one of the athletes is found to have used druggs?????? where will Nigeria be with no lifts????
Maryam wasn't even classified. She registered no lift at all in the final stage. So even if 10 of those before her had tested positive, she would have still missed out.
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.
Chingo Bling

Post by Chingo Bling »

Molue Conductor wrote:
folem wrote:
Molue Conductor wrote:
folem wrote:

No.

She went for broke.

But she was 3rd in the Snatch with one point above the Armenian. The Armenian lifted 158 in her first lit so that is all Miriam had to lift to get back to bronze position. And since she lifts after the Armenian all she has to do is match the Armenian's lift, not so?
Not really considering her body weight, she had to lift way more than the Armeninan who eventually lifted 164