Page 1 of 2
The Olympics have me proud to be British
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:33 pm
by Comrade Machel
I am very proud of the way we handled the whole thing. The television coverage was top notch. Don't even get me started on the attendance

Best of all we cheered for every winner and didn't discriminate and made all and sundry welcome

The athletes did not disappoint either, we collected medal after medal and i am ashamed by my earlier thread where i jumped the gun and doubted our ability to deliver
Its with great sadness i am putting my Union Jack flag in the cupboard until the next opportunity to wave it around and hang it outside the window presents itself. As i am typing i am enjoying a nice hot cup of tea and biscuits to wind down such a glorious Olympics. I am teary eyed with pride but one does have to maintain a stiff upper lip in such moments you see
See you at Rio 2014 where the lads Terry, Cole, Rooney and others will pick up where the Olympians left off and bring football home
Forever the Queens humble subject
Samora
God save the queen

Re: The Olympics have me proud to be British
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:42 pm
by Oba
Man, I'm inspired! Great Job GB!
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:54 pm
by realtrouble
They did a brilliant job hope it reflects on the economy. Great country , great people. Everybody played their individual roles from volunteers to sport men and women to fans and finally to government. Great job
Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:39 pm
by The Notorious B!GGESTMAN
Uncle toms!

Posted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 11:48 pm
by Super Eagle
Proud to be kini ko??
The London Olympics is the most disorganized and/or worst organized (pick one) games since 1976!
Great Britain should be ashamed of themselves
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:09 am
by mke1010
London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes. The whole Brazilian segment at the end was almost retarded. They should have just had Pele there to symbolize the transfer from London to Brazil. All that other stuff should have been left for the opening show in Brazil. We are still in London stick to London. And besides if you are going to highlight Brazilian culture do it in such a way that will not have folks canceling their tickets to Rio. They had the women in the craziest outfits ever. If you want to perform that dance celebrate the culture, bring authentic Brazilian babes in proper costume of near nakedness.
That is my little critique of tonight. All in all, a very good games. I will give London an A- for organization and a B+ for overall production. (Tonight's closing ceremony I will give C and that is a generous grade. Wonder why groups like Oasis with only Noel singing were highlighted while David Bowie, Sir Elton John and THE Rolling Stones were absent.)
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:14 am
by Dodo
mke1010 wrote:London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes.
The whole Brazilian segment at the end was almost retarded. They should have just had Pele there to symbolize the transfer from London to Brazil. All that other stuff should have been left for the opening show in Brazil. We are still in London stick to London. And besides if you are going to highlight Brazilian culture do it in such a way that will not have folks canceling their tickets to Rio. They had the women in the craziest outfits ever. If you want to perform that dance celebrate the culture, bring authentic Brazilian babes in proper costume of near nakedness.
That is my little critique of tonight. All in all, a very good games. I will give London an A- for organization and a B+ for overall production. (Tonight's closing ceremony I will give C and that is a generous grade. Wonder why groups like Oasis with only Noel singing were highlighted while David Bowie, Sir Elton John and THE Rolling Stones were absent.)
the next host always does a presentation at the closing ceremony and that was all Brazilian,
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:25 am
by mke1010
Dodo wrote:mke1010 wrote:London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes.
The whole Brazilian segment at the end was almost retarded. They should have just had Pele there to symbolize the transfer from London to Brazil. All that other stuff should have been left for the opening show in Brazil. We are still in London stick to London. And besides if you are going to highlight Brazilian culture do it in such a way that will not have folks canceling their tickets to Rio. They had the women in the craziest outfits ever. If you want to perform that dance celebrate the culture, bring authentic Brazilian babes in proper costume of near nakedness.
the next host always does a presentation at the closing ceremony and that was all Brazilian,
Thanks. I was aware that each Olympics has a moment in the closing ceremony to symbolize the passing of the torch. My memory fails to recall a previous closing ceremony where the next country host had the time and depth of participation as we saw from brazil tonight. Are you sure it was Brazil from the planning to the clothing to the dancers to music. Are you 100% sure? The Brits had zero input? I am asking becos if I were the Brits I would not allow such a performance be part of the show for the period it was given.
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:18 am
by Oba
mke, GB had no input in the Brazilian section. It was all about the next host giving us a flavour of what to expect. It was their show, 100%.
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:41 am
by Super Eagle
LOL @two morons arguing blindly
Listen, the only thing the next host does at the closing is to perform the final exhibition - as a way of inviting the world to the next Olympics.
Anyway, the real story here is that comparing the opening and the closing ceremonies of the London Olympics with the Beijing Olympics is like comparing a kindergarten party to the Oscars.
That's just the bottom line.
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:08 am
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:39 am
by MI5
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 2:45 am
by Field Marshall Ogolo
Samora Moises Machel wrote:
I am very proud of the way we handled the whole thing. The television coverage was top notch. Don't even get me started on the attendance

Best of all we cheered for every winner and didn't discriminate and made all and sundry welcome

The athletes did not disappoint either, we collected medal after medal and i am ashamed by my earlier thread where i jumped the gun and doubted our ability to deliver
Its with great sadness i am putting my Union Jack flag in the cupboard until the next opportunity to wave it around and hang it outside the window presents itself. As i am typing i am enjoying a nice hot cup of tea and biscuits to wind down such a glorious Olympics. I am teary eyed with pride but one does have to maintain a stiff upper lip in such moments you see
See you at Rio 2014 where the lads Terry, Cole, Rooney and others will pick up where the Olympians left off and bring football home
Forever the Queens humble subject
Samora
God save the queen

Shame on you, Samora!
Comrade Bob should disown you for openly praising the slave master

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 6:31 am
by Damunk
Unfortunately una don miss Samora's sarcasm.
But then, he could've done a better job of it.

Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 7:45 am
by Dodo
At Beijing, London had it's thing with guys on bicycles with umbrellas, the double decker bus, Chris Hoy riding a bike and David Beckham kicking a football
mke1010 wrote:Dodo wrote:mke1010 wrote:London tried. The expectations were low and they exceeded it. The closing ceremony was dis-jointed. The folks I was watching it with opined the director of the ceremony must suffer from adult ADD. He moved from one thing to another- no sense of continuity or transition. Too many themes.
Thanks. I was aware that each Olympics has a moment in the closing ceremony to symbolize the passing of the torch. My memory fails to recall a previous closing ceremony where the next country host had the time and depth of participation as we saw from brazil tonight. Are you sure it was Brazil from the planning to the clothing to the dancers to music. Are you 100% sure? The Brits had zero input? I am asking becos if I were the Brits I would not allow such a performance be part of the show for the period it was given.
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 8:34 am
by Cristao II
The closing ceremony was a disappointment sha!
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:17 am
by soothsayer
Damunk wrote:Unfortunately una don miss Samora's sarcasm.
But then, he could've done a better job of it.

Harsh sarcasm... trait of a true brit!
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:19 am
by soothsayer
Cristao II wrote:The closing ceremony was a disappointment sha!
I tuned off after 5minutes..
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 10:25 am
by tfco
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:24 pm
by folem
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 12:49 pm
by JuJuMan
closing ceremony was terrible
but its was a great games, a lot of people were gleefully expecting it to fail
i can just imagine the eagerness in which they logged on each morning in the hope of a disaster

even the famous british weather decided to behave itself and most events were basked in sunshine and the marathon even got a brisk breeze and gentle shower to cool them down
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:10 pm
by Comrade Machel
Posted: Mon Aug 13, 2012 1:25 pm
by mastermind
I was only interested in the games anyway, the games were great, I enjoyed it, but both opening and closing ceremonies were terrible.