Panic Time- Ghosts of Seoul'88 lurking in London

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Re: Panic Time- Ghosts of Seoul'88 lurking in London

We're reaping the fruits of our labour at these games. We sown sparingly in terms of preparation, so I expect us to reap few or no medals.

LEFTIE wrote:With God all things are possible, let us all agree to carry out a night vigil, fast and pray and the collective prayers of a nation of over 120 million people will surely bring us success.
Yup.... fasting and put more money in the offering basket to run faster, jump higher, and get stronger.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Mudi E

Post by Mudi E »

olu wrote:We're reaping the fruits of our labour at these games. We sown sparingly in terms of preparation, so I expect us to reap few or no medals.
Even Blessing Okagbare that ran in the final 100m, Nigeria had nothing to do with her preparation. She went to UTEP (University of Texas El Paso) and now trains in California.
Nigeria shall wallop the dormitable lions

Nigeria has been a dead dog long time ago .... No matter how much una kick am, yab am, analyze am, e no go matter....

Useless Country :roll:

I want to join some of you in saying it's better we didn't win anything but the truth is that won't change a thing...the greed won't lessen one bit. More resourceful ways to chop 'esther's code' will simply show up.

When things don't go well, the fans are blamed for asking the right questions.. Keeping the status quo alive is all that matters to the Estacode Specialists.

wanaj0 wrote:Of course, you don't believe in a holistic approach to solving problems. Same way people like you claimed that Amodu was the problem and was sacked you will win the world cup. Now we know better. Knee jerk reaction will not solve problems. All participants and stakeholders need a change and that include the fans
MI5 wrote:Babafad,

As you can see, spokesmen like Wanajo only speak during key moments... From his defence of the oil subsidy fiasco, defending Amodu, making excuses here and there, now he blames the Athletes for the mess and woes they are dealing with in London at the moment... Status quo is all that matters... More to come... :laugh: :o 8-)

Babafad wrote::lol: :lol:

Very well said, and very well directed, MI5! :thumb: :thumb:
MI5 wrote:You are part of the problem.. Keeping the status quo alive is all that matters to you, nothing else... Now you are blaming the Athletes :laugh: :laugh: Wonders never end...

Roman Obamovitch wrote:
akamoke wrote:Another article shifting blame..

Hey Minister, Its the structure stupid...how do you know the athlete's attitude boils down to staying out late at night..I can assure you Bolt and co spend times at night also, there are other factors that the minister must address instead of panicking by using words like "national pride"
It's funny, I wonder who they're fooling. Do you honestly think a player with real prospect of gold and desire will jeopardise it with a late night? Are our athletes that irrational? If they're in London to complete the numbers, and they know they've got no chance, they might as well have fun.
If the examples of our footballers is anything to follow, YES we have irrational athletes.

That said, we new we are not GOOD enough to win medals so why make fuss now! We have 4years to prepare for another Olympics. But as usual, everyone (fans, admin, athletes) will go to sleep and start to moan come the next Olympics.

So much for setting unrealistic targets... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Roman Obamovitch wrote:
MI5 wrote:
In August 2011 the NOC said it had a budget of $220,000 with the goal of obtaining 11 gold medals at the 2012 Olympic Games. The NOC said that 11 athletes would each receive $4,000 every three months in the lead up to the games, and these payments had started the previous month. The athletes were not named, but were drawn from athletics, weightlifting, canoeing and taekwando.
[/size]
Hang on a second, they started preparing for 11 gold medals in London 2012 in August 2011? Damn, I want some of that good stuff they're smoking! :blink:
Oba

Post by Oba »

platinum wrote:I want to join some of you in saying it's better we didn't win anything but the truth is that won't change a thing...the greed won't lessen one bit. More resourceful ways to chop 'esther's code' will simply show up.
Then things will continue to get worse to the point that competitor numbers drop to zero, so they won't have an excuse to collect estacode. Make no mistake, the status quo will only see things get worse. Competition is heating up for medals.

Exclusive: Panic Grips Nigeria Olympic Team In London As Nigerians Crash Out Of Competitions

http://www.cknnigeria.com/2012/08/exclu ... ympic.html

Panic has gripped the Olympic team camp here in London as fear that this may end up being Nigeria’s worst outing at the Olympics.

What everyone has thought would be a happy outing is now turning into a nightmare with the exit of all Nigeria’s major medal hopefuls in the athletics (Nigeria’s strongest strength).

