London Paralympics Official Thread!!!

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Riversboy
London Paralympics Official Thread!!!

Post by Riversboy »

Yes, we need one too. Yes, Nigeria is participating. Yes, our paralympians are likely to win more medals than our olympians. Eagle Fly With Them!

Admins, Please make this a sticky, thanks.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?
Re: London Paralympics Official Thread!!!

Riversboy wrote:Yes, we need one too. Yes, Nigeria is participating. Yes, our paralympians are likely to win more medals than our olympians. Eagle Fly With Them!

RB.
Please stop this nonsense.

Our Paralympians have always done better (medals wise) than our Olympians, and the trend will continue.
Riversboy

Post by Riversboy »

Riversboy wrote:Yes, we need one too. Yes, Nigeria is participating. Yes, our paralympians are likely to win more medals than our olympians. Eagle Fly With Them!

RB.

Our Paralympians have always done better (medals wise) than our Olympians, and the trend will continue.
That is exactly what I said. Jumping the Gun in an official olympic thread no good.

RB.
Chief Ogbunigwe wrote: is this what we celebrate these days, nutmeg?

Going on Friday to the athletics

RB.

Why is that?

I have some ideas but I don't want to speculate.......
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Oscar Pretorious will shine :taunt: :taunt:

soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Tbite wrote:

RB.

Why is that?

I have some ideas but I don't want to speculate.......

Please share in your theory... I have equally wondered,
who runs the para Olympics committee in Nigeria?
Are these guys also left to their own devices or is there
more support. I know that disabled people in Nigeria
still have to make a living and can not depend on the state
unlike say in the UK.

Dodo wrote:Going on Friday to the athletics
Uncle Dodo, what session you dey attend?
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

Nigeria win it's first Gold Medal!!!!! :thumbs:
Yakubu Adesokan struck the goldmine Thursday in a refreshing manner in Powerlifting where he also sent the World record crashing with his amazing 178 kg lift in his men’s 48 category which was over three times his body weight. One GOLD up
Shame on our able bodied athletes. :oops:
Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.

Congratulations to Yakubu Adesokan..not only a gold medal but a world record to boot..God bless him

Athletics 19:00 start

Dodo wrote:

You don check your PM?
folem

Post by folem »

Nigeria wins second Gold in powerlifting with Ivory Nwokorie in Women's -44kg.

Congratulations to all the medal winners so far... :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

2Gold, 2 Silver.
Tenth on medals table at the moment.

Dodo wrote:

You don check your PM?
Yes o

Interesting statistic:
The Chinese disabled population is bigger than the entire population of the UK.

Damunk wrote:Interesting statistic:
The Chinese disabled population is bigger than the entire population of the UK.
...when their population is a billion plus, that's possible.

Damunk wrote:2Gold, 2 Silver.
Guess the NOC and minister of sports deserve a second term!

How some we won medals here? What is responsible?

Good question. All eight medals in powerlifting.
Meanwhile, there is absolutely no reason why we cannot win medals in paralympic athletics!

Like real Olympics the cost & technology needed for certain sports effectively exclude them 80% of the countries at the Olympics
To assess aerodynamic efficiency, wheelchairs have been blasted with air in wind tunnels built by defence firm BAE Systems and used to develop the Eurofighter Typhoon jet. Manoeuvrability has been measured using cutting-edge tracking technology developed by Formula 1 team McLaren, while the seats have been created by car firm BMW
A single sports wheelchair can cost up to 7k. They are finely engineered and custom fitted to the athletes particular disability. The blades are no different. Even the physiotherapy and specialist sports medicine needed to support the paralympians cost a fortune. The phrase being used is "Technology Doping"..

The blades are just as innovative...Nigeria really only stands a chance in events that require only raw power.If anything we have exceeded expectations.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

AreaDaddy wrote:

Like real Olympics the cost & technology needed for certain sports effectively exclude them 80% of the countries at the Olympics
To assess aerodynamic efficiency, wheelchairs have been blasted with air in wind tunnels built by defence firm BAE Systems and used to develop the Eurofighter Typhoon jet. Manoeuvrability has been measured using cutting-edge tracking technology developed by Formula 1 team McLaren, while the seats have been created by car firm BMW
A single sports wheelchair can cost up to 7k. They are finely engineered and custom fitted to the athletes particular disability. The blades are no different. Even the physiotherapy and specialist sports medicine needed to support the paralympians cost a fortune. The phrase being used is "Technology Doping"..

The blades are just as innovative...Nigeria really only stands a chance in events that require only raw power.If anything we have exceeded expectations.
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

see the power of training...... and preparation.. these guys have been preparing since 2010 and
its quite obvious that the athletes actually had the full backing and support of their association.