The Olympics have me proud to be British
Moderator: Moderator Team
- Comrade Machel
The Olympics have me proud to be British

I am very proud of the way we handled the whole thing. The television coverage was top notch. Don't even get me started on the attendance

Its with great sadness i am putting my Union Jack flag in the cupboard until the next opportunity to wave it around and hang it outside the window presents itself. As i am typing i am enjoying a nice hot cup of tea and biscuits to wind down such a glorious Olympics. I am teary eyed with pride but one does have to maintain a stiff upper lip in such moments you see
See you at Rio 2014 where the lads Terry, Cole, Rooney and others will pick up where the Olympians left off and bring football home
Forever the Queens humble subject
Samora
God save the queen

Re: The Olympics have me proud to be British
Man, I'm inspired! Great Job GB!
They did a brilliant job hope it reflects on the economy. Great country , great people. Everybody played their individual roles from volunteers to sport men and women to fans and finally to government. Great job
Uncle toms! 

The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong
who got it going on
You're dead wrong
Proud to be kini ko??
The London Olympics is the most disorganized and/or worst organized (pick one) games since 1976!
Great Britain should be ashamed of themselves
The London Olympics is the most disorganized and/or worst organized (pick one) games since 1976!
Great Britain should be ashamed of themselves

Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes. The whole Brazilian segment at the end was almost retarded. They should have just had Pele there to symbolize the transfer from London to Brazil. All that other stuff should have been left for the opening show in Brazil. We are still in London stick to London. And besides if you are going to highlight Brazilian culture do it in such a way that will not have folks canceling their tickets to Rio. They had the women in the craziest outfits ever. If you want to perform that dance celebrate the culture, bring authentic Brazilian babes in proper costume of near nakedness.
That is my little critique of tonight. All in all, a very good games. I will give London an A- for organization and a B+ for overall production. (Tonight's closing ceremony I will give C and that is a generous grade. Wonder why groups like Oasis with only Noel singing were highlighted while David Bowie, Sir Elton John and THE Rolling Stones were absent.)

To conquer one's self is the most noble victory; to be vanquished by one's own nature is the worst and most ignoble defeat. (Plato)
the next host always does a presentation at the closing ceremony and that was all Brazilian,mke1010 wrote:London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes. The whole Brazilian segment at the end was almost retarded. They should have just had Pele there to symbolize the transfer from London to Brazil. All that other stuff should have been left for the opening show in Brazil. We are still in London stick to London. And besides if you are going to highlight Brazilian culture do it in such a way that will not have folks canceling their tickets to Rio. They had the women in the craziest outfits ever. If you want to perform that dance celebrate the culture, bring authentic Brazilian babes in proper costume of near nakedness.![]()
Thanks. I was aware that each Olympics has a moment in the closing ceremony to symbolize the passing of the torch. My memory fails to recall a previous closing ceremony where the next country host had the time and depth of participation as we saw from brazil tonight. Are you sure it was Brazil from the planning to the clothing to the dancers to music. Are you 100% sure? The Brits had zero input? I am asking becos if I were the Brits I would not allow such a performance be part of the show for the period it was given.Dodo wrote:the next host always does a presentation at the closing ceremony and that was all Brazilian,mke1010 wrote:London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes. The whole Brazilian segment at the end was almost retarded. They should have just had Pele there to symbolize the transfer from London to Brazil. All that other stuff should have been left for the opening show in Brazil. We are still in London stick to London. And besides if you are going to highlight Brazilian culture do it in such a way that will not have folks canceling their tickets to Rio. They had the women in the craziest outfits ever. If you want to perform that dance celebrate the culture, bring authentic Brazilian babes in proper costume of near nakedness.![]()
To conquer one's self is the most noble victory; to be vanquished by one's own nature is the worst and most ignoble defeat. (Plato)
mke, GB had no input in the Brazilian section. It was all about the next host giving us a flavour of what to expect. It was their show, 100%.
LOL @two morons arguing blindly
Listen, the only thing the next host does at the closing is to perform the final exhibition - as a way of inviting the world to the next Olympics.
Anyway, the real story here is that comparing the opening and the closing ceremonies of the London Olympics with the Beijing Olympics is like comparing a kindergarten party to the Oscars.
That's just the bottom line.