Last Night, Nigeria’s bright medal hopeful in the 100 meters, Blessing Okagbare came a distance last in the finals of the competition. Other couldn’t make it that far.
Both the male and female competitors fell out of reckoning venue before the quarter final stages.

This is now given those in the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) and the Nigeria Olympic Committee sleepless night.
It was also scooped that the minister of Sports, Bolaji Abdullahi is at a fix as to what to do and have expressed his displeasure at the turn out of event.
Although, the finals of the female boxing,wrestlings,judo and relays are yet to be concluded but it seems all hope is now lost.

All the officials and athletes wore sad long faces when CKN Nigeria visited the camp this morning in London.
Our attempt to speak to the Minister of sports Bolaji Abdullahi and the AFN President Solomon Ogba was unsuccessful.
Other officials were also not ready to talk about the matter since there is a standing order from the Minister that no official should speak to the press.. CKN Nigeria

http://www.cknnigeria.com/2012/08/exclu ... -n19b.html

How Nigeria Squandered N1.9b Chasing None Existing Medals At Olympics..

See Full List Of Beneficiaries

As the London Olympic enters its ninth day and events reached a crescendo ,CKN Nigeria have obtained a complete list of the whole 116 member Nigeria contingent to the event for which over N1.9b of the Nigeria peoples tax money was wasted on, so far with no medals to show for it.

Team Nigeria has a total of 116 members: 55 athletes, 12 coaches, 29 administrators’ officers, 9 medical officials, 5 contingent officials and 6 secretariat officials. Nigeria is featuring in 8 games: basketball, table tennis, athletics, weightlifting, canoe slalom, boxing, wrestling and taekwondo.

Here’s a list of all the members of the Nigerian Team at the 2012 Olympics.

ATHLETICS

100m Women
1. Blessing Okagbare
2. Gloria Asumnu
3. Lawretta Ozoh

200m Women
1. Gloria Asumnu
2. Lawretta Ozoh
3. Christy Udoh

400m – Women
1. Regina George
2. Omolara Omotosho

400m Hurdles Women
1. Ajoke Odumosu

High Jump- Women
1. Doreen Amata

Long Jump
1. Blessing Okagbare

Shot Put
1. Vivian Chukwuemeka

Hepthatlon
1. Uhunoma Naomi Osazuwa

Marathon
1. Esther Obiekwe

100m Hurdles Women
1. Seun Adigun
4 x 100 m Women
1. Blessing Okagbare
2. Gloria Sunmu
3. Lawretta Ozoh
4. Oluwadamola Osayomi
5. Wisdom Isoken
6. Christy Udoh
4 x 400 m Women
1. Regina George
2. Omolara Omotosho
3. Bukola Abogunloko
4. Endurance Abinuwa
5. Idara #$%
6. Margaret Etim

ATHLETICS – Men
100m Men
1. Obinna Joseph Metu
2. Ogho Oghene Egwero
3. Peter Emelieze
100 Hurdles Men
1. Selim Nurudeen
400 m Hurdles Men
1. Ameadi Morton

Triple Jump
1. Oluwatosin Oke
Probation – 200m Men
1. Noah Akwu
2. Stanley Azie
100m Hurdles Women
1. Jessica Ohanaja
2. Stanley Gbageke

Officials
1. Yusuf Alli
2. Innocent Egbunike (Head Coach)
3. Nat Page
4. Gabriel Okon
5. Christopher Doomes
6. Garfield Ellenwood (Personal)
7. Ken Onuaguluchi (Persoanl)
8. Paul Obodochima (Personal)
9. Daniel Etsebimor (Personal)
10. Oluyomi Sule (Personal)
11. Gabriel Opuana (Personal)
12. Solomon Aliu (Personal)
13. Sunday Uti (Personal)
14. Falilat Ogunkoya (Personal)
15. Maria Wophill – Admin. Personnel
16. Chief Solomon Ogba -Team Leader

BASKETBALL
1. Oyedeji Olumide
2. Diogu Ikechukwu Somto
3. Oruche Richard Dean Chukwuma
4. Ugboaja Ejike
5. Dagunduro Adeola Adedokun
6. Oguchi Chamberlain Nnaemeka
7. Aminu Abdul Alade
8. Ibekwe Ekenechukwu
9. Archibong Aniekan Okon
10. Aminu al Farouk
11. Obasohan Derrick Osamuuyi
12. Skinn Anthony Oludewa
13. Ayodele Bakare – Head Coach
14. Sani Ahmed – Coach
15. Francis Gbiri – Admin. Personnel
16. Tijjani Umar – Team Leader

