It's not difficult to grow medals in the olympics.
Moderator: Moderator Team
It's not difficult to grow medals in the olympics.
Nigeria possesses immense potential to become a leading force in global sports, yet the country's performance has lagged behind expectations. I am confident that Nigeria can have a significant medal haul at the Brisbane 2032 Olympics by implementing my strategy. This proposal outlines a strategic plan based on three fundamental phases: the democratisation of sports, the intensification of investment, and the establishment of a cultural legacy.
Phase 1: Democratisation of Sports
The foundation of sporting success begins with accessibility. In countries like Australia, where sports are deeply integrated into society, the chances of becoming an elite athlete are exponentially higher. According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, over 90% of Australians engage in physical activity, contributing to the nation's consistent success on the global stage. To replicate this in Nigeria, we must ensure that sports facilities are available and accessible to all citizens, regardless of their socio-economic status.
Objective: Establish accessible, high-quality sports facilities across Nigeria, ensuring that even the poorest communities have free access to parks, basketball courts, table tennis, and more.
Implementation: Launch a nationwide initiative similar to FIFA's Goal Project, focusing on the widespread availability of sports infrastructure. Investments should not be limited to high-profile venues like Onikan or Teslim Balogun but should extend to every part of the country, making sports truly democratic.
Phase 2: Intensification of Investment
The next step involves targeted investment in promising young athletes and specific sports disciplines where Nigeria has a competitive advantage. Countries like China have excelled by adopting this approach, focusing their resources on nurturing top-tier talent in select sports.
Objective: Identify and invest in 10 key sports disciplines where Nigeria shows potential for excellence. This includes building world-class training facilities and providing resources for athletes who demonstrate exceptional promise.
Implementation: Develop a strategic roadmap that includes talent identification programs, scholarships, and partnerships with international training facilities to ensure our athletes receive the best possible preparation.
Phase 3: Establishing a Cultural Legacy
Sustainable success in sports requires a long-term vision. This involves creating a culture where experienced athletes can pass on their knowledge to future generations. A robust coaching and mentoring system, coupled with international exposure, will ensure that Nigeria continues to produce world-class athletes.
Objective: Develop a comprehensive coaching and mentoring program, with a particular focus on upskilling and international exposure.
Implementation: For example, establish a dedicated fund of $50,000 for each selected sport, purely for upskilling, allowing our top athletes and coaches to gain experience from leading sports nations. This knowledge will be crucial in developing the next generation of Nigerian talent.
Budget Considerations
To achieve these objectives, the federal government must significantly increase its investment in sports. I propose a fourfold increase in the current budget, supported by the understanding that such spending will have far-reaching benefits beyond sports.
Rationale: Increased spending on sports will lead to reduced expenditure in other areas, particularly in social welfare and crime prevention. Studies have shown that youth engagement in sports leads to lower crime rates, better health outcomes, and increased national pride. Given Nigeria's large youth population, the need for investment in this area is even more critical.
I have contacted the sports ministry, but I don't expect to hear back. This is just the surface level, the real work begins if they are serious. The aim is not Los Angeles 2028 but Brisbane 2032 (a little ambitious), ideally the goal would be 2036 or even 2040. But if we can get all investors and stakeholders on board, I think in 2032 we can do something special.
Forget about 2028, it is too late to do anything worthy of note.
The foundation of sporting success begins with accessibility. In countries like Australia, where sports are deeply integrated into society, the chances of becoming an elite athlete are exponentially higher. According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics, over 90% of Australians engage in physical activity, contributing to the nation's consistent success on the global stage. To replicate this in Nigeria, we must ensure that sports facilities are available and accessible to all citizens, regardless of their socio-economic status.
Objective: Establish accessible, high-quality sports facilities across Nigeria, ensuring that even the poorest communities have free access to parks, basketball courts, table tennis, and more.
Implementation: Launch a nationwide initiative similar to FIFA's Goal Project, focusing on the widespread availability of sports infrastructure. Investments should not be limited to high-profile venues like Onikan or Teslim Balogun but should extend to every part of the country, making sports truly democratic.
The next step involves targeted investment in promising young athletes and specific sports disciplines where Nigeria has a competitive advantage. Countries like China have excelled by adopting this approach, focusing their resources on nurturing top-tier talent in select sports.
Objective: Identify and invest in 10 key sports disciplines where Nigeria shows potential for excellence. This includes building world-class training facilities and providing resources for athletes who demonstrate exceptional promise.
Implementation: Develop a strategic roadmap that includes talent identification programs, scholarships, and partnerships with international training facilities to ensure our athletes receive the best possible preparation.
Sustainable success in sports requires a long-term vision. This involves creating a culture where experienced athletes can pass on their knowledge to future generations. A robust coaching and mentoring system, coupled with international exposure, will ensure that Nigeria continues to produce world-class athletes.
Objective: Develop a comprehensive coaching and mentoring program, with a particular focus on upskilling and international exposure.
Implementation: For example, establish a dedicated fund of $50,000 for each selected sport, purely for upskilling, allowing our top athletes and coaches to gain experience from leading sports nations. This knowledge will be crucial in developing the next generation of Nigerian talent.
Budget Considerations
To achieve these objectives, the federal government must significantly increase its investment in sports. I propose a fourfold increase in the current budget, supported by the understanding that such spending will have far-reaching benefits beyond sports.
Rationale: Increased spending on sports will lead to reduced expenditure in other areas, particularly in social welfare and crime prevention. Studies have shown that youth engagement in sports leads to lower crime rates, better health outcomes, and increased national pride. Given Nigeria's large youth population, the need for investment in this area is even more critical.
I have contacted the sports ministry, but I don't expect to hear back. This is just the surface level, the real work begins if they are serious. The aim is not Los Angeles 2028 but Brisbane 2032 (a little ambitious), ideally the goal would be 2036 or even 2040. But if we can get all investors and stakeholders on board, I think in 2032 we can do something special.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Re: It's not difficult to grow medals in the olympics.
I will also emphasise that spending must be largely capital. We do not need any new portfolios or government representation, In fact, we must decrease redundancy and unnecessary representation. As much of the money generated has to filter back directly to the communities. This proposal will actually WORSEN things if it is not implemented as a capital venture.
non-capital costs will be targeted at identifying areas of oversight and administering the proposal
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
- sinequanon
Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.
There'll be time enough for counting, when the dealing's done..
https://voca.ro/1dk47QJEvGY2
...we have to do the mere basics first before talking about juicing. Have knowledgeable people in charge, not illiterates and crooks.sinequanon wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:27 pm Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.
- sinequanon
??mcal wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:35 pm...we have to do the mere basics first before talking about juicing. Have knowledgeable people in charge, not illiterates and crooks.sinequanon wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:27 pm Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.
right..
in one breath you are complaining about crooks, in the next you talk about winning by hook or by crook.
There'll be time enough for counting, when the dealing's done..
Nigeria has the raw resource but not scouting. They should pick sports most likely to find talent and start by awarding prize money for those who can meet certain performance metrics and train them in 4 years:
1. Athletics - 100-1,500m, long jump, triple jump, high jump, shot put, javelin, discus, heptathlon.
2. Boxing
3.Judo
4. Wrestling
5. Rowing
6. Cycling
7. Basketball
8. Football
9. Volleyball
10. Handball
1. Athletics - 100-1,500m, long jump, triple jump, high jump, shot put, javelin, discus, heptathlon.
2. Boxing
3.Judo
4. Wrestling
5. Rowing
6. Cycling
7. Basketball
8. Football
9. Volleyball
10. Handball
- Field Marshall Ogolo
Absolutely! That's what I keep on telling them. Jamaica did exactly that! So has St. Lucia, Botswana and others not mentioned. India has tried it in Athletics but failed. Qatar and Bahrain are doing it with moderate success (but they scout athletes from Kenya, Ethiopia and Nigeria then dangle their citizenship plus $$) . Btw, the Naija lady who ran for Qatar and got caught won a silver the other day in 400m. She looks subdued after her suspension, sporting a darker skin tone.sinequanon wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:27 pm Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
It is hard to nurture any great ideas in an environment where the main concern
of officials in charge is all about personal benefits. Our officials don't care about
growing and working on anything, but on reaping from where they did not sow.
of officials in charge is all about personal benefits. Our officials don't care about
growing and working on anything, but on reaping from where they did not sow.
