Italy's 30 and no Ogbonna

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

benny
Italy's 30 and no Ogbonna

Post by benny »

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/worldc ... squad.html

GOALKEEPERS

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), Salvatore Sirigu (PSG), Mattia Perrin (Genoa)

DEFENDERS

Ignazio Abate (AC Milan), Andrea Barzagli (Juventus), Leandro Bonucci (Juventus), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Matteo Darmian (Torino), Mattia De Sciglio (AC Milan), Christian Maggio (Lazio), Gabriel Paletta (Parma), Manuel Pasqual (Fiorentina), Andrea Ranocchia (Inter Milan)

MIDFIELDERS

Alberto Aquilani (Fiorentina), Antonio Candreva (Lazio), Daniele De Rossi (AS Roma), Claudio Marchisio (Juventus), Riccardo Montolivo (AC Milan), Marco Parolo (Parma), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Thiago Motta (PSG), Romulo (Verona), Marco Verratti (PSG)

STRIKERS

Mario Balotelli (AC Milan), Antonio Cassano (Parma), Alessio Cerci (Torino), Mattia Destro (AS Roma), Ciro Immobile (Torino), Lorenzo Insigne (Napoli), Giuseppe Rossi (Fiorentina)
king kanu forever!!!!!!!!
Re: Italy's 30 and no Ogbonna

Strong balanced squad. I think defence may actually be the weakest part if this team, which is rare for an italian team.Don't know about you guys, but I'm beginning to get nervous when I see other coaches naming strong squads, while Keshi has included up to 6 deadweights/possibly unfit players in his 30.

Ok. I may have been a little harsh on Keshi

olu wrote:Strong balanced squad. I think defence may actually be the weakest part if this team, which is rare for an italian team.Don't know about you guys, but I'm beginning to get nervous when I see other coaches naming strong squads, while Keshi has included up to 6 deadweights/possibly unfit players in his 30.
According to the experts, Keshi already knows his 23. Therefore nothing wrong with including deadweights.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Italy is blessed with some many world class defenders. It would have been surprising if he(Ogbonna) had made their world cup team.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

People deserve what they get. For those who abandoned Naija. E be as it be o:

Austria: Alaba: No World Cup. Forgiven NFF fault.
England: Agbonlahor
Germany: Sam
Italy: Ogbonna
DAgrin

Post by DAgrin »

Lolly wrote:
olu wrote:Strong balanced squad. I think defence may actually be the weakest part if this team, which is rare for an italian team.Don't know about you guys, but I'm beginning to get nervous when I see other coaches naming strong squads, while Keshi has included up to 6 deadweights/possibly unfit players in his 30.
According to the experts, Keshi already knows his 23. Therefore nothing wrong with including deadweights.
Nothing wrong?
Nigeria has more than 23 strong players and every strong player actually deserves a chance to compete with more established players. Aluko and Obasi were left out because Keshi already knows his 23? On which basis does he know it? Definetely not on merit!
Coaches who select on merit decide based on training sessions and latest match impressions - none of that is a factor of Keshi's selection.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti

Naija 4 life!

DAgrin wrote:
Lolly wrote:
Nothing wrong?
Nigeria has more than 23 strong players and every strong player actually deserves a chance to compete with more established players. Aluko and Obasi were left out because Keshi already knows his 23? On which basis does he know it? Definetely not on merit!
Coaches who select on merit decide based on training sessions and latest match impressions - none of that is a factor of Keshi's selection.
Sir, care to divulge how you got this information?

nzeogwu wrote:People deserve what they get. For those who abandoned Naija. E be as it be o:

Shola Amoebi should have featured prominently on this list however our big boss knows better with his unscrupulous call ups blocked his name on the list.

nzeogwu wrote:People deserve what they get. For those who abandoned Naija. E be as it be o:

Ogbonna is more Italian than Naija

wale1974 wrote:

Ogbonna is more Italian than Naija
Kpom!!!!!!!!!!!!
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo