Nigerian Medals at London 2012 Paralympics: 6G 5S 2B Final

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Oba
Nigerian Medals at London 2012 Paralympics: 6G 5S 2B Final

Post by Oba »

Nigeria's got it's first medal, and it's a Gold!

Yakubu Adesokan: Powerlifting 48 kg.

http://www.london2012.com/paralympics/a ... index.html

Congrats to the Champion Paralympian! :thumb: :thumbs:
Last edited by Oba on Sat Sep 08, 2012 12:41 pm, edited 11 times in total.
JuJuMan
Nigeria wins Paralympic Gold

Post by JuJuMan »

Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
Oba
Re: Nigeria wins Paralympic Gold

Post by Oba »

JuJuMan
Re: Nigeria wins Paralympic Gold

Post by JuJuMan »

ah, beat me to it :D
Ian Wright- "When Arsene came to Arsenal he took complete control of our diets. We were allowed no salt, no fat and no sugar, in the end you wanted to play a team like Milwall so that someone would throw a banana at you just so you could have something to eat."
Re: Nigerian Medals at London 2012 Paralympics Day 2: 1G 0S

Quick question (for myself included)...we all said Govt funding etc was the one of the reasons why the Olympians from the recently completed games did not medal...now we have a paralympics champion from the same Nigeria...i don't have the answers but can someone shed light on this?
Oba

Post by Oba »

Because we've always somehow seemed to be VERY competitive in Powerlifting. I don't know why that's the case that we're so strong in powerlifting though.

I would also hypothesise that in general, countries don't invest as much in paralympics as they do in the olympics. This means that the incremental benefits of more and more funding going into gaining those tiny fractions in performance that make the difference between first and last in the Olympics, are not as strong. Hence, pure natural talent is more important.... in other words, it's a more level playing field from a perspective of pure talent. I must state though, that this is only a guess. Without a proper empirical study, it would be hard to tell.

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
JuJuMan

Post by JuJuMan »

the women have responded, another powerlifting gold :thumb:

http://www.london2012.com/paralympics/p ... index.html
folem

Post by folem »

Nigeria wins second Gold in powerlifting with Ivory Nwokorie in Women's -44kg.
folem
Re: Nigerian Medals at London 2012 Paralympics Day 3: 2G 0S

Post by folem »

Nigeria wins Silver in powerlifting with Ikechukwu Obichukwu in Men's -52kg.
Babafad

Post by Babafad »

Being challenged in life is inevitable, being defeated is optional.

Roman Obamovitch wrote:Because we've always somehow seemed to be VERY competitive in Powerlifting. I don't know why that's the case that we're so strong in powerlifting though.

I would also hypothesise that in general, countries don't invest as much in paralympics as they do in the olympics. This means that the incremental benefits of more and more funding going into gaining those tiny fractions in performance that make the difference between first and last in the Olympics, are not as strong. Hence, pure natural talent is more important.... in other words, it's a more level playing field from a perspective of pure talent. I must state though, that this is only a guess. Without a proper empirical study, it would be hard to tell.
That was the same hypothesis that I had has as well.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Oba

Post by Oba »

Anthony Ulonnam also gets a silver in powerlifting Men -56 kg.
Oba
Re: Nigerian Medals at London 2012 Paralympics Day 3: 3G 2S

Post by Oba »

Esther Oyema with Gold number 3.
Oba
Re: Nigerian Medals at London 2012 Paralympics Day 3: 4G 2S

Post by Oba »

Number 4! World record smashed!

Roman Obamovitch wrote:Esther Oyema with Gold number 3.

which discipline?
Oba

Post by Oba »

which discipline?
You only need one guess.

Roman Obamovitch wrote:

which discipline?
You only need one guess.
Power lifting something something? :tic:
Oba
Re: Nigerian Medals at London 2012 Paralympics Day 4: 4G 4S

Post by Oba »

4 Gold 4 Silver.
Last edited by Oba on Sun Sep 02, 2012 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fat shouts! It's about time.
Oba

Post by Oba »

Two more gold and London 2012 would be our best Paralympics performance to date.

Roman Obamovitch wrote:Two more gold and London 2012 would be our best Paralympics performance to date.
Goodluck had better recognise these paralympic medallists in a big way o! No be just mouth.

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: