Europe Laughing Thread

Discuss the 22nd edition of the 2022 FIFA WORLD CUP QATAR™ scheduled to take place in Qatar from 21 November to 18 December 2022. Africa will be represented by Country-A, Country-B, Country-C, Country-D, AND Country-E.

Europe Laughing Thread

I no sabi wetin be the koko...wether na heat humidity or humiliation...but I don lose count of European teams wey don pafuka..

:scared: :scared: :scared: :scared:

Ol Boy.......This one na serious something.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Re: Europe Laughing Thread

Is Europe a country? Will you take offense in someone opening an Africa laughing thread?

yes i would laugh at europe. they are being biatchslapped up and down!!

Ok, in the spirit of Suarez, I'll bite and take the bait and defend Europe here.

:mrgreen:

European teams like Croatia, England, & Spain got properly flogged. No excuses. Not even the weather.

But look at Europe's other tier 1 teams. Italy unjustly got sent home. Give credit where it's due here.

Germany, France, Holland, and even Belgium aren't going to be easy to beat.

Who's going to knock them off? Brazil? Argentina? Perhaps Uruguay could, but now they don't have Suarez.

Much as I root for North American and African teams, I don't think that they can still win a WC...although the plot is thickening.

Cheers, Mate <--- Having a Count Dracula moment.

Ekorian wrote:Is Europe a country? Will you take offense in someone opening an Africa laughing thread?
Yes I will take offence of course! I am African not European! Why should I give a F** about their fortunes.

I dey laugh. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Guys like Sneijder were insulting Africa and were saying that the World Cup should be a Euro Zone contest...now they are not really justifying their immense allocations! After this tournament, I say they should lose 1 spot. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

mate wrote:Ok, in the spirit of Suarez, I'll bite and take the bait and defend Europe here.

European teams like Croatia, England, & Spain got properly flogged. No excuses. Not even the weather.

But look at EuroEuropee's other tier 1 teams. Italy unjustly got sent home. Give credit where it's due here.

Who's going to knock them off? Brazil? Argentina? Perhaps Uruguay could, but now they don't have Suarez.

Much as I root for North American and African teams, I don't think that they can still win a WC...although the plot is thickening.

Europe will ALWAYS have a handful of top performers obviously...however the question is......are the current allocations really justified. You cannot say that Netherlands or Germany shoulder the fortunes of the entire bloc....there ARE a lot of allocations here! The greatest of any confederation! So really when a lot of European countries do not perform, there must be accountability.

It is different with Africa...we have 5 slots...if Ghana or Nigeria do well...we can say...we are mostly doing well...you cannot say the same for Europe.....There is too much failure, the fail rate is just too high! Italy, Croatia, Bosnia, England, Spain...........it is too high! abeg FIFA reduce those allocations. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

In danger are also Switzerland, Greece, Russia and Portugal! It does not look good at all!

We are just not seeing a justification for the number of teams Europe has at the tournament...If we remove the top 6 or so teams, would you bet your house on a European minnow beating one from Concacaaf or Africa?
IS Greece for example better than Panama? Would england beat Cape Verde or Burkina Faso?

The fair thing for FIFA to do is to reduce Europe's guaranteed spots to something like 8, then have an intercontinental playoff for the remaining 4..btw I am ok with FIFA reducing Africa's guaranteed spots to 4 and adding the one spot to the playoff pool..

mate wrote:Ok, in the spirit of Suarez, I'll bite and take the bait and defend Europe here.

But look at Europe's other tier 1 teams. Italy unjustly got sent home. Give credit where it's due here.

Tbite wrote:

But look at EuroEuropee's other tier 1 teams. Italy unjustly got sent home. Give credit where it's due here.

Europe will ALWAYS have a handful of top performers obviously...however the question is......are the current allocations really justified. You cannot say that Netherlands or Germany shoulder the fortunes of the entire bloc....there ARE a lot of allocations here! The greatest of any confederation! So really when a lot of European countries do not perform, there must be accountability.

It is different with Africa...we have 5 slots...if Ghana or Nigeria do well...we can say...we are mostly doing well...you cannot say the same for Europe.....There is too much failure, the fail rate is just too high! Italy, Croatia, Bosnia, England, Spain...........it is too high! abeg FIFA reduce those allocations. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

In danger are also Switzerland, Greece, Russia and Portugal! It does not look good at all!

I agree about allocations. I said before that Europe should lose 2 and give 1 each to Africa and Asia. On the sheer basis of fairer geographic representation.