BOXING
1. Akanji Muideen Olalekan – 75kg
2. Lawal Lukmon Olaiwola – 81kg
3. Ogoke Edith Agu (Female) – 75kg
4. Idika Nsofor – Coach
5. Anthony Konyegwachie – Coach
6. Patrick Uwagbale – Admin. Personnel
7. Major-Gen. Tobiah Minimah – Team Leader

CANOEING
1. Jonathan Peter Akinyemi – K1 Slalom
2. Ebenezer Ukwunna – Coach
3. Olubunmi Oluode – Admin. Personnel
4. Rear Adm. Festus Porbeni – Team Leader

TABLE TENNIS

Male
1. Aruna Quadri
2. Segun Toriola
Female
1. Edem Offiong
2. Olufunke Oshonaike

Officials
1. Nosiru Bello – Coach
2. Richard Edem – Coach
3. Segun Oguntade – Admin. Personnel
4. Alhaji Kayode Omotose Team Leader

TAEKWONDO
1. Chika Chukwumerije – +80 kg
2. Isa Mohammed – -68 kg
3. Keum Silwan – Coach
4. Carl Lewis Langan – Coach
5. Chinedu Ezealah – Admin. Personnel
6. Chief Jonathan Nnaji – Team Leader

WEIGHTLIFTING
1. Ekpo Felix Cobham – 77kg
2. Usman Maryam (Female) – +75kg
3. Patrick Bassey – Coach
4. Uche Onwumeh – Admin. Personnel
5. Mr. Chimdi Ejiogu – Team Leader

WRESTLING

Male
1. Boltic Sinivie – 96kg Freestyle
2. d#$% Adibo – 84kg Freestyle

Female
1. Obiajunwa Amarachi – 72kg Freestyle
2. Oborodudu Blessing – 63kg Freestylea

Officials
1. Daniel Igali – Coach
2. Olumide Bamiduro – Admin. Personnel
3. Chief Austin Edeze – Team Leader

CONTINGENT OFFICIALS
1. Malam Bolaji Abdullahi – Hon. Minister of Sports & Leader of Delegation
2. Mr Sani Ndanusa – President Nigeria Olympic Committee
3. Chief Patrick Ekeji – Chef de Mission
4. Hon. Babatunde Popoola – Secretary General, NOC
5. Mr Alhassan Yakmut – Deputy Chef de Mission

MEDICAL TEAM
1. Dr Abdulkadir Mu’azu – Team Doctor & Head Medical
2. Dr Hirekaan Lazarus -Team Doctor
3. Dr. Ibrahim Gyaran – Team Doctor
4. Dr Ken Anugweje – Team Doctor
5. Mr Oladipo Odunuga – Physiotherapist
6. Mr Ekundayo Ogunkule – Physiotherapist
7. Mr Kayode Abdulsalam – Physiotherapist
8. Miss Judith Enebe – Physiotherapist
9. Mrs Nneka Eze – Nurse

SECRETARIAT
1. Manufor Hellen – Administrative Personnel
2. Emmanuel Nweri – Administrative Personnel
3. Augustine Odijie – Administrative Personnel
4. Tony Ubani – Press Attache
5. Emmanuel Igbinosa – Administrative Personnel
6. Olalekan Alabi – Administrative Personnel

http://allafrica.com/stories/201208060531.html

Two Nigerian athletes have said that exposure and encouragement by sports authorities are crucial for Nigerian athletes to excel at international sporting events.

Omolara Omotosho and Regina George, two of Team Nigeria's athletes at the ongoing London Olympic gave the advice in separate interviews with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN).

The athletes spoke after they lost out in the women's 400 metres semi-finals of the Games, after posting encouraging performances a day earlier.

"We want more exposure and encouragement. That is something that will help more Nigerian athletes and it will help us to do better at international competitions," 19-year-old Omotosho stated.

Omotosho who returned from a two-year doping suspension before going on to represent Nigeria at the All-Africa Games in 2011 said that Nigerian athletes needed help.

"It is glaring that we can do better with more exposure and I will implore the Athletic Federation of Nigeria (AFN) and the others to do something in this regard," she said.

