DID KILLING INTER-HOUSE SPORTS DOOM OUR TRACK N FIELD??

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA
Eaglet
Eaglet
DID KILLING INTER-HOUSE SPORTS DOOM OUR TRACK N FIELD??

Post by EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA »

When i was a student at ISI in Ibadan there was a student name Fumilade who was so fast he ruled the school and the state in 100m,200m and often anchored our relay teams to victory. Fumilade's day to shine was always during the annual inter house sports. Everybody wanted to dethrone him but none ever got close,his fasted time in 100m was(about) 11secs.

Fumilade never did become a track star or a professional sprinter but he was a big part of a generation of young athletes that pushed our best athletes to perform at their best at the national intercollegiate meet that was then arranged by the NSC. In fact, fumilade never finished in the top 3 at the national finals. He came in 5th with 10.7-but he helped push the top 3 to their best. They later went one to rep Nigeria at the all africa games while forming one of the most formidable generation of sprinters we've ever had.

what happenned to that process? We had track coaches,equipment etc..those that had talent were trained well, encouraged and rewarded. Most importantly there were always representatives from the NSC to watch and give out prices.

What happenned?
OCCUPY NFF!!
Mr. Piffington
Eaglet
Eaglet
Re: DID KILLING INTER-HOUSE SPORTS DOOM OUR TRACK N FIELD??

Post by Mr. Piffington »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:When i was a student at ISI in Ibadan there was a student name Fumilade who was so fast he ruled the school and the state in 100m,200m and often anchored our relay teams to victory. Fumilade's day to shine was always during the annual inter house sports. Everybody wanted to dethrone him but none ever got close,his fasted time in 100m was(about) 11secs.