A GOOD START, NOW...something like this needs to be subjected to review and discussion by stakeholders to see what it ends up looking like. A weakness I detect is the reference to financial investment. Nigeria is currently not financially strong and diverting scarce resources to sports (which at the end of the day is mere trivial pursuit) when more basic needs are not been funded may meet with strong resistance.Tbite wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:11 pm Nigeria possesses immense potential to become a leading force in global sports, yet the country's performance has lagged behind expectations. I am confident that Nigeria can have a significant medal haul at the Brisbane 2032 Olympics by implementing my strategy. This proposal outlines a strategic plan based on three fundamental phases: the democratisation of sports, the intensification of investment, and the establishment of a cultural legacy.
Budget Considerations
This doesn't mean the goal of success should be abandoned; it may just mean doing it by other means. In other words: CREATIVITY. A few examples:
(1) The SE, if they are short of funds, can invite two squads (or a domestic all-stars) during international windows to play against each other. It need not always be against a foreign side.
(2) the SF can have occasional practice matches against a selection of appropriate males.
(3) Communities can come together and clear land for things like soccer, volleyball and running, and not wait for elaborate alternatives.
(4) Schools may share facilities
(5) Set up domestic manufacturing of sports equipment to reduce costs.

She’s running for Bahrain not Qatar, she even changed her name to a Muslim name.Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 4:44 pmAbsolutely! That's what I keep on telling them. Jamaica did exactly that! So has St. Lucia, Botswana and others not mentioned. India has tried it in Athletics but failed. Qatar and Bahrain are doing it with moderate success (but they scout athletes from Kenya, Ethiopia and Nigeria then dangle their citizenship plus $$) . Btw, the Naija lady who ran for Qatar and got caught won a silver the other day in 400m. She looks subdued after her suspension, sporting a darker skin tone.sinequanon wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:27 pm Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf
- Field Marshall Ogolo
I saw a Naija lady running for Ireland too- She was so good that Ireland almost won a medal . A Kenyan born lady also won the Steeplechase for Bahrain or Qatar. Very sad!Ipe Grams wrote: ↑Sun Aug 11, 2024 12:09 pmShe’s running for Bahrain not Qatar, she even changed her name to a Muslim name.Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 4:44 pmAbsolutely! That's what I keep on telling them. Jamaica did exactly that! So has St. Lucia, Botswana and others not mentioned. India has tried it in Athletics but failed. Qatar and Bahrain are doing it with moderate success (but they scout athletes from Kenya, Ethiopia and Nigeria then dangle their citizenship plus $$) . Btw, the Naija lady who ran for Qatar and got caught won a silver the other day in 400m. She looks subdued after her suspension, sporting a darker skin tone.sinequanon wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:27 pm Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.
I never LOSE, I either WIN or LEARN. – Nelson Mandela
- cchinukw
I see what you did thereField Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Mon Aug 12, 2024 12:18 amI saw a Naija lady running for Ir eland too- She was so good that Ireland almost won a medal . A Kenyan born lady also won the Steeplechase for Bahrain or Qatar. Very sad!Ipe Grams wrote: ↑Sun Aug 11, 2024 12:09 pmShe’s running for Bahrain not Qatar, she even changed her name to a Muslim name.Field Marshall Ogolo wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 4:44 pmAbsolutely! That's what I keep on telling them. Jamaica did exactly that! So has St. Lucia, Botswana and others not mentioned. India has tried it in Athletics but failed. Qatar and Bahrain are doing it with moderate success (but they scout athletes from Kenya, Ethiopia and Nigeria then dangle their citizenship plus $$) . Btw, the Naija lady who ran for Qatar and got caught won a silver the other day in 400m. She looks subdued after her suspension, sporting a darker skin tone.sinequanon wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:27 pm Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.

"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

New Zealand Population is 5 million and they won 10 gold medals 7 silver and 3 bronze.
