YNWA
heavyd
Re: Nigerians competing for other countries

Post by heavyd »

Get to Know Nigerian Athletes on British Olympic Teams

Philips Idowu
The 33-year-old triple jumper was born to Nigerian parents and grew up in Hackney, in East London. He is the 2009 world champion, the 2008 World Indoor champion and reigning 2010 EAA European champion. He won gold at the 2006 Commonwealth Games and silver at the Beijing Olympics.

James Dasaolu
Born in 1987 to Nigerian parents, Akintola and Abosede. He grew up in Loughborough, England and will feature for Great Britain in the 100 metres and 4x100m relay. His 100m win at the European Athletics permit meet in Geneva last month placed him among the top European sprinters for the first time. His new personal best time of 10.09 seconds made him joint second, with Simeon Williamson, in the season’s 100 m European rankings. He has twice come close to beating European champion Dwayne Chambers at major events in recent time.

Andrew Osagie
He is currently the UK’s 800m Champion and British No.1 on merit. In February 2011, he replaced Sebastian Coe as third on the UK All-time list for 1000 metres indoors and moved to 5th on the UK All-time list for 800m indoors. He won bronze at the 2012 World Indoor Championships in Istanbul.

Lawrence Okoye
Okoye is the British record holder in discus with 68.24 metres throw at the Hallesche Werfertage Meeting in May 2012. He had a promising career as a junior rugby player until September 2010 when he fully turned to discus. He won gold at the 2011 European Athletics U-23 Championships in July last year. His father is a Nigerian entrepreneur and mother a Home Office official.

Abdul Buhari
Born in Nigeria on the June 26, 1982, Buhari is a British athlete who competes in the discus throw. He started as a 400m runner but injury forced him to change to discus throwing in 2002. He has had 50 podium finishes since turning to discus for nine years and during that times he has had over 50. His personal best of 65.44m placed him third in the All-time British history breaking club record and climbing to top 25 ranked athlete in the world.

Abiodun Oyepitan
The 32-year-old was born in Westminster and runs the 100m and 200m. She won the 4x100m gold and silver in the 200m at the 2010 Commonwealth Games

Anyika Onuora
The 27-year-old specialises in the 100 and 200 metres, and also the 4Ã-100 metres relay. She is the sister of former footballer, Iffy Onuora, who recently managed the Ethiopia national football team. She won silver at the 2006 Commonwealth Games.

Margaret Adeoye
Born in April, 1985, Adeoye will compete in the 200m. She qualified for the Olympics with her personal best of 23.09 seconds in the qualifying heat in June. She eventually won the event on the same day.

Christine Ohuruogu
She is a Beijing Olympics gold medalist in the 400m born to Igbo parents in Newham, East London. She has gold and bronze at the World Championships and also gold in 4x400m at the 2012 World Indoors Championships in Istanbul. She won gold in the 2012 Diamond League.

Marilyn Okoro
Okoro will compete in the 4x400m. The 28-year-old is a bronze medalist at the 2007 World Championship in Osaka, Japan; she also won silver at the 2011 European Indoor Championships in Paris.

Eniola Aluko
Born in Lagos but moved with her family to Birmingham when she was one year old. Since she grew up in England, she chose to represent England at international level. She’s a member of the English Olympic Football team and a sister to Super Eagles players Omatsone Aluko.
Another member of the British Olympic football team is Ifeoma Dieke who was actually born in Massachusetts, USA to Nigerian parents Ken and Edith Dieke in 1981. She moved to Scotland when she was three years old.

Temi Fagbenle
Born to Nigerian father, Tunde and mother Buki, Temi 19 year old Temi Fagbenle was among a group of 12 players who were selected to represent Great Britain in the women’s basketball competition at the Olympics.

Anthony Ogogo
His fullname is Anthony Osezua Ogogo. He will represent Britain in Boxing, fighting in the 75kg Middleweight category. He is half Nigerian half British, born to an English mother and Nigerian father.

