Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

goke313
Olympic basketballer Al Farouq Aminu disowns Nigeria

Post by goke313 »

Al Farouq seems to be confused…
Somebody help us…we need to clarify things here…
Nigeria’s Olympic Basketball team player Al Farouq Aminu was recently approached by US celebrity news website TMZ and asked about his nationality.
Aminu clearly stated he wasn’t a Nigerian and had never stepped foot inside the country. He however divulged that his father is and as such, he has the right to play for Nigeria due to dual nationality.
‘I’m originally from Atlanta, Georgia but my dad is Nigerian’, the former LA Clippers player said.
Aminu who current plays as a small forward in the US for the New Orleans Hornets, played in all five games for the Nigerian Basketball Team in the London 2012 Olympics.
Check out the video below…
P.S: TMZ in the course of their comedic staff discussion make reference to the overplayed Nigerian scam situation..

Re: Olympic basketballer Al Farouq Aminu disowns Nigeria

These are the kinds of people that you guys expect to play for Naija.

ok, how and where did he disown Naija :?

he's never been....but he wants to go...AND he has repped Naija.

end of

Player

Post by Player »

And you guys are taking this seriously kid is only like 21... :rotf: :rotf: , Al Farouq has said that he plans to visit Nigeria, and his brother Alade wants to keep playing for Naija in future...
Last edited by Player on Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Nothing surprising about this. I also don't consider it a "disowning", since that is the standard response for many kids of immigrants (especially naija immigrants) in Yankee.

A man can say anything, but his actions are what counts. He played for Naija. It may have been because it was his only chance to go to the Olympics, but hey, he put on the Green and he left everything on the floor.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
KingLoku

Post by KingLoku »

Nonsense !
No weapon that is formed against me shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against me in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord. (Isaiah 54:17 KJV)

Listen up guys, you better insist on letting your USA born kids letting people know that they are 100 percent American, pure and simple, even though their parents are from Nigeria. I know this from experience when my son's middle school teacher, without asking anybody, edited my son's biographic essay to read that my son was BORN in Nigeria! My son of course was born in Pasadena, California. Get you children to know that they can get everything USA, and that Naija na jara, just like the Aminu bros are benefiting!

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Damn, that was a funny segment. :rotf:

Player

Post by Player »

From Al-Farouq himself...
We didn’t do everything I had planned this year 9ja but know me and the team will keep pushing to make y’all proud.
"The house Negro and the field Negro sat at dinner, when the field Negro turned his head, the house Negro put some poison in his food but the field Negro saw him do it and when the house Negro turned his head, the field Negro "turned the tray around."

Only God knows what he went through in camp dealing with those rogue and crooked officials from the so called Team Nigeria...
K

Post by K »

Player wrote:From Al-Farouq himself...
We didn’t do everything I had planned this year 9ja but know me and the team will keep pushing to make y’all proud.
Going by his tweets, he couldnt have been more proud

https://twitter.com/farouq1
visit the village square