GOLD - Kiprotich Stunned the Kenyans in the Marathon

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
Unbelievable stuff.

Kiprotich Wins Olympic Gold

By Moses Walubiri and Agencies
Uganda's Stephen Kiprotich stunned a strong Kenyan team to win the men's Olympic marathon, handing his east African nation only their second ever gold medal.

Kiprotich timed 2hr 08min 01sec on the spectacular course around the streets of central London, with two-time defending world champion Abel Kirui claiming silver in 2:08.27.

Another Kenyan, long-time leader Wilson Kipsang, took bronze in 2:09.37.

It was Uganda's second ever Olympic gold medal after John Akii-Bua won the 400m hurdles in the 1972 Games in Munich, with the east African country's only other medal a bronze from 400m runner Davis Kamonga in 1996.

"I am very happy to win a medal for my country," beamed Kiprotich. "I love my people. Ugandans are very happy because we hadn't won a medal in marathon races.

"The pace was too fast and I knew I could not run away from them so I just had to keep up with them (Kipsang and kirui).

"I tried to settle and then I had to break away because I wanted to win this medal."

Brazilian Franck De Almeida went through 10km in 30:38 in a race billed as a battle between Kenya and Ethiopia.

But the Ethiopian team's tactics were dealt an early blow with Dino Sefir falling well off the pace, as Kipsang reeled in the Brazilian pace setter.

Kipsang, the 2012 London Marathon winner then built up a lead on the peloton, going through the halfway mark in 1:03.15, 16sec ahead of the chasing pack.

The Kenyan built that lead up to 30sec on the stunning course, designed to take in as many of the British capital's main sights as possible.

By the 23km mark in sweltering conditions, a second Ethiopian, Getu Feleke, was beginning to flag and had fallen off the chasing pack's pace.

In front of thousands of spectators packed 10-deep in some places, Kiprotichset off in pursuit of Kipsang, splintering the pack in the hunt for a podium place.

Kirui and Ethiopia's Dubai marathon winner Ayele Abshero followed, and the trio cut Kipsang's lead to just 11sec, and then pulled level at 25km.

Abshero struggled to stay level and dropped 36sec by the 30km stage, Brazilian Marilson Dos Santos overtaking him into fourth.

As the leading trio went through the gilded, covered Leadenhall Market for the final time with 7km to go, the Kenyans upped the pace to shake off Kiprotich.

Japan's Kentaro Nakamoto and the sole American left in the field, Eritrean-born Meb Keflezighi, were in position to challenge for a podium should anyone hit the wall in the final few miles.

But up front, the two Kenyans were caught napping :laugh: as Kiprotich showed a dramatic change of pace to surge to the front in an audacious ambush at 32km, and was quickly 200m ahead.

Kiprotich, who has moved to the famed Eldoret region of the Kenya's Rift Valley to train with former world 5000m champion Eliud Kipchoge, accelerated away, a brief look back over his shoulder confirming his position at the head of the field.

Going into the final 2km, the 23-year-old Ugandan was 20sec ahead of Kirui, and he had enough time to grab an Ugandan flag on his last time entering the Mall, in the shadow of Buckingham Palace, draping it around his shoulders as he crossed the line for a convincing victory. :clap: :clap: :clap:

http://www.newvision.co.ug/news/634034- ... -gold.html
Re: GOLD - Kiprotich Stunned the Kenyans in the Marathon

Kabalenga is he from that famous valley which produces so many kenyan runners :sneaky:

Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Yaaaay Uganda! Since I grew up there, I am claiming this Gold by association.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?

Does Nigeria not bother with marathons or something. Even little Zim represented in the Marathon. Our boys came 7th and 15th 8-)

Kabalega The Kenyan and Ugandan Kiprotichs are they related

Y'all stole our Kalenjins. We want them back ! :taunt: Not since Akii Bua has Uganda won anything worth a flip. Congrats bro!
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz

Samora Moises Machel wrote:Does Nigeria not bother with marathons or something. Even little Zim represented in the Marathon. Our boys came 7th and 15th 8-)

Nigerians believe (wrongly) that they cannot run the long distance races. They believe in their hearts that they are sprinters. Yet only the Igbos and "Easten" folks do the sprints. They should engage the other 78% of the population in long distance races. Nigeria is one big untapped talented country. Even the potential for making money there is unfathomable! It only takes preparation so that you can meet the opportunity that's waiting with open arms!
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz

Samora Moises Machel wrote:Does Nigeria not bother with marathons or something. Even little Zim represented in the Marathon. Our boys came 7th and 15th 8-)

]
No they are not related. They are from the same tribe.