They tried
They tried
Vague but goes without saying. Two things for me: schools and leagues. Anything that doesn't go through the school system is a waste of time and sports that don't have home leagues are just throwing money at the problem. Sports should begin at schools. Teams sports like American Football (flag), Baseball/Softball, Basketball, Field Hockey, Football, Track and Field, and Volleyball should begin to be played at the lower levels and should all have professional leagues. Athletic federations should also work with schools to have sports clubs to introduce kids to individual sports like Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Bowling, Boxing, Cycling, Diving, Fencing, Gymnastics, Judo, Rowing, Sailing, Shooting, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weight Lifting and Wrestling. All universities should also have sports programs.
Nigeria should do things like humans with Brains God created. Choose your battle wisely. How useless can we continue to be.
Jack of all trades master of none. Nigeria has a Pedigree of known Athletic Ability. Why fishing where you have no fish to catch.
Athletics. Boxing. Wrestling. Soccer. BBall. T Tennis. Concentrate only on what you are good at and dominate it.
Uzbekistan came with just 7 Athletes All Boxers I heard, They collected 5 Gold Medals. Thats A country using her God given Brain.
Kai....
Jack of all trades master of none. Nigeria has a Pedigree of known Athletic Ability. Why fishing where you have no fish to catch.
Athletics. Boxing. Wrestling. Soccer. BBall. T Tennis. Concentrate only on what you are good at and dominate it.
Uzbekistan came with just 7 Athletes All Boxers I heard, They collected 5 Gold Medals. Thats A country using her God given Brain.
Kai....
I agree.Agbako wrote: ↑Thu Aug 22, 2024 4:48 pm Nigeria should do things like humans with Brains God created. Choose your battle wisely. How useless can we continue to be.
Kai....
This is because sports is an ecosystem. It is much easier to medal in an ecosystem than being a fish out of water. It can happen, but that is less common.
If you want to be a champion swimmer in Queensland, Australia, the path is already laid out for you. The aquatic centres where previous medallists have trained are accessible; they have regular meets, and you can access top-level coaching. As a kid, you will have access to these same events, and there are also healthy programs in the university system. A classmate of mine was an Olympic swimmer; on a stroll through the city one night, he was just casually pointing out where all the swimmers met, and it's very accessible. The uni we went to had an OK swimming program, but he later transferred to where his wife (an Olympic medallist) also swam, and once again, this would have been seamless—only about 25 kilometres or so.
Success breeds success. Standing on the shoulders of giants. It would be a lot tougher for him to succeed without these programs. And the less history you have in a sport, the weaker your programs will likely be. It takes a long time to build history.
on the subject of athletic specimen. Africa has both remarkable strengths and weaknesses.sinequanon wrote: ↑Sat Aug 10, 2024 12:27 pm Unless there is coordinated and centralized investment in juice, forget it.
The strengths:
The diversity of the African population is far greater than the rest of the world. This is not talked about enough. It has MASSIVE implications in sports.
One study showed that African populations possess approximately 27 major haplogroups, while non-African populations have only around 6 major haplogroups. This reflects the broader range of genetic lineages present within Africa. Also the average heterozygosity in sub-Saharan African populations can be up to 0.75, compared to 0.69 in European populations. The lower the heterozygosity, the lower the genetic variation.
How does this affect sports? Each Olympic event has distinct physical profiles that are suited for success. It is a science. Your body type effectively determines what sports you can medal in. There is a very little variance in the heights of 110m hurdlers for example (a factor of its correlation with the more predictive factor of leg length). The success of the Kalenjin in Kenya is multivariate. The altitude is one, the tradition is another, the competitive drive is another etc. but genetics plays a significant role. They have the appropriate physical shape. Less deadweight! Lengthy legs and shorter torsos are the inverse of swimmers, longer torsos, arms, and shorter legs. You go to the shot put, you see a specific profile, and you go to gymnastics, where there is a specific profile.
When you have the level of genetic variance that Africa has, it is more likely to have these niche cultures (IF we so choose to cultivate them). Nigeria could have a lot of these niche groups suited for specific sports. I haven't travelled the breadth of the country; I don't know these nuances, though I am sure they are significant. Some of these groups might be minority groups. Our best hopes of medalling in an event may come from obscure groups that do not even engage in those sports!