In time, Asia and Africa should get more. But it has to be earned.
It is different with Africa...we have 5 slots...if Ghana or Nigeria do well...we can say...we are mostly doing well...you cannot say the same for Europe.....
Then earn it. You condemn Croatia, but ignore that we beat Cameroon. We also got shafted by the officials, not that this is an excuse. As did Italy.

Also, you have to adjust slots over time, not on the basis of 1 WC. Imagine Europe clamored for more slots in 1994 or the last WC?

And why are you counting out Switzerland, Russia and Portugal? Mind you, on account of the US, I am finally rooting for Portugal to tie Ghana and for Ghana to tie Portugal...equal love for Africa and Europe there...all for the love of the USA!!!

:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Cheers, Mate

nanijoe wrote:We are just not seeing a justification for the number of teams Europe has at the tournament...If we remove the top 6 or so teams, would you bet your house on a European minnow beating one from Concacaaf or Africa?
IS Greece for example better than Panama? Would england beat Cape Verde or Burkina Faso?

The fair thing for FIFA to do is to reduce Europe's guaranteed spots to something like 8, then have an intercontinental playoff for the remaining 4..btw I am ok with FIFA reducing Africa's guaranteed spots to 4 and adding the one spot to the playoff pool..

Hoooooyiiiiiiii! Dis man you wicked o o o o o o o ! But dis your yabis of Ingerlund come dey sweet me one kind. :D

I agree that it should not be based on WC.....but at least I have started my campaign!

It is not 1 week before an election, that you starting pulling for votes. :taunt: :taunt:

If we want those allocations, we should start the campaign now! No hard feelings mate, this is not personal! Croatia were hard done by and I truly do feel your pain! I wish them all the best truly!

I am just doing a little bit of politics here and you know what they say....there are no friends in............

Tbite wrote:I agree that it should not be based on WC.....but at least I have started my campaign!

It is not 1 week before an election, that you starting pulling for votes. :taunt: :taunt:

If we want those allocations, we should start the campaign now! No hard feelings mate, this is not personal! Croatia were hard done by and I truly do feel your pain! I wish them all the best truly!

I am just doing a little bit of politics here and you know what they say....there are no friends in............

Make that 3 slots from Europe.

1 for Africa.

1 for Asia.

1 for CONCACAF!!!

Cheers, Mate

I told a football and perhaps Geography novice that Cameroon is in the Carribean. Africa spots should be dropped to three until we gets our acts together. We continue to embezzle the funds allocated for football and expects miracle every four years. you guys can cry all you want but Europe won three of the last four World Cups and three of the last four finalists were European countries...

No vex..I meant no disrespect to Cape Verde or Burkina Faso :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
ohsee wrote:
nanijoe wrote:We are just not seeing a justification for the number of teams Europe has at the tournament...If we remove the top 6 or so teams, would you bet your house on a European minnow beating one from Concacaaf or Africa?

Hoooooyiiiiiiii! Dis man you wicked o o o o o o o ! But dis your yabis of Ingerlund come dey sweet me one kind. :D
soothsayer

Post by soothsayer »

Should we really be laughing at Europe.. considering that lowly Greece has just qualified over Ivory coast..
And we still unsure how many african teams will make it out of group yet..
We have two African teams playing Europeans this week to guarantee qualification.. maybe we should not jump the gun.

soothsayer wrote:Should we really be laughing at Europe.. considering that lowly Greece has just qualified over Ivory coast..
We have two African teams playing Europeans this week to guarantee qualification.. maybe we should not jump the gun.

we may as well make this Europe & Africa laffing thread. Cameroon and CIV are out....Naija and Ghana are balancing...

soothsayer wrote:Should we really be laughing at Europe.. considering that lowly Greece has just qualified over Ivory coast..
Really..........You want to rub it in my face.....really....it makes you feel good! Really? Seriously?

You scored a cheap point..and then what? Your continent just took a beating and this is the first thing that comes to your mind!

I have said it before that anybody that laughs at Africa is a moron! This is our fight......We fight as one, we suffer as one, we succeed as one! No laughing threads for African teams! Solidarity!

Solidariedade

Tbite wrote:
Really..........You want to rub it in my face.....really....it makes you feel good! Really? Seriously?

You scored a cheap point..and then what? Your continent just took a beating and this is the first thing that comes to your mind!

I have said it before that anybody that laughs at Africa is a moron! This is our fight......We fight as one, we suffer as one, we succeed as one! No laughing threads for African teams! Solidarity!

Solidariedade

You have to find the humor in these things. I'm actually laughing about Croatia. And Spain. I was born in Europe, but so what?

It's all good. I lick my wounds and then still enjoy the spectacle. Good football is good football, no matter who plays it.

:)

Cheers, Mate