Anthony Joshua
Also representing Britain in boxing. His parents are of Nigerian descent. grew up in Watford, but moved to London aged 14, to live with his aunt, having spent six months in boarding school in Nigeria.

Peter Bakare
Peter Bakare is also a part of Britain’s men’s Volleyball team.

Dami Bakare
Dami Bakare is in Britain’s men’s volleyball team. He was born in Kaduna, Nigeria
YNWA

Majority are British-Born to Nigerian Parents. They are competing for their country of Birth.

fabio wrote:Majority are British-Born to Nigerian Parents. They are competing for their country of Birth.
The thing is...if Nigeria was a decent country...Britain wouln't have all these talents, while if we were a decent country, we would probably even have talents that are far better than these guys.

Yes they are born in Britain, but look at the percentage of Nigerians in Britain, why are there so many people of Nigerian heritage in their team. They are benefiting from our state.

As soon as Nigeria becomes a decent country, no more Christine Ohuruogu's...no more Philips Idowu's

Even if they are born in Britain..10 times over..it is still our genes they are using. we need to put a stop to that and patent our genes. Britain will cry when we become a decent country.

And if it wasn't for Slave trade....who knows how many medals America will have lost out on

Genetic thieves. We should start stealing their oyibo Swimmers.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Fabio - they are still Nigerians by Ancestry. They could choose to perform for Nigeria if they wanted to.
YNWA
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

Tbite wrote:
fabio wrote:Majority are British-Born to Nigerian Parents. They are competing for their country of Birth.
The thing is...if Nigeria was a decent country...Britain wouln't have all these talents, while if we were a decent country, we would probably even have talents that are far better than these guys.

Yes they are born in Britain, but look at the percentage of Nigerians in Britain, why are there so many people of Nigerian heritage in their team. They are benefiting from our state.

As soon as Nigeria becomes a decent country, no more Christine Ohuruogu's...no more Philips Idowu's

Even if they are born in Britain..10 times over..it is still our genes they are using. we need to put a stop to that and patent our genes. Britain will cry when we become a decent country.

And if it wasn't for Slave trade....who knows how many medals America will have lost out on

Genetic thieves. We should start stealing their oyibo Swimmers.

Now wouldnt that be something! :laugh: :laugh:
YNWA
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

if Nigeria was okay they would probably have been born in Nigeria and wouldn't even have considered competing for
these nations. We should accept our losses and start looking to solve the problem by improving the conditions in
Nigeria to allow our local athletes to be competitive. We still produce talent, problem is we don't produce the
best out of them or worse still we neglect them.
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Why are we focusing on other nation's investment? Why can't we invest on the current and up and coming Nigerian athetics? These guys are trained by the British and they should rip the benefit. The guys in London are complaining about low daily wage, but people said it's enough...lol. Most of them would not think twice before defaulting to other countries that is willing to spend a little bit more money on them.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

mastermind wrote:Why are we focusing on other nation's investment? Why can't we invest on the current and up and coming Nigerian athetics? These guys are trained by the British and they should rip the benefit. The guys in London are complaining about low daily wage, but people said it's enough...lol. Most of them would not think twice before defaulting to other countries that is willing to spend a little bit more money on them.

abi ohh... it sounds like a very typical short term solution ...
but unlikely to work except for athletes that have already been
rejected. It almost sounds very similar to how our football ended up...
neglect of our domestic league and reliance on foreigners to train up
our talent. Even if it worked, do you think Brits will like it, there will
be a nasty backlash by the sports authorities to future Nigerian-born
athletes..