Colonel Adamu wrote:Y'all stole our Kalenjins. We want them back ! :taunt: Not since Akii Bua has Uganda won anything worth a flip. Congrats bro!
Thanks.
Davis Kamoga pushed Carl Lewis to the limit in Atlanta only to go home with a bronze.

BTW, he's not Kalenjin. :)
folem

Post by folem »

Colonel Adamu wrote: Nigerians believe (wrongly) that they cannot run the long distance races. They believe in their hearts that they are sprinters. Yet only the Igbos and "Easten" folks do the sprints. They should engage the other 78% of the population in long distance races. Nigeria is one big untapped talented country. Even the potential for making money there is unfathomable! It only takes preparation so that you can meet the opportunity that's waiting with open arms!
Your ignorance is very dangerous on a Nigerian forum. :lol: :lol:

The Nigerian and African record in 100m is not held by Igbo or 'Easten' (sic) person.

Naija have competed at Olympic Marathons before in 1984, 1988, and a lady was supposed to compete at this Olympics but for some technicalities.
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

folem wrote:
Colonel Adamu wrote: Nigerians believe (wrongly) that they cannot run the long distance races. They believe in their hearts that they are sprinters. Yet only the Igbos and "Easten" folks do the sprints. They should engage the other 78% of the population in long distance races. Nigeria is one big untapped talented country. Even the potential for making money there is unfathomable! It only takes preparation so that you can meet the opportunity that's waiting with open arms!
Your ignorance is very dangerous on a Nigerian forum. :lol: :lol:

The Nigerian and African record in 100m is not held by Igbo or 'Easten' (sic) person.

Naija have competed at Olympic Marathons before in 1984, 1988, and a lady was supposed to compete at this Olympics but for some technicalities.

What the......... :shock:

Kabalega wrote:

]
Are you sure Kabalega? My Ugandan buddy tells me they are blood brothers. He says they took refuge in Kenya during "troubled times" (quoting from text he sent me) and then chose to run for different countries.

ohsee wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

]
Are you sure Kabalega? My Ugandan buddy tells me they are blood brothers. He says they took refuge in Kenya during "troubled times" (quoting from text he sent me) and then chose to run for different countries.
he's either pulling your leg Cassius or misinformed... they are not related Cassius
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Nice feeling for Uganda, they play national anthem of the marathon winner at the end of the olympics...
folem

Post by folem »

http://www.newvision.co.ug/news/634039- ... otich.html

Vision Group launches cash prize drive for Kiprotich
VISION Group has launched a cash prize drive for Stephen Kiprotich, the Ugandan athlete who won a gold medal in the Olympic Marathon race.

The drive has so far yielded $100,000 (about sh250m) from a number of corporates that instantly responded to the appeal.

“I am very grateful to all my CEO colleagues who responded to this appeal immediately. I am also appealing to other corporates and the public to join this Kiprotich cash prize drive which is going to last 7 days,” Kabushenga said adding; “Our target is to raise $500,000 as cash prize for Kiprotich. Our head of marketing Susan Nsibirwa will be coordinating this exercise. She can be reached on 0782-700000 or [email protected]

Kiprotich produced a devastating kick with 7km remaining to kill off any Kenyan hopes of a victory, going on to time 2hr 08min 01sec on the spectacular course around the streets of central London in hot and humid conditions.

Kiprotich's gold was Uganda’s second, the last coming 40 years ago when John Akii-Bua won gold in the 400m hurdle at the Munich Games.

Stephen Kiprotich's parents couldnt hide their joy following his exploits in London

“Let us show gratitude to Kiprotich. He has given us gold for our golden jubilee. He has made us really proud as Ugandans. We should celebrate our national heroes so they know they are treasured,” said Kabushenga.

“My appeal to the Minister of Finance is to exempt Kiprotich’s cash prize from being taxed,” Kabushenga said.

As soon as the news of Kiprotich’s win came through, Prime Minister, Amama Mbabazi congratulated him on Twitter. “Stephen Kiprotich, congratulations! Well done. Uganda is proud of you,” said Mbabazi.

The NSSF chief Richard Byaruhanga said: “We are thrilled by his monumental achievement 40 years later.”

“Crown Beverages Limited would like to congratulate Stephen Kiprotich and has offered a $10,000 cash prize for this exemplary performance. His ability to date for more at the last hour mirrors Pepsi’s ability to dare for more. He has made us proud at a time when we shall be celebrating 50 years as a country,” said the company’s CEO, Simon Lugoloobi.