Listen, the only thing the next host does at the closing is to perform the final exhibition - as a way of inviting the world to the next Olympics.
Anyway, the real story here is that comparing the opening and the closing ceremonies of the London Olympics with the Beijing Olympics is like comparing a kindergarten party to the Oscars.
That's just the bottom line.
Note to: Emir Kongi, big porkey, and smartbrother: Don't talk unless you can improve the silence. (c)
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
www.awooze.com
#BringBackOurGirls
Hashtag #KeshiDonHammer
why is it neccessary to post your pride on a Nigerian site?? we dont give a good god damn if you're proud of Britain. do us a favor and go sing it to the queen,maybe u might get a job as the town crier of london!

Great stuff and they did very well both in the opening ceremony and in the closing one...

- Field Marshall Ogolo
Shame on you, Samora!Samora Moises Machel wrote:![]()
I am very proud of the way we handled the whole thing. The television coverage was top notch. Don't even get me started on the attendance![]()
Best of all we cheered for every winner and didn't discriminate and made all and sundry welcome
The athletes did not disappoint either, we collected medal after medal and i am ashamed by my earlier thread where i jumped the gun and doubted our ability to deliver
Its with great sadness i am putting my Union Jack flag in the cupboard until the next opportunity to wave it around and hang it outside the window presents itself. As i am typing i am enjoying a nice hot cup of tea and biscuits to wind down such a glorious Olympics. I am teary eyed with pride but one does have to maintain a stiff upper lip in such moments you see
See you at Rio 2014 where the lads Terry, Cole, Rooney and others will pick up where the Olympians left off and bring football home
Samora
God save the queen
Comrade Bob should disown you for openly praising the slave master

I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
Unfortunately una don miss Samora's sarcasm.
But then, he could've done a better job of it.

At Beijing, London had it's thing with guys on bicycles with umbrellas, the double decker bus, Chris Hoy riding a bike and David Beckham kicking a football
mke1010 wrote:Dodo wrote:Thanks. I was aware that each Olympics has a moment in the closing ceremony to symbolize the passing of the torch. My memory fails to recall a previous closing ceremony where the next country host had the time and depth of participation as we saw from brazil tonight. Are you sure it was Brazil from the planning to the clothing to the dancers to music. Are you 100% sure? The Brits had zero input? I am asking becos if I were the Brits I would not allow such a performance be part of the show for the period it was given.mke1010 wrote:London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes. The whole Brazilian segment at the end was almost retarded. They should have just had Pele there to symbolize the transfer from London to Brazil. All that other stuff should have been left for the opening show in Brazil. We are still in London stick to London. And besides if you are going to highlight Brazilian culture do it in such a way that will not have folks canceling their tickets to Rio. They had the women in the craziest outfits ever. If you want to perform that dance celebrate the culture, bring authentic Brazilian babes in proper costume of near nakedness.![]()
the next host always does a presentation at the closing ceremony and that was all Brazilian,
- Cristao II
The closing ceremony was a disappointment sha!
Damunk wrote:Unfortunately una don miss Samora's sarcasm.

I tuned off after 5minutes..Cristao II wrote:The closing ceremony was a disappointment sha!
- tfco
- Eagle
Samora Moises Machel wrote:![]()
I am very proud of the way we handled the whole thing.
]

this is where I knew you were fos....lol
nice try though, matey
Naira Did We

Samora is Scot (Honorary).tfco wrote:Samora Moises Machel wrote:![]()
I am very proud of the way we handled the whole thing.
]![]()
this is where I knew you were fos....lol
nice try though, matey
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=149597&p=2303975
Samora Moises Machel wrote:As an honourary Scot i am rather miffed Arsenal had to kill the game in a dubious way like that. Eduardo dove![]()
closing ceremony was terrible
but its was a great games, a lot of people were gleefully expecting it to fail
i can just imagine the eagerness in which they logged on each morning in the hope of a disaster
even the famous british weather decided to behave itself and most events were basked in sunshine and the marathon even got a brisk breeze and gentle shower to cool them down
but its was a great games, a lot of people were gleefully expecting it to fail
i can just imagine the eagerness in which they logged on each morning in the hope of a disaster

even the famous british weather decided to behave itself and most events were basked in sunshine and the marathon even got a brisk breeze and gentle shower to cool them down
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
- Comrade Machel
Damunk wrote:Unfortunately una don miss Samora's sarcasm.

The only man who picked up on it. Well done sir
It was a sarcastic piece by me. Surely the bit about Terry, Cole, Rooney bringing football home should havegave it away. I will never support those guys

It was papered with stereotypes of being British, drinking tea and biscuits, waving my Union Jack and so on
Anyway, well done to the Brits, they put on a good show regardless. They did well

I was only interested in the games anyway, the games were great, I enjoyed it, but both opening and closing ceremonies were terrible.
http://www.melangeparis.com/
Be More Human!!