A strong weakness for Africans, however, is the nutritional aspect:
The Europeans have more robust builds than Africans! People talk about the South Sudanese or Senegalese, but the Europeans are more robust overall, owing to better diets. The first time I came to Australia, I was surprised at how sizeable everyone was (and I don't mean obesity). Lots of tall people, lots of bulky people. In Africa, YES, we have that genetic diversity, but many people in Africa are falling foul of epigenetics. I have seen some studies suggesting as much as a 20-40% differential in height, explainable by the environment!
We think that Africans are very athletic, but the reality is that Africans are far more athletic than we ordinarily see. Malnutrition and poor environmental circumstances are not triggering the right genes. More worryingly, epigenetic traits can even be passed on, which means that even after upward social mobility, groups may still be susceptible to poor environmental adaptation for some time.
I know you are talking about juice, but these two areas yield a more significant long-term boost in African performances than juice. These areas that I have mentioned are not footnotes. It could be an increase in performance of many orders of magnitudes.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
You are suggesting we should limit ourselves to certain sports. Why? Is there anything inherent in Nigerians that prevents us from excelling in sports such as archery, swimming and javelin, to name just a few? If we want to excel in any sport, including football, then we must invest adequately in the development of such sports. Nigeria is awash with water so there’s no reason we shouldn’t have world class swimmersAgbako wrote: ↑Thu Aug 22, 2024 4:48 pm Nigeria should do things like humans with Brains God created. Choose your battle wisely. How useless can we continue to be.
Kai....
- Molue Conductor
7 medals in the Paralympics including 2 gold. What are we doing right there?
Studies have also shown that GDP per capita correlates better than population size with Olympic medalling
Not necessarily limit ourselves to certain sports but pick sports where we have an advantage and just fund them more. For example, Nigeria should be producing world class sprinters like the Caribbeans, we're of the same blood. If it were up to me, I'd focus on these sports: Archery, Athletics, Badminton, Bowling, Boxing, Cycling, Diving, Fencing, Gymnastics, Judo, Rowing, Sailing, Shooting, Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weight Lifting and Wrestling. Then for team sports I'd encourage American Football (flag), Baseball (men), Basketball, Field Hockey, Football, Softball (women) Track and Field, and Volleyball. Nigeria should not just limit itself to summer Olympic sports but winter Olympics as well, it should encourage these sports: Bobsleigh, Curling, Figure Skating, Ice Hockey, Skeleton, and Speed Skating.TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: ↑Sun Aug 25, 2024 4:52 pmYou are suggesting we should limit ourselves to certain sports. Why? Is there anything inherent in Nigerians that prevents us from excelling in sports such as archery, swimming and javelin, to name just a few? If we want to excel in any sport, including football, then we must invest adequately in the development of such sports. Nigeria is awash with water so there’s no reason we shouldn’t have world class swimmersAgbako wrote: ↑Thu Aug 22, 2024 4:48 pm Nigeria should do things like humans with Brains God created. Choose your battle wisely. How useless can we continue to be.
Kai....
What is the plan? Does Nigeria have a high performance sports institute? What's the plan to get kids playing sports and mass participation? To be good you have to encourage mass participation and have these sports ingrained in our social culture, with millions playing recreationally. This widespread interest will fuel a vast talent pool. Get schools, local governments, sports clubs and the sports federations involved. I've said it before and I'll say it again: there's nothing like local sports leagues, the end goal would be to have professional or semi-professional sports leagues especially with the team sports.
Last edited by Mr. Piffington on Thu Sep 12, 2024 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nigeria and India are probably the two biggest underachievers when it comes to the Olympics. Among the developed nations, Australia punches above its weight, among the developing countries I think Kenya and Jamaica punch above their weight. China and the US are the two economic giants so its no surprise they do so well.Molue Conductor wrote: ↑Sun Sep 08, 2024 2:05 pm 7 medals in the Paralympics including 2 gold. What are we doing right there?