“This is a great achievement for Uganda and success breeds success. I can confirm our contribution of $10,000 from the MTN,” said Ernst Fonternel, the MTN chief marketing manager.

“DFCU is committed to developing talent in Uganda and supporting the youth to enhance their goals,” said William Ssekabembe, the DFCU head of consumer banking, in a congratulatory statement last evening in it announced a contribution of $10,000.

Multichoice Uganda has agreed to give him prizes in kind worth $1,500.

Contributors

1. Vision Group - $10,000

2. Tullow Oil - $10,000

3. NSSF - $10,000

4. MTN - $10,000

5. Crane Bank/Ruperalia Foundation - $10,000

6. Crown Beverages Ltd, - $10,000

7. DFCU bank - $10,000

8. Crown Beverages Ltd. - $10,000

9. Mukwano Industries (Aqua Sipi water) - $10,000

10. Stanbic Bank - $5,000

11. Bank of Uganda – Sh10m

12. Standard Chartered – Sh10m

13. Kampala Casino/Pyramids – Sh5m

14. White Showmans Ltd. – Sh5m

15. Mountains of the Moon Hotel – Unspecified amount

16. Newrest/ Ugandainflite Service – Unspecified amount

The Sponsors of Team Uganda, Uganda’s Olympic team, included New Vision, Stanbic, British Airways and Umeme.
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Robert Kabushenga, the CEO of Vision Group is a family friend. I am proud of him for showing us all what private people can do.

The only mention of Government in the above article is an appeal from the organizer of the funding drive for Government not to tax the donations.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

King Futcha wrote:
ohsee wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

]
he's either pulling your leg Cassius or misinformed... they are not related Cassius
Or Pa Ohsee's memory is playing tricks on him, and the conversation with his friend was about the brothers Moody and Aggrey Awori, one of whom was a Ugandan cabinet minister while the other was a Kenyan vice-president ....
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

ohsee wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

]
:lol: :lol: :lol: Your Ugandan buddy is a joker. :laugh:

Kiprotich is a common Kalenjin name which means "one who brings the cows home in the evening." Golden boy, Stephen was born in Kapchorwa district on the slopes of Mt. Elgon in Uganda. The Sebei or Sabiny are a subgroup of the Kalenjin and speak a Kalenjin dialect called Kupsabiny. Stephen went to Kenya 6 years ago to train with challenging competitors at good facilities.

The Eagle wrote:
King Futcha wrote:
ohsee wrote:
Kabalega wrote:

]
Or Pa Ohsee's memory is playing tricks on him, and the conversation with his friend was about the brothers Moody and Aggrey Awori, one of whom was a Ugandan cabinet minister while the other was a Kenyan vice-president ....
How come you know about these brothers?
KB

Post by KB »

Uganda Olympic champion Kiprotich given hero's welcome
Kiprotich travelled in open-top car with the number plate "UG GOLD"

Crowds in Uganda have given a hero's welcome to Stephen Kiprotich, the country's first Olympic gold medal winner in 40 years.

Kiprotich, a prison warden who won the men's marathon on Sunday, was then presented with a cheque for $80,000 (£51,000) by President Yoweri Museveni.

He was also promoted nine ranks to become an assistant superintendent in the prisons service. :shock: (Just like that? Without training? Ok. Colonel Adamu, you now know what to do to be promoted Field Marshal in the KDF)
Mr Museveni promised that more would be done to invest in athletes in future.

Convoy blocked

The BBC's Catherine Byaruhanga in Entebbe says people lined the street as Kiprotich waved from an open-top car with the personalised number plate "UG GOLD".

At one stage the convoy was forced to stop by the crowds blocking the road on the way to State House, where Kiprotich had breakfast with the president, she says.

After Kiprotich was presented with the cheque, he asked the president if he would build a house for his parents in north-eastern Kapchorwa district. Mr Museveni agreed that a three-bedroom house would be constructed. :thumb: :thumb:

The president also admitted that funding in sports had suffered as the country had concentrated on development projects such as building schools and roads.

But he promised that in future all athletes who won international medals would receive a 1m Ugandan shillings (about $400) monthly stipend to help them train.

A high-altitude training school would also be built, he promised.

Correspondents say the reaction in Uganda to Kiprotich's victory has been euphoric.

The state-owned Vision media group set up a fund to raise prize money for the runner after he won on Sunday - and in three hours raised more than $100,000 - it aims to make it to $500,000.

Uganda's last Olympic champion was 400m hurdler John Akii-Bua, who won gold at Munich in 1972.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-19266144
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3