George agreed with Omotosho's submissions, saying she was hopeful of getting more support to be able to appear in future international meets.

"I am looking forward to running more after the Olympics. That is how I can keep up my performance and more support will be needed for this," she said.

NAN reports that George had competed for the U.S. at the World Junior Relays in 2010 but she later opted to switch allegiance to Nigeria since she has dual citizenship.

The student of Psychology at the University of Arkansas was cleared to compete for Nigeria last June.

Roman Obamovitch wrote:
platinum wrote:I want to join some of you in saying it's better we didn't win anything but the truth is that won't change a thing...the greed won't lessen one bit. More resourceful ways to chop 'esther's code' will simply show up.
Then things will continue to get worse to the point that competitor numbers drop to zero, so they won't have an excuse to collect estacode. Make no mistake, the status quo will only see things get worse. Competition is heating up for medals.

No. It never gets to that. Those old enough to attest have seen this movie before...Nigeria has too much in terms of natural resources. There's always a rose in the concrete. It never fails to cover our a$$es.
Oba

Post by Oba »

Roman Obamovitch wrote:

No. It never gets to that. Those old enough to attest have seen this movie before...Nigeria has too much in terms of natural resources. There's always a rose in the concrete. It never fails to cover our a$$es.
The world is getting more competitive. Once upon a time, we taught qualifying for football events was a given. Now, even our women's team that won the first 8 African titles cannot qualify for international events against a Cameroon that is truly piss poor.

Cheii one day to go no medals yet? :mad:
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

mastermind wrote:
Roman Obamovitch wrote:Soothsayer, in sports today, every applicable area of professional human endeavour is drawn upon to get just that little bit better, on the path to becoming world class.

Football clubs today no longer hire simple 'Statisticians' to support the team, they have some have professional phd-holding Financial engineers (the kind that investment banks hire to work with data miners to develop exotic financial product to make a billion dollars out of one million. Their databases include thousands of variables and data that they collect. It's no longer simple data that you find on opta sports like a player's distance covered, shots on target, acceleration, heading accuracy. They'd collect even stuff like the range of the directionality of passing, heart rate of player, and even in terms of runs, how often the player makes burst, duration of bursts, how often the player is open to an easy pass, etc.

Beyond just training on the football pitch, apps are designed to test and work on range of vision, reflexes, anticipation of both your teammate's and your opponent's next move.

In physical conditioning, they know the state of every muscle in your body. They know the tissue type that you have (Type I, or IIa etc), how that muscle is likely to perform in physical activity and what exercise is ideal for a particular player's Satorius and Gracilis muscles. They have your full training records.

On the tactical front, it's the same thing, the England player watch videos and technical analysis of every penalty ever taken by all the Italian players and his penalty training was tailored specifically to the players he was likely to face (ok, in this case, it didn't work for England, but I'd bet top dollar Italy also had a similar technical level of training and prep for penalties against England).

Even science goes into the sports kit to eke out that extra advantage (we just accept whatever adidas gives us). For some events, or matches, even the air that players breathe, is controlled in the build up to the event), not just things like their food and water intake, sleep patterns, the mattress they sleep on, their REM cycles, etc. It's all this that goes into making someone WORLD CLASS. And as new frontiers open in possibilities, people look for ways to deploy them to get even better. Watch how with improvements in augmented reality technology, holographic imaging, etc, these get deployed in player development.

But they don't stop at what they know already, their constantly evaluating their techniques and doing research, experimenting and finding room for improvement. Because technology has even accelerated things in the recent past, expect the gap to expand further until we wake up and smell the coffee and adopt the fundamental principles and ideology that would allow for such a level of innovation and development of athletes and people in general. Don't be surprised if 5 years down the you see an image of Arsenal players putting on spectacles similar to google's Project Glass (google it and watch the video), running up and down a field, making insane one-touch pass/run/collect/shoot moves, seemingly avoiding obstacles no one else can see but the player. Gold medal no be beans... literally.
PHD holders can't even keep up anymore, they're now using BI, predictive analysis and forecasting tools of different kind to analyze sport.

Bro, the PhD holders write the algorithms used n the predictive and forecasting tools. There are numerous performance analysis tools on the open market that you can buy, but they cost a fortune to deploy and a typical performance analysis operator is very expensive to employ.

I don't think Nigeria will be winning anything in the foreseeable future. Modern sport has moved beyond the abilities of the like of Amodu and Pa Oni.