Van Niekerk just smashed 400m record

Welcome to the Tokyo 2020 Olympics forum

Moderator: Moderator Team

Van Niekerk just smashed 400m record

Well done to the South African...representing :clap: :clap: :clap:
Re: Van Niekerk just smashed 400m record

i was so focused on Kirani and Lashawn Merritt

dayummmmm

this was fast....damn

i am still in shock

His mum was a sprinter too

if this is true, then this guy is insane.

His cousin works with me, Cape Town will be rocking later today :D

tfco wrote:if this is true, then this guy is insane.
Comes from an athletics family

You would think it's the the 74 year old coach (if she is the full coach) that ran and scattered the record the way the US commentators were going on about her.

1naija wrote:You would think it's the the 74 year old coach (if she is the full coach) that ran and scattered the record the way the US commentators were going on about her.
What are they saying?

I heard the British ones trying to throw some Afrikaner name into the mix :biggrin:

We representing :P :taunt:

Chimurenga Rebel

Post by Chimurenga Rebel »

Samora Machel wrote:We representing :P :taunt:
We? :rotf: :rotf:
"Just call me the Chimurenga Man. A guerilla. Soldier of peace.Man of the people. I write love poems with the barrel of my gun. For Africa always." - Japheth Ncube

Gudo wrote:

Gudo wrote:
The nguni and shona people 8f southern africa :rotf:

I didnt know the boy is a cousin of Cheslin Kolbe jpcoming Springboks star who also played the rugby 7s at Rio

I see Usain, Blake and AdG in that pic

Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

43:03 is incredible. Not good. Not Outstanding. Incredible.

Congrats!!
--- Let brotherly love continue ---
Olayemi14

Post by Olayemi14 »

His PB in the 100M is 9.98. Most quarter-milers are not that fast.
Active member of the JOM & JM Fan Clubs. Baba Eleran of Chelsea FC.

benteke wrote:
1naija wrote:You would think it's the the 74 year old coach (if she is the full coach) that ran and scattered the record the way the US commentators were going on about her.
What are they saying?

I heard the British ones trying to throw some Afrikaner name into the mix :biggrin:

Just look at this article by DailyMail.
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... l-facebook

Dr. Wazobia wrote:43:03 is incredible. Not good. Not Outstanding. Incredible.

Congrats!!

But why are you not saying "make this South Africans go sitdown" when you were kpoming the same thing on the Jamaican thread started by the great 1naija? :taunt:
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

Dr. Wazobia wrote:43:03 is incredible. Not good. Not Outstanding. Incredible.

Congrats!!

But why are you not saying "make this South Africans go sitdown" when you were kpoming the same thing on the Jamaican thread started by the great 1naija? :taunt:
I am a sports fan and the time of 43:03 is possible for a guy who runs under 10 in 100m and under 20 in 200m. That said, the Jamaican domination of 100m and 200m is very suspicious in my humble opinion.
--- Let brotherly love continue ---

tfco wrote:if this is true, then this guy is insane.
He might soon be the only dude to go under 43 in the 400.

How Wayde's mom blazed the trail for her son

Cape Town - Wednesday 26 August 2015 was a day to savour: The day South Africa's Wayde van Niekerk blew away a world-class field in the men's 400m at the World Track and Field Championships in Beijing.

While not taking the shine off him, his mother Odessa Swarts (née Krause) was an exceptional track athlete in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

His father, Wayne van Niekerk, was a high jumper at high school.

Odessa Krause's brilliant career started at Ned Doman High School in Athlone. She completed her schooling at Scottsville High in Kraaifontein, Cape Town.

During sports isolation, Odessa set Athlone Stadium on fire with her performances in the 100m and 200m. She blazed to provincial records in both the 100m and 200m on the grass track - against Cape Town's infamous South Easter.

Following her top-notch performances at the inter-schools and champ of champs meetings, Odessa ran through the Western Province (WP) schools team, clubs and South African (SA) schools and clubs, mercilessly setting records in the 100m and 200m. Only the elements and the record books were her rivals - an absolutely dominant sprinter.

By the time Odessa quit athletics, and South Africa entered democracy, she held more than six sprint records spread across high schools and clubs at both provincial and national levels.

In 1990, she held the WP senior schools record for girls under 16 in the 100m (12.41s) and 200m (25.84s) respectively. That year, Odessa equalled Maureen van der Ross' SAAAB junior ladies 100m record of 21.1s at the UWC Stadium. In the 200m, she broke Van der Ross' 200m record of 25.3s when she clocked 25.0s.

She also held the WP senior schools record for girls under-17 in the 100m (12.32s) and 200m (25.67s) in 1991 respectively.

In 1991, she held the SA schools 100m record of 12.3s, together with Qanita Nazier, Shamiela Jordan and one of the great sprint champions, Sandra Petersen.

However, Odessa was the sole record holder of the SA schools girls' under-17 200m event.

Her time was 25.3s set at the SA schools meeting held on the Paarl clay track in 1991.

For good measure, she anchored the 4x100m relay to an SA schools record of 50.1s.

Odessa was truly a talented speedster to behold – she had a real presence on the track.

Despite all her accomplishments, the young athlete was never tempted by big corporate sponsors and the prospect of competing at Coetzenburg Stadium in Stellenbosch, the track and hallowed arena of athletics in apartheid South Africa. As the country was already isolated from the international sports world, it would not have changed anything.

She has sacrificed everything, but now her son Wayde is reaping the rewards on the international stage for her and all South Africans to enjoy.

http://m.news24.com/news24/SouthAfrica/ ... n-20160815