....until stories like these saturate Nigerian dailies and shame the thieves at the top, it's gonna be samething as usual.

heavyd wrote:Fabio - they are still Nigerians by Ancestry. They could choose to perform for Nigeria if they wanted to.
Yeah but they didn't. Let's just move on.

mcal wrote:....until stories like these saturate Nigerian dailies and shame the thieves at the top, it's gonna be samething as usual.
KPOM!!!! KPOM!!!!!!!! KPOM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Oba

Post by Oba »

soothsayer wrote:if Nigeria was okay they would probably have been born in Nigeria and wouldn't even have considered competing for
these nations. We should accept our losses and start looking to solve the problem by improving the conditions in
Nigeria to allow our local athletes to be competitive. We still produce talent, problem is we don't produce the
Don't be so sure... Not everyone migrates for economic reasons. Even if Nigeria were ok, and their parents stayed in Naija, they may not have been born to begin with! Their parents may never have met!

JuJuMan wrote:Image
:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: Jujuman, did you put this photolist together yourelf or did you lift it from somewhere?
Because I think this should be made into a huge story in Nigerian newspapers after the Olympics when the post-mortem investigations begin...
Not that difficult.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Roman Obamovitch wrote:
soothsayer wrote:if Nigeria was okay they would probably have been born in Nigeria and wouldn't even have considered competing for
Don't be so sure... Not everyone migrates for economic reasons. Even if Nigeria were ok, and their parents stayed in Naija, they may not have been born to begin with! Their parents may never have met!
true..
phantomjournalist

Post by phantomjournalist »

I wonder how that Danielle Alakija chick ended up running for Fiji. Not to mention that she is one of the youngest competitors at the games.

Akinradewo is on there twice and I'm pretty sure Obikwelu represents Portugal and is not at these Olympic games.

Anyway, if these athletes were trained in Nigeria, they would not be as successful as they are in what they do. Genetically, what differentiates them from the 180 million people living in Nigeria? Nothing, other than funding, advanced training methods, infrastructure, nutrition, physiotherapy, science etc. The problem has nothing to do with "Nigerians competing for other countries". You think we don't have potential Tyson Gays and Asafa Powells somewhere within out population? We just lack the organization to achieve success at the highest level.
Blue is the color.
Killa Adjei wrote: Barcelona won the champions league something your useless team can only touch in their dreams..
%$#@^& moron.

What a weird thread. You guys need to go to sleep. Stalking foreigners and claiming them because they have atleast one parent who was born in Nigeria is a sign of desperation, go and develop your own talent and stop waiting on foreigners to do your work for you.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Mr. Piffington wrote:What a weird thread. You guys need to go to sleep. Stalking foreigners and claiming them because they have atleast one parent who was born in Nigeria is a sign of desperation, go and develop your own talent and stop waiting on foreigners to do your work for you.
abi o... desperation,
no guarantee they will get the best out of them if they
represented Nigeria anyway, we probably be
the first to abuse them for being rubbish and rejects.
i.e our basketball team.
sabb

Post by sabb »

this is no big deal, naija pipul plenty and we travel well and wide. am happy for dem and this also shows that we do have talent just not the right infrastructures in place to groom the naijas at home. In due time those at home will start stepping up
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

Damunk wrote: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: Jujuman, did you put this photolist together yourelf or did you lift it from somewhere?
Because I think this should be made into a huge story in Nigerian newspapers after the Olympics when the post-mortem investigations begin...
Not that difficult.
lol ...no o, i lifted it from facebook
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
segebaba

Post by segebaba »

mcal wrote:....until stories like these saturate Nigerian dailies and shame the thieves at the top, it's gonna be samething as usual.
Did you say shame and naija thieves in the same sentence?? :rotf: :rotf: Naija is the only country where public officials refuse to resign even after being caught stealing or what have you....shame ke? they have no shame o.....
those who fail to plan, plan to fail........

"Valdez comes out & spits the verbiage like Mussolini at the balcony", lol...
"Puyol almost got caught w his knickers down" Lmao!
"Messi could follow u into a revovling door and still come out first"
"It's the maestro himself, the puppeteer who turns into the daggerman..", lol...

I am proud of all these folks. More power to them and I wish them